|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Hawaii
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Hawaii:
- Index to County Pages
- Need to Know Which County?
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Hawaii Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Hawaii
- Ancestor Search - Hawaii Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Hawaii
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Hawaii Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Hawaii Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogical Research in Hawaii
- Genealogical Resources In Hawaii
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Hawaii
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Hawaii Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Hawaii
- Hawaiian Roots
Information and links on native Hawaiian ancestry.
- Kindred Trails - Hawaii Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Hawaii Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Hawaii
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Hawaii
- Portuguese Hawaiian Genealogy and Heritage - IslandRoutes
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Hawaii
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - HIGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Hawaii
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Hawaii State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Hawaii
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Hawaii: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Hawaii State Government
- Hawaii's WWW Home Page
- NACo - About Counties - Hawaii
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Hawaii
- USA CityLink Project - Hawaii
- Yahoo! Get Local...Hawaii Islands and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Center for Oral History, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Includes descriptions of COH projects and resources. Features short audio clips from oral history interviews on Hawaii.
- Directory of Historical Records Repositories in Hawaii
- Family History Centers in Hawaii
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Hawaii
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Hawaii Family History Centers
- Hawaii State Archives
- Hawaii State Public Library System
Guide to Resources and Services.
- LIBCAT: US - Hawaii
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Hawaii
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- PublicLibraries.com - Hawaii
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Hawaii
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
The Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection is a unique resource of 50,000 photographs and 2,000 slides that documents the history of the American period in Micronesia (1947-1988), and includes invaluable visual representations of island cultures. Much of this material was salvaged from the former Trust Territory Headquarters on Saipan, and owes its very existence to the persistence of former Trust Territory Archivist Sam McPhetres and his team, who were engaged in microfilming the files of the American administration.
- University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
HAWAII Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the state of Hawaii. Archives: browse or search.
-
HAWAII-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Hawaii from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
HI-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Hawaii census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
HI-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Hawaii census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
HIGEN Mailing List For discussing the creation of a single source for all Hawaii genealogy databases. Archives: browse or search.
-
HI-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ghost towns of Hawaii. Archives: browse or search.
-
HI-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Hawaii newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing List Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico
Nevada.
- Yahoo! Groups : Hawaiian_Genealogy_Society-akg
Hawaiian Genealogy Society began in 1996. Meetings occur informally. Most of the members are Kamehameha descendants, Royal family members or heirs of Sovereigns of Hawaii. This Society is affiliated with the Kingdom of Hawaii, maintains genealogy documentation of the Royal families genealogies, history, etc. We are one of the 13 repatriated groups, granted recognition for ancestral burials including the kaai- burial basketry which holds remains of alii nui/high chiefs of Hawaii, our ancient 1,650+ year old society based on genealogies.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Hawaii
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Hawaii
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Hawaii
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - Hawaii
- Machine Cancel Publications by Richard E. Small
Listings of historic post office locations for sale for the states of Alabama, Georgia, Hawaii, Virginia, West Virginia, the terrritory of Puerto Rico, & more.
- Map of Hawaii Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Hawaii
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Hawaii Maps
From the University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Hawaii County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Hawaii
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Hawaii
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Hawaii
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Hawaii
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Hawaii
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Hawaii or Specializing in Hawaii
- Genealogy Helplist - Hawaii
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- A Loving Journey, Adoption Reunion Searching
Discreet, compassionate searching available to reunite families separated by adoption. Serving states of California, Hawaii, Illinios, Ohio, Oregon, Texas and Utah.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Hawaii
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Hawaii Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- CensusLinks : Hawaii
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Hawaii Chinese Exclusion Index Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Original source: United States, National Archives and Records Administration. Index to Immigration Investigation 'Chinese Exclusion' Case Files of the Honolulu District Office of the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, ca. 1903-44. National Archives and Records Administration--Pacific Region (San Francisco), [May 1998].
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Anti-Annexation Petitions
Ku`e: the Hui Aloha `Aina anti-annexation petitions, 1897-1898 compiled by Nalani Minton and Noenoe K.Silva.
- Before the Needles - Hawaii
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Hawaii. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
Genealogy.com - County Resources
- Early Arrivals Records Search
Online searchable index to casefiles for early immigrants to San Francisco and Hawaii.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Hawaii Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Hawaii Vital Records Information
- How to Apply for Certified Copies of Vital Records
- State Offices of Vital Records - Hawaii
From the Pinellas Park Public Library. Summarizes contact information, fees, and availability information for vital records in the state.
- VitalChek Network - Hawaii
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Hawaii
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Counties within this state now have individual pages
Need to Know Which County?
Use these sites when you know a city or geographic feature, but do not know the county, area or region.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|