|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
- Arabic2000.com - The Arabic Alphabet
- The Bulgarian Alphabet
- The Cherokee Alphabet and Pronunciation Guide
- Comparitive Hebrew Alphabets
- Croatian Cyrillic Script
- Croatian Glagolitic Script
- Cyrillic Alphabet
- The Cyrillic Alphabet
A written & audio guide to pronouncing the letters of the Russian alphabet.
- Czech Language, Alphabet and Pronunciation
- Das A B C Alphabet in Old Gothic German Script
Poster for sale from the Germans from Russia Heritage Collection. Includes an online sample.
- Deciphering Gothic Records
Pamphlet for sale.
- Deutsch <-> Englisches Wörterbuch
- Deseret Alphabet
- Deseret Alphabet Frequently Asked Questions
- Face of Russia: Cyrillic Alphabet
- German Script Alphabet
- Handwriting Guide: German Gothic
- Hebrew alphabet - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
- The Icelandic Alphabet
- If I Can You Can Decipher Germanic Records
A book by Edna Bentz.
- Introduction to the Russian Alphabet
- Judaism 101: Hebrew Alphabet
- Luxemburger Gazette Typeface
The Luxemburger Gazette was published by Nicholas Gonner, and later his son, in Dubuque, Iowa from 1871-1918. In addition to news of Luxembourg, it featured news of Luxembourgers and Luxembourg communities throughout the United States.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- Proper use of Hawaiian Language
Ka Pï'äpä Hawai'i (The Hawaiian Alphabet).
- The Slovene Alphabet
- Talking Leaves and the Cherokee Phoenix
Brief history of the Cherokee alphabet.
- Transliteration of the Macedonian Cyrillic Alphabet
- TypeIt - Type Accent Marks, Diacritics and Foreign Letters Online
- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - Arabic alphabet
- Books from: Jacob Steigerwald, Translation & Interpretation Services
Banat/Danube Swabian books.
- Church Record Translations
Latin, Hungarian and Slovak translations to English of church records for baptism, marriage, and death records. Also includes a list of Latin and Hungarian terms for occupations and causes of death.
- Danish-English Genealogy Dictionary
- English-Swedish Dictionary For Genealogy Research
- A Glossary of German Words Used in Official Documents
- Genealogical word lists
From the FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service of the LDS Church.
Czech ,
Danish ,
Dutch ,
Finnish ,
French ,
German ,
Hungarian ,
Icelandic ,
Italian ,
Latin ,
Norwegian ,
Polish ,
Portuguese ,
Spanish ,
Swedish
- German-English Genealogical Dictionary
A book by Ernest Thode.
- German Translations
Particularly interested in translating letters and diaries from the 19th century and the period 1933-45. German immigrant letters and Holocaust-related material are my specialties.
- German Study Group / German Words
- Glossary of Scottish terms of interest to genealogists
From the Scottish Archives Network.
- Norwegian - American Dictionary
Norwegian words with their English translations. The words included here are thoselikely to be found in genealogical sources.
- Swedish to English
Useful terms and information for the genealogist.
- UK Genealogy - Common Acronyms & Jargon
-
ULLANS Mailing List The Ullans or Ulster-Scots Language Mailing List is for all those who want to know more about the Scots language in Northern Ireland and Donegal. It has left its mark on the dialects spoken in the Scotch-Irish heartlands in the United States -- Appalachia and Pennsylvania. Archives: browse or search.
- 1-800-translate
Translation services.
- AAD ABIES
AAD ABIES provides German>English/Latin>English translation and transcription of modern and historical handwriting.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Foreign Language
- Applied Language Solutions - Free Translation
Free text translation from English to Arabic, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Portuguese, Russian and Simplified Chinese.
- AWANGARDA
Central and Eastern European Translation Agency. Translate for free, translations, certified translations, translation and interpreting, technical translation, multilingual translation, expert translation, website translation, software localization, software translation, industry-specific translations.
- The Cyrillic Alphabet
A written & audio guide to pronouncing the letters of the Russian alphabet.
- Dictionaries
Latin-English and Hungarian-English dictionaries plus links to other Latin dictionaries.
- Dictionary.com / Translate
Translate web pages or text between these languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish.
- Dictionary / Wörterbuch (BEOLINGUS, TU Chemnitz)
- e-FreeTranslation.com
A selection of free dictionaries, translators and language courses on the web.
- English-Czech and Czech-English Dictionary
- English to Broad Norfolk Translator
- English - Czech Dictionary
- English -> Finnish Dictionary
- English-Finnish On-line Dictionary
- English Hungarian, Hungarian English Dictionary
- eTtranslate
Professional translation services.
- Fagan Finder > Translation Wizard (beta)
- Fockleyr Gaelg - Baarle
An online Manx Gaelic dictionary.
- Foreign Language Dictionaries
- Free Danish Dictionary by Babylon
A free bidirectional English-Danish dictionary.
- Free Online Dictionaries - Freedict.com
Online word translation for various languages.
- Free Polish-English-Polish Translator and online Polish Dictionary
- FreeTranslation.com
Free Translation of Web and Text for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese to and from English.
- Gaelic Dictionaries Online
Scottish, Irish, and Manx Gaelic dictionaries.
- German-English On-line Dictionary
- Glossaries By Language
- Google Language Tools
Albanian, Arabic, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese.
- Hawaiian Dictionary | English to Hawaiian Translation
5,000 English-Hawaiian words translated.
- iLoveLanguages!
List of online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, language software, language schools, etc.
- Irish dictionary online, Irish gaelic dictionary, Irish Dictionary, Gaelic dictionary, translate Irish, Irish language dictionary.
A premium online Irish Gaelic dictionary providing quick word searches, definitions and usage.
- iTools - Language Tools
Dictionaries and a translator.
- Kypros - Lexicon: Greek-English-Greek Dictionary
- The Language Realm - Your Free Resource for language and Translation Services
- Languages and translation
A collection of useful links and resources for translators.
- Lexin Svensk-Engelskt Lexikon / Lexin Swedish-English Dictionary
- The Linguist List - Dictionaries
- LookWAYup - Multilingual Dictionary, Thesaurus, Translation
English, French, Spanish, German, Dutch, Portuguese.
- MacBain's Dictionary - An Etymological Dictionary of the Gaelic Language
- Majstro
Online multilingual translation dictionary.
- NLP @ petamem
Dictionary - English, German, Czech, French, Spanish, Polish, Hungary, Italian, Portugese, Dutch, Swedish. Restore or remove diacritisation in German, French, Spanish, Italian and Czech texts.
- Norwegian - Ukrainian Dictionary On-Line. Ab. 1.040 words. Norsk - Ukrainsk Ordbok On-Line. Ca. 1.040 ord.
First Norwegian Ukrainian dictionary ever published. 1,040 Norwegian terms translated into Ukrainian. Ukrainian words are given in Latin transliteration. Short description of Ukrainian langauge in Norwegian.
- Online Language Dictionaries and Translators
- Online Dictionary Software by Babylon
Translation software.
- ScripTrans - Old German Script Free Transcription Service
- Släktdata - Svensk-engelskt släkt-lexikon
- Slavic Script Converter
Converts between various Slavic writing systems.
- Slovak Translation Services by Jana Cupková Holmes
- SweGGate Facts Language Dictionaries etc
Swedish Language Encyclopaedias, Dictionaries and Glossaries.
- SYSTRANET Translation Online
- Tolken99
Word processor and English to Swedish translation software.
- travlang's Translating Dictionaries
Including: English, German, Dutch, French, Spanish, Danish, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Esperanto.
- TriTrans - Interactive Dictionary - English, Spanish and Norwegian
- Voila Translate
Translate web pages or text between these languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish.
- A Web of On-Line Dictionaries
A huge index of a variety of available dictionaries, including foreign translation sites.
- Welsh to English Lexicon
- whoohoo.co.uk - The British Dialect Translator
Includes Geordie, Brummie, Scouse and more.
- Word Magic Translation Software
English Spanish translation software, dictionaries, text translators, specialized dictionaries, online translation tools, synonyms and idioms dictionary, website translator.
- Yahoo! Babel Fish - Text Translation and Web Page Translation
Input a URL for a web site or a block of plain text and this site will translate it for you: Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish.
- Beginners' Latin
Latin 1086 – 1733: a practical online tutorial for beginners. From the National Archives of the United Kingdom
- A Brief Review of Some Historical Alternatives to the Latin Alphabet
- Catholic Encyclopedia: Ecclesiastical Abbreviations
Short intro followed by lists of abbreviations for Latin terms found in church records.
- Church Record Translations
Latin, Hungarian and Slovak translations to English of church records for baptism, marriage, and death records. Also includes a list of Latin and Hungarian terms for occupations and causes of death.
- Dictionaries
Latin-English and Hungarian-English dictionaries plus links to other Latin dictionaries.
- Genealogy Quest: Latin Genealogical Glossary
In genealogical research Latin terms are often encountered in church records and legal documents, this list is intended to aid the genealogist in interpreting those terms. Includes relationships, numbers, month names, useful words and phrases.
- Glossary of Latin Words
Found in records and other English manuscripts.
- Latin and Palaeography: History, Keele University
This week-long, annual summer school, run by the Department of History at the University of Keele, provides expert tuition in small groups for professional and amateur historians, genealogists, archive students, and postgraduate researchers who wish to acquire or improve their skills in reading and transcribing medieval and early modern documents from English archives, relating to both national and local subjects.
- Latin for Local History: An Introduction
A book by Eileen A. Gooder.
- Latin Genealogical Word List
- Latin in Parish Records
Article by Alison U. Ring.
-
LATIN-WORDS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Latin from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Latin words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
- Free Online Dictionaries - Freedict.com
Online word translation for various languages.
-
GEN-Documents Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
- Latin for the Illiterati : Exorcizing the Ghosts of a Dead Language
A book by Jon R. Stone.
- More Latin for the Illiterati: A Guide to Everyday Medical, Legal, and Religious Latin
A book by Jon R. Stone.
- Online English to Latin to English Dictionary
- The Latin Translator
Professional low-cost Latin-English translations.
- UK Professional Genealogist, English and Latin Translations - Simon Neal
Transcription and translation of English and Latin documents, such as wills, inventories and deeds.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
GEN-Documents Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information related to the reading of old British documents such as parish registers, wills, etc., including old handwriting and Latin.
-
HessenGenWeb Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area known as Hessen, Germany, and all its predecessors such as Hessen-Darmstadt, Hessen-Kassel, Hessen-Nassau, Kurhessen, and Rheinhessen. Among other things, the list offers assistance in research from several experts and free language translation.
-
LATIN-WORDS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Latin from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Latin words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
NICKNAMES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the origins of nicknames and what names they belong to. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-ENGLISH Mailing List For anyone who is deciphering old English documents to discuss interpretations of handwriting and word meanings. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-FRENCH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in French from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old French words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-GERMAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in German from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old German words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-RUSSIAN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in deciphering and interpreting written documents in Russian from earliest to most recent 20th Century times, and discussing old Russian words, phrases, names, abbreviations and antique jargon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLD-WORDS Mailing List For the discussion of old words, phrases, names, abbreviations, and antique jargon useful to genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
PolishLessons Mailing List To assist Poland researchers in translating Polish documents and to further their research while visiting/researching in Poland. Archives: browse or search.
-
TRANSLATIONS Mailing List For anyone who can help others, or desires help, in the translation of documents that directly support genealogical research efforts. Archives: browse or search.
-
WORDS Mailing List Take a break from genealogy! This list provides a lighthearted discussion of English-English/American-English phrases and how they might have originated. These phrases have been passed down to us by our ancestors and have become part of our heritage (e.g., saved by the bell, turn the tables, the whole 9 yards, the upper crust). Archives: browse or search.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Certified Russian Translations in Canada and the U.S. ~ Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Accurate Russian and Ukrainian Translations in Canada and the U.S.
- czechexperts.com - Translations by Experts
Foreign language services in Czech, Slovak, Russian and Polish.
- English to French Translation Services
Offers English-French translations, handles multi-lingual translation projects, with selected online translators. Tutorial on Wordfast and Word "How to" for translators. Real online language translator.
- e-transcriptum
Free translation service dedicated to texts related to genealogy.
- Euroverba Translation and Document Services
Translations and related foriegn language services in all European and Latin American languages.
- FranceGenWeb - Service de Traduction Bénévole
Free genealogical translations done by volunteers.
- genealogyPro - Translation Services
- German-English Letter Translation Specialists
- German - English Translation Services
Personalized German, English, and Spanish language services: translating, proofreading, editing, interpreting, consulting, typing.
- German Genealogy Translations
German/English-English/German translation services focusing only on documents pertaining to German Genealogy.
- German Genealogy: Translation Service
- German Translation Service
Specializations: German genealogy, Fraktur and German script, legal documents.
- German Translation Service, translators of the Old German Scripts
- Ilse Andrews Translations
Professional translator will transcribe and translate German genealogical records of any period.
- ItalGen Translations
Translate your genealogy related documents from English into Italian and vice-versa.
- Italian Translations by Juliet Viola Kniffen
Italian and Latin genealogy and family papers translation by professional translator Juliet Viola Kniffen; quick response; expertise in Italian handwriting.
- JB Translations
English to Spanish Freelance translator offering professional translation services into neutral Spanish or localized for Spain. Translation of texts and websites.
- Lengua Translations – Language Translation Services by Professional Translators
- Old Script.com
Genealogy translation services for several languages with an emphasis in Old German Script known as Fraktur. Genealogical research assistance provided.
- Polish Genealogical Translations
Native Polish translator/interpreter will assist you in finding your Polish roots by translating your Polish genealogical records. Twenty years of experience.
- Polish Genealogy Help & Translation
Dariusz Olter, Kielce, Poland.
- Polish Translation Service
- RF German-English Translation Service
Specialize in all types of handwritten documents in the OLD GERMAN script.Information from the Silesian Agricultural Estate Registry, 1937.
- Russian Translation USA
Translation services in all major areas the Russian and English languages.
- Translations at CZECH-TRANSLATIONS.COM
Translation services in all major languages - technical, web page and legal document translation. Specializing in Czech, English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Polish, Slovak.
- Translations Group
International network of multilingual translators and editors with scientific, technical and business backgrounds.
- Translators Consortium
Translators for hire.
- TransServ – GenWiki
A free translation service for genealogical topics.
- UK Professional Genealogist, English and Latin Translations - Simon Neal
Transcription and translation of English and Latin documents, such as wills, inventories and deeds.
- A Way With Words
Language Services: Translation, Writing, Copy Editing. Swedish, English, Norwegian, and Danish
- Zelenka Agency Translating Services
Translations from Czech into English, German, French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, Polish, Ukrainian, Hungarian, Slovak (and several more) and vice-versa from these languages into Czech.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|