|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Iowa
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Iowa:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
- AccessGenealogy - Iowa Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Iowa
- Ancestor Search - Iowa Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Iowa
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Iowa Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Iowa Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Iowa Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Iowa
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Iowa Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Iowa Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Iowa
- Iowa Genealogy
Genealogy of Mahaska, Keokuk and Wapello Counties of Iowa and Mitchel SCHWARTZ.
- Iowa Migration Project
- Kindred Trails - Iowa Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Iowa Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Iowa
- Looking 4 Kin - Iowa
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Iowa
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Iowa
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - IAGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Iowa Gazetteer and Business Directory, 1884-1885
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.S. City Directories
-
U.S. Phone and Address Directories, 1993-2002 Original source: 1993-2002 White Pages. Little Rock, AR, USA: Acxiom Corporation.
-
U.S. Public Records Index Original source: Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, comp. Historical Residential White Page, Directory Assistance and Other Household Database Listings. Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, 215 South Complex Drive, Kalispell, MT 59901.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Iowa
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- City Directories of the United States of America
A register of known city directories, their years, and repositories for the United States.
- Online Historical Directories Website
The purpose of the site is to have links to all online city directories in one place, listed by location and in date order. It is meant to be used as an aid to genealogists, historians, and other researchers. Included are county, rural, business, professional and other directories.
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Iowa
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- 50states.com - Iowa State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Iowa
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Iowa: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- History of County Government in Iowa
From the Iowa State Association of Counties.
- Iowa: Judicial Branch Directories
Provides courthouse addresses for each county.
- NACo - About Counties - Iowa
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Iowa
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Iowa Home Page
- USA CityLink Project - Iowa
- Yahoo! Get Local...Iowa Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Iowa
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- History of County Government in Iowa
From the Iowa State Association of Counties.
- The History of Iowa
From early Native American cultures through WWII. Article by Rickie Lazzerini.
- Iowa History Timeline
- Yahoo!...History...Iowa
- Family History Centers in Iowa
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Iowa
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
- Iowa Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- LIBCAT: US - Iowa
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Iowa
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library ~ Cedar Rapids
- Newberry Library | Iowa Genealogy
- PublicLibraries.com - Iowa
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Iowa
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- State Historical Society of Iowa: Archives and Records Program
The Historical Society provides the function of the State Archives of Iowa.
- State Library of Iowa
- State of Iowa Libraries Online
A list from the State Library of Iowa.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of Iowa Libraries
- Iowa Women's Archives
The University of Iowa's collection, much of which has active links which give precise details of the document and its location. Includes letters, diaries, magazine and newspaper articles, government papers, scrapbooks and much more. Includes material on African-American women and rural farm women.
- Special Collections
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
EIGS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Eastern Iowa Genealogical Society and genealogical resources available in the Eastern Iowa area. Archives: browse or search.
-
GERMANS-NE-IA Mailing List For the discussion of the genealogy, history, and culture of Germans in Nebraska and Iowa including immigrants from all parts of Germany, Pomerania, Saxony, etc. Discussion of migration patterns, immigration, heraldry, historical sketches, settlements, census data, wills, family Bibles, vital records, web sites, etc. is encouraged. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Iowa.
-
IA-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone searching for their ancestors in Iowa cemeteries and anyone interested in preserving historical information about Iowa cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-CENSUS Mailing List For transcribers participating in the Iowa Census Project to discuss project activities.
-
IA-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Iowa census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the role of Iowa and its citizens in the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-CZECHS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Czech ancestors who settled in Iowa. Discussion of migration patterns, immigration, heraldry, historical sketches, settlements, census data, wills, family Bibles, vital records, web sites, etc. is encouraged. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-DANES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Danish immigrants who settled in Iowa. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Iowa from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
IAGEN Mailing List A mailing list (part of the USGenWeb Project) to provide communication among the IAGenWeb county coordinators and volunteers. The forum is open to individuals considering working within or having a valid interest in the IAGenWeb Project. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-IRISH Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding ancestors who were born in Ireland and settled in Iowa. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-NEB-ROOTS Mailing List - Iowa & Nebraska
-
IA-NE-PIONEERTRAILS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the pioneer trails of Iowa and Nebraska. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Iowa newspapers published prior to 1931.
-
IA-RAILROADS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old Iowa railroads and their workers. Archives: browse or search.
-
IA-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in vintage photos dealing with people and places in Iowa. Archives: browse or search.
-
IOWA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Iowa. Archives: browse or search.
-
IowaGenealogy Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Iowa.
-
IOWA-OLD-NEWSPAPERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old Iowa newspapers and the persons who worked for them. Archives: browse or search.
- 1874 Plat Maps Keokuk County of Iowa
- 1882 Iowa State Gazetteer and Business Directory
- 1887 Plat Maps Keokuk County of Iowa
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Iowa
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- 1905 Plat Maps Mahaska County of Iowa
- 1912 Plat Maps Keokuk County of Iowa
- 1913 Plat Maps Mahaska County of Iowa
- 1914 Plat Maps Keokuk County of Iowa
- 1914 Plat Maps Mahaska County of Iowa
- 1920 Plat Maps Mahaska County of Iowa
- 19th Century Atlas, Historic Maps, Historical Guides and Gazetteers
- Historical Guides and Gazetteers: 19th Century Place Names
 Digital books, gazetteers and 19th century reference material useful in historical research and genealogy.
- Historic Atlas Series: 19th Century Historical County Maps
 High resolution images of historic maps created from original 19th century county atlases. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Wisconsin.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Iowa
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Iowa
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers  Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Iowa  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Mid Western States  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
- Color Landform Atlas: Iowa
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Fire Insurance Maps of Cities & Towns
From the State Historical Society of Iowa.
- Iowa Ghost Towns
This site lists towns in Iowa that are extinct or just not what they once were in their prime.
- Keokuk County, Iowa 1861 Maps
- Keokuk County, Iowa 1875 Map
- Mahaska County, Iowa 1875 Map
- Map of Iowa Counties
- Map of Iowa for 1922 from from Standard Atlas of Wapello County Iowa compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co., Chicago, Ill. 1">.
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Iowa
- Origin and Naming of Iowa Counties
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Iowa Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Iowa County Selection Map
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Wapello County 1922 Plat Maps
- Wapello County, Iowa 1875 Map
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Iowa
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 3rd Iowa Cavalry
- 10th Iowa Volunteer Infantry
- 36th Iowa Infantry
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Aquilla Standifird's Civil War Diary
Company D, 23rd Iowa.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Iowa
- Civil War: Iowa Volunteers
Including excerpts from a Civil War diary and letters.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Civil War Rosters - Iowa List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Fifth Iowa Volunteer Cavalry
Regimental website (including full roster) for a unit which included members from Iowa, Nebraska, Minnesota and Missouri.
- Fifth Iowa Volunteer Infantry
Regimental website which includes a full roster and many individual biographies.
- Footnote.com - Mormon Battalion Pension Files
 Selected Pension Application Files Relating to the Mormon Battalion, Mexican War, 1846-48, NARA T1196. The Mormon Battalion was formed in Council Bluffs, Iowa, in 1846, to support the US troops in California during the Mexican War. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- History of the 33d Iowa Infantry Volunteer Regiment, 1863-6 (Civil War in the West)
A book by A. F. Sperry.
- Iowa Grand Army of the Republic
Includes a list of GAR posts in Iowa.
- Iowa in the Civil War
- Iowa Veterans Home
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Iowa
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Letters from an Iowa Soldier in the Civil War
Part of a collection written by Newton Robert SCOTT, Private, Company A, of the 36th Infantry, Iowa Volunteers to Hannah CONE, his friend and later his wife.
- Personnel Roster Thirty-Second Regiment Iowa Volunteer Infantry Company "B"
Site lists unit movements during the Civil War. Personnel Roster lists: place of entry, nativity, service status and burial/last available data.
- The Price Of Our Heritage
World War 1 Iowa Rainbow Division.
- Roster of the 36th Iowa Infantry
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Iowa
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Iowa
- Xerxes Knox, Private, Company G, 3rd Iowa Cavalry in the Civil War
Cyndi's 3rd-great-grandfather & a successful escapee from Camp Ford, Tyler, Texas.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Iowa
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Iowa
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Iowa
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Iowa
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Authentic Origins Professional Genealogical Researcher and Consultation in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Iowa
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Iowa or Specializing in Iowa
- Genealogical Research In Iowa
Research service in Des Moines, Iowa, including Polk, Warren, Madison, Dallas, Boone, Story, Marshall, Jasper and Marion counties.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Grave Finder's Genealogy Researchers
Genealogy Researchers with over 30 years experience. We have access to records for Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. We also have access to some of the records for Iowa, Illinois, Ohio and West Virginia. We are available to take pictures of headstones.
- Into The Past - History Research Service
Specializing in Eastern Nebraska and Western Iowa research.
- Iowa Genealogical Research
Iowa-based researcher with the expertise and knowledge necessary to help you reach your family research goals.
- Iowa Genealogical Research
Professional research service: Newspapers, Census, Courthouse Records, Cemetery Records, Land Records, GAR Records, Naturalizations, Births, Death, Marriages, World War I Draft Registrations, Iowa Quaker Records, Old Age Assistance Records, Probates, Iowa Pioneer Certificates (pre-1856), etc.
- N-IA Genealogy
North Iowa genealogy research in courthouses, libraries and cemeteries for Cerro Gordo, Floyd and Franklin Counties.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Iowa
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Iowa
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Iowa
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Iowa
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Iowa
- Books of Historical Interest Home Page
Transcriptions of historical books and other publications mainly of the State of Iowa. Biographical sketches of pioneers, all books are at least seventy-five years old.
- Books We Own - Iowa
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Iowa
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Camp Pope Bookshop
Specializing in out-of-print books on the American Civil War, Iowa & the Trans-Mississippi Theater.
- County Publications
Local society publications for sale from the Iowa Genealogical Society.
- eBay Listings: Search for Iowa Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Heritage Books: Iowa
- Higginson Book Company - Iowa
- Iowa Counties - Iowa Internet Book Store
- More Historical Books and Publications
Transcriptions of histories, counties and biographical sketches of prominent pioneers of Iowa.
- Quintin Publications | Iowa
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Iowa
- Souvenir History of Pella, Iowa 1847-1922 - Surname Index
This is an online index to a book available from the Pella Historical Society.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - Iowa Cemetery Records Original source: Works Project Administration. Graves Registration Project. Washington, D.C.: n.p., n.d.
- Cemeteries of the United States - Iowa Cemeteries - County Index
- Cemetery Junction: Iowa Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cemetery Listings
Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, and Oklahoma. List includes tombstone pictures / photos for: Arkansas (Benton & Carroll County); Colorado (Pueblo County); Kansas (Reno & Wilson County); Missouri (Barry, Jasper, McDonald, & Phelps County); Oklahoma (Alfalfa, Dewey, & Major County).
- Cemetery Photos & Obituaries
Photos of headstones in Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska & Wyoming, as well as obituaries.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Iowa
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Iowa
- Funeral Services Providers - Iowa
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- The Graveyards of Omaha
Graveyards, history and genealogy of the eastern Nebraska and western Iowa areas.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Iowa Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Iowa Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Iowa Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Iowa Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- Iowa Funeral Directors Association
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Iowa
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Iowa
- Saving Graves - Iowa
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Iowa
- US Funerals Online - Iowa
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Iowa
- 1892 Farmers Index for Southwest Iowa Counties
Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie and Shelby Counties.
- Auswanderer von Taben und Rodt nach USA / Emigrants from Taben an Rodt to US (IOWA)
Emmigration from Taben-Rodt from 1850 to 1875, Incluses the surnames KLEIN, NEUSES, GANSEMER, FAHA, DUEHR, DUHR, ROERSCH, LOCH, NEUSES & NEISES.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Iowa
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Iowa. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Immigrant Ships
Immigrant ships of the Dutch Colonists of the 19th century to West Michigan and Iowa. Over 50 Lists!
- Iowa Courts History
- Iowa Documents - History & Genealogy
Iowa Civil War rosters, 1860 census transcriptions for selected counties, excerpts from 1875 Andreas Atlas and more.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Iowa Counties, United States
- SAMPUBCO
Will Testators Indexes, Naturalization Records Indexes and Census Indexes online. You can order copies of the original source documents for a small fee.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Iowa
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com - Iowa Marriages to 1850 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Bureau of Health Statistics
From the Iowa Department of Public Health. Provides links to information on availability, fees, ordering procedures and printable forms for Iowa vital records.
- MyVitalRec.com - Iowa Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Iowa
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Iowa
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Iowa Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Iowa
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey
|