Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
-
Ancestry.com - Learning Center - Learn More Thousands of FREE, searchable how-to articles from Ancestry.com publications such as Ancestry Magazine, the Ancestry Weekly Discovery and the Ancestry Monthly Update.
- Deciphering Old Handwriting
- English Handwriting 1500-1700: An Online Course
- Examples of Letters of the 17th Century Found in Parish Registers
- Handwriting. 16th and 17th Century English
- Historical Writing
Specialized research on the interpretation of historical writing.
- Latin and Palaeography: History, Keele University
This week-long, annual summer school, run by the Department of History at the University of Keele, provides expert tuition in small groups for professional and amateur historians, genealogists, archive students, and postgraduate researchers who wish to acquire or improve their skills in reading and transcribing medieval and early modern documents from English archives, relating to both national and local subjects.
- Medieval Paleography - An Introduction
- Name and Word Spellings
Includes a brief explanation of errors caused by handwriting.
- The National Archives | Palaeography tutorial (how to read old handwriting) ~ United Kingdom
An online tutorial for reading English handwriting appearing in records from 1500 to 1800. Provides tips on how to read old handwriting. Includes interactive tutorials providing practice in reading scanned documents while giving real-time feedback on your accuracy.
- Old Handwriting-Introduction
Article by Roy Colbert with sample letter forms.
- Palaeography - Reading Early Handwriting
Online tutorial with examples.
- Searching Old Records--Reading Old Handwriting and Looking for Names
- Script Tutorials - Paleography, Old Documents, and Family History Research
Resources for old handwriting and documents in English, German, Dutch, Italian, French, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Tutorials for Reading Old German, French and English Handwriting, Naming Systems
- AAD ABIES
AAD ABIES provides German>English/Latin>English translation and transcription of modern and historical handwriting.
- Alphabets - and handwriting styles ~ Denmark
- Fraktur Deciphered
- Fraktur and German Script
- Genealogical dictionary
Examples and translations of Danish handwriting.
- German Translation Service, translators of the Old German Scripts
- Handwriting Guide: German Gothic
- Here you can learn Suetterlin - the "German handwriting"
Excellent online tutorial on the German script and handwriting including an alphabet and scanned examples of documents.
- Moravians - German Script Tutorial
With Moravian Archival examples
-
OLD-ENGLISH Mailing List For deciphering and interpreting documents from the British Isles, from earliest times to about 1900. This list is intended for genealogists, family and local historians, etc. Archives: browse or search.
- Old German Handwritten Scripts
- The Old German Handwriting
- On-line kurs i gotisk handskrift
Free Norwegian on-line course in Gothic handwriting.
- Scottish Handwriting
Online tutorial with scanned examples and helpful tips from the Scottish Archives Network.
- Script Tutorials - Paleography, Old Documents, and Family History Research
Resources for old handwriting and documents in English, German, Dutch, Italian, French, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Vertalingen van Latijns naar het Nederlands
A dictionary for translating Latin genealogical words to the Dutch language.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
GEN-Documents Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
-
LATIN-WORDS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Latin from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Latin words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-ENGLISH Mailing List For anyone who is deciphering old English documents to discuss interpretations of handwriting and word meanings. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-FRENCH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in French from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old French words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-GERMAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in German from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old German words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-RUSSIAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Russian from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Russian words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-WORDS Mailing List For the discussion of old words, phrases, names, abbreviations, and antique jargon useful to genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
PolishLessons Mailing List For Poland researchers in translating Polish documents and to further their research while visiting/researching in Poland. Archives: browse or search.
-
TRANSLATIONS Mailing List For anyone who can help others, or desires help, in the translation of documents that directly support genealogical research efforts. Archives: browse or search.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|