-
Concordia Historical Institute
The Department of Archives and History of the Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod. From its beginning in 1847, the Synod has provided for its archives, first entrusting the responsibility for maintaining the church's records to the synodical secretary. In 1927 the Institute was incorporated by interested individuals in the church to provide for the preservation of its records. In 1959 the Synod designated the Institute as its official repository.
-
-
Evangelisches Zentral Archiv in Berlin
Germany. Founded as a result of the joining of the Archive of the Evangelical Church of Germany (EKD) and the Archive of the Evangelical Church of the Union (EKU). The Evangelical Church of Germany (EKD) is itself a union of all the Protestant churches in the several German states, creating an alliance of independent churches of the various Protestant denominations. The Evangelical Church of the Union (EKU) is the successor organization of the Prussian State Church.
-
-
Storage locations of parish registers, information, copies and picturizations of parish registers.
-
Provides an example of how to research the church records.
-
-
The library has holdings of about 70,000 volumes.
-
The Parish Register Repository
Administers and maintains about 7000 Parish Registers from Protestant parishes which belonged to the former eastern provinces of the Protestant Church of the Old Prussian Union. These areas today belong to Poland, Russia, and Lithuania. Holds about 763 military church records of the Military Church Registers of the former Prussian army and the German Wehrmacht. Also holds about 70 Parish Registers from German-speaking congregations outside of Germany.
-
-
Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia
From the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia.
-
Lutheran Electronic Archive - Project Wittenberg
Dedicated to posting on the internet a cross-section of classic and historic texts written by Lutherans.
-
From the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.
-
Pacific Lutheran University - Robert A. L. Mortvedt Library
Tacoma, Washington.
-
-
Scandinavian Immigrant Experience Collection
A depository of historical materials relating to immigrants to the Pacific Northwest from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. Closely tied to the Regional Archives of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America.
-
-
-
SGGEE Lutheran Church Archives Page
From the Society for German Genealogy in Eastern Europe.
-
Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center
Located at Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois. This is a national archives and research institute for the study of Swedish immigration to North America. Holdings are extensive, including materials from all sectors of the Swedish immigrant community in the USA and Canada, including immigration studies, settlement histories, immigrant literature and arts, Swedish-American biography and genealogy, as well as Swedish-American church life and social organizations.
Advertisements
Lutheran » Libraries, Archives & Museums
30 Links










