Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Mississippi
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Mississippi:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Mississippi Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Mississippi
- Ancestor Search - Mississippi Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Mississippi
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Mississippi Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Mississippi Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Mississippi
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Mississippi
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Mississippi Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Mississippi
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Mississippi Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Mississippi Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Mississippi
- Kindred Trails - Mississippi Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Mississippi Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Mississippi
- Looking 4 Kin - Mississippi
- Mississippi Genealogy Network
Queries and varying information on Mississippi Counties and counties adjacent to Mississippi.
- Mississippi Reunions
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Mississippi
- Southeast USA Genealogy
For people interested in genealogy research anywhere in the United States, especially in the Southeast (including the states of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Missouri, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Maryland, South Carolina, and North Carolina.) A mailing list with corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.
- Southwestern Mississippi & Eastern Louisiana Webring
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Mississippi
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - MSGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Mississippi in Databases or Mississippi in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Mississippi State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Mississippi
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Mississippi: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Mississippi
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Mississippi
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Mississippi - Official Web Site
- USA CityLink Project - Mississippi
- Yahoo! Get Local...Mississippi Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- A Black Mississippi Family and Constantine MONTGOMERY
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Mississippi
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Mississippi History Timeline
- Yahoo!...History...Mississippi
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DEEP-SOUTH-ROOTS-L Mailing List Alabama, Florida, Georgia & Mississippi. Archives: browse or search.
-
FRA-MS Mailing List For discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Family Research Association of Mississippi Genealogy Society and genealogical resources available in Mississippi. Archives: browse or search.
-
misscivilwar Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the role of Mississippi in the War for Southern Independence (Civil War).
-
MISSISSIPPI Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the State of Mississippi. Archives: browse or search.
-
MSAFRICANAMER Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding all aspects of African-American genealogy in Mississippi. Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Mississippi.
-
MS-CEMETERIES Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Mississippi census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
MS-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Mississippi census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-CW Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical, historical, or political interest in the role of Mississippi and its people during the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Mississippi from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
MSSWTERR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Southwest Mississippi Territory prior to 1818. Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Mississippi newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
MS-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Mississippi kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
-
MSSWTERR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Southwest Mississippi Territory prior to 1818. Archives: browse or search.
-
OKChoctaw Mailing List For anyone researching their Native American Choctaw ancestors who were removed from Mississippi to Oklahoma.
- Mississippi Genealogy IRC Chats
- 2nd Mississippi Infantry Homepage
Dedicated to the preservation of the history of the Second Mississippi Infantry Regiment and to the memory of the men who served under its banner during our American Civil War.
- 5th Mississippi Infantry
- 6th Mississippi Infantry Regiment
- 7th Mississippi Infantry
 Photos, roster, unit history and more.
- 11th Mississippi Memorial Association
- 15th Regiment Mississippi Infantry, Company A, "Long Creek Rifles"
- The 19th Mississippi Infantry Regiment in the Civil War
Regimental history of the 19th Mississippi Infantry. Includes listings of brigade and regimental officers as well as an extensive bibliography. Notes of William Meek FURR.
- 26th Mississippi Infantry, C.S.A.
- The 29th Mississippi Infantry Regiment
Details on the 29th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. Roster of officers. Details on how to find that confederate ancestor. Little known facts about the "Stars and Bars".
- 33rd Mississippi (CSA) Infantry Regiment
History, rosters, bios, battles and general information on members from Amite, Choctaw, Coahoma, Franklin, Lawrence, Leake, Neshoba, Panola and Pike counties.
- 35th Mississippi Infantry - B Company
- 37th Mississippi Infantry
- 38th Mississippi Infantry
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Battle of Champion Hill (May 16, 1863)
Official site of the Battle of Champion Hill (Baker's Creek), Miss, May 16, 1863. Listing of soldiers, killed, Union and Confederate. Diaries, accounts, and complete historical source. Campaign Trail tours guide.
- The Battle of Raymond, Mississippi (May 12, 1863)
The Official site for the Battle of Raymond, Mississippi, May 12, 1863. Listing of soldiers that fought, wounded and killed. Confederate Cemetery listing. Diaries and accounts.
- Dahlgren Guard of 1861 ~ Pass Christian, Mississippi
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Mississippi
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Mississippi
- Civil War Rosters - Mississippi
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Company A, Fifth Regiment Mississippi Cavalry
- Confederate Dead at Canton, Mississippi
History of Canton during the Civil War, and how hundreds of soldiers came to buried in the Canton Cemetery. New efforts in finding the identification of the 97 unknown soldiers buried there.
- Company G, 8th MS Infantry Regiment (CSA) - "Tolson Guard" of Jasper County, Mississippi
- Corinth Mississippi in Civil War
- Footnote.com - Confederate Soldiers - MS
Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers Who Served in Organizations from the State of Mississippi, NARA. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- Footnote.com - Southern Claims Commission
In 1871, the US government established the Southern Claims Commission to address southerners' petitions for compensation of supplies, livestock, and other items taken by the Union troops during the Civil War. More than 20,000 claims were filed. These testimonial files include first-person accounts of how civilians survived the war, detailed circumstances regarding loss of property, and accounts of each family's history and loyalty to the Union cause. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- The Freeman Diary
Civil War diary of John Henderson Freeman of Company I of the 34th Mississippi Volunteers, Walthall's Brigade, Gen'l Bragg's Army, CSA.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Mississippi
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- MA Ryan, Co B 14th Miss Vol Inf C.S.A.
Experience of a Confederate Soldier in Camp and Prison in The Civil War 1861-1865.
- Mississippi Civil War Information
- Mississippi in the War Between the States
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Mississippi
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Mississippi
- ABYZ News Links - Mississippi - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Mississippi Newspapers
Holmes County Herald, Stone County Enterprise, Woodville Republican. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Mississippi
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Mississippi
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Mississippi
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Mississippi
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Mississippi
- NewspaperLinks.com - Mississippi
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Mississippi News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Mississippi
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Mississippi Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Mississippi Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Mississippi Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Mississippi
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Mississippi
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Mississippi
- GEDCOM Index .com - Mississippi
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- History of the Mississippi Firefighter's Association 1923-1949
- Mississippi Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- The Mississippi Writers Page
The Mississippi Writers Page is a multi-faceted Internet Resource about writers in, from, or otherwise associated with the state of Mississippi. This includes a collection of articles on each author detailing biographical information, a comprehensive list of published titles, various awards and honors, and a selected bibliography of additional resources. Other features include lists of recently published books by Mississippi writers, news and events, information about literary landmarks in Mississipi, a chronology of literary events in the state, magazines and journals published in Mississippi, and information about publishing companies in the state.
- Tribes and Villages of Mississippi
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Mississippi
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Mississippi
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Mississippi
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Mississippi or Specializing in Mississippi
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- Erwin Genealogy - Erwin Family History Service
Located in Southern California, specializing in Southern research including Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Virginia.
- Genealogical Research by Write Result Presentations
For consultation, record searches, research projects and professional reporting focusing on Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana and Mississippi.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- Midwest Genealogy
Professional genealogists serving Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee & Washington, D.C.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Mississippi
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- SouthEastern Genealogical Research
Genealogical document search and retrieval service. Specializing in genealogy in the states of: Virginia, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Arkansas.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- 1850 Census Records
These books are transcribed from the 1850 Census Records and have indexes for some of the counties in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Texas.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Mississippi
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Mississippi
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Mississippi
- Books We Own - Mississippi
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Mississippi
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Early Marriage Records in Mississippi
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Mississippi Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Mississippi
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Mississippi
- Higginson Book Company - Mississippi
- J & W Enterprises
One stop book source on the Internet, specializing in southern states source material.
- Mountain Press - Mississippi
Free Surname Search for many Mississippi genealogy books. Information available on newspaper abstracts, civil war, land claims as well as many maps.
- Pioneer Publishing Company
Books for sale on Alabama, Georgia, Indian, Mississippi, Tennessee & Texas.
- Quintin Publications | Mississippi
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Mississippi
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - Mississippi
- Mississippi in the Civil War Message Board
-
RootsWeb Surname List - RSL Mississippi
The RSL and this form concept & design are courtesy of Karen Isaacson
- SE USA Genealogy Forum on About.com
This forum is primarily for genealogy discussion/research involving the Southeast USA states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia). Post your southern surnames, air your views on issues, ask questions, share research tips or photos, tell us about your personal genealogy site and join in our fun games and contests.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Mississippi Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Mississippi
-
Ancestry.com - Mississippi Census, 1805-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Mississippi
- Cooper Roll
Census Roll of Choctaw families residing east of the Mississippi River and in the states of Mississippi, Louisiana and Alabama made by Douglas H. Cooper, US Agent for Choctaws, in conformity with Order of Commissioner of Indian Affairs dated May the 23rd, 1855.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Mississippi:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- My Mississippi 1850 Census Transcription
Neshoba County, Yazoo County in progress.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Mississippi Land Records Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Mississippi
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Mississippi. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- Biographical Index Search - Mississippi Department of Archives and History
Begun by the Department sometime in the mid-1930s before the death in 1937 of Dunbar Rowland, the Department's first director. Much of the indexing was done in the ensuing administration of William D. McCain (1938-1955), with some additional indexing done in the years following. Although not all of the index keys have survived completely, the index is still useful.
- The Bureau of Land Management -- Eastern States, General Land Office
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of over two million pre-1908 Federal land title records, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Freedmen's Bureau Records - Mississippi
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Mississippi
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Search Engines for Ships Passenger Lists to New England
Custom Search Engine allows you to search multiple Internet sites for Passenger Lists of ships going to New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont) United States.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Mississippi Counties, United States
- Society of Mississippi Choctaw
Alpahbetical membership listings.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- Arkansas, Louisiana & Mississippi Obituaries
A small compilation of obituaries from Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi, with the majority being from Arkansas.
- ObitsArchive.com - Mississippi
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Mississippi Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Mississippi Marriages to 1825 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Freedmen's Bureau, Marriages in Mississippi 1863-1865
- Mississippi Connections
Census, cemetery and marriage indexes.
- Mississippi Marriage Search
- MyVitalRec.com - Mississippi Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- Public Health Statistics
Links to information on costs and availability of copies of birth, marriage, and death certificates.
- VitalChek Network - Mississippi
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Mississippi
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Mississippi Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Mississippi
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|