|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
England - Devon
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Footsteps - Quality Reproductions of Old Photographs - Devon
Several thousand photographs dating from about 1910 to 1930, depicting views of towns, villages, schools, churches, etc., of England and Wales.
- Plymouth - Plymouth History - Old Plymouth - Brian Moseley's Plymouth Data Website
The encyclopaedia of Plymouth history covering old Plymouth, Devonport and East Stonehouse, and also the ancient parishes of St Budeaux, Eggbuckland and Tamerton Foliot, which make up the modern City of Plymouth, within the County of Devon, in the United Kingdom.
- Victoria County History: Devon
Index of places mentioned in the titles of articles in the published volumes of the Victoria History of the Counties of England.
- Yahoo!...England...History
- Brixham Heritage Museum
Refers to Brixham, Devon. Research pages include local register entries, document extracts and other family history resources. Also old photos of the town.
- Devon Library and Information Services - Local Studies Service
- Devon Record Office
The Historical Archives of Devon, including Exeter, Torbay and North Devon.
- Exeter Cathedral Archives
- Family History Centers in Devon
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- North Devon Record Office
- Plymouth Library Services
- Plymouth & West Devon Record Office
- Sources for Local History at Lambeth Palace Library - Devon
- The Susser Archive
The documents and papers of the late Rabbi Dr. Bernard Susser, historian of the Jews of South West England.
- Tiverton Museum of Mid Devon Life
- The Blackdown Hills
- Branscombe Parish History
- Brayford
- Calverleigh
- Charleton Parish Council
- Cullompton
- Denbury
- Devon Webworld
Information and photos for around 100 cities, towns and villages in Devon, which could be of use to those searching their family trees for ancestors in the area.
- Dittisham
- Dolton
- Family History in Ipplepen, Devon
- Harberton
- Petrockstowe
- Plymouth & South West Devon, a Genealogical Miscellany
- Shirwell Village
- Staverton
- South Hams; Devon; Genealogy; Kingsbridge; Totnes; Family History; Church registers; Censuses
A collection of indexes, census transcripts & a free lookup service in the original church registers of most parishes in the ancient South Hams district of the County of Devon.
- The Sutcombe Village Records Page
- Terry LEAMAN's Web Site
Torquay Devon material including photos, directory entries, etc.
- Topsham Archive
The Topsham Archive provides family trees, Parish Register,Census & other material for over 10,000 former residents of the historic maritime port of Topsham in Devon. CD-ROMs also available.
- Walkhampton Parish History Web Page
An amazingly detailed site with many transcribed records from this parish.
- West Country Genealogy
- Woolacombe
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DEVON Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-Devon Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Devon.
-
ENG-DEV-SOUTHHAMS Mailing List For nyone with a genealogical interest in the South Hams area (roughly bounded by the Rivers Erme and Dart, Dartmoor, and the sea) of Devon. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESSEX-PLUS Mailing List For anyone who has an interest in genealogy or general and local history related to and incorporating the counties of Berkshire, Bristol, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isle of Wight, Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Somerset, and Wiltshire, England. Archives: browse or search.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Devon Maps
- Devon Parishes
Alphabetical listing from the Devon Family History Society.
- Devon Parish Finder
Interactive map providing general locations of parishes within Devon. From the Devon Family History Society.
- Devon Towns & Parishes
An alphabetical listing.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
From the Association of British Counties.
- Genmaps - Devonshire Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Devonshire Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Your Old Maps Online - Devonshire
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Anglers Rest Research
Genealogical and historical research service in Devon and East Sussex.
- Bernard D. Welchman - Family Historian
Family history research throughout England. Specialist for research in the counties of Somerset, Devon and Dorset.
- Devon Ancestry
Comprehensive historical research and genealogy in Devon and South-West England.
- Devon Look-up Exchange
- Genealogy Professional JE Genealogy Research England: Jack Earnshaw Genealogist
Family History Research in Berkshire, Surrey, Oxfordshire, Hampshire, Devon, Yorkshire.
- Wessex Family Research
Conducting specific local archive searches for you at most Record Offices in London and across southern England, with discount rates for work in Devon, Dorset, Hampshire, Somerset and Wiltshire.
- West Devon Family History Research
Local research by local people, location photography, parish registers, 1851 and 1881 census for all Devon, England, tithes, local history.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - England and English
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Ambra Books & Lesley Aitchison
Buying and selling antiquarian and secondhand books, manuscripts, documents, maps, plans, photographs, albums, and ephemera relating to Cornwall and the West Country - Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset & Wiltshire.
-
Ancestry.com - Devon, England: Parish and Probate Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- Archive CD Books USA
Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- Belerion Books
We specialise in producing CD ROM facsimile editions of rare and out of print books that pertain to Cornwall, United Kingdom with some overlap into Devon and the West Country.
- eBay.co.uk Listings: Search for Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- LDS Catalog - Online Distribution Center - Software & Databases
Inexpensive, high quality CD-ROM databases available from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- 1851 British Census
For the counties of Norfolk, Devon, and Warwick only.
- 1881 British Census and National Index
An automated index that contains information for over 30 million individuals from England, Wales, and Scotland.
- British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition
Contains more than 12.3 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland from 1530 to 1906.
- The National Archives (U.K.) - Bookshop
- Plymouth Marriage Index
CD-ROM and look up service available for purchase from the Plymouth & West Devon Record Office.
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop Online
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - United Kingdom and Ireland
- CuriousFox UK Genealogy Message Boards - Villages, Towns, Local History, UK Maps
Pinpoints every village and town in the UK and Ireland (over 50,000) with the exact location on modern maps and old maps. This is the village by village contact site for anybody researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Every UK county, town and village has a page for family history, local history, surname and genealogy enquiries.
- GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy
- RootsChat.com - Genealogy, Family History, Local History, Messaging Forum and more
Free messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The emphasis of the site is on the United Kingdom (Britain) and Ireland.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- Devon Online Parish Clerks and One-Place Studies
Volunteer project to collect, collate and transcribe records for specific parishes in Devon.
- Devon Strays
- Devon Workhouses
- England Wills Exchange Database
Collection of will submissions for England aranged by county.
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- GENUKI: Devon 1891 Census Project
 This project aims to provide a free online searchable transcription of the 1891 Census for Devon. It is intended as a pilot project, testing out organizational procedures and specially-designed software which is hoped will prove suitable for, and encourage the undertaking of, a planned much larger project, the FreeCEN Project, that would encompass other UK counties and census years.
- Harberton, Devon Baptisms
- Historical Directories
Digital library of eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth century local and trade directories from England and Wales. Includes text search and images.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England (A-M) , (N-Z)
- Lost Devon Monumental Inscriptions
- Medical licences issued by the Archbishop of Canterbury 1535-1775 - Devon
- Middle Names from the IGI
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- OPCDevon Online Parish Chest
Information for select parishes in east Devon.
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Pigot & Co.'s Directory of Devonshire 1830-31
- Quaker Family History Society - Devon Records Locations
- Registers of Exeter Cathedral
From 1593 to 1813.
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- South Hams; Devon; Genealogy; Kingsbridge; Totnes; Family History; Church registers; Censuses
A collection of indexes, census transcripts & a free lookup service in the original church registers of most parishes in the ancient South Hams district of the County of Devon.
- Visitations of the County of Devon
The Herald's Visitations of Devon in 1620 (part - transcribed) and 1564 (full - images) available to browse online free.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|