|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Massachusetts
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Immigration
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Massachusetts:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Massachusetts Genealogy Resource Center
- ALHN Massachusetts
American Local History Network for Massachusetts, history and genealogy, early colonies and government, family migration leads.
- Ancestor Search - Massachusetts Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Massachusetts
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Study Project Article by Robert Charles Anderson.
-
Ancestry.com - Massachusetts Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Colonial Ancestors
Genealogy records and information about ancestors in the 13 original colonies.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Massachusetts Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Massachusetts
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Massachusetts Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Massachusetts
- Kindred Trails - Massachusetts Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Massachusetts Research Room
- Local History and Genealogy Websites
List of addresses and links for Massachusetts from the Plymouth Public Library.
- Looking 4 Kin - Massachusetts
- Massachusetts Local History <-> Genealogy
- Naming children in early New England
Scholarly work on the naming patterns used by early Puritans.
- New England History
Companion Site for New-England-History-L Mailing List. This site contains information, submitted by members, pertaining to the history of the New England States of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Related submissions are welcome from anyone who wishes to contribute material to the site.
- New England Roots Web Ring
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Massachusetts
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Massachusetts
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - MAGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Massachussetts
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Massachusetts State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Commonwealth of Massachusetts - MAGNet
- Court Web Sites - Massachusetts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Massachusetts: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Massachusetts City and Town Clerk Directory
- NACo - About Counties - Massachusetts
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Massachusetts
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Massachusetts
- Yahoo! Get Local...Massachusetts Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- 17th c. Colonial New England, with Special Emphasis on the Salem Witchcraft Trials of 1692
- 1872 Chronicle Of Events: November, 1870 - November, 1871
Chronicle of events from the 1872 Boston Almanac and Directory.
- Boston Molasses Disaster, January 15, 1919
- Civilian Conservation Corps Index of States/Camp Listing
- The Great Boston Molasses Tragedy
- The Great Molasses Flood of 1919
- Massachusetts Historical Sites & Societies
- Massachusetts History Timeline
- Massachusetts Local History
Research Massachusetts local history by county, category & era via extensive collection of history and genealogy links, to learn about our ancestors and the history they lived.
- Mayflower & Early Families
- Molasses Clocked at 35 mph ... in January!
- Molasses Disaster of January 15, 1919
Molasses tank in Boston exploded with great force and flooded the streets with an eight-foot wave of molasses killing 21 people.
- The Pilgrims and Plymouth Colony: 1620
A educational study guide for instruction on the Mayflower, Pilgrims, Plymouth Colony, Native Americans and much more. Contains original artwork. Written by Duane A. Cline, former Education Chairman of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants.
- The Pilgrims in Leiden
A brief history of the Pilgrims' sojourn in Leiden with several scanned images, maps & documents.
- Plimoth-on-Web
- The Plymouth Colony Archive Project at the University of Virginia
Archives and Analysis of Plymouth Colony, 1620-1691.
- Salem Witch Trials Chronology
- Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
Includes transcribed and scanned court records, maps, and more.
- Shays' Rebellion
A rebellion of farmers in Massachusetts.
- A Walking Tour of Plimoth Plantation
- What caused the great Boston Molasses Flood?
- Yahoo!...History...Massachusetts
- American Antiquarian Society ~ Worcester
- Armenian Library and Museum of America ~ Watertown
- Andover Newton Theological School
- Trask Library - Merrill Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Collections include records of 26 New England state and regional Baptist and Congregational organizations as well as records of 48 Baptist and Congregational churches. Repository for archives of The American Baptist Churches of Massachusetts (TABCOM) and for the records of all disbanded American Baptist churches in the state
- Archives - Archdiocese of Boston
Includes parish registers, sacremental records, and cemetery records.
- Boston Public Library
- Family History Centers in Massachusetts
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Massachusetts
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Healy Library at the University of Massachusetts Boston
- John F. Kennedy Library Home Page
- LIBCAT: US - Massachusetts
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Massachusetts
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Massachusetts Archives Division
- Massachusetts Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- The Massachusetts Library and Information Network
- Nantucket Historical Association Research Library
Extensive collections of manuscripts, books, maps, and photographs centering on the history of Nantucket, Massachusetts.
- National Heritage Museum ~ Lexington
An American history museum founded and supported by 32° Scottish Rite Freemasons.
- The Van Gorden-Williams Library
Holds one of the most comprehensive collections on American Masonry in the world. The library also collects material on other fraternal organizations whose development paralleled or was influenced by Masonry
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Massachusetts
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Massachusetts
- New England Conference - United Methodist Church Commission on Archives & History ~ Boston
- Old Colony Library Network
- Plymouth Public Library
- PublicLibraries.com - Massachusetts
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Massachusetts
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- State Library of Massachusetts
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- Williams College Archives and Special Collections ~ Williamstown
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
BOSTON-STATES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the migration between the Eastern Provinces of Canada and New England/New York. Archives: browse or search.
-
CT-RIVER-VALLEY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical and/or historical interest in the Connecticut River Valley which is the area where the migrants from the Massachusetts Bay Colony and Plymouth Colony settled as early as 1635. The towns of interest are 30 miles on both sides within the boundry of the Connecticut River which include the states of New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut. Archives: browse or search.
-
GenMassachusetts Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Massachusetts.
-
Ma-Bay-Colony Mailing List For those with a genealogical/historical interest in the Massachusetts Bay Colony from 1630-1700. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating, and preserving historical information about, Massachusetts cemeteries. We welcome queries and postings regarding location of graves, cemeteries which have been indexed both on the internet and in other written forms, cemetery research, and the care of tombstones. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Massachusetts census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
MA-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Massachusetts census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Massachusetts from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
MAGEN Mailing List For discussing the creation of a single source for all Massachusetts genealogy databases. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ghost towns of Massachusetts. Archives: browse or search.
-
MAME Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the states or Massachusetts and Maine; both when they were "one" and after they were divided. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-OBITS Mailing List For individuals and volunteers to request or submit obituary information - either modern or historic - for Massachusetts. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For for the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Massachusetts newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
MA-Rollcall Mailing List For any and all researchers of their Massachusetts ancestry to post rollcalls - lists of the surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes.
-
MassachusettsRoots Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Massachusetts.
- The Nantucket Families Discussion List Homepage
A mailing list for anyone who has an interest in genealogy or history related to families of Nantucket, their descendants and those who married into those lines.
-
NEWENG Mailing List For anyone who with a genealogical or historical interest in the New England states. Biographical sketches, cultural history, personal or informational web sites, etc. are also welcome. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENG-GEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states. Archives: browse or search.
-
newengland-gene Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-ISLANDS Mailing List For anyone who has an interest in genealogy or history related to ancestors who settled on islands of New England at any time and their descendants. These islands include, but are not limited to, Block Island, Deer Isle, Fox Islands, Isle Au Haut, Martha's Vineyard, Matinicus, Monhegan, Mount Desert, and Nantucket. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENG-NATAM Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Native Americans in the New England and New York areas. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-SEAFARERS Mailing List For with a genealogical interest in the New England area of the United States as it pertains to the seafaring community and their ships. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORTHEAST-ROOTS-L Mailing List Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Vermont.
-
SALEM-WITCH Mailing List A genealogy and history mailing list for descendants of the people involved in the Salem Witchcraft Trials of 1692 -- the accusers and the accused, the afflicted and the executed, as well as the magistrates, clergy, jurors, and anyone affected by the proceedings. Archives: browse or search.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Massachusetts
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Massachusetts
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Massachusetts
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Map of Boston, Massachusetts, 1775-1776
-
Ancestry.com - Map of Massachusetts Bay 1630-42
-
Ancestry.com - Map of Plymouth Plantation 1620-30
- Antique Town Maps for Genealogy and History
Reproductions of old town maps with family names.
- Boston Rare Maps
Dealer specializing in antique and rare maps (and books with maps) of New England and the Northeast.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Massachusetts
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Massachusetts
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of Massachusetts - Alphabetic Quad Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Massachusetts - Alphabetic Town Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Massachusetts - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of Massachusetts - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of Massachusetts - Town Index
- Index to Mass Towns
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - Massachusetts
- Map of Massachusetts Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Massachusetts
- Massachusetts County Census Maps
Shows county boundaries in effect at the time of each decennial census.
- Massachusetts County Facts & Information
- Massachusetts County Formation Maps
Animated map of county boundries which change over time from original county formations to the present. Also shows static maps for each year a county boundary was changed.
- Old Maps
Reproductions for sale of old maps of New Hampshire, Vermont & Massachusetts.
- Old Maps of New York, Pennsylvania and New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts)
Quality reproductions of towns in New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine with family names.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Massachusetts Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
- Piper Publishing LLC - Genealogy/Maps
BEERS County Atlas CD Collection of Massachusetts 1870-1876. Each CD is the complete facsimile reproduction of one county.
- Rail road & township map of Massachusetts
Scanned image of the map published at the Boston Map Store, 1879.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Massachusetts County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Massachusetts
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Massachusetts
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 3rd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
- 9th Massachusetts Battery
Civil War Site for historical and reenacting 9th Massachusetts Battery. Lists where each was from, occupation, muster in and out dates, date of death, injuries. etc.
- 10th Mass. Volunteer Infantry Regiment
- 11th Massachusetts Infantry - "Boston Volunteers"
- 15th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
- 16th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
Dedicated to my great-great-grandfather, Isaac F. Kennaston, this site lists the rosters of the 16th Mass., and links to known descendants and other Civil War sites.
- 18th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
- 20th Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry - "The Harvard Regiment"
- 22nd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
A Civil War Rifle Unit, reenactment group.
- 23rd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
History and roster of the unit.
- 28th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
- The 44th Regt. Massachusetts Volunteer Militia - the Second New England Guards Regiment
- 51st Regiment Massachusetts Militia: 1862-1863
Contact point for exchange of genealogical information on the men who served in this primarily Worcester County, MA, regiment.
- 53rd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry
- 54th. Mass. Volunteer Infantry, Co. I
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Search Military Records
-
Massachusetts Army and Navy, 1861-65 Original source: Higginson, Thomas Wentworth. Massachusetts in the Army and Navy during the war of 1861-1865. Boston, MA, USA: Wright & Potter Printing Co., State Printers, 1895-1896.
-
Massachusetts Military Company History, Vol. 4 Original source: Roberts, Oliver Ayer. History of the Military Company of Massachusetts. Boston, MA, USA: Alfred Mudge & Son, Printers, 1901.
-
Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the War of the Revolution, 17 Vols. Original source: Secretary of the Commonwealth. Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the War of the Revolution. Vol. I-XVII. Boston, MA, USA: Wright and Potter Printing Co., 1896.
-
Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors in the Revolutionary War (Images Online) Original source: Massachusetts. Secretary of the Commonwealth. Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolutionary War. Vol. 1-17. Boston, MA, USA: Wright & Potter Printing, 1896-1908.
-
Massachusetts Spanish American War Records Original source: Harry E. Webber, comp. Twelve Months with the Eighth Massachusetts Infantry in the Service of the United States. Salem, MA, USA: Newcomb and Gauss, Printers, 1908.
- A Biography of Robert Gould Shaw
Robert Gould Shaw and the 54th Massachusetts.
- The "Boston Volunteers" Homepage
Descendants of members of the 11th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment.
- Canadians Who Served with Massachusetts Regiments During the Civil War
A list of men born or from Canada who served with a Massachusetts regiment during the American Civil War.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Massachusetts
- Civil War Rosters - Massachusetts
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Col. Bailey's 2nd Massachusetts Regiment
- Fifty-Fourth Massachusetts Infantry
- Forty-Fourth Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Militia (Infantry)
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Massachusetts
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed by home state, then by place, and there under alphabetically by name.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Massachusetts
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- Massachusetts 27th Infantry Regiment
- Massachusetts Civil War Discussion Forum
- Massachusetts Civil War Research Center
- Massachusetts Volunteer Cavalry 1st Regiment
- Roster of the 2nd Massachusetts Volunteer Heavy Artillery, Companies G & H and Field & Staff Officers
- Samuel J. BRADLEE'S Civil War Letters
This site is a collection of letters from a Massachusetts artillery officer to his wife in Boston.
- Sleeper's Battery - the Tenth Battery, Massaxchusetts Light Artillery, 1862-1865
History, Roster, Service Record of the Tenth Battery, 1862-1865; also Field Artillery in the Civil War, the Tenth Mass Battery Association today.
- Thirteenth Massachusetts Volunteers Roster
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Massachusetts
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically home state, home city, and there under by name.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Massachusetts
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Massachusetts
- ABYZ News Links - Massachusetts - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Cape Cod Times
- Home Town News - Massachusetts
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Massachusetts
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Massachusetts
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Massachusetts
- NewspaperLinks.com - Massachusetts
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Massachusetts News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Massachusetts
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Massachusetts Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Massachusetts Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Massachusetts Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Massachusetts
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Massachusetts
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Massachusetts
-
Ancestry.com - Massachusetts Applications of Freemen, 1630-91 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Massachusetts Freemen Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Massachusetts Pioneers Searchable database available by subscription.
- Biographies of the Class of 1863 Williams University ~ Williamstown, Massachusetts
40th year report by the class historian in 1903.
- Colonial Massachusetts and Maine Genealogies
Information about approximately 5,000 individuals who are descendants of the following surnames: ANDERSON, BLAKE, BRACKETT, BRADBURY, CARVER, CONANT, CHUTE, DARLING, FARRINGTON, HAMBLEN/HAMBLIN/HAMLIN, HASKELL, KNIGHT, MANSFIELD MATHER, NOYES, PLUMER/PLUMMER, PROCTOR, SANFORD, SAWYER, SEWALL, SHACKFORD, SNOW, THURSTON, WAITE, WATTS, WOODWARD.
- Dyer Families of New England
Genealogies of five different DYER families in New England from the 17th century. Also a reference to "Genealogies of the Families of Braintree, MA" by Sprague.
- George Washington in Massachusetts, 1775-1776
Men born or baptized in Massachusetts with the forename "George Washington" and "Washington" during the years 1775 to 1799.
- Germans in Boston Resource Center
- Governor John WEBSTER of Hartford, Connecticut and Hadley, Massachusetts
- The Mayflower:
- Old Colony Ancestors
Genealogical database of over 106,000 names from families originiating in the "Old Colony" area of Massachusetts: Bristol, Plymouth and Barnstable Counties.
- Old Pictures of the 107th Company CCC Camp, Mount Greylock, Massachusetts
Pictures of the camp and some of the men taken between 1933 and 1935.
- Salem Massachusetts Witch Trials
- Tribes and Communities of Massachusetts
- WPA Life Histories from Massachusetts
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
- Mt. Massaemet Shadows
Index of Mt. Massaemet Shadows. Quarterly newsletter of Shelburne Historical Society, Shelburne, Franklin County, Massachusetts. Since 1975. 1985-1998 presently indexed. Back issues or selected pages available for a fee.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Massachusetts
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Massachusetts
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Massachusetts
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Massachusetts
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- American Ancestral Associates ~ Cranston, Rhode Island
A full-service genealogical company, with over twenty years experience, including research, consultation, education, and literary assistance.
- Barbara Jean Mathews, CG
Professional genealogical research in Connecticut and eastern Massachusetts.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Massachusetts or Specializing in Massachusetts
- Clifford L. Stott & Associates, Genealogical Research
A certified genealogist, accredited genealogist, and a fellow of the American Society of Genealogists, with more than 30 years of research experience in U.S. and British records. Specializing in Massachusetts, Maine, Connecticut, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island.
- D & A Lambert Genealogical and Historical Research Service ~ Boston, Massachusetts
Specializing in New England and Atlantic Canada research. Will visit Massachusetts cemeteries, homesites, and all ancestral research done fast and accurate. Providing services in the Boston area for over 15 years.
- Genealogy Professional Your Personal Research Assistant: Andrea Olkin Genealogist
Over ten years of experience, working with personal papers and documents & conducting interviews. Amherst Massachusetts.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- Legacy Genealogists
Professional research in the Boston and New England areas.
- Mark Windover's Web Page ~ Williamstown
Quality Professional Genealogical Research U.S., Canada (including French), England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, Iceland, Germany, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, France, The Netherlands, Belgium.
- Massachusetts and New York Genealogy and History Research
Specializing in Capital District area; German, Dutch, Irish research. Worcester County, Massachusetts, greater Boston area and some New York. Specialist in searching church records
- New England Genealogical Research - The Genealogy Detective
Professional researcher located in Massachusetts available for research assignments. Specializing in Essex Co. MA research. Vital records, court records, census etc. Former archivist and Executive Director of Beverly [Massachusetts] Historical Society.
- Professional Genealogist Hobson Woodward
Offering complete genealogical research services in the six-state New England region.
- Professional Genealogist, Richard M. Pope
Specializing in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York City, Germany.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Massachusetts
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Massachusetts and New England
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- The Art of Family: Genealogical Artifacts in New England
A book by D. Brenton Simons.
- At the Fair: The Boston Immigrant Experience
A book by Alan Seaburg.
- Atlas of Historical County Boundaries: Connecticut Maine Massachusetts Rhode Island
A book by John H. Long.
- Boston on Fire: A History of Fires and Firefighting in Boston
A book by Stephanie Schorow.
- City Directories: New England States 1881-1902
A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- Digging for Genealogical Treasure in New England Town Records
A book by Ann S. Lainhart.
- Directory of the Ancestral Heads of New England Families, 1620-1700
A book by Frank R. Holmes.
- Epitaphs to Remember: Remarkable Inscriptions from New England Gravestones
A book by Janet Greene.
- Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, Fourth Edition
A book by Marcia D. Melnyk.
- The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England 1620-1633
A CD-ROM by Robert Charles Anderson.
- A Guide to Massachusetts Cemeteries
A book by David Allen Lambert.
- Historical Atlas of Massachusetts
A book by Richard W. Wilkie.
- The History of Land Titles in Massachusetts
A book by James Sullivan.
- History of Massachusetts
A book by John Barry.
- Hollis Street Church, Boston: Records of Admissions, Baptisms, Marriages, and Deaths, 1732-1887
A book by Ogden Codman.
- The Loyalists of Massachusetts: Their Memorials, Petitions & Claims
A book by Alfred E. Jones.
- Mapping Boston
A book by Alex Krieger.
- Marshfield Massachusetts Vital Records
A book by Carl D. Henry.
- The Masks of Orthodoxy: Folk Gravestone Carving in Plymouth County, Massachusetts, 1689-1805
A book by Peter Benes.
- Massachusetts Genealogical Research
A book by George K. Schweitzer.
- New England Court Records: A Research Guide for Genealogists And Historians
 A book by Diane Rapaport.
- Notable Kin: An Anthology of Columns First Published in the NEHGS Nexus, 1986-1995
A book by Gary B. Roberts.
- Orthodoxies in Massachusetts: Rereading American Puritanism
A book by Jancie Knight.
- Quakers and Baptists in Colonial Massachusetts
A book by Carla Gardina Pestana.
- Resources for Jewish Genealogy in the Boston Area
A book by Warren Blatt.
- Scots in New England, 1623-1873
A book by David Dobson.
- Steam and the Sea: A Guide to the Steamship Collections of the Peabody Museum of Salem
A book by Paul F. Johnston.
- Stones and Bones of New England : A Guide to Unusual, Historic, and Otherwise Notable Cemeteries
A book by Lisa Rogak.
- Vital Records of Tisbury, Massachusetts to the Year 1850
A book by the New England Historic Genealogical Society.
- Warning Out in New England 1656-1817
A book by Benton.
-
Ancestry.com - The Shops@Ancestry.com
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
|