|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
England - Middlesex
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Ten Generations
Draws on original evidence held in local collections to tell the stories of how our London forebears lived their lives, the changes they will have seen, and some of the historical events they may have witnessed during the last 300 years.
- Victoria County History: Middlesex
Index of places mentioned in the titles of articles in the published volumes of the Victoria History of the Counties of England.
- Yahoo!...England...History
- Barnet Libraries
- Brent Archive
- Bruce Castle Museum: Haringey Council
Houses the Haringey Archive Service.
- Camden Local Studies & Archives Centre
- Ealing Births, Deaths and Marriages
- Ealing Libraries
- Familia
Directory of family history resources held in public libraries in the UK and Ireland. Provides information about the libraries and their holdings.
- Family History Centers in Middlesex
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Guildhall Library Manuscripts Collection ~ London, England
- Hackney Libraries
- Hammersmith & Fulham Copy Certificates
Includes online ordering.
- Hammersmith & Fulham Libraries ~ London, England
- Haringey Libraries
- Parliamentary Archives: House of Lords Record Office
The archive service for both Houses of Parliament and facilitates public access to several million records which are preserved in the Victoria Tower repository. The records include original Acts of Parliament from 1497, Journals from 1510, papers laid before Parliament from 1531, Peerage papers from 1597, Judicial papers from 1621, and plans of canals, roads, railways and other public works deposited in connection with private bills from 1794. Amongst the comparatively few records of genealogical interest are the Protestation returns of 1642 and certain Papist returns.
- London Borough of Harrow Civic Centre Library
- Hounslow Libraries
- Imperial War Museum ~ London
- Islington Library and Information Service
- Kensington and Chelsea Libraries
- London Borough of Enfield - Libraries
- London Borough of Enfield - Tree Services - Enfield Register Office
- London Borough of Harrow - Libraries
- The London Borough of Hounslow - Heritage
- London Borough of Hillingdon Local Heritage Service
- London Metropolitan Archives
Formerly the Greater London Record Office.
- London Generations
Online searchable index of the details of registers of churches, schools and genealogical sources held by the LMA. It does not contain individual names of Londoners.
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea - Local Studies
- Sources for Local History at Lambeth Palace Library - London & Middlesex
- Tower Hamlets - Libraries
- Waltham Forest Archives
Housed at the Vestry House Museum.
- Waltham Forest Libraries
- Westminster Abbey
- Westminster City Council Archives Center
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
Middlesex Mailing List Web Page
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps - Middlesex Old Maps
- GENUKI: London Parishes and Boroughs
Provides a list of the City of London parishes, the County of London metropolitan boroughs created in 1889 and their original counties, and the Greater London boroughs created in 1965 and their original counties and metropolitan boroughs. Very valuable for understanding the growth of the metropolis and the changes of its administrative boundaries.
- Greater London Maps
- Homann Heirs - London, Westminster and Southwark 1736
- John Cary's Environs of London 1786
50 hand-coloured plates, with nearly 2000 named locations. Access the key map to get to each of the grid maps.
- John Fairburn - Map of London and Westminster and the New Docks 1802
First published in 1795, 3 3/4 inches to a mile, this example is the 7th edition published in 1802 and includes the additional righthand section, first added in 1801, showing the West India Docks. Access the map by clicking on an image of the complete map, or by using the 2000 place name index.
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Middlesex Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Plan Of The Cities of London and Westminster And Borough of Southwark 1749 - John Rocque
- Richard Horwood - Map of London, Westminster and Southwark
26 inches to a mile, this example is the 1st edition published 1792-9. Access the map by using the 5500 place name index, or by clicking on an overview map.
- Stanford's Library Map of London and its Suburbs 1862
Edward Stanford's 6 inch to the mile map first published in 1862. This example is the 1st edition. Access the map by using the 18,500 segmented place name index, or by clicking on an overview map.
- Your Old Maps Online - Middlesex
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1901 Census of England and Wales Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index with online images available.
-
Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.
1841 , 1851 , 1861 , 1871 - London , 1871 , 1881 - London , 1881 , 1891 - London , 1891 , 1901 - London , 1901
- British Data Archive
British census records on CD and DVD.
- Census Online - Middlesex
- Middlesex 1891 Census
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- IGI Middle Names - London (including Middlesex)
- Kensal Green Cemetery ~ London
- London Signatures
Online index of 10,000 wills from the Archdeaconry Court of Middlesex. Copies of the wills can be purchased online.
- Medical Licences | Lambeth Palace Library
Medical licences issued by the Archbishop of Canterbury 1535-1775.
- The Metropolitan Police Service Historical Archives ~ London, England
- Middlesex England Parish Records
Database of parish marriage records between 1563 and 1895, listed alphabetically by groom's last name.
- Middlesex Workhouses
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Old Tottenham High Road Homepage
Family and local history of Tottenham, Middlesex, England. Marriage entries for Old Hallows' Church, 1558-1837, All Hallows' MIs, Trade Directories, old prints, maps, photographs.
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674 to 1834
Searchable online database of 22,000 trials, from December 1714 to December 1759. Searchable by name, place, crime, verdict, punishment, date & more.
- Quaker Family History Society - London Records Locations
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- Trueflare Limited
Apprenticeship (Binding) Indexes for the Company of Watermen and Lightermen of the River Thames 1692-1949; PDF format on CDs.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Births, Marriages and Death indexes transcribed - Ancestry.com This page has a great description of the BMD collection and its origins.
-
Search Birth, Marriage & Death Records Including baptism, christening, and burial records.
-
England & Wales, Birth Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1837-1983 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1984-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Birth Index, 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Death Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Marriage Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Pallot's Baptism Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Pallot's Marriage Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
UK Parish Baptism, Marriage and Burial Records A collection of parish records in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland from the 1500s to the 1900s. Original source: Electronic databases created from various publications of parish and probate records.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Family Research Link
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
- Hackney - Community & Living
- Hammersmith & Fulham Copy Certificates
Includes online ordering.
- Haringey Council Register Office
- Hillingdon Register Office
- Hounslow Registration Services for Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Islington - Births, Deaths and Marriages
- Kensington and Chelsea Register Office
- London Borough of Harrow - Community and Living
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
- Tower Hamlets Register Office
- Westminster Register Office
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|