|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
England - Westmorland
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
-
England Commercial Directory, 1816-1817
-
England Directory, 1811 Original source: Boyle's Court and Country Guide, and Town Visiting Directory Corrected up to the 1st of April, 1811, Containing An Alphabetical Arrangement of the Names and Places of Abode, in Town and Country, of All the Ladies and Gentlemen of Fashion, to Which are Added, the Inns of Court, &c.
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.K., City and County Directories, 1600s-1900s
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Cumbria Maps
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps - Westmorland Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Westmoreland Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - Westmorland
- Your Old Maps Online - Westmoreland
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- The Cumbrian Researcher
Professional genealogical research.
- Wessex Family Research
Conducting specific local archive searches for you at most Record Offices in London and across southern England, with discount rates for work in Devon, Dorset, Hampshire, Somerset and Wiltshire.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- Cumberland and Westmorland Archives
BMDs, parish registers and more.
- Cumberland and Westmorland OPC - Online-Parish-Clerks (OPCs)
Volunteer project to collect, collate and transcribe records for specific parishes in Cumberland and Westmorland.
- Cumbrian Genealogy
Lists of names from Cumberland and Westmorland parish registers, directories, & census returns.
- England Wills Exchange Database
Collection of will submissions for England aranged by county.
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Milnthorpe, Westmorland
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Witherslack, Westmorland
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Westmorland, England
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Quaker Family History Society - Westmorland Records Locations
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- Westmoreland IGI Batch Numbers
- Westmorland Workhouses
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Births, Marriages and Death indexes transcribed - Ancestry.com This page has a great description of the BMD collection and its origins.
-
Search Birth, Marriage & Death Records Including baptism, christening, and burial records.
-
England & Wales, Birth Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1837-1983 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Birth Index, 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Death Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Marriage Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Pallot's Baptism Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Pallot's Marriage Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
UK Parish Baptism, Marriage and Burial Records A collection of parish records in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland from the 1500s to the 1900s. Original source: Electronic databases created from various publications of parish and probate records.
-
England, Extracted Parish and Court Records
-
Westmorland, England, Extracted Parish Records  Original source: Electronic databases created from a collection of historical parish registers. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Cumbria County Council: Registration Service
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
|