-
Ancestry.com - Learning Center - Census Records
Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Using Ancestry: Census Search Tips
Article by Juliana Smith.
-
Using U.S. Censuses: Next Steps
Article by Juliana Smith.
-
-
Beginner's Guide to U.S. Federal Censuses
A TNGenWeb Resource Project.
-
-
Every Name or Head of Household Index?
This article discusses different search techniques for head of household versus everyname indexes, including examples of well-known individuals located in 1860-1880 census indexes with these techniques.
-
I am Jones or Am I Something Else?
Analysis on a confusing census entry (William Rhodes--Part I).
-
Gender and name issues on a census entry (William Rhodes--Part II).
-
Census Records History of & How to Use Them
By Linda Haas Davenport.
-
Census Schedules - U.S. Federal
A listing of the items of information that can be found on each census between 1790 and 1900.
-
Clues in Census Records, 1790-1840
From the National Archives & Records Administration.
-
Clues in Census Records, 1850-1930
From the National Archives & Records Administration.
-
A Brief Guide.
-
Genealogy.com: Secrets of the Census
By Donna Przecha.
-
Mark's Genealogy Portal - Census Lookups – Practical Examples of Search Techniques
A tutorial on how to perform more effective census searches, with illustrated examples of very difficult-to-find ancestors.
-
Michael John Neill's Census Image Examples
Examples of census images from Ancestry.Com with links to how-to articles.
-
National Genealogical Society | Online Courses
The courses are open to anyone who wishes to enroll. Members of the National Genealogical Society (NGS) receive a tuition discount.
-
Special Federal Census Schedules
Census schedules of special population groups, mortality, agricultural, manufacturing, industry, and social statistics.
-
Using Census Records in Genealogical Research
An online course designed for genealogists who want to learn more about the information that can be found in the federal population census records (1790 - 1930), and how that information can be used in their genealogical research.
-
-
Nazaire Drollette in the 1850-1900 Census for Clinton County, New York
Online articles by Michael John Neill on analyzing a series of census records for an individual beginning with their listing in the 1850 census.
-
ShopFamilyTree.com - Expert Webinars
$
From Family Tree Magazine.
-
Online Census Secrets: Best Web Sites and Strategies to Find Your Ancestors Webinar
By Diane Haddad and Allison Stacy.
-
-
Special Federal Census Schedules: An Online Course
The National Genealogical Society's online course.
-
Beyond the Index - Michael John Neill. This article discusses using the 1885 Nebraska census and how spelling errors and transcription difficulties created research challenges.
-
The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy - Ancestry.com Wiki
The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy is a reference book published by Ancestry Publishing. The first edition was published in 1984 and was edited by Arlene H. Eakle and Johni Cerny. A revised edition, edited by Loretto Dennis Szucs and Sandra Hargreaves Luebking, was published in 1997. The current edition, the third, was published in 2006 and was also edited by Szucs and Luebking. In 2010, Ancestry.com digitized the content of The Source and made it available in wiki format as one of the foundational sources for the Ancestry.com Wiki. Each chapter has been broken into one or more series of articles.
-
Overview of the U.S. Census - Ancestry.com Wiki
This article originally appeared in "Census Records" by Loretto Dennis Szucs and Matthew Wright in The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy
-
-
Beyond the Index - Michael John Neill. This article discusses using census records to ascertain possible fathers for an individual.
United States » U.S. Census » How To
39 Links











