|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Dictionaries & Glossaries
|
|
- Antiquus Morbus -Rudy's List of Archaic Medical Terms
A Glossary of Archaic Medical Terms, Diseases and Causes of Death. The Genealogist's Resource for Interpreting Causes of Death. Antiquus Morbus is a collection of old medical terms and their modern definitions. The primary focus of this web site is to help decipher the Causes of Death found on Mortality Lists, Certificates of Death and Church Death Records from the 19th century and earlier.
- Colonial Diseases & Cures
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Forgotten Medical Cures From the "Yucky Stuff" thread on the Roots-L mailing list, October 1998.
-
Genealogy.com - Outdated Medical Terminology
- German-English Illness Translations
- Jewish Genetic Diseases
Mazornet's staff is dedicated to compiling helpful information and resources concerning Jewish genetic diseases.
- Kentuckiana Genealogy - Disease Chart
- Medical Dictionary Online
Free online medical dictionary search engine for definitions of medical terminology, pharmaceutical drugs, healthcare equipment, health conditions, medical devices, specialty terms and medical abbreviations.
- A Medical Miscellany for Genealogists
A book by Jeanette Jerger.
- Miners' Diseases
By Gareth Williams, a socio-economic history of the Rhondda Valleys (Wales) during the period 1800 to 1950. Ankylostomlasis, Beat Knee, Chronic Bronchitis, Emphysema, Nitrous Fumes, Nystagmus, Pneumoconiosis, Respitory Diseases.
- Old Disease Names & Their Modern Definitions
- Old Disease Names and Their Modern Definitions
Useful tool to understanding those out of date medical terms used on your ancestors death certificates.
- Old Diseases & Their Modern Definitions
- Old Medical Terminology
- Old Time Disease Names
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: Glossary of Ancient Diseases
- Online Archive of American Folk Medicine
Searchable database of home made treatments for a variety of ailments.
- Outdated Medical Terms
- Ancestry's Concise Genealogical Dictionary
A book by Maurine Harris and Glen Harris.
- Charlotte's Web Genealogical Dictionary
- Charts for Reference in Genealogy Research
Glossary Chart, Occupation Chart, War Chart, Disease Chart.
- Colonial American English: A Glossary
A book by Richard M. Lederer.
- The Correct Spelling of the Word GENEALOGY
A little memory aid by Mark Howells.
- Danish-English Genealogy Dictionary
- The Dictionary of Genealogy
A book by Terrick H. Fitzhugh. An outstanding reference explaining terms and concepts used in UK genealogy.
- Engelsk-svensk ordlista för släktforskning
English-Swedish dictionary for genealogy research.
- eogen - Encyclopedia of Genealogy
A free-content encyclopedia created by its readers, created and hosted by Dick Eastman.
- FamilySearch.org - Word Lists
Genealogical word lists from the FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service of the LDS Church.
- Czech
Danish ,
Dutch ,
Finnish ,
French ,
German ,
- Hungarian
- Icelandic
Italian ,
Latin ,
Norwegian ,
Polish ,
Norwegian ,
Portuguese ,
Spanish ,
Swedish
- Gareth's Help Page - Technical Words/Expressions
Excellent resource for UK genealogical terminology.
- Genealogical Glossary
- Genealogy Definitions
- Genealogy Dictionary
- Genealogy Dictionary from Family Tree Maker
- Genealogy Knowledgebase
- genealogyPro Glossary of Genealogy Terms
- Genealogy Quest - Genealogy Terminology
- Genealogy Terms
- German-English Genealogical Dictionary
A book by Ernest Thode.
- German Study Group / German Words
- Glossary
Online searchable glossary from the Acadian Memorial in St. Martinville, Louisiana.
- Glossary of Legal Terms
- Glossary of Scottish terms of interest to genealogists
From the Scottish Archives Network.
- Glossary of Terms used in past times
From the United Kingdom.
- Glossary of Unusual Words Found in Wills etc.
- Kentuckiana Genealogy - Genealogy Glossary
- Land Records Glossary
From the Georgia Archives.
- Latin Genealogical Word List
From the FamilySearch.org.
- Latin Genealogy Glossary
- Latin in Parish Records
Article by Alison U. Ring.
- Latin Words from Belgium Parish Registers Translations to Flemish/Dutch/Vlaams & English
- Martin's Norwegian Genealogy Dictionary
This dictionary contains words related to genealogy. Most of the words are not likely to appear in a common dictionary. However, to be able to make a translation you will also need a common dictionary. Abbreviation NN means Nynorsk (one of Norway's two official languages).
- A Medical Miscellany for Genealogists
A book by Jeanette L. Jerger.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: Dictionary of Terms
- A Partial List of Latin Genealogy Terms and Their English Equivalents
-
ROOTS-L Resources: Genealogical Terms and Definitions
- Svensk-engelskt släkt-lexikon
- Swedish to English
Useful terms and information for the genealogist.
- Translations
Some common words in various languages you may encounter in your research. Lists of common words include English, French, German, Spanish, Irish and Latin.
- UK Genealogy - Common Acronyms & Jargon
- The USGenWeb Project Information for Researchers - Genealogy Vocabulary
- The Wedderburn Pages - Glossary
Glossary of archaic Scottish words and phrases useful for genealogical research, including terms linked to property and possessions, found in wills and testaments.
- Whakapapa Maori - Structure, Terminology and Usage
- What Did They Mean by That: A Dictionary of Historical Terms for Genealogists
A book by Paul Drake.
- Archive CD Books USA
Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- Bouvier Law Dictionary
A Law Dictionary Adapted to the Constitution and Laws of the United States of America and of the Several States of the American Union, by John Bouvier, Revised Sixth Edition, 1856.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
GEN-Documents Mailing List For discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
-
HessenGenWeb Discussion Group Offers free language translation.
-
LATIN-WORD Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Latin from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Latin words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
NICKNAMES Mailing List For discussion and sharing of information regarding the origins of nicknames and what names they belong to. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-ENGLISH Mailing List For anyone who is deciphering old English documents to discuss interpretations of handwriting and word meanings. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-FRENCH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in French from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old French words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-GERMAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in German from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old German words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-RUSSIAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Russian from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Russian words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-WORDS Mailing List For the discussion of old words, phrases, names, abbreviations, and antique jargon useful to genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
PolishLessons Mailing List For Poland researchers in translating Polish documents and to further their research while visiting/researching in Poland. Archives: browse or search.
-
TRANSLATIONS Mailing List For anyone who can help others, or desires help, in the translation of documents that directly support genealogical research efforts. Archives: browse or search.
-
WORDS Mailing List and the associated web page A lighthearted discussion of English-English/American-English phrases and how they might have originated. Archives: browse or search.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|