|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
England - Suffolk
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
ENG-BRECKLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the 400-mile area of the counties of Suffolk and Norfolk, known as the Brecks or Breckland. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-EAST-ANGLIA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in East Anglia, England, which includes the counties of Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, and Bedfordshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SFK-BABERGH-COSFORD Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the former Hundreds of Babergh and Cosford, in south Suffolk. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SFK-IPSWICH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the city of Ipswich, Suffolk. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SFK-PLOMESGATE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Registration District of Plomesgate, Suffolk. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SFK-STOWMARKET Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the town of Stowmarket, Suffolk, England, and its adjacent parishes; also a forum for reminiscences of the area from anyone with memories to share. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-Suffolk Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Suffolk.
-
ENG-SUFFOLK-SAMFORD-DISTRICT Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the District of Samford, Suffolk. Archives: browse or search.
-
SUFFOLK Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- English Place Names - Norfolk and Suffolk Place-Names
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps - Suffolk Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Suffolk Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Registration Districts of Suffolk in 1836
With Maps and List of Parishes.
- Suffolk Maps
- Your Old Maps Online - Suffolk
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Ancestor Search UK
Professional genealogical research for the counties of Essex, Kent, and Suffolk, United Kingdom, and London area also included.
- Gravestone Photographic Resource Project - Suffolk
Grave monument photo resource with full surname searching.
- Hereward Researchers
Researchers covering family and local history in Cambridgeshire, Northants, Huntingdon & The Fens (includes Lincolnshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk).
- Lakenheath and Mildenhall Genealogy
Search-for-fee lookups in parish registers and bishops' transcripts.
- Professional Family and House History Research in Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridge, Essex and Lincolnshire
Gill Blanchard, Genealogical Research.
- Suffolk Ancestry
Family and villiage reasearch within the county of Suffolk.
- Treesearch UK
Professional genealogical service specialising in Essex & Suffolk, England.
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - United Kingdom and Ireland
- British-Genealogy.com - B-G Forums
Free genealogy message board forums for all of the United Kingdom and beyond. Several topic-specific forums for occupations, records types and historic events.
- CuriousFox UK Genealogy Message Boards - Villages, Towns, Local History, UK Maps
Pinpoints every village and town in the UK and Ireland (over 50,000) with the exact location on modern maps and old maps. This is the village by village contact site for anybody researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Every UK county, town and village has a page for family history, local history, surname and genealogy enquiries.
- GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy
- RootsChat.com - Suffolk
Free messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The emphasis of the site is on the United Kingdom (Britain) and Ireland.
- The Suffolk Surnames List
Includes parish records online, geographic information, mailing list information & links.
- UK Genealogy Interests Directory
Find other genealogists whose research shares your surnames.
- UK Surnames Genealogy Contact Site - Suffolk Listings
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- Haverhill Cemetery Burial Records
Searchable online index of over 6000 records from the present Haverhill Cemetery records from 1867 until 1950. From the Haverhill Family History Group
- Waveney District Council - Cemeteries Index
From Waveney in Suffolk, England. Includes indexes for cemeteries in Beccles, Bungay, Halesworth, Kirkley, Lowestoft, Southwold & Wrentham. Includes some cemetery plans.
- 1891 Census Index
For Haverhill, Ashen, Barnardiston, Birdbrook, Castle Camps, Clare, Great Abington, Great Wratting, Helions Bumpstead, Hundon, Kedington, Little Wratting, Ovington, Poslingford, Risbridge Union, Shudy Camps, Steeple Bumpstead, Stoke, Stoke by Clare, Sturmer, Withersfield, Wixoe. From the Haverhill Family History Group
- 1901 Census of England and Wales Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index with online images available.
-
Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.
- British Data Archive
British census records on CD and DVD.
- Census Online - Suffolk
- Freston 1841 Census Suffolk Index
- Freston, Suffolk 1861 Census Index
- Freston, Suffolk 1871 Census (Index) ~ England
- Freston, Suffolk 1881 Census Index
- Freston 1891 Census Suffolk Index
- Index of 1841 Census - Parish of Hopton (part)
- Index of 1841 Census - Parish of Knettishall
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- Samford (Part) 1891 Census
- Alphabetical Surname Index To Pigot & Co. Directory of Suffolk, England 1823 - 1824
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- The Cosford Database
Contains details of many families from Lavenham, Lawshall, Brent Eleigh, Cockfield, Preston St Mary, Brettenham, Kettlebaston, Monks Eleigh, Thorpe Morieux, Hitcham, Acton, Poslingford, Milden, Great Waldingfield and Little Waldingfield in the time period 1800 - 1900.
- The Domesday Book Online
- Essex 1841 Census Genealogy and Miscellaneous Parish Records, Births, Christenings, Marriages and Deaths
Suffolk Genealogy and 1841 Essex census, Essex marriages, baptisms in Essex, Suffolk. Norfolk, Cambridgeshire & Hertfordshire genealogy, census, births, marriages, deaths, parish records, wills and an online genealogy family tree.
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Badingham, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Beyton, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Brundish, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Buxhall, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Combs, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Cratfield, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Dennington, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Drinkstone, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Framlingham, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Fressingfield, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Great Finborough, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Harleston, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Haughley, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Hessett, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Horham, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Hoxne, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Laxfield, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Metfield, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Onehouse, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Rattlesden, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Shelland, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Stowlangtoft, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Stradbroke, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Syleham, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Thurston, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Tostock, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Ubbeston, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Wilby, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Wingfield, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Withersdale, Suffolk
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Woolpit, Suffolk
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England
- Medical Licences | Lambeth Palace Library
Medical licences issued by the Archbishop of Canterbury 1535-1775.
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Quaker Family History Society - Suffolk Records Locations
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- Suffolk Register Offices
- Suffolk Workhouses
- Woodbridge Quay Church Historical Records, Woodbridge, Suffolk, UK ~ Suffolk, England
Birth, marriage, death & membership records for Beaumont Baptist Church & Quay Congregational Church.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Births, Marriages and Death indexes transcribed - Ancestry.com This page has a great description of the BMD collection and its origins.
-
Search Birth, Marriage & Death Records Including baptism, christening, and burial records.
-
England & Wales, Birth Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1837-1983 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1984-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Birth Index, 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Death Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Marriage Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Pallot's Baptism Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Pallot's Marriage Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
The registers of the parish of Thorington in the county of Suffolk : with notes of the different acts of Parliament referring Original source: The registers of the parish of Thorington in the county of Suffolk : with notes of the different acts of Parliament referring to them, and notices of the Bence family, with pedigree, and other families whose names appear therein. London: Mitchell and Hughes, 1884.
-
UK Parish Baptism, Marriage and Burial Records A collection of parish records in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland from the 1500s to the 1900s. Original source: Electronic databases created from various publications of parish and probate records.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
- Suffolk Register Offices
- Woodbridge Quay Church Historical Records, Woodbridge, Suffolk, UK ~ Suffolk, England
Birth, marriage, death & membership records for Beaumont Baptist Church & Quay Congregational Church.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|