Click on the broken link graphic and fill in the form
-
FamilySearch.org - England Marriages, 1538–1973
FREE
Index to selected England marriages. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 15,673,510 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
-
An ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.
-
FreeREG - Search UK Parish Register Indices
FreeREG is a free access site, in the process of making available transcriptions for parish registers throughout England, Scotland, and Wales.
-
Includes articles with information on using various English records, as well as blank forms to print for use in your research
-
General Register Office - Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
The official service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) from England & Wales to be ordered via the Internet.
-
Marriage Law for Genealogists: The Definitive Guide
What everyone tracing their family history needs to know about where, when, who and how their English and Welsh ancestors married. A book by Rebecca Probert for sale from Amazon.com.
-
A guide for researching marriage records, marriage certificates & the history of marriage in the UK.
-
Origins.net - British Origins
$
More than 70 million names covering 1209-1948. Census records, wills, marriage, apprenticeship, court, burial, militia, passenger lists, maps and more.
-
Origins.net - Genealogy Research online specializing in British & Irish genealogy search
$
Access some of the richest British and Irish genealogy records for under £5 a month including comprehensive British & Irish record collections, dating back to the 13th century; the National Wills Index, pre-1858 English wills and probate documents; downloadable genealogy guides, maps and rare publications.
-
London Consistory Court Depositions Index 1700-1713
These cases may involve matrimonial matters such as divorce and separation, breech of promise, arguments over estates and probate, defamation, and "criminous conversation." The Consistory Court had jurisdiction over the whole of the bishopric of London, and so cases concerning not just London and Middlesex but parts of Hertfordshire and Essex appear in its records.
-
-
Parishmouse | For Family Historians
Parishmouse contains free transcriptions of historical books and parish registers for England and Wales and a large collection of photos of churches and graves and illustrations from the old books.
-
Phillimore Parish Registers - Marriages Database Search
This database contains transcripts of Marriage records extracted from many parish registers, and published by Phillimore & Co. in the late 19th and early 20th centuries under the title: "Phillimore Parish Registers - Marriages series". We have a major indexing project underway to add all of the Phillimore Marriages volumes to the index, so please check back regularly to see what is new.
-
Registering life events : Directgov - Government, citizens and rights
Order birth, marriage, death, civil partnership, stillbirth or adoption certificates. You can order certain certificates online, by post or telephone through the General Register Office or from the local authority where the event took place.
-
-
South West England Genealogical Indexes
Newspaper indexes, parish registers, Somerset Trade Directory 1874-5, inquests, and miscellaneous transcriptions.
-
The St. Catherine's Marriage Index
The St. Catherine's Marriage Index Includes selective transcriptions for South-East England, a complete transcription for the March Quarter of 1849 for all of England & Wales, and an ongoing transcription for the Year 1856.
-
Pay-for-use site with details of nearly 90,000 Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates since 1837 along with details of Church records of Baptisms, Burials and Church Marriages from before 1837.
-
Online searchable indexes of selected birth, marriage & death registrations.
-
Vicar-General Marriage Licence Index
Index of marriage licences issued by the office of the Vicar-General of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the period 1694 to 1850, England.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Bishops' Transcripts and Marriage Licenses, Bonds and Allegations, A Guide to Their Location and Indexes
$
Bishops' Transcripts and Marriage Licenses, Bonds and Allegations, A Guide to Their Location and Indexes: Fourth Edition. Jeremy Gibson . (1997) This is a guide to the location of Bishops' Transcripts and of the records connected with the issuance of marriage licenses in England, Wales, and Ireland, such as Bonds and Allegations. Also included are abstracts, calendars, and indexes to marriage licenses, published or not, and when these are lacking there is an indication of the arrangement of the surviving documents. English marriage records were maintained in a wide variety of ecclesiastical courts. Anyone searching for marriage records prior to 1837, when civil registration was introduced, will find this simplified guide to be of inestimable value. This new edition includes maps of ecclesiastical jurisdictions.










