|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Montana
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Montana:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Montana Genealogy Resource Center
- Ancestor Search - Montana Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Montana
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Montana Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Montana Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Montana
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- GenealogyBank.com - Montana
GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Montana Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Montana
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Montana Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more. 6
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Montana Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Montana
- Kindred Trails - Montana Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Montana Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Montana
- Looking 4 Kin - Montana
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Montana
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Montana
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - MTGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Montana in Databases or Montana in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.S. City Directories
-
U.S. Phone and Address Directories, 1993-2002 Original source: 1993-2002 White Pages. Little Rock, AR, USA: Acxiom Corporation.
-
U.S. Public Records Index Original source: Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, comp. Historical Residential White Page, Directory Assistance and Other Household Database Listings. Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, 215 South Complex Drive, Kalispell, MT 59901.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Montana
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- City Directories of the United States of America
A register of known city directories, their years, and repositories for the United States.
- Online Historical Directories Website
The purpose of the site is to have links to all online city directories in one place, listed by location and in date order. It is meant to be used as an aid to genealogists, historians, and other researchers. Included are county, rural, business, professional and other directories.
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Montana
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- 50states.com - Montana State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Montana
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Montana: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Montana Online: Homepage for the State of Montana
- NACo - About Counties - Montana
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Montana
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Montana
- Yahoo! Get Local...Montana Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Montana
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Ghost Towns of Montana
- Montana History Timeline
- Montana History Wiki
- Montana Vigilantes and the Origins of the 3-7-77
Vigilante justice in 19th century Montana. From the magazine Montana.
- Mountain Men and the Fur Trade
Sources of the History of the Fur Trade in the Rocky Mountain West.
- MtGenWeb Photo Archives
A cooperative effort by the Montana County Coordinators and many special friends of the MTGenWeb Project. Collection of photographs depicting the state of Montana, it's life now, and then. All of the photographs have been submitted by county coordinators and private individuals for use on this site.
- Yahoo!...History...Montana
- Family History Centers in Montana
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Montana
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- LIBCAT: US - Montana
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Montana
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Montana State Library
- MSU-Bozeman Libraries
- PublicLibraries.com - Montana
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Montana
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- WorldCat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, music CDs, videos, and many new kinds of digital content such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
COALMINERS Mailing List For anyone whose ancestors were coalminers in the United Kingdom or the United States. Archives: browse or search.
-
MONTANA Mailing List Sponsored by the Montana State Genealogical Society for anyone with a genealogical interest in the State of Montana. Archives: browse or search.
-
MT-AHGP Mailing List For the State and County Coordinators of the Montana American History and Genealogy Project (AHGP) to discuss project activities.
-
MT-CEMETERIES For anyone interested in locating, and preserving historical information about, Montana cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
MT-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Montana census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
MT-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Montana census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
MT-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Montana from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
MT-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Montana. Archives: browse or search.
-
MT-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For for the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Montana newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing list Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
- 1872 County Map of Montana
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Montana
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Montana
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Montana
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Montana A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Northwestern States A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
- Color Landform Atlas: Montana
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Map of Montana Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Montana
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Montana Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Montana County Selection Map
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Montana
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Military Records Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
WWI Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 - Montana Original source: United States, Selective Service System. World War I Selective Service System Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration. M1509, 4,582 rolls.
- The Civil War in Montana
- Genealogy Quest - Fort Benton, Montana, 1880
U.S. Census, population schedule, Ft. Benton, Chouteau County, Montana; June 9-10, 1880.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Montana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Montana in the Military
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Montana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Montana
- ABYZ News Links - Montana - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com - Search Newspapers & Periodicals Records Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Billings Gazette On Line
Includes "Vitals" section.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Footnote.com - Montana Newspapers
Phillips County News, Roundup Record-Tribune & Winnett Times, Sidney Herald. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Montana
GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.
- Home Town News - Montana
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Lewistown News-Argus
Bi-weekly newspaper covering central Montana.
- Missoulian Online
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Montana
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Montana
- NewspaperLinks.com - Montana
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Montana
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Montana Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program - Montana
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Montana Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Montana Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Montana
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
For Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Montana
- Bohemian Homesteaders
Bohemian Homesteaders in Montana and Idaho at the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
- GEDCOM Index .com - Montana
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Montana Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- The Montana Sedition Project
Montana's state Sedition Law was similar to that of the United States law of 1917. The Montana Sedition Project acquired pardons for those imprisoned under the Sedition Law in 2006. Included in this site is the list of Montana's Sedition Prisoners along with their scanned prison in-take forms.
- Tribes and Villages of Montana
- WPA Life Histories from Montana
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Montana
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Montana
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Montana
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Montana
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Montana or Specializing in Montana
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Graves-R-Us
Cemetery transcriptions from selected counties in Montana & Wyoming plus a few other states. Professional genealogy research & books for sale.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Montana
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Montana Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Montana Census, 1870-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Montana
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Montana. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- BLM - Montana Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Montana Cadastral Mapping Program
The Project is public-private sector partnership to create, maintain, and disseminate a digital GIS land ownership (cadastral) map database of the entire state. Parcels and real property are mapped and maintained by state and county cartographers. Interactive maps and descriptive data are available on this site for each parcel. Descriptive data are derived from the Montana Department of Revenue CAMA (Computer Assisted Mass Appraisal) database.
- Montana County Records - County Courthouse Records in Montana
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Montana
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Montana Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Montana
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Montana Department of Public Health & Human Services - Birth / Death Certificates
Includes contact information and printable forms for obtaining vital record certificates.
- Montana State Vital Records
- MyVitalRec.com - Montana Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Montana
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Montana
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Montana Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Western States Marriage Search Form
Index for marriages in western states, including mostly pre-1900 marriages in Arizona, Idaho and Nevada. Also some counties in California, western Colorado, Montana, Oregon, Utah, eastern Washington, and Wyoming.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Montana
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|