Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
Canada - Manitoba
Category Index
- Canada GenWeb Project
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- FamilySearch Research Guidance - Research Outline - Manitoba
This outstanding outline introduces records and strategies that can help you learn more about your ancestors. It explains terms associated with this state's particular genealogy research and describes the content, use, and availability of major genealogical records.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
CANADA-ROOTS Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
CANADIAN ROOTS Mailing List
-
CAN-MANITOBA Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-CENTRAL Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Central Plains Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-EASTERN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Eastern Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-INTERLAKE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Interlake Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-NORTHERN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Northern Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-PARKLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Parkland Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-PEMBINA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Pembina Valley Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-WESTERN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Western Region of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-MB-WINNIPEG Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Winnipeg District, Province of Manitoba, Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
CAN-RedRiverSettlement Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Red River Settlement located principally in Manitoba, Canada, but including parts of present day North Dakota and Minnesota. Archives: browse or search.
-
SURNAMES-CANADA Mailing List gatewayed with the soc.genealogy.surnames.canada newsgroup For surname queries related to Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
westmanitoba Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the mid-western district of Manitoba Province, Canada.
- Yahoo! Groups: manitobaborn-adoptees
- AB SK MB Canada Department of Mines Geological Survey 1914
1914 Map of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan showing township, range grid markings to help locate homestead locations and placenames of 1914. CNR and CPR railways listed.
- Canadian Geographical Names / Les noms géographiques du Canada
- Canadian Maps
1926 Souvenir Highway Map-Province of Saskatchewan; Early 1900s Map of Western Canada, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba: Canadian National Railways (shows township, range, meridian markings); The New World Atlas and Gazetteer 1922 Edition, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba (shows Provincial Electoral Districts 1922), California (Shows 1922 Counties), Austria, Hungary, Czecho-slovakia, Roumania, Jugo-slavia, Europe; Saskatchewan Wheat Pool Maps 1924 and 1984 (all SWP maps show meridians, township and range markings); 1947-48, 1950-51 and 1952-53 Saskatchewan Pool Country Elevator System Maps with calendar index.
- Historical Map of Western Canada Showing part of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta Published by Waghorn's Guide June , Winnipeg Manitoba
Map and Listing of placename locations via section, township and range by which the placename can be found in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Western Ontario.
- July 1919 Waghorn's Guide Post Offices in Man. Sask. Alta & Western Ontario
Giving section, township and range by which the placename can be found in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Western Ontario.
- Mapquest Maps: Manitoba
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Canada Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Canada - Military
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- Fort Garry Horse Regimental Home Page
- Manitoba's War Memorials
A project to preserve information about War Memorials throughout Canada on the World Wide Web. The descriptions of these individual cenotaphs often includes names and other information on the dead which can be of interest to the genealogist.
- Naval Museum of Manitoba
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Aboriginal Contacts in Manitoba
- Germans from Russia
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- An Introduction to Jewish Genealogy in Manitoba
- The Mennonites of Manitoba
- Rosenort History
Detailed history of Rosenort and Rosenhoff Manitoba Canada Mennonite communities. Includes the 1881, 1891, 1901 census; cemetery index for 8 graveyards. Profile of early pioneers with names such as BRANDT, EIDSE, LOEWEN, FRIESEN, DUECK, HARMS, KLASSEN, KROEKER, CORNELSEN, SIEMENS.
- Searching in Manitoba
For Manitoba born adoptees.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Manitoba
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Archive CD Books - Manitoba
- ebay.ca Listing: Search for Manitoba Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Global Genealogy & History Shoppe - Canada
- Interlink Bookshop Genealogical Services ~ Victoria, B.C., Canada
- Preservings
The magazine/journal of the Hanover Steinbach Historical Society, Inc. The Hanover and Steinbach area, originally known as the "East Reserve". The magazine's emphasis is on the period 1874-1910. Back issues are available for download.
- Quintin Publications - Manitoba
CDs and books, including: Roman Catholic church records, historical reference, metis families, historical narratives and more.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- Canadian Funerals Online - Manitoba
Canadian Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Manitoba
- Lynn Lake - A Place to Remember #22
Index, gravestone transcriptions, and burial plot map of Hillcrest Cemetery, Lynn Lake, Manitoba, Canada, 1955 - 2000.
- Sépultures de Saint-François-Xavier, Manitoba, 1834-1865 / Abstract of Burial Records: St. Francis Xavier, Manitoba, 1834-1865
From the Roman Catholic parish registers of St. Francis Xavier, Manitoba, Cabada.
- 1881 Canadian Census
CD-ROM for sale from the LDS. Four-disc resource file includes a viewer disc that allows users to quickly search the database of approximately 4.3 million individuals. The discs contain a transcription of the original 1881 Canadian census, enumerated on 4 April 1881. Information from the following fields was extracted: name, age, gender, location at the time of the census, birthplace, ethnic origin, occupation, religious affiliation, marital status, and notations.
- 1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors
A book by Jonathan Kalmakoff. 1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors provides family historians and genealogists with a guide to Independent Doukhobors living in Western Canada. The book contains over 6,600 names taken from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.
- Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry
A central registry, which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Automated Genealogy
 Indices to Canadian Censuses.
- Census of Canada, 1911 - ArchiviaNet - Library and Archives of Canada
This online database of 1911 census data from Library and Archives Canada allows researchers to search by geographic location only. As this is not a name index database, it is not searchable by family name. The information on these images can be used to prepare family or town/village histories, research immigration trends and a great deal more. The Fifth General Census of Canada began on June 1, 1911 and collected information related to each inhabitant of the country, including place of habitation, marital status, age, place of birth, religion, occupation, education, etc. The Census of Canada 1911 covered the nine provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) and two territories (the Yukon and the Northwest Territories) that were then part of Confederation. The creation of the microfilms from the original returns was authorized in 1955 with the paper records destroyed afterwards. The microfilming of these records was not of consistent quality and therefore not all images are decipherable. Unfortunately, the destruction of the paper records means that there is no recourse when a record is unreadable.
- Census of the Northwest Provinces, 1906
Online searchable database of the 1906 special census of the prairie provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan & Manitoba). Includes digitized images of original census returns, which recorded the names of family members, their sex, marital status, year of immigration to Canada & post office address. Searchable by location only.
- Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry
A central registry, which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Composite Index of Early Manitoba Mennonite Church Registers
Bergthaler (Russia) 1843, Chortitzer (Manitoba) 1878, Chortitzer (Manitoba) 1887, Chortitzer (Manitoba) 1907.
- Film T-5471 Report of Admissions at the Port of Gretna, Manitoba for 1910 transcribed by Jim Bundy
Film of border crossings at Gretna Manitoba in 1910. As it happens, almost all of the people were arriving from various midwestern US states, and on their way to several places in Saskatchewan. A very few actually stayed in Manitoba. A few were arriving directly from Europe. Almost all were travelling by rail.
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry
A central registry, which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Province of Manitoba | Consumer & Corporate Affairs - Vital Statistics
Information on how to obtain birth, marriage and death certificates from Manitoba, Canada.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|