|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Maine
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Maine:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey™
- AccessGenealogy - Maine Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Maine
- Ancestor Search - Maine Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Maine
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Study Project Article by Robert Charles Anderson.
-
Ancestry.com - Maine Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Maine Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Maine Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Maine
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Maine Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Maine Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Maine
- Kindred Trails - Maine Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Maine Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Maine
- Looking 4 Kin - Maine
- MaineGenealogy
Affordable research services and free online resources for Maine genealogists.
- Naming children in early New England
Scholarly work on the naming patterns used by early Puritans.
- NewEnglandAncestors.org - New England Historic Genealogical Society
- New England History
Companion Site for New-England-History-L Mailing List. This site contains information, submitted by members, pertaining to the history of the New England States of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Related submissions are welcome from anyone who wishes to contribute material to the site.
- New England Roots Web Ring
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Maine
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Maine
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - MEGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Directory of the Ancestral Heads of New England Families, 1620-1700
-
Maine City Directories
-
The Maine register and business directory for the year 1856 : embracing the state and county officers and the titles of laws an
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.S. City Directories
-
U.S. Phone and Address Directories, 1993-2002 Original source: 1993-2002 White Pages. Little Rock, AR, USA: Acxiom Corporation.
-
U.S. Public Records Index Original source: Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, comp. Historical Residential White Page, Directory Assistance and Other Household Database Listings. Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, 215 South Complex Drive, Kalispell, MT 59901.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Maine
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- City Directories of the United States of America
A register of known city directories, their years, and repositories for the United States.
- Online Historical Directories Website
The purpose of the site is to have links to all online city directories in one place, listed by location and in date order. It is meant to be used as an aid to genealogists, historians, and other researchers. Included are county, rural, business, professional and other directories.
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Maine
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- 50states.com - Maine State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Maine
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Maine: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Maine - Local Government - Your Resource for County, City & Town Information
- Maine State Government WWW Page
- NACo - About Counties - Maine
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Maine
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Maine
- Yahoo! Get Local...Maine Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Maine
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- History of the Maine State Prison
- Maine History Firsts
From the Maine Legislature.
- Maine History Timeline
- Maine Memory Network
A statewide database of historical source documents contributed by Maine's historical organizations.
- Rum, Riot and Reform
Temperance in Maine.
- Seacoast History
- Yahoo!...History...Maine
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
BOSTON-STATES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the migration between the Eastern Provinces of Canada and New England/New York. Archives: browse or search.
-
BroadBayMEGe Mailing List For anyone who wishes to discuss their German Lutheran roots in the Broad Bay Community of Maine during the late 1700s and 1800s.
-
Ma-Bay-Colony Mailing List For those with a genealogical/historical interest in the Massachusetts Bay Colony from 1630-1700. Archives: browse or search.
-
MAINE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Maine. Archives: browse or search.
-
MaineFamilies Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Maine.
-
MaineRoots Mailing List
-
MAME Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the states or Massachusetts and Maine; both when they were "one" and after they were divided. Archives: browse or search.
-
ME-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Maine.
-
ME-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Maine census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
ME-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Maine census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
ME-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the role of Maine and its people during the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
MEDATA Mailing List For the sharing of original Maine source documents (e.g., wills, deeds, bible records, tax lists, cemetery files, pension applications, obituaries, old letters, marriage lists). Archives: browse or search.
-
ME-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Maine from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
ME-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Maine. Archives: browse or search.
-
ME-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Maine newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEWENG Mailing List For anyone who with a genealogical or historical interest in the New England states.
-
NEW-ENG-GEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states. Archives: browse or search.
-
newengland-gene Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-ISLANDS Mailing List For anyone who has an interest in genealogy or history related to ancestors who settled on islands of New England at any time and their descendants. These islands include, but are not limited to, Block Island, Deer Isle, Fox Islands, Isle Au Haut, Martha's Vineyard, Matinicus, Monhegan, Mount Desert, and Nantucket. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-SEAFARERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England area of the United States as it pertains to the seafaring community and their ships. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENG-NATAM Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Native Americans in the New England and New York areas. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORTHEAST-ROOTS-L Mailing List Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Vermont.
- Maine Civil War Discussion Forum
An open forum for the discussion of Maine in the Civil War. All Regiments, Soldiers, and their families.
- Yahoo! Groups: Maine Genealogy
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Maine
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Maine
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Maine
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers  Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Maine  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - New England States  A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
- Antique Town Maps for Genealogy and History
Reproductions of old town maps with family names.
- Boston Rare Maps
Dealer specializing in antique and rare maps (and books with maps) of New England and the Northeast.
- Color Landform Atlas: Maine
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of Maine - Alphabetic Quad Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Maine - Alphabetic Town Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Maine - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of Maine - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of Maine - Town Index
- Map of Maine Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Maine
- Old Maps of New York, Pennsylvania and New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts)
Quality reproductions of towns in New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine with family names.
- Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education
University of Southern Maine, Portland.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Maine Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Maine County Selection Map
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Maine
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- The 7th Maine Regiment
History of the regiment and of those men who served in the regiment during the American Civil War.
- 20th Maine Volunteer Infantry Company G
- 20th Maine Volunteers
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Search Military Records
-
An Alphabetical Index of Revolutionary Pensioners Living in Maine
-
Maine Pensioners, 1835 Original source: United States Senate. Report from the Secretary of War, in Obedience to Resolutions of the Senate of the 5th and 30th of June, 1834, and the 3d of March, 1835, In Relation to the Pension Establishment of the United States. [Maine Section]. Washington, D.C.: Duff Green, 1835.
-
Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Applications, 1835-36 Original source: Names of Soldiers of the American Revolution Who Applied for State Bounty under Resolves of March 17, 1835, March 24, 1836, and March 20, 1836, as Appears of Record in Land Office. n.p., 1893.
-
Names of Soldiers of the American Revolution [from Maine]
- The Aroostook War (1839)
Bloodless border conflict between Maine and New Brunswick. 10,000 Maine militiamen marched to the "war zone," but no shots were fired.
- Bowdoin Graduates Who Served with the Union
Names of graduates of Bowdoin College in Maine, classes of 1821-1871, and the military units in which they served.
- The Boys from Maine in the American Revolution - (12th Massachusetts Infantry)
12th Massachusetts, also known as Phinney’s Regiment or Samuel Brewer’s Regiment. The regiment was recruited out of Massachusetts Colonists living in what is now Maine. Efforts to recreate a complete regimental muster list, share information, and research tips is the goal of this site.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Maine
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Civil War Rosters - Maine List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Companies D and F 13th Maine Infantry at Ship Island, Mississippi
Includes rosters of regimental field and staff and Companies D and F.
- First Maine Heavy Artillery
Regimental Roster with reference to all 2307 members.
- Fourteenth Regiment Infantry, Maine Volunteers
- Joshua Crooker of Minot, Maine "An Aroostook War Soldier"
Newspaper clipping dated 28 Feb 1901 courtesy of the Androscoggin Historical Society, Auburn, Maine.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Maine
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed by home state, then by place, and there under alphabetically by name.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Maine
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- Maine Civil War Regimental Records
These "Summary Unit Histories and Related Records" from the Maine State Archives are finding aids for each Maine Civil War unit.
- Maine in the Civil War
- Maine Revolutionary War Land Grants and Pension Applications
These lists tell the soldier's name, residence, and the source of the application. Maine means a Maine Land Grant, Mass. a Massachusetts Land Grant, HCCR is from the Hancock County Court Records, LCCR is Lincoln County Court Records, and YCCR is York County Court Records. Many of the County Courts still have their pension applications there.
- Maine State Archives Civil War Page
- Maine Veterans' Homes
- Military Records and Related Sources at the Maine State Archives
- Paul's Civil War Page
History of Maine soldiers and sailors during the American Civil War period.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Maine
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically home state, home city, and there under by name.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Maine
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Maine
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Maine
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Maine
- Colonial Massachusetts and Maine Genealogies
Information about approximately 5000 individuals who are descendants of the following surnames: ANDERSON, BLAKE, BRACKETT, BRADBURY, CARVER, CONANT, CHUTE, DARLING, FARRINGTON, HAMBLEN/HAMBLIN/HAMLIN, HASKELL, KNIGHT, MANSFIELD MATHER, NOYES, PLUMER/PLUMMER, PROCTOR, SANFORD, SAWYER, SEWALL, SHACKFORD, SNOW, THURSTON, WAITE, WATTS, WOODWARD.
- GEDCOM Index .com - Maine
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Maine Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Martha Ballard's Diary Online
The source for the book and film "A Midwife's Tale", Martha Ballard wrote in her diary nearly every day from January 1, 1785 to May 12, 1812 (27 years) for a total of almost 10,000 entries. Her diary is an unparalleled document in early American history.
- Maine Diaries
Maine Diary Directory and letters from a Maine man in the 1849 CA Gold Rush.
- Maine Registry
Registry for adoptees and birth parents in Maine.
- Ne-Do-Ba - The Abenaki of Western Maine
Ne-Do-Ba is a nonprofit corporation, established to explore the history and culture of the Abenaki Indian in Western Maine.
- Tribes and Villages of Maine
- WPA Life Histories from Maine
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Maine
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Maine
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Maine
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Maine
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- American Ancestral Associates ~ Cranston, Rhode Island
A full-service genealogical company, with over twenty years experience, including research, consultation, education, and literary assistance.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Maine or Specializing in Maine
- Clifford L. Stott & Associates, Genealogical Research
A certified genealogist, accredited genealogist, and a fellow of the American Society of Genealogists, with more than 30 years of research experience in U.S. and British records. Specializing in Massachusetts, Maine, Connecticut, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island.
- Genealogy Professional Andre R. Grimard, M.Ed.: Andre Grimard Genealogist
Portland, Maine. Local records--vital (birth, marriage, death), cemetery, city & business directory, church, & University of Maine-Orono yearbook & more.
- Genealogy Professional Roots & Branches: Nancy Porter Genealogist
25+ years of experience in Maine Research.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Grand Memories
Professional genealogy research with expertise in Maine and Scotland.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- Maine State Archives - Private Researcher List
- NewEnglandAncestors.org - New England Historic Genealogical Society
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Maine
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Maine and New England
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- The Art of Family: Genealogical Artifacts in New England
A book by D. Brenton Simons.
- Atlas of Historical County Boundaries : Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island
A book by John H. Long.
- City Directories: New England States 1881-1902
A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- Cumberland County, Maine Marriage Returns of to the Year 1892
A book by Judith Holbrook Kelley.
- Dictionary of Maine Place Names
A book by Phillip R. Rutherford.
- Digging for Genealogical Treasure in New England Town Records
A book by Ann S. Lainhart.
- Directory of the Ancestral Heads of New England Families, 1620-1700
A book by Frank R. Holmes.
- Epitaphs to Remember: Remarkable Inscriptions from New England Gravestones
A book by Janet Greene.
- Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, Fourth Edition
A book by Marcia D. Melnyk.
- The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England 1620-1633
A CD-ROM by Robert Charles Anderson.
- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: Maine
A book by the United States Bureau of the Census.
- A History of Lewiston, Maine With a Genealogical Register of Early Families
A book by James G. Elder.
- Maine: A Narrative History
A book by Neil Rolde.
- The Maine Bicentennial Atlas: An Historical Survey
A book by the Maine Historical Society.
- Maine Cemeteries, Vol. 1
 A book by Penny Westfall.
- Maine Families in 1790 (Maine Genealogical Society Special Publication No 18)
A book by Joseph C. Anderson II.
- Maine Genealogy a Bibliographical Guide
- Maine Marriages 1892-1966, A Complete List
A CD-ROM by Lewis Bunker Rohrbach.
- Maine's Coastal Cemeteries: A Historic Tour
A book by Karen Wentworth Batignani.
- New England Court Records: A Research Guide for Genealogists And Historians
 A book by Diane Rapaport.
- Notable Kin: An Anthology of Columns First Published in the NEHGS Nexus, 1986-1995
A book by Gary B. Roberts.
- Pioneers on Maine Rivers : With Lists to 1651
A book by Wilbur D. Spencer.
- Scots in New England, 1623-1873
A book by David Dobson.
- Stones and Bones of New England : A Guide to Unusual, Historic, and Otherwise Notable Cemeteries
A book by Lisa Rogak.
- Vital Records of Searsport Waldo County Maine Prior to 1892
A book by Elizabeth M Mosher.
- Warning Out in New England 1656-1817
A book by Benton.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Maine
-
Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1633 A CD-ROM for sale.
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Maine
- Books We Own - Maine
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Maine or New England States
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- De Wolfe and Wood
Rare Books ~ Alfred
- eBay Listings: Search for Maine Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Maine
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Genealogy Books of Maine
Genealogy research books on Cumberland, Oxford and York counties in Maine.
- Heritage Books: Maine
- Higginson Book Company - Maine
- NewEnglandAncestors.org - New England Historic Genealogical Society
- Picton Press - Maine
- Pine Cone and Tassel Newsletter
Bi-monthly genealogy newsletter covering Maine and New England.
- Quintin Publications - Maine
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Maine
- World Genealogy Project - Maine Town Vital Records Books for Sale
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- Cemetery Junction: Maine Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cyndy's Photos - Cyndy's Home - Written in Stone
The Connecticut River Valley area of New England was the "Cross roads of migration" to Vermont, New York and westward. Photographs of gravestones in the Connecticut River Valley area of Massachusetts and Connecticut, the earlier the date, the better. The cemeteries are located within 30 miles on BOTH sides of the Connecticut River which covers a good deal of area.
- Dana Rae Pelletier's Cemetery Listings
Towns of Burlington, Chester, Enfield, Howland, Lincoln, Lowell, Springfield and Winn.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- A Few Cemeteries in Maine
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Maine
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Maine
- Funeral Services Providers - Maine
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Maine Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Maine Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Maine Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Maine Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Maine
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Maine
- Saving Graves - Maine
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Maine
- US Funerals Online - Maine
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Maine
- A Very Grave Matter
Pictorial study of colonial cemeteries in the Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts seacoast region and their historical links to the area. Includes photos & transcriptions.
- 1790 Census of Population and Housing
From the US Census Bureau. Printed transcriptions in .pdf or .zip format showing Heads of Household.
- AccessGenealogy - Maine Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Maine Census, 1800-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Maine
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Maine:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- Maine US Census Records
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Special Maine 1837 Census
Maine Census or enumeration of the inhabitants on the 1 Mar 1837, excepting foreigners not naturalized, who have not had their residence in any city, town or plantation in this state (Maine), four years previous to enumeration and also excepting Indians not taxed.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Great Migration Begins Index: Immigrants to New England, 1620-33 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Maine
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Maine. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Judicial Records at the Maine State Archives
- Maine Church Records
- Maine State Legislative Indexes 1820-1825
Subjects Beginning with A ,
B ,
C ,
D ,
E ,
F ,
G ,
H ,
I ,
J ,
K ,
L ,
M ,
N ,
O ,
P ,
Q ,
R ,
S ,
T ,
U ,
V ,
W ,
X, Y, Z
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Search Engines for Ships Passenger Lists to New England
Custom Search Engine allows you to search multiple Internet sites for Passenger Lists of ships going to New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont) United States.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Maine Counties, United States
- Robert L. Taylor's Maine Family Bible Archives
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Maine
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Death History Search Form
Online searchable index to deaths 1960 to 1996.
- Maine Department of Health and Human Services - Frequently Asked Questions
Provides contact information and fees for vital records in Maine.
- Maine State Archives - Marriage Search Form
Index to Maine Marriages 1892-1966.
- Maine vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Maine
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- MyVitalRec.com - Maine Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Maine
- Vital Records of Searsport Waldo County Maine Prior to 1892
A book by Elizabeth M Mosher.
- Vital Records US - Maine Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Maine (USA): Maine State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Maine
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey™
|