|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Delaware
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Delaware:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Delaware Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Delaware
- Ancestor Search - Delaware Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Delaware
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Delaware Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Ancestry.com - Research in the Mid-Atlantic States Article by Kory L. Meyerink.
- AwesomeGenealogy.com - Delaware
Church records, links to other resources.
- Colonial Ancestors
Genealogy records and information about ancestors in the 13 original colonies.
- Delaware Genealogical Information and Repositories
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Delaware Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Delaware
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Delaware Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- Grandfathers Clock Genealogy and History Pages
Genealogy and History of Maryland, Delaware and Virginia's Eastern Shore.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Delaware
- Kindred Trails - Delaware Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Delaware Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Delaware
- Mid-Atlantic Roots Network
Dedicated to the genealogy, history and culture of the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States: Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina and the District of Columbia.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Delaware
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Delaware
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - DEGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Delaware
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Delaware State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Delaware
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Delaware Counties and Hundreds
- Delaware Towns and Places
- FindLaw: Delaware: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Deleware
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Delaware
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Delaware
- State of Delaware
- Yahoo! Get Local...Delaware Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Delaware Division of Libraries
- Delaware Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Delaware Public Archives
- Digital Archives
Ledger books, Civil War records, coroner's inquests, pauper books, naturalization records, slavery records, orphans court case files, photo collections and state map collection.
- DelAWARE - The Digital Library of the First State
- Delaware's Libraries
- Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History & Culture ~ Salisbury, Maryland
- Family History Centers in Delaware
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Delaware
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- LIBCAT: US - Delaware
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Delaware
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- MARAC Regional Archives Institutions - Delaware
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Delaware
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Delaware
- PublicLibraries.com - Delaware
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Delaware
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of Delaware Library
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DE-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone researching their African-American ancestry in Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Delaware.
-
DE-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating and preserving historical information about Delaware cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Delaware census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Delaware from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
DELAWARE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-OLDSWEDES Mailing List For anyone interested in the genealogy of families associated with the Old Swedes (Holy Trinity) Church in Wilmington, Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Delaware kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
-
DE-VETERANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in those who signed up for military service in Delaware and/or participated in military operations in Delaware during the Indian Wars, Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Civil War, Spanish American War, and World War I. Archives: browse or search.
-
LOWER-DELMARVA-ROOTS Mailing List Sussex and Kent Counties in Delaware; Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester in Maryland; Northampton and Accomack in Virginia. Archives: browse or search.
-
MID-ATLANTIC-ROOTS-L Mailing List New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, and the District of Columbia. Archives: browse or search.
-
Mitsawokett Mailing List For anyone who is researching the genealogy and history of the Indian families that originated in the territory of Mitsawokett, now known as Kent County, Delaware.
-
NATIVEAMERICAN-DELMARVA Mailing List For anyone researching their Native American ancestry in Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia. Archives: browse or search.
-
NA-TRISTATE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Native Americans in the tri-state area of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-NETHERLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in New Netherland Colony. Archives: browse or search.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Delaware
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Delaware
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Delaware
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Shores - Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850
Maps on this site cover the early modern period ending in 1850, just as so-called internal improvements (canals, highways, and railroads) began to cross the young nation and change the landscape.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Delaware
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Delaware
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Details of the original Mason-Dixon Line Map
From the Maryland State Archives.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of Delaware - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of Delaware - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of Delaware - Town Index
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - Delaware
- Map of Delaware Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Delaware
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Delaware Maps
From the University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Delaware County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Delaware
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Delaware
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Search Military Records
-
Delaware Pensioners, 1835 Original source: United States Senate. Report from the Secretary of War, in Obedience to Resolutions of the Senate of the 5th and 30th of June, 1834, and the 3d of March, 1835, In Relation to the Pension Establishment of the United States. [Delaware Section]. Washington, D.C.: Duff Green, 1835.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Delaware
- Civil War Rosters - Delaware
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Delaware and the Wars
From the State of Delaware web site.
- Delaware National Guard - History Information
- Delaware Roster of Union Soldiers
An alphabetical list of soldiers from Delaware who served in the Civil War.
- Fourth Delaware Regiment Infantry Volunteers
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Delaware
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Sick Report 1863
Sick Report 1863 Company "E", 4th Regiment, Delaware Infantry Volunteers
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Delaware
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Delaware
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Delaware
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Delaware
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Delaware
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Delaware or Specializing in Delaware
- Delaware Professional Genealogists
- Delmarva DataSearch
Historical and land records research service on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, Virginia, as well as the state of Delaware. Particular knowledge of Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset and Dorchester counties in Maryland.
- Doherty Enterprises Professional Genealogical Research
- eXpertGenealogy - Genealogy Professional Genealogist - Pennsylvania & Delaware
Directory of professional genealogists specializing in Pennsylvania & Delaware research.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Golden Lyon II Genealogical Research
Resource for studying related families of the Lower Eastern Shore - Allied Families of the Delmarva Peninsula.
- Lindberg Historical and Genealogical Research Services
Research services in southeastern Pennsylvania and northern Delaware specializing in onsite research in the National Archives in Philadelphia.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Delaware
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Delaware
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Delaware
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Delaware
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Delaware
- Books We Own - Delaware
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - New England States
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Colonial Roots ~ Lewes, Delaware
Publish and sell new and used genealogy titles and local histories covering the Mid-Atlantic region including Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and New Jersey.
- Delaware Genealogical Research Guide
- eBay Listings: Search for Delaware Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Delaware
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Delaware
- Higginson Book Company - Delaware
- Picton Press - Delaware
- Quintin Publications | Delaware
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Delaware
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1890 Census Fragment for Delaware
From the National Archives and Records Administration. List of Selected African Americans from the 1890 and 1900 Censuses of Delaware.
- AccessGenealogy - Delaware Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Delaware Census, 1790-1890 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : Delaware
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Delaware
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Delaware:
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Delaware
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Delaware. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
Genealogy.com - County Resources
- Delaware Information and Repositories
- Directory of Historical Records in Delaware
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Search Engines for Ships Passenger Lists to Delaware
Custom Search Engine allows you to search multiple Internet sites for Passenger Lists of ships going to Delaware, United States.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Probate Database Search
Online searchable index to the holdings of the Delaware Public Archives' manuscript probate records from c. 1680 to c. 1925.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Delaware Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
- Wilmington Diocese Catholic Parish Registers
A list of microfilm numbers for parish registers available through the LDS Family History Library and Family History Centers. Records included on the microfilm begin in 1790 for baptisms through 1920, marriage and other registers through 1960 (35 Rolls).
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- VitalChek Network - Delaware
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Delaware
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records (Births, Marriages, and Deaths)
From the Delaware Public Archives. Explains the location, availability, and contact information for Delaware vital records.
- VitalSearch - Delaware (USA): Delaware State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Delaware
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Summarizes contact information, fees, and availability information for vital records in the state.
- Delaware Civil War Society
- Delaware Genealogical Society
- Delaware Society, Sons of the American Revolution (DESSAR)
- Delaware State Society, NSDAC
National Society Daughters of the American Colonists.
- Fort Delaware Society
- Historical Society of Delaware
- IOOF Lodge Website Directory - Delaware
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- Jewish Historical Society of Delaware
- Lower Delmarva Genealogical Society
Delaware, Maryland and Virginia.
- Mid-Atlantic Germanic Society
Dedicated to our early German ancestors who arrived in America and for the Society's purposes includes New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia, and the Carolinas.
- Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference
- Society Hill: Delaware Genealogy
A list of addresses for genealogical and historical societies in the state.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|