|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
England - Staffordshire
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Abbots Bromley
- Ancient Manor of Sedgley
Insight into the Staffordshire village of Sedgley, its parish and the surrounding hamlets, and to the life and times of the people who lived there. Local historic maps and LDS batch numbers.
- Barton-under-Needwood
- Bishops Offley
- Bishops Woood Village
- The Black Country Pages
An area in the English Midlands, to the north and west of Birmingham. Covers towns such as Stourbridge, Lye, Dudley, Wolverhampton, Wednesbury, Walsall, West Bromwich, Brierley Hill, Halesowen and others.
- Brewood Village
- Brocton
- Codsall
- Draycott-en-le-Moors
- Forsbrook Village
- Handsworth History
- Hilderstone
- Hints Village
- Longnor
- Lower Gornal
- Madeley
- Pattingham Village
- Penkridge
- Rolleston-on-Dove Village
- Shareshill
- Swynnerton
- Villages (and townships) on the Borders of Shropshire & Staffordshire
Transcriptions of censuses, returns of owners of land, monumental inscriptions and more.
- `Weston Coyney` - A Local History Page
Local history study and genealogical information relating to Weston Coyney, Staffordshire, England. Genealogy of the ancient COYNEY family.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
ENG-BLACK-COUNTRY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the Black Country towns of the English Midlands which are situated to the North and West of Birmingham. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-BLACKCOUNTRY-DIASPORA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the families, mainly involved in coal mining, who moved in the second half of the 19th century from the Sedgley-Dudley area on the Staffordshire/Worcestershire border to other English counties. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-CHS-ODD-RODE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area on the Cheshire/Staffordshire border known as Odd Rode. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-Staffordshire Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Staffordshire.
-
ENG-STF-Black-Country Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Black Country towns of the English Midlands.
-
ENG-STF-Potteries Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Potteries District of Staffordshire.
-
ENG-STS-GNOSALL Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in an area roughly within 20 miles of the village and parish of Gnosall, Staffordshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-STS-Leek-Lowe Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Leek and Lowe, Staffordshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-STS-SEDGLEY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Sedgley, Staffordshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-STS-THE-POTTERIES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire and surrounding/incorporated towns which are the center of the British ceramics industry and comprise an area known as the Potteries District. Archives: browse or search.
-
MIDMARCH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the counties of Breconshire, Herefordshire, Monmouthshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire and Worcestershire. Archives: browse or search.
-
STAFFORDSHIRE Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
UK-AGOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of The Friends of Sandwell Archive, known as the Archive Group of Sandwell, genealogical and family history queries related the Sandwell area, the holdings of the Archive, and genealogical resources available in the Sandwell area. The Sandwell area is in the Black Country area of the English Midlands, to the West of Birmingham and consists of the towns of Smethwick, Oldbury, Tipton, Wednesbury, West Bromwich, and Rowley (including Cradeley Heath). Archives: browse or search.
- 1886 Staffordshire, Shropshire, Cheshire
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
From the Association of British Counties.
- Genmaps - Staffordshire Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Maps of Stoke-on-Trent & North Staffordshire
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Staffordshire Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Staffordshire Maps
- Your Old Maps Online - Staffordshire
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Derbyshire Ancestry Research
For descendents of people born in Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Cheshire, Leicestershire and Staffordshire, England.
- Glynn Roe's Homepage
Research in Derbyshire, Staffordshire, Cheshire and Lancashire.
- Pam RIGGS Location Photography and Family History Research ~ Shropshire, England
Dedicated to providing photographs of your UK ancestors' homes. Research in Shropshire, and the Wolverhampton area of Staffordshire (which includes Willenhall, Wednesfield, Tettenhall etc). BAILEY One name study for Dawley, Shropshire.
- Photographic Services in Derbyshire
Heritage photography for Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire & Staffordshire.
- Photographs of Parish churches; Staffordshire and Shropshire
Heritage photography.
- Professsional Genealogists - ARC Research and Consultancy
Professional research for Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Staffordshire, and the Black Country.
- Staffordshire Ancestry Research Services
Research service for Staffordshire.
- Staffordshire Family History Research
Research for hire in parish and census records.
- Staffordshire Genealogy and Family History Research Services
Sue Gill, a professional researcher for genealogy and family history, will search Staffordshire archive services to trace your family tree. Also site photography and consultation planning service.
- Staffordshire Look-up Exchange
- Whitworth Genealogy Research Services
Professional family history research in Worcestershire and the neighboring counties of Gloucestershire, Hereford, Staffordshire, and Warwickshire.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - England and English
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
-
Ancestry.com - Staffordshire, England: Parish and Probate Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- Archive CD Books USA
 Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry Bookshop
- British Census - 1881
CD-ROM available for sale from the LDS Church. Data transcribed from the 1881 census.
- British Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition
 CD-ROM for sale from the LDS Church. Contains more than 12.3 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland from 1530 to 1906.
- eBay.co.uk Listings: Search for Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Midlands Historical Data
Books on CD-Rom focusing on Birmingham and the counties of Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire & Worcestershire.
- The National Archives (U.K.) - Bookshop
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop Online
- Staffordshire Archive Service Publications
- Tracing Ancestors in North Staffordshire
A book by H.Eva Beech.
- Victoria County History of Staffordshire
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - United Kingdom and Ireland
- CuriousFox UK Genealogy Message Boards - Villages, Towns, Local History, UK Maps
Pinpoints every village and town in the UK and Ireland (over 50,000) with the exact location on modern maps and old maps. This is the village by village contact site for anybody researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Every UK county, town and village has a page for family history, local history, surname and genealogy enquiries.
- GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy
- RootsChat.com - Genealogy, Family History, Local History, Messaging Forum and more
Free messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The emphasis of the site is on the United Kingdom (Britain) and Ireland.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|