Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
Latin 1086 – 1733: a practical online tutorial for beginners. From the National Archives of the United Kingdom
-
Catholic Encyclopedia: Ecclesiastical Abbreviations
Short intro followed by lists of abbreviations for Latin terms found in church records.
-
Latin, Hungarian and Slovak translations to English of church records for baptism, marriage, and death records. Also includes a list of Latin and Hungarian terms for occupations and causes of death.
-
Latin-English and Hungarian-English dictionaries plus links to other Latin dictionaries.
-
Free Online Dictionaries - Freedict.com
Online word translation for various languages.
-
For the discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
-
Genealogy Quest: Latin Genealogical Glossary
In genealogical research Latin terms are often encountered in church records and legal documents, this list is intended to aid the genealogist in interpreting those terms. Includes relationships, numbers, month names, useful words and phrases.
-
Found in records and other English manuscripts.
-
Latin and Palaeography: History, Keele University
This week-long, annual summer school, run by the Department of History at the University of Keele, provides expert tuition in small groups for professional and amateur historians, genealogists, archive students, and postgraduate researchers who wish to acquire or improve their skills in reading and transcribing medieval and early modern documents from English archives, relating to both national and local subjects.
-
Latin for Local History: An Introduction
A book by Eileen A. Gooder.
-
Latin for the Illiterati : Exorcizing the Ghosts of a Dead Language
A book by Jon R. Stone.
-
Article by Alison U. Ring.
-
More Latin for the Illiterati: A Guide to Everyday Medical, Legal, and Religious Latin
A book by Jon R. Stone.
-
Professional low-cost Latin-English translations.
-
UK Professional Genealogist, English and Latin Translations - Simon Neal
Transcription and translation of English and Latin documents, such as wills, inventories and deeds.










