-
For the discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
-
Genealogy Resources on the Internet - Translations and Word Origins Mailing Lists
Most of the mailing list links here point to this site, wonderfully maintained for years by John Fuller. This site indexes links for all known genealogy mailing lists, including RootsWeb and others.
-
For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area known as Hessen, Germany, and all its predecessors such as Hessen-Darmstadt, Hessen-Kassel, Hessen-Nassau, Kurhessen, and Rheinhessen. Among other things, the list offers assistance in research from several experts and free language translation.
-
RootsWeb: Genealogy Mailing Lists: Translations and Word Origins
The majority of genealogy mailing lists are hosted by RootsWeb.com. Messages on RootsWeb lists are archived. The links to RootsWeb here also point you to the archives (browse or search).
-
Take a break from genealogy! This list provides a lighthearted discussion of English-English/American-English phrases and how they might have originated. These phrases have been passed down to us by our ancestors and have become part of our heritage (e.g., saved by the bell, turn the tables, the whole 9 yards, the upper crust). Archives: browse or search.
Languages & Translations » Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
14 Links
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.










