|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Louisiana
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Immigration
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Louisiana:
- Localities: Parishes, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Louisiana Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Louisiana
- Ancestor Search - Louisiana Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Louisiana
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Louisiana Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Colonial Louisiana History and Genealogy
Colonial Louisiana once covered about 1/3 of the current US. It consisted of all or part of 17 states. Resources are scattered among the states, and archives in Quebec, France, Spain, Cuba, Santo Domingo, England and other places. This page is a one-stop resource for history and genealogy for the colonial Louisiana of New France in the time period of 1682 until states were formed.
- Congrés Mondial Acadien - Louisiane 1999
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Louisiana Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Louisiana
- Genealogy of Louisiana
From Denis Beauregard.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Louisiana Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Louisiana
- Kindred Trails - Louisiana Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Louisiana Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Louisiana
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Louisiana
- Southeast USA Genealogy
For people interested in genealogy research anywhere in the United States, especially in the Southeast (including the states of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Missouri, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Maryland, South Carolina, and North Carolina.) A mailing list with corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.
- Southwestern Mississippi & Eastern Louisiana Webring
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Louisiana
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - LAGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Louisiana
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Louisiana State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Louisiana
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Louisiana: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Louisiana Municipal Association
Includes searchable database of all municipalities in Louisiana.
- Louisiana's Official State Government Information and Services
- NACo - About Counties - Louisiana (Parishes)
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Louisiana
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Louisiana
- Yahoo! Get Local...Louisiana Parishes and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Archives and History: The Louisiana Conference of The United Methodist Church ~ Shreveport
- Archives départementales de la Seine-Maritime ~ France
- The Archives of the Diocese of Shreveport
Holds the baptisms, marriages and death records of its constituent parishes.
- Sacramental Records
Centralized copy of sacramental records for the Diocese of Shreveport. The earliest sacramental records of the Shreveport diocese date from the mid to late 1800s. Sacramental records dated before 1925 are considered to be open for research purposes.
- Catholic Diocese of Alexandria Archives
- Civil District Court for the Parish of Orleans, Louisiana - Notarial Archives
The New Orleans Notarial Archives holds some forty million pages of signed acts compiled by the notaries of New Orleans, Louisiana over three centuries. Most of the local notary's business dealt with sales or mortgages of immovables in the city and surrounding parishes. Notaries also received Wills, marriage contracts, building contracts, powers of attorney, and individual declarations.
- Diocese of Houma Thibodaux - Archives & Historical Research Center
- Diocese of Lafayette - Archives/Research and Information
- Family History Centers in Louisiana
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Louisiana
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Howard-Tilton Memorial Library - Tulane University
- The Latin American Library at Tulane University, New Orleans, Louisiana
- LIBCAT: US - Louisiana
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Louisiana
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Louisiana Archives and Manuscripts Association
- Louisiana Baptist Convention Media Library and Archives
- Louisiana Department of State Museum Program
- Louisiana Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Louisiana State Archives
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Louisiana
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Louisiana
- New Orleans Archdiocesan Archives
- Genealogy
Sacramental, cemetery & orphanage records.
- Louisiana State Museum
- New Orleans Notarial Archives Research Center
- PublicLibraries.com - Louisiana
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Louisiana
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Roman Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge
Information about the archives, hours of operation, etc.
- Shreve Memorial Library Microform and Microfilm Holdings
- State Library of Louisiana
- Tulane Manuscripts Department - Family History
There are hundreds of collections of family papers within the Manuscripts Department.
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
ACADIAN-CAJUN Mailing List For anyone with Acadian-Cajun ancestry worldwide. Archives: browse or search.
-
APG-LA Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Louisiana Chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists (APG) and genealogical resources available in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
ARANDLA Mailing List For adoption triad members with links to Arkansas and Louisiana.
-
Colonial_Louisiana Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Colonial Louisiana which was established in 1682 and once covered 1/3 of the United States until 1803.
-
LA-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Louisiana.
-
LA-CAJUN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Cajuns in Louisiana. Topics also include Cajun history and culture. Traditions, recipes and holiday discussions are welcome. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone searching for their ancestors in Louisiana cemeteries and anyone interested in preserving historical information about Louisiana cemeteries and sharing information about them. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Louisiana census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
LA-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Louisiana census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the role of Louisiana and its people during the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
LADATA Mailing List For the posting of Louisiana genealogical source materials for eventual inclusion into the Louisiana GenWeb archives. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Louisiana from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-FRENCH-GERMAN Mailing List For anyone researching their French and/or German ancestors in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LAGEN Mailing List For the discussion and research of Louisiana family history. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-GULF-COAST Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the gulf coast of Louisiana including Cameron, Vermilion, Iberia, St. Mary, Terrebonne, Lafourche, Jefferson, Plaquemines, St. Tammany & St. Bernard parishes and surrounding Louisiana coastal inlands and island areas. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-IMMIGRANTS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding immigrants to the United States who settled in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-LGHS Mailing List For the members of the Louisiana Genealogical & Historical Society (LGHS) to discuss Society activities and genealogical/historical research efforts in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-NATIVEAMERICAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Native Americans in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-OBITUARIES Mailing List For the posting of obituaries for residents of Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Louisiana newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Louisiana kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-SLGS Mailing List For members of the Southwest Louisiana Genealogical Society (SLGS) to discuss Society activities and genealogical research efforts in the southwest Louisiana parishes of Allen, Beauregard, Calcaseiu, Cameron and Jefferson Davis. Non-members of the Society may subscribe; however, any queries should address southwest Louisiana research efforts and queries relating to people who resided in the Imperial Calcaseiu area. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-TX Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Texas and Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LA-UDC Mailing List Devoted to the history, work & activities of the Louisiana United Daughters of the Confederacy. Archives: browse or search.
-
LOUISIANA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Louisiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
LOUISIANA-ROOTS-L Mailing List Discussions of genealogical and historical research in Louisiana.
-
LOUISIANA-SPANISH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ancestors and descendants of the Spanish settlers in Louisiana and West Florida. Archives: browse or search.
- 1st Louisiana Cavalry Regiment, CSA
History of the regiment, regimental staff, company commanders, muster rolls of all companies & list of engagements of regiment.
- 9th Louisiana Regiment Volunteer Infantry
The most distinguished regiment from the State of Louisiana in the War Between the States. Referred to as Lee's Tigers or Jackson's Foot Cavalry-Louisiana Tigers.
- 18th Louisiana Infantry Regiment
Devoted to the men of the 18th Louisiana Infantry Regiment.
- 19th Louisiana Volunteer Infantry
- 28th Infantry - Louisiana
Regimental history of Louisiana's 28th (Gray's) Infantry regiment.
- 28th Thomas' Louisiana Infantry Regiment
Includes the complete roster of men along with a brief history of regiment.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Camp Moore Confederate Cemetery and Museum ~ Tangipahoa
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Louisiana
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Louisiana
- The Civil War in Louisiana
- Civil War Rosters - Louisiana
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Confederate Soldiers and Sailors Buried in Louisiana and Some Louisiana Confederates Buried in Other States
Over 13,000 burials of Louisiana Confederates buried anywhere and any Confederates buried in Louisiana.
- Fort deRussy ~ Marksville, Louisiana
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Louisiana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Louisiana State Archives: Confederate Pension Applications Index
The index contains over 49,000 names that were included in pension applications submitted to the Board of Pension Commissioners. The records were later transferred to the Archives after the last pension was paid in the 1950's. More than 18,000 applications were microfilmed and are available to researchers at the Archives Library.
- Roster of the 3rd Louisiana Cavalry C.S.A.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Louisiana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Louisiana
- ABYZ News Links - Louisiana - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Bayou State Periodical Index
An index to Louisiana popular periodicals.
- Home Town News - Louisiana
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Louisiana Newspaper Project
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Louisiana
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Louisiana
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Louisiana
- NewspaperLinks.com - Louisiana
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Louisiana News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Louisiana
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Louisiana Newspapers
- The Times-Picayune ~ New Orleans
- Louisiana Ancestors
Genealogy column on NolaLive.com, affiliated with The Times-Picayune newspaper.
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Louisiana Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Louisiana Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Louisiana
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Acadian, Cajun & Creole
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- Acadian Memorial/Monument Acadien ~ St. Martinville
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Louisiana
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Louisiana
- Avoyelleans: French Creoles
- The Choctaw of Bayou Lacomb, St. Tammay Parish, Louisiana
From December 1908 until April 1909, the writer was in lower Louisiana. During this period frequent visits were made to the few Choctaw still living near Bayou Lacomb in the same parish. The notes obtained as a result of those visits are now presented on this website.
- A Guide to African American Genealogical Research in New Orleans and Louisiana
From the New Orleans Public Library.
- Hainaut-Louisiana
The earliest immigrants of Hainaut (now Belgium) to Louisiana in 1720.
- History & Genealogy of Acadians on the Acadian Coast and Bayou Lafourche Basin of Louisiana
History and genealogy of the parishes along the Bayou Lafourche Basin & the "Acadian Coast" including Assumption, Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Lafourche, St. James, St. Martin.
- Louisiana African American Archives
Resources for African Americans researchers with an interest Louisiana.
- Louisiana Genealogical & Historical Society -- First Families of Louisiana Program
Open to anyone (including Society non-members) who can prove descent from a resident of Louisiana (within the PRESENT-DAY boundaries) before 20 December 1803, the date the American flag was raised in New Orleans. This is meant to be an *educational* program and applications will be carefully evaluated.
- Louisiana Orphan Train
- Tribes and Villages of Louisiana
- Vive la Cajun
Cajun & Louisiana history, genealogy & culture.
- WPA Life Histories from Louisiana
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Louisiana
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Louisiana
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Louisiana
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Annette Womack, Experienced Genealogy Researcher ~ Winnfield, Louisiana
- Arceneaux & Fields Louisiana Family Research
Genealogical research service covering all areas of Louisiana.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Louisiana or Specializing in Louisiana
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- Professional & Amateur Louisiana Genealogists
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Louisiana
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Vive la Cajun - Louisiana Family Histories
Personally researched, decorated, one page Louisiana family histories to frame.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- 1850 Census Records
These books are transcribed from the 1850 Census Records and have indexes for some of the counties in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Texas.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Louisiana
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Louisiana
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Louisiana
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Louisiana
- Birds of Passage
Book for sale of Italian immigrants who departed Palermo, Sicily and arrived at the Port of New Orleans, Louisiana, 1859-1901.
- Books We Own - Louisiana
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Louisiana
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Early Marriage Records in Louisiana
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Louisiana Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Louisiana
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Louisiana
- Higginson Book Company - Louisiana
- Isle of Canes
Companion web site to the historical novel by Elizabeth Shown Mills.
- Jimmy Fox, Author of Louisiana Genealogical Mystery Novels
From New Orleans to the piney woods, climbing Louisiana family trees can be murder.
- J & W Enterprises
One stop book source on the Internet, specializing in southern states source material.
- Louisiana Parish Books
Genealogical & historical books on various parishes in Louisiana & where to find them.
- Mountain Press - Louisiana
Free Surname Search for many Louisiana genealogy books. Information available for many counties on land claims, census, marriages as well as many maps.
- Publications of Le Comite' des Archives de la Louisiane
A list of books available for sale from Le Comite' des Archives de la Louisiane.
- Quintin Publications | Louisiana
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Louisiana
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Louisiana Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Louisiana
-
Ancestry.com - Louisiana Census, 1810-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : Louisiana
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Louisiana
- Cooper Roll
Census Roll of Choctaw families residing east of the Mississippi River and in the states of Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama made by Douglas H. Cooper, US Agent for Choctaws, in conformity with Order of Commissioner of Indian Affairs dated May the 23rd, 1855.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
|