Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
England - Kent
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Canterbury Cathedral Archives: History and Heritage
Holds the administrative records of the cathedral, city and diocese of Canterbury.
- The Centre for Kentish Studies
The amalgamation of the collections of the West Kent Archives Office and the County Local Studies Library have combined to form the Centre For Kentish Studies.
- CityArk Project
From the Medway Archives Office.
- East Kent Archives Centre
The East Kent Archives Centre (EKAC) holds records previously held at Ramsgate Library, Folkestone Library, the former Whitfield outstore, Hythe Town Council and some East Kent records from the Centre for Kentish Studies, Maidstone.
- Familia
Directory of family history resources held in public libraries in the UK and Ireland. Provides information about the libraries and their holdings.
- Family History Centers in Kent
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Greenwich Heritage Centre
- Hackney Library Service
- Hackney Museum
- Historic Dockyard Chatham
- Kent County Council - Libraries
- Kent County Council - Archives and Local History
- Kent Police Museum ~ Chatham
- Lewisham Local Studies and Archives
- London Borough of Bexley - Local Studies and Archive Centre
- London Borough of Bromley | Bromley Archives
- Medway Council - Archives and Local Studies
- Medway Council - Local History
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- Sources for Local History at Lambeth Palace Library - Kent
- Biddenden
- Biggin Hill
- Bridge Village
- Chalk Village
- History of the Parish of Chiddingstone
- Crockenhill Parish
- Elmsted, Kent, England
Local history of the parish of Elmsted and family histories of Elmsted and neighbouring villages on the North Downs.
- Faversham
- Folkestone Families
- Great Chart
- Hamstreet
- Herne Bay
- The History, Genealogy and Topography of the Weald of Kent, Surrey and Sussex
This site catalogues the people, genealogy, places, maps, drawings, engravings, books, writings and numerous lists and directories that are more than 70 years old into one integrated database of information about The Weald of Kent, Surrey and Sussex.
- Kent Genealogy
Sources for genealogy in Kent, England. Site includes some indexed records.
- Lamberhurst Village
- Maidstone Borough Council
- Meopham Parish
- Pembury Village
- Pluckley
- Poor Children of Elham
Late 19th to early 20th century names of interest for people who think they had descendants in Elham, Kent, England.
- Ramsgate Lifeboat
- Family History Research
Contact information for family historians requesting information on ex crew members, persons rescued or lost during rescues and other persons connected with the Ramsgate Lifeboat. Includes an index of historic crew members with selected photos and life saving medals information.
- Sandhurst in Kent, Bodiam in Sussex, Bodiam Mill
Parish records for Sandhurst in Kent and nearby villages, including parish registers, militia lists, apprenticeships, parish books, emigration, tithe apportionments, maps, surveys, auctions, etc.
- Sandwich
- Sheerness/Penney/Sheppey
- Sutton Valence
- Thurnham
- West Farleigh
- Whitstable, Kent. Its people and history - Oystertown.net
Details of the sailors and oystermen together with census data from the 1800's.
- Wingham Village
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps - Kent Old Maps
- GENUKI: London Parishes and Boroughs
Provides a list of the City of London parishes, the County of London metropolitan boroughs created in 1889 and their original counties, and the Greater London boroughs created in 1965 and their original counties and metropolitan boroughs. Very valuable for understanding the growth of the metropolis and the changes of its administrative boundaries.
- Kent Maps
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Kent Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Your Old Maps Online - Kent
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Ancestor Search UK
Professional genealogical research for the counties of Essex, Kent, and Suffolk, United Kingdom, and London area also included.
- Ancestors Professional Genealogists ~ Dover, Kent, England
Established in 1992, we have successfully traced the family history of over 3,000 people and given help and advice to over 10,000 others. Although we specialise in researching families in the British Isles, we are able to conduct investigations in many countries throughout the world.
- David Wright - Genealogy Research in Kent and London
Author of the Guide for East Kent Parishes and the holder of the London Probate Index and the East Kent Burial Index.
- Family History Research Kent
Roots-in-Kent. Genealogy/family history research for southeast England.
- Genealogy Professional East Kent Kin: Ian & Sandra Crofts Genealogist
Research in Kent archives and libraries.
- Genealogy Professional Kent England Research: Matthew Copus Genealogist
Genealogical Research in Kent, England, specialising in South West Kent.
- Genealogy Professional West Kent & East Sussex Research Services: Michelle Carpenter Genealogist
Kent, Birmingham & Sussex UK family and historical building research services.
- Geoff Swinfield Genealogical Services ~ Faversham, Kent, England
- Kent Look-up Exchange
- Link Line Ancestral Research
Professional family history research in the London and Home Counties area.
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - United Kingdom and Ireland
- British-Genealogy.com - B-G Forums
Free genealogy message board forums for all of the United Kingdom and beyond. Several topic-specific forums for occupations, records types and historic events.
- CuriousFox UK Genealogy Message Boards - Villages, Towns, Local History, UK Maps
Pinpoints every village and town in the UK and Ireland (over 50,000) with the exact location on modern maps and old maps. This is the village by village contact site for anybody researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Every UK county, town and village has a page for family history, local history, surname and genealogy enquiries.
- GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy
- RootsChat.com - Genealogy, Family History, Local History, Messaging Forum and more
Free messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The emphasis of the site is on the United Kingdom (Britain) and Ireland.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Greenwich Registry Office
- Kent Registration Services - Birth, Marriage and Death Certificates
Online searchable index for births, deaths & marriages registered in Kent.
- Lewisham Council - Births, Deaths and Marriages
- Medieval & Tudor Kent P.C.C & C.C.C. Wills
Old wills from Kent, England.
- The Parish of Staplehurst in County Kent - Genealogy and Local History
Staplehurst, Kent - Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, Census and more.
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|