Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Kentucky
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Kentucky:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Kentucky Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Kentucky
- Ancestor Search - Kentucky Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Kentucky
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Case Study: Killing the Hogs and Threatening the Neighbors - Court Records Solve a Kentucky Problem Article by Michael John Neill.
-
Ancestry.com - Kentucky Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- East Kentucky Genealogy
Official website for the genealogy mailing list and newsletter.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Kentucky Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Kentucky
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Kentucky
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Kentucky Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Kentucky
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Kentucky Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Kentucky Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Kentucky
- Kentuckiana Genealogy WebRing ~ Kentucky & Indiana
- Kentucky Genealogy
Kentucky references, vital records look ups, and surnames.
- Kentucky Migrations Project
- Kentucky's Adoption Search Services
- Kindred Trails - Kentucky Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Kentucky Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Kentucky
- Looking 4 Kin - Kentucky
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Kentucky
- Researching Your African American Ancestors
From the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives.
- Southeastern Kentucky Index Page
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Kentucky
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - KYGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Kentucky in Databases or Kentucky in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Kentucky State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- City of Louisville: Official Homepage of Louisville, Kentucky
- Commonwealth of Kentucky Web Server
- County Clerks in Kentucky
- County Clerks' Guide to Kentucky Marriage Law
- Court Web Sites - Kentucky
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Kentucky: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Ft. Mitchell City
- Kentucky's Past Officials - Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
- NACo - About Counties - Kentucky
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Kentucky
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Kentucky
- Yahoo! Get Local...Kentucky Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Advocate Messenger Online - History
History section includes people and places, genealogy, Civil War and area state parks and historic sites.
- The Appalachian Center at the University of Kentucky, Lexington
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- The First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820
Consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West including Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky & West Virginia from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century.
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Kentucky
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Kentucky Folklore
Family legends and ghost stories.
- Kentucky History
Article by Rickie Lazzerini.
- Kentucky History Timeline
- Kentucky's Underground Railroad - Passage to Freedom
Companion site to the KET TV's documentary on the Underground Railroad in Kentucky.
- Northern Kentucky Views
Old photographs & postcards of the nNorthern Kentucky counties of Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Mason, Owen, Pendleton & Trimble.
- Westward Movement: The Kentucky Microcosm
- Yahoo!...History...Kentucky
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Appalachianfamily Mailing List Appalachian Mountain Families including families from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, and West Virginia.
-
BOONE-DANIEL-KY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Daniel Boone and other Kentucky explorers. Archives: browse or search.
-
CENTRAL-KY Mailing List For for anyone with a genealogical interest in Central Kentucky. This list supports the Surnames of Central Kentucky web site that addresses Boyle, Bullitt, Casey, Clark, Estill, Garrard, Hardin, Jackson, Jessamine, LaRue, Lincoln, Marion, Nelson, Russell, Taylor, and Powell Counties as well as "All Kenutcky Counties" if the applicable Central Kentucky county is unknown. Archives: browse or search.
-
COALMINERS Mailing List For anyone whose ancestors were coalminers in the United Kingdom or the United States. Archives: browse or search.
-
CRF Mailing List A companion mailing list to the CUMBERLAND-RIVER Region genealogy and history list. This list is where friends and cousins meet to visit and discuss all aspects of the Cumberland River Region, Kentucky, and those personal and family recollections that add color and history to the lives of their ancestors. Topics of discussion range from life past to life present. Archives: browse or search.
-
EAST-KY-CEMETERIES Mailing List For the posting of information on cemeteries in the eastern part of Kentucky (i.e., Harlan, Leslie, Letcher, Clay, Perry, and Bell Counties) including their location, timeframe, and monument descriptions. Archives: browse or search.
-
EKYORIGINS Mailing List For anyone with Eastern Kentucky roots to discuss and share information regarding the origins of early Eastern Kentucky families. Archives: browse or search.
-
KENTUCKIANA Mailing List For genealogy research and information exchange in the Indiana counties of Clark, Crawford, Dubois, Floyd, Gibson, Harrison, Orange, Perry, Pike, Posey, Scott, Spencer, Warrick and Washington, and the Kentucky counties of Breckinridge, Bullitt, Carroll, Hardin, Jefferson, Meade, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble. Archives: browse or search.
-
KENTUCKY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-7THINF Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the 7th Kentucky Infantry (Union) during the Civil War.
-
KY-ADOPTIONS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Kentucky adoptions including birth parents, adoptive parents and adoptees, as well as those researchers who are seeking information on children listed as adopted in the Kentucky censuses. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Kentucky.
-
KYBIOGRAPHIES Mailing List A read-only mailing list (no queries or submissions) transmitting biographies on all the Kentucky people cited in the old histories (e.g., Perrins, Collins, church histories). Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating and preserving historical information about Kentucky cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-CENSUS Mailing List For transcribers participating in the Kentucky Census Project to discuss project activities.
-
KY-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Kentucky census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-COALMINERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the coal miners of eastern Kentucky. Additional information can be found on the Kentucky Coal Miners website. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-DAR Mailing List For the members, and potential members, of the Kentucky State Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR).
-
KY-FEUDS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the feuds and murders in Kentucky from a genealogical and historical perspective. The list will cover all of Kentucky and the border states. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-FOLKLORE-GHOST-STORIES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding Kentucky folklore and ghost stories that would have been an integral part of and/or influenced the lives of our ancestors. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-FOOTSTEPS Mailing List and the official web page For posting original genealogical source material for Kentucky where either more than one Kentucky county or a state other than Kentucky is mentioned. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Kentucky from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
KYGenWeb-KVRP Mailing List For the coordination of efforts by the volunteers involved in the Kentucky Vital Records Project (KVRP), and the dissemination of information regarding the project. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-INTERTRIBAL Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Native American tribes of Kentucky including their surnames and the oral family history of their ancestors. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-KIDS Mailing List For youngsters who are interested in researching their ancestors in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-LITTLE-SANDY Mailing List For sharing surnames, history, legends and all else related to the Little Sandy River area of Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Kentucky newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-REGULATORS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the history of the Kentucky Regulators, their surnames, and the deeds that they did. Archives: browse or search.
-
KYRESEARCH Mailing List A mailing list where the list owner will be sharing researching techniques for Kentucky with some being applicable to other locations. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Kentucky kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
-
KYROOTS Mailing List Discussions of Kentucky genealogical and historical research.
-
KY-SLAVES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the slaves of Kentucky or researching surnames listed as slaves or free slaves in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KYWBTSVETS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Kentucky veterans of the War Between the States, both Confederate and Union. Archives: browse or search.
-
MCF-ROOTS A mailing list (Maryland Catholics on the Frontier) for the discussion of descendants of Maryland Catholics who migrated first to Kentucky and then to other parts of the frontier. Archives: browse or search.
-
Melungeon Mailing List For people conducting Melungeon and/or Appalachian research including Native American, Portuguese, Turkish, Black Dutch, and other unverifiable mixed statements of ancestry or unexplained rumors, with ancestors in TN, KY, VA, NC, SC, GA, AL, WV, and possibly other places. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORTH-CENTRAL-KENTUCKY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the 20 counties of north central Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
OHIO-RIVER-VALLEY-FAMILIES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the families that resided or currently reside in the Ohio River Valley which starts in Pennsylvania and borders the states of Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois. Archives: browse or search.
-
RUDDLESFORT Mailing List For interested historians, genealogists, and descendants of the survivors of the destruction of Ruddle's and Martin's Forts in pre-Bourbon County, Kentucky (Virginia) during the Revolutionary War. Archives: browse or search.
-
SE-KENTUCKY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Kentucky counties that border Tennessee, West Virginia and Virginia, and surrounding south eastern Kentucky counties. Archives: browse or search.
-
SOUTH-CENTRAL-KY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the Kentucky counties of Allen, Barren, Cumberland, Edmonson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, and Warren. Archives: browse or search.
-
SWKY-NWTN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the counties of southwest Kentucky (Fulton, Graves, Calloway, Trigg, Marshall, Hickman, Carlisle, Lyon, Livingston, Ballard, Caldwell, Crittenden) and northwest Tennessee (Obion, Weakley, Henry, Carroll, Benton, Dyer, Gibson, Humphreys). Archives: browse or search.
-
SWVA-NETN-SEKY-CHAT Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area covered by a 150 mile radius around Bristol Virginia/Tennessee. This area covers southwest Virginia, northeast Tennessee, southeast Kentucky, and northwestern North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
- Kentuckiana Genealogy Mail Lists
Mailing lists for counties, surnames and topics pertaining to the Kentuckiana area.
- Yahoo! Groups: JoCoKy Reunion 2002
Message board for reunions in Eastern Kentucky and parts of West Virginia.
- Yahoo! Groups: Kentucky Genealogy
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Kentucky
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Kentucky
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Kentucky
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Kentucky
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Kentucky
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- An Electronic Guide to Kentucky Place Names
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historical Maps of Kentucky and Her Counties
From December 31, 1776, to November 1, 1780, this area was called Kentucky County, Virginia.
- Kentucky Atlas & Gazetteer
- Map of Kentucky Counties (Eastern) , (Western)
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Kentucky
- Maps of Northern Kentucky
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Kentucky Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Kentucky County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Kentucky
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Kentucky
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 1st Kentucky Battery
- 1st Kentucky Cavalry
- 1st Kentucky Infantry
- 2nd Kentucky Battery
- 2nd Kentucky Cavalry
- 2nd Kentucky Infantry
- 3rd Kentucky Battery
- 3rd Kentucky Cavalry
- 3rd Kentucky Infantry
- 4th Kentucky Cavalry
- 4th Kentucky Infantry
- 5th Kentucky Battery
- 5th Kentucky Infantry
- The 5th Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regiment U.S. (The Louisville Legion)
History, photos, and complete roster of the 5th Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regt. U.S. 1861-1864.
- 6th Kentucky Cavalry
- 6th Kentucky Infantry
- 6th Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regiment
- The 6th Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regiment U.S.
History, flag, and complete roster ( including individual summary data) for 6th Ky. Vol.Inf.Regt. U.S.Four of its companies comprised German-born men from Louisville.
- 7th Kentucky Cavalry
- 7th Kentucky Infantry
- 8th Kentucky Infantry
- 8th KY USCT Reg't
Pvt. NED Hopson, our patriarch, enlisted, served, discharged from Co D, 8th KY USCT Artillery Regiment H.
- 9th Kentucky Infantry
- 9th Kentucky Infantry Regiment
History and roster of the 9th Kentucky Volunteer infantry regiment (Union).
- 9th Kentucky Cavalry
- 10th Kentucky Infantry
- 11th Kentucky Cavalry
- 11th Kentucky Infantry
- 14th Kentucky Infantry
- 16th Kentucky Infantry
- 18th Kentucky Infantry
- 19th Kentucky Infantry
- 20th Kentucky Infantry
- 21st Kentucky Infantry
- 22nd Kentucky Infantry
- The 26th Kentucky Volunteer Infantry Regiment and Its History
- 27th Kentucky Infantry
- 32nd Kentucky Infantry
- 34th Kentucky Infantry
- 35th Kentucky Infantry
- The 39th Kentucky Mounted Infantry Webpage
Regimental history of the 39th Kentucky Mounted Infantry, U.S. Volunteers. Complete rosters, biographies, and some photos of veterans of this unit. The 39th drew its recruits from the Big Sandy Valley in Eastern Kentucky, and from the adjacent areas of Virginia and West Virginia.
- The 45th Kentucky Mounted Infantry Webpage
Contains the regimental history of the 45th Kentucky Mounted Infantry, U.S. Volunteers. Complete rosters for this unit. The 45th drew its recruits from Eastern Kentucky and West Virginia.
- 49th Kentucky Infantry
- 53rd Kentucky Mounted Infantry
- 55th Kentucky Infantry
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Bardstown Civil War Museum - Bardstown, Kentucky
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Kentucky
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Kentucky
- Civil War Rosters - Kentucky
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- The Eighth Kentucky Infantry Regiment C.S.A.
Dedicated to the Preservation of the History of a Western Kentucky Regiment of the Civil War.
- First Kentucky Brigade, C.S.A. - The Orphan Brigade
- Guide to Genealogical Research on Kentucky Ancestors in the Civil War
Listing of books and articles containing names of men who served in Civil War units (both Union and Confederate) from Kentucky.
- Kentucky in the Civil War
- Kentucky Military Links
- Kentucky Regiments
- Kentucky's German-Americans in the Civil War
History, photos, letters, news articles, links to sites with Kentucky regimental rosters.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Kentucky
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- KY Civil War: 7th KY Infantry, 7th KY Veteran Infantry, 19th KY Infantry, 22nd KY Infantry
- Revolutionary War Warrants
Information and database from the Kentucky Secretary of State.
- Seventeenth Kentucky Volunteer Infantry, US
Rosters, burial info, and history of the 17th Ky Vol Inf.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Kentucky
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Kentucky
- ABYZ News Links - Kentucky - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Kentucky Newspapers
Bath County News-Outlook, Hart County News, Hart County's News-Herald, Leader-News, Letcher County Community News-Press, Ohio County Times-News, Sebree Banner, Times-Argus. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Kentucky
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Kentucky
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Kentucky
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Kentucky
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Kentucky
- NewspaperLinks.com - Kentucky
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Kentucky News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Kentucky
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Kentucky Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Kentucky Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Kentucky Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Kentucky
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Kentucky
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Kentucky
- Brian Harney's Home Page, emphasis on Genealogy
- EVANS Family
Information on some of the early families connected to Mingo and Logan Counties in West Virginia. Also includes families from Pike and Martin Counties in Kentucky. Site has many old photos. EVANS, HENSLEY, DAVIS, MAYNARD, JEWELL, CURRY, FARLEY, VINSON.
- GEDCOM Index .com - Kentucky
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Kentuckiana Konnections - Biographies
- Kentucky Adoption Reunion Registry
Free registry is for Kentucky adoption searchs. Lots of useful search tips and current law regarding Kentucky adoptions. Registry was founded in 1980.
- Kentucky Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Kentucky Reunions
- Maryland Catholics on the Frontier
For descendants of Maryland Catholics who migrated westward. They first went to Kentucky and from there to other parts of the Frontier.
- Maryland to Kentucky Reunion
- Melungeon Heritage Page - Melungeon Resource Page
- Mingo Genealogy
Early families connected to Mingo and Logan Counties in West Virginia and Pike and Martin Counties in Kentucky. Old photos. EVANS, HENSLEY, DAVIS, MAYNARD, JEWELL, CURRY, FARLEY, VINSON.
- Ohio River Valley Families
By Allen David Distler.
- Tribes and Villages of Kentucky
- Webster County Biographies
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Kentucky
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Kentucky
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Kentucky
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Kentucky
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Ancestor Soup
Research in Kentucky including seminars & desktop publishing.
- Bill Utterback, CG
Research in the Jackson Purchase area of Kentucky. Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Marshall & McCracken counties.
- Birthsearcher.com
Adoptee, birthparent, and birthfamily searches and reunions. Specializing in CA, OH, TX, KY, and also other state resources.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Kentucky or Specializing in Kentucky
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- CBL Research
Professional genealogical researcher. Will research anywhere, especially Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky. Types of research include family history, missing heirs, court work and background work for documentaries and authors.
- Digging Up Roots
Heather Hayes, professional genealogist specializing in Tennessee & Kentucky lineages.
- Genealogical Research by Write Result Presentations
For consultation, record searches, research projects and professional reporting focusing on Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana and Mississippi.
- Genealogy Professional Alabama Georgia Kentucky Carolinas Virginia: Ted Lane Genealogist
More than 40 years experience. Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia, and others.
- Genealogy Professional Amy Long Genealogist#160;
Expert in Indiana, Kentucky & Texas research.
- Genealogy Professional Coultrup Research: Lisa Coultrup Genealogist
Rockcastle County Kentucky Research includes census, newspapers, and other historical documents.
- Genealogy Professional Derinda Morrison Genealogist
Kentucky Research, Madison County and other areas.
- Genealogy Professional Ohio Indiana Kentucky Research: Bruce Earnheart Genealogist
Professional research for Midwestern USA southwest Ohio, eastern Indiana and northern Kentucky.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- Jana Sloan Broglin
Specializing in Ohio and Kentucky research with emphasis on Northwestern Ohio. Genealogical lectures; Kentucky publications.
- Kentucky Genealogical and Historical Research
- Kentucky Research Services
Dr. Roseann Hogan has been doing research for twenty years and is the author of Kentucky Ancestry. For details, send e-mail to: kyroots@qx.net.
- Ky-Tn Research Associates - Professional Genealogists in Kentucky and Tennessee
- Professional Genealogist for Western Kentucky - Bill Utterback
Bill Utterback, CGRS - Research in the Jackson Purchase Counties of Western Kentucky.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Kentucky
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- SouthEastern Genealogical Research
Genealogical document search and retrieval service. Specializing in genealogy in the states of: Virginia, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Arkansas.
- Strictly by Name
Pay-for-use service providing copies of public domain records from Kentucky, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Kentucky
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Kentucky
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Kentucky
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Kentucky
- Books We Own - Kentucky
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Kentucky
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Deliverance Farm - History, Genealogy, Antiques & a Variety of Publications for Your Enjoyment
Publications for Ohio and Kentucky.
- Early Marriage Records in Kentucky
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Kentucky Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- eBay Store - DMK Heritage: Genealogy, County History, Tennessee
Old county histories for Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Kentucky; indexed and searchable on CDs.
- Filson Bookstore ~ Louisville
- FLI Genealogy & History Publications
Publications for Ohio and Kentucky.
- Genealogical.com - Kentucky
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Genealogy Heaven, Featuring Kentucky Counties
- Gorin Genealogical Publishing - Publications Index
Publications cover mostly Kentucky, also has some for Logan County, Illinois and Fentress & Overton Counties, Tennessee.
- Gorin Genealogical Publishing ~ Glasgow, Kentucky
Books and files for sale for Barren, Cumberland, Edmonson, Hart, Metcalfe, Monroe and Warren Counties in Kentucky.
- Greater Cincinnati Connections
Genealogy related items for Ohio, Kentucky & Indiana.
- Heritage Books: Kentucky
- Heritage Center
CD-ROMs for sale of obituaries from Harrodsburg, Mercer County, Kentucky and surrounding areas.
- Higginson Book Company - Kentucky
- J & W Enterprises
One stop book source on the Internet, specializing in southern states source material.
- The Kentucky Civil War Research Series
Ordering information for Kentucky Civil War/genealogical books, "Confederate Soldiers of Kentucky" and "Confederate Pensioners of Kentucky."
- Mountain Press - Kentucky
Free Surname Search for many Kentucky genealogy books. Information available for many counties on wills, marriages, deaths, biographies, cemetery, military as well as many maps.
- Nathan STUBBLEFIELD
Book for sale about the Kentucky farmer who a invented wireless telephone.
- Owsley County Books
E-mail Robert Smith at rlsmith@iac.net and he can send you a list of books that he has for sale.
- Quintin Publications | Kentucky
- Simmons Historical Publications
Over 800 genealogical research documents such as birth records, death records, deed books, maps, newspaper abstracts, will books and more for counties in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.
- Sistler Genealogy
Over 900 books covering records from Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina, and Kentucky.
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Kentucky
- Southeast Kentucky Index Page
CD-ROMs for sale.
- Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe - Kentucky
- Crittenden Press Geneaology
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - Kentucky
- Kentuckiana Genealogy - Message Boards ~ Kentucky & Indiana
- Kentucky in the Civil War Message Board
- Kentucky Lines
A free MSN group to search for your Kentucky ancestors.
- KY Jackson Purchase Surnames
Surnames from the eight counties of the Jackson Purchase region of Kentucky for the exclusive use of subscribers to the KYJacksonPurchase-L, KYGraves-L, KYCallow-L, KYMarsha-L, KYHickma-L and KYBallar-L mailing lists.
-
RootsWeb Surname List - RSL Kentucky
The RSL and this form concept & design are courtesy of Karen Isaacson
-
RootsWeb Message Boards - Kentucky - Reunion
-
RootsWeb Message Boards - Sandi Gorin's Kentucky Research Tips
- SE USA Genealogy Forum on About.com
This forum is primarily for genealogy discussion/research involving the Southeast USA states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia). Post your southern surnames, air your views on issues, ask questions, share research tips or photos, tell us about your personal genealogy site and join in our fun games and contests.
- Surname Helper - Kentuckiana Genealogy ~ Kentucky & Indiana
- Surnames of Kentucky
Kentucky's Most Wanted Ancestors, Kentucky's Unsolved Mysteries, Kentucky Folklore and a Kentucky Surname Registry.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- African American Cemeteries Online - Kentucky
- Cemeteries on USGS Maps: S.E. Kentucky & East Tennessee
Lists and location maps of cemeteries.
- Cemetery Junction: Kentucky Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cemetery Listings ~ Kentucky
Here are a few cemetery photos that we have been able to collect during our research. Most of them are from cemeteries in Rockcastle County and the neighboring Madison County but we do have a few others listed.
- Cemetery Photos & Obituaries
Photos of headstones in Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska & Wyoming, as well as obituaries.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Kentucky
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Kentucky
- Funeral Services Providers - Kentucky
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Kentucky Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Kentucky Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Kentucky Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Kentucky Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- Kentucky Historical Society - Cemetery Catalog
Contains 179,750 grave records from 3,170 cemeteries.
- Mammoth Cave Area Cemeteries
Mammoth Cave National Park, in Kentucky, is home to many beautiful cemeteries.
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Kentucky
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Kentucky
- Saving Graves - Kentucky
- Tombstone Central
Hundreds of Kentucky death certificates and thousands of tombstone photographs from 10 different states.
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Kentucky
- US Funerals Online - Kentucky
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Kentucky
- AccessGenealogy - Kentucky Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Kentucky
-
Ancestry.com - Kentucky Census, 1810-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Kentucky
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Kentucky:
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- Kentucky Census Records Online
Links to online census data for Kentucky organized by county and by census. Also indicates whether the data is a transcription, images, index or partial census.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Kentucky Land Grants Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Kentucky
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Kentucky. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Deed Data Pool
Downloadable deed files for Kentucky, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia & West Virginia.
- Guarantee Company of North America - List of Shareholders 1890
Search for names of shareholders in 1890. Includes residences and details of shares. Shareholders residences are Quebec, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Pennsylvania, New York, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Illinois.
- Kentucky Bibles Archives
Part of KYGenWeb.
- Kentucky Secretary of State Land Office
Describes the land office process and includes historical images of the records involved.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Kentucky Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Kentucky
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com - Kentucky Marriages to 1850 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- How to Get KY Death Certificates, 1911 to 1952 for $3.00 (plus postage)
Jessie Hagan will copy death certificates from this time period for $3 and a SASE. See this web site for details.
- Kentucky Department for Public Health - Vital Statistics
Contact information, fees, and printable order forms for vital records in Kentucky.
- Kentucky Death Certificate Photocopies from Microfilm
Send e-mail to Chester Ward at chesterward@mindspring.com for photocopies at $1.50 each, which includes postage.
- Kentucky Death Certificates
Photocopies of Kentucky death certificates for the years 1911 thru 1949.
- Kentucky Death Records 1911-2000
Online searchable index.
- Kentucky Genealogy
Kentucky Genealogy is a mostly fee-based web site that contains the most accurate and comprehensive marriage databases for a number of Kentucky counties, with an innovative automatic Soundex search feature.
- Kentucky Residents Married in Shawneetown, Illinois
- Kentucky State Death Certificate Index for 1911-1995
This is the same information as is contained on the next site below. Contact that site first and if you have problems contacting the site below you can then request a lookup from Robert Smith. Send e-mail to rlsmith@iac.net and be sure to include specific details.
- Kentucky Vital Records Index
Marriage / Divorce / Death.
- Kentucky Vital Records Project
A centralized collection of birth, death and marriage records for the state of Kentucky. Birth records for persons born less than 110 years ago require proof of death to ensure that the privacy of living individuals is protected. A browsable index also links to digital images of the actual records.
- Kentucky Wedding Bells
Post marriages that took place prior to 1900.
- MyVitalRec.com - Kentucky Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- Tombstone Central
Hundreds of Kentucky death certificates and thousands of tombstone photographs from 10 different states.
- VitalChek Network - Kentucky
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Kentucky
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Kentucky Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Kentucky (USA): Kentucky State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Kentucky
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|