Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Internet Genealogy
Researcher Beware: There Is No Such Thing!
|
|
I have come to really cringe when I read/hear the term "Internet genealogy" simply because I know that it does not really exist. The term is often used in a context that makes "Internet genealogy" appear to be something apart and separate from what some people must think of as "that other kind of genealogy" - (remember the kind using original records on microfilm or in books?). We can use the Internet for genealogical research, but in the end our passion is a unified one, defined by a single word: genealogy. Therefore, the discussion should really be about how we "use the Internet for genealogy."
- Genealogy has many possible sources for data, for learning and for sharing. The Internet is only one of those possible sources. See the list of numerous other tools below.
- We don't refer to "library genealogy" or "archives genealogy" or "FHC genealogy," so why would we refer to "Internet genealogy?"
- The Internet is just one of many tools in the genealogical researcher's toolbox. I believe it is the most powerful tool we have because it saves us time and money and helps us spend our research time in a more productive manner.
- A genealogist cannot use just one research tool and hope for reliable or complete results.
- Genealogists are only successful when they combine the use of all of their tools and make the most of all available resources -- online and offline together.
- The tools in our research toolbox include the following (to name a few, and not necessarily in this order):
- The Internet is the latest, most powerful tool in our research toolbox, giving us:
- Remember these things:
- The Internet is not your only starting point for genealogical research.
- The Internet is not the place to end your genealogical research.
(Trust me here...your research will never be finished.)
- You will not find everything you need on the Internet.
- Not everything that you are looking for can be found on the Internet.
- There is not a web site or an online database for everything you need in your research.
- Just because you assume your research materials will be online, doesn't mean they will be online.
- Just because you want your research materials to be available online, doesn't mean they will be online.
- Finding data online does not mean that it is correct, thoroughly researched or well-documented.
- The Internet is not the cause of poor genealogical research or undocumented data. False pedigrees, family myths and research errors were a part of genealogy long before the Internet. The difference is that these things are more easily found and duplicated online, so the Internet is the recent target for criticism.
- Finding data online does not mean that you are "finished" with your research.
-
Ancestry.com - Genealogy and Family History Records
-
IMAGES-ONLINE-HELP Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of Images Online, an ability provided by Ancestry.com to view and print documents that have traditionally been stored on microfilm or in a limited number of archives and libraries (e.g., census records). The list is for assistance in using the images, not for lookups. Archives: browse or search.
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Index of links for genealogical research, categorized & cross-referenced.
-
CyndisList Mailing List A read-only list to provide users of the Cyndi's List web site with daily site updates, number of new/updated links, names of updated categories, answers to frequently asked questions, and descriptions of new features or improvements. Additional information can be found on the CyndisList web page. Archives: browse or search.
- FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service
-
FAMILYSEARCH Mailing List Designed to assist anyone with questions regarding use of the Internet for searching Family History. The Familysearch internet site and others are discussed for genealogical research such as searching, downloading, contributing, cross-referencing and microfilm numbers, and basic "getting started" questions are also discussed and welcomed. Surname specific research is not discussed. Archives: browse or search.
-
LDS-FamilySearch-Website Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the LDS Family Search website. Queries regarding general genealogical research, researching your own family, or LDS doctrine are beyond the scope of the list.
- Footnote.com
 Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
-
Genealogy Resources on the Internet - Mailing Lists The comprehensive site for all currently available genealogy e-mail mailing lists.
- RootsWeb.com
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|