|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Alabama
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Alabama:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
- AccessGenealogy - Alabama Genealogy Resource Center
- Alabama Genealogy Resources
Links to hundreds of sites for Alabama, the Deep-South, and Civil War information.
- Amelia's Alabama Genealogy
- American Local History Network - Alabama
- Ancestor Search - Alabama Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Alabama
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Alabama Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- East Central Alabama Researchers
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Alabama Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Alabama Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Alabama
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Alabama Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Alabama Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Alabama
- Kindred Trails - Alabama Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Alabama Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Alabama
- Looking 4 Kin - Alabama
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Alabama
- Southeast USA Genealogy
For people interested in genealogy research anywhere in the United States, especially in the Southeast (including the states of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Missouri, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Maryland, South Carolina, and North Carolina.) A mailing list with corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Alabama
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- Tracking Your Alabama Roots
- USGenWeb - ALGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- Alabama Dept. of Archives & History Homepage
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.S. City Directories
-
U.S. Phone and Address Directories, 1993-2002 Original source: 1993-2002 White Pages. Little Rock, AR, USA: Acxiom Corporation.
-
U.S. Public Records Index Original source: Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, comp. Historical Residential White Page, Directory Assistance and Other Household Database Listings. Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, 215 South Complex Drive, Kalispell, MT 59901.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Alabama
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- City Directories of the United States of America
A register of known city directories, their years, and repositories for the United States.
- Online Historical Directories Website
The purpose of the site is to have links to all online city directories in one place, listed by location and in date order. It is meant to be used as an aid to genealogists, historians, and other researchers. Included are county, rural, business, professional and other directories.
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Alabama
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- 50states.com - Alabama State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Alabama Cities Index - Alabama Info
- AlaWeb - Alabama Information Network
- City of Birmingham, Birmingham, Alabama
- City of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
- Court Web Sites - Alabama
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Mobile Convention & Visitors Corporation: History
- NACo - About Counties - Alabama
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Alabama
- Online Montgomery
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Alabama
- Yahoo! Get Local...Alabama Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Alabama History On-Line
- Alabama History Timeline
- Alabama Live, the Real South: History
- Alabama Through the Ages: From Prehistory to Modern Day
A timeline from the Alabama Department of Archives and History.
- The Cholera Epidemic of 1873
Historic narrative of the epidemic in Birmmingham, Alabama including an early map of the city showing areas of the disease.
- The Cholera Epidemic of 1873 in Birmingham Alabama
Article by David Bishop.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Alabama
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- The Harbinger. Mobile: Then and Now
- Historic Postcards of Alabama
A portion of the Sturdivant Hall Collection.
- History of Alabama and Incidentally of Georgia and Mississippi, from the Earliest Period by Albert James Pickett
- Internet Resources for Special Collections and Alabama History
From Auburn University Libraries.
- Ray's Alabama History
- Yahoo!...History...Alabama
- Alabama Dept. of Archives & History Homepage
- Alabama Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Alabama Public Library Service
- Auburn University Libraries - Aubie Plus
- City of Mobile > City Departments > Municipal Archives Department ~ Mobile, Alabama
Records of early Alabama settlers: Spanish, French, English, etc. Includes the Gulf Coast areas from Louisiana to Florida.
- Family History Centers in North Alabama
- Family History Centers in Alabama
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Hunt Library and Archives of the Woman's Missionary Union
- LIBCAT: US - Alabama
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Alabama
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Alabama
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Alabama
- PublicLibraries.com - Alabama
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Alabama
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Samford University Institute of Genealogical and Historical Research
- Samford University Library ~ Birmingham, Alabama
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of South Alabama Archives
- Wallace State College Library ~ Hanceville, Alabama
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
ALABAMA Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
Alabama_Slavery Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in slavery in Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
alabama-slaves Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding slaves mentioned in Alabama records.
-
AL-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Alabama.
-
AL-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating, and preserving historical information about, Alabama cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-CEMETERY-PRESERVATION Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the preservation of historic Alabama cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Alabama census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. In addition, those who own or have access to census records and are willing to do lookups are asked to subscribe and assist in responding to queries. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone who is researching the descendants of persons from Alabama who served in the Civil War Archives: browse or search..
-
ALDATA Mailing List For the submission of data files to the Alabama GenWeb archives, part of the USGenWeb Project archives. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Alabama from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Alabama newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-ORPHANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in orphans and orphanages in Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Alabama kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. See AL-ROLLCALL Mailing List web page. Archives: browse or search.
-
AL-VETERANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Alabama veterans from the Revolutionary War through present day conflicts. Archives: browse or search.
-
DEEP-SOUTH-ROOTS-L Mailing List Alabama, Florida, Georgia & Mississippi.
-
Melungeon Mailing List For people conducting Melungeon and/or Appalachian research including Native American, Portuguese, Turkish, Black Dutch, and other unverifiable mixed statements of ancestry or unexplained rumors, with ancestors in TN, KY, VA, NC, SC, GA, AL, WV, and possibly other places. Archives: browse or search.
-
MGS-MEMBERS Mailing List For the members of the Mobile Genealogical Society. Archives: browse or search.
-
SOUTHEAST-PIONEERS Mailing List For genealogical interests in the pioneers in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia & Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
WIREGRASS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Wiregrass area of Georgia, Florida and Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
- Yahoo! Groups - alabamagenealogy : Alabama Genealogy Group
Moderated genealogy group for those researching ancestors in the State of Alabama.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Alabama
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- Alabama Clickable Image Map
- Alabama Counties
- Alabama Department of Transportation - Equipment Bureau/Maps
- Alabama Maps
Free downloadable maps covering numerous topics for the state of Alabama.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Alabama
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Alabama
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers  Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Alabama  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - South Central States  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
- Color Landform Atlas: Alabama
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Machine Cancel Publications by Richard E. Small Listings of historic post office locations for sale for the states of Alabama, Georgia, Hawaii, Virginia, West Virginia, the terrritory of Puerto Rico, & more.
- Map of Alabama Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Alabama
- Maps of Alabama Counties
Contemporary county maps.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Alabama Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Alabama County Selection Map
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Alabama
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 1st Alabama Cavalry
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
1st. Infantry Regiment, Alabama, C.S.A.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
4th Alabama Infantry
- 6th Alabama Infantry Home Page
- 15th Alabama Infantry, Company G, CSA
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
18th Alabama Infantry Regiment C.S.A.
- 19th Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 19th Alabama Infantry Regiment, C.S.A.
- 23rd Alabama Volunteer Infantry Regiment, CSA
- 25th Alabama Infantry, C.S.A.
- 26th Alabama (O'Neals)
- 27th Alabama Infantry, C.S.A.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
29th Alabama Infantry Regiment, C.S.A.
- 32nd Infantry Regiment of Alabama Volunteers, Company "D"
- 33rd Alabama Volunteer Infantry Regiment
- 36th Alabama Infantry Regiment
- 42nd Alabama Infantry
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
45th Alabama Infantry Regiment Muster Roll
- 49th Alabama (C.S.A.) During the Civil War
Initially known as "Hale's 31st Alabama".
- 53rd Alabama Cavalry - Regimental History and Muster Roll
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
53rd Alabama Partisan Rangers
- 55th Alabama Infantry Regiment
- ADAH: Civil War Service Database
This database is being created from an 8 x 5 card file maintained by the Alabama Department of Archives and History from the early 1900s until 1982. Currently all entries under the letters A - L are available.
- Alabama Civil War Regimental Histories
- Alabama Civil War Roots Homepage
- Alabama Infantry Regiments
Books for sale, as well as links to regimental sites.
- Alabama Infantry Regiments, Histories of
- Alabama in the Civil War Message Board
For serious discussions and research of Alabama and Alabama in the War Between the States. Open to historians, genealogists, authors and academics.
- Along the Old Federal Road
Muster Rolls of 36th Alabama Infantry along with family information on Monroe, Conecuh, and other south Alabama counties. Middleton, Anderson, Ross, and other families.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Alabama
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Alabama
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Civil War Rosters - Alabama List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Fifteenth Alabama Infantry Regiment
Campsite for information on the Original Regiment & for Reenactment 15th Alabama Infantry, Company A.
- First Alabama Cavalry, Company C, United States Volunteers
- Forty-Eighth Alabama Infantry
- Forty First Alabama Regimental Infantry, Confederate States of America
List of officers by company; record of events of all companies; roster of men in each company; and roster of men listed as Field and Staff.
- Hale's 31st Alabama / 49th Alabama, Port Hudson, LA Hospital Ledger
- History of Law's Alabama Brigade, 1862-1865
Including information & muster rolls for: 4th Alabama Regiment, 15th Alabama Regiment, 44th Alabama Regiment, 47th Alabama Regiment and 48th Alabama Regiment.
- History of the 33rd Alabama Infantry CSA
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
History of the 47th Alabama Volunteer Infantry Regiment
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Alabama
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Old Huntsville Magazine - War of 1812 Soldiers from North Alabama
- Semple's Battery (Alabama Artillery)
Includes a muster roll, newspaper clippings, and brief history of the achievements the unit had during the Civil war.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Alabama
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Alabama
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- al.com: Unseen. Unforgotten.
 Dozens of previously unpublished photographs from the Civil Rights era, located in 2006 in a storage closet at the Birmingham (Alabama) News. Organized by theme (such as the Freedom Riders, school desegregation, and voting rights) and year. Includes captions from the photo files.
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Alabama
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Alabama
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Alabama
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Living in Alabama or Specializing in Alabama
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- Erwin Genealogy - Erwin Family History Service
Located in Southern California, specializing in Southern research including Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Virginia.
- Family History Research in the Southeastern United States
Southeastern Roots. Professional genealogical research for clients, as well as lectures and workshops relative to the states of Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.
- Gen Detective
Research for hire in the Tennessee Valley area.
- Genealogy Professional Alabama Georgia Kentucky Carolinas Virginia: Ted Lane Genealogist
More than 40 years experience. Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia, and others.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- Professional Genealogical and Historical Researchers
From the State Archives.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Alabama
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- SouthEastern Genealogical Research
Genealogical document search and retrieval service. Specializing in genealogy in the states of: Virginia, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Arkansas.
- Tennessee Valley Genealogical Services
 Family History and genealogy research in the Tennessee Valley (Northern Alabama and Southern Tennessee). Specializes in Limestone County, Alabama.
- Time Machine: Ancestral Research ~ Alabama
Laura Flanagan, member of the Limestone County Historical Society, SPGS, NGS with 7 years experience, working toward certification. For details send e-mail to Laura at: LaLynn@aol.com.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- 1850 Census Records
These books are transcribed from the 1850 Census Records and have indexes for some of the counties in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Texas.
- Alabama Genealogical Research Books
Genealogical research books on marriage records in the following Alabama counties: Barbour, Coffee, Dale, Geneva, and Houston.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Alabama
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Alabama
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Alabama
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Alabama
- Books of Local and Regional Interest for Sale
From the Birmingham Public Library.
- Books We Own - Alabama
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Alabama
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Early Marriage Records in Alabama Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Alabama Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogy Books for Sale
From the Birmingham Public Library.
- Genealogical.com - Alabama
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Alabama
- Higginson Book Company - Alabama-Arizona-Arkansas
- J & W Enterprises
One stop book source on the Internet, specializing in southern states source material.
- Martin Genealogy Publications
Alabama and Florida.
- Mobile Genealogy Society - Publications
- Mountain Press - Alabama
Free Surname Search for Alabama genealogy books. Information available for many counties on wills, marriages, deaths, biographies, military as well as many maps.
- Pioneer Publishing Company
Books for sale on Alabama, Georgia, Indian, Mississippi, Tennessee & Texas.
- Quintin Publications | Alabama
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Alabama
- The University of Alabama Press
- Alabama Genealogy
General discussion list for genealogy in Alabama. Feel free to post surname requests, advice or suggestions for research.
- Alabama Newspapers with Genealogical Query Columns
- Alabama Queries
- Alabama Unknown County Query Page - ALGenWeb
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - Alabama
-
RootsWeb Surname List - RSL Alabama
The RSL and this form concept & design are courtesy of Karen Isaacson
- SE USA Genealogy Forum on About.com
This forum is primarily for genealogy discussion/research involving the Southeast USA states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia). Post your southern surnames, air your views on issues, ask questions, share research tips or photos, tell us about your personal genealogy site and join in our fun games and contests.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Alabama Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Alabama
-
Ancestry.com - Alabama Census, 1810-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Fragment ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Alabama
- Cooper Roll
Census Roll of Choctaw families residing east of the Mississippi River and in the states of Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama made by Douglas H. Cooper, US Agent for Choctaws, in conformity with Order of Commissioner of Indian Affairs dated May the 23rd, 1855.
- Deputy Surveyors, Alabama
Deputy Surveyors of the North East part of the Mississippi Territory, 1817-1818.
- The Federal Population Censuses - Catalogs of NARA Microfilm
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Alabama:
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 US Vessels & Navy Yards ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- USGenWeb Archives
- Alabama, Choctaw Land Patents
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Alabama Creek Land Patents: A-T
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
-
Ancestry.com - Alabama Land Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- The Bureau of Land Management -- Eastern States, General Land Office
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of over two million pre-1908 Federal land title records, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin.
- Old Huntsville Magazine - Purchasers of Huntsville Town Lots from Original Owners
- Alabama Supreme Court Cases (1820-1826) <
- Alabama Territorial Records
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Alabama
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Alabama. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
Genealogy.com - County Resources
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Alabama Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
- Alabama Death Records
1908-1959 uncertified photocopy of Alabama death certificate for $3.
- Alabama Department of Public Health
- Alabama Wedding Bells
Post marriages that took place prior to 1900.
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Alabama
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Alabama Marriage Records
A list of links to other sites.
- MyVitalRec.com - Alabama Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Alabama
- Vital County Records On Microfilm at ADAH
Birth, marriage, divorce, and death records on microfilm for each county held by the Alabama Department of Archives & History.
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Alabama
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Alabama Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Alabama (USA): Alabama State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Alabama
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
|