|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
What's New on Cyndi's List?
New Links Submitted in February 2005
- As new links are submitted to me via the Submit a New Link form, they will temporarily be added to a page of uncategorized links for that month.
- The links are added automatically by a computerized script that runs each night. They appear *exactly* as they were submitted by the visitor. The links are also forwarded to the CyndisList Mailing List through the automated script.
- Once I place these links in their permanent home on various category pages on Cyndi's List, I will remove them from these uncategorized pages.
- New links are added to the individual category pages on Cyndi's List as we have time to visit, verify and examine each web site.
- You can identify new links and updated links on Cyndi's List by looking for either of these graphics:
or
|
|
|
|
|
DISCLAIMERS:
- Addresses for the following links have not been verified, so they may not work.
- The following list is shown exactly as the links were submitted by visitors to this site.
- The links are listed in the order that they were submitted to this site.
- Because I have not visited any of the sites and have not reviewed any of the links, I do not endorse or guarantee the appropriateness or accuracy of any of the sites listed below.
- Links to inappropriate or non-genealogical sites will be removed permanently.
- The owner is not responsible for the content found on other web sites which are found linked on Cyndi's List.
- Find more disclaimers here
February 28, 2005
- Frugal Frog Bed & Breakfast
A small bed and brakfast situated in a private home in Arlington, TX. A bed & breakfast catering to the needs of genealogists. It has a Resouce Room with two computers with high speed internet connections; also a copier & fax machine.
February 27, 2005
- Uncovering Cousins: Granite Cutters' Journal
Transcriptions from the Granite Cutters' Journal, a monthly publication of the Granite Cutters National Union. Articles include not only information on the granite industry, but also personal information on union members. Branch reports are from the U. S. and Canada, but there are often references to other countries such as Scotland and England. The Journal was first published in April 1877.
- GenTutorials: Where to Start When You Don't Know Where to Start
A tutorial for the beginning genealogist.
- Conseil General Des Pyrenees Atlantiques
1800s plat maps of villages in the Pyrenees Atlantiques. Select "Archives" from the right hand menu (Hint: The menu changes so you may have to refresh the page to see "Archives".) At the next page, select "Cadastre napoléonien". At the next page, select "Defenir Creters". That takes you to the page where you select the village whose map you wish to view.
February 26, 2005
- Canadian Fallen Heroes Foundation
Searching for information(Photos, Name, Hometown, etc) on all Canadian soldiers that died in either the boer war, ww1 or ww2, korea and un Peacekeeping missions.
- Cornwall Parish Register Search
Online search facility for 130,000 Cornwall Parish Register transcriptions.
- Grandmas Photo Links
Links to photographic websites and archives of interest to those researching their family history.
February 25, 2005
- Moirbooks
The website covers the DALSERF, Larkhall and Fife areas of Scotland, there are photos, Monumental inscriptions and lots of local history if you are searching in this area, has pages of good Genealogy links and there are pages of message boards for people researching theri family trees, there are also Free MIs to look through as well as some that can be bough if you want. A good site.
- Caddo, Missouri on the Old Wire Road
Lost lost ghost town on a long forgotten trail.
- HUGUENOT SOCIETY OF AUSTRALIA
Our society's aims are:to foster a bond of friendship amongst descendants of the Huguenots ;to encourage knowledge of Huguenot history and the Huguenot contribution to all countries where they and their descendants settled, including Australia ;to offer advice on Huguenot family history research.
- Whakapapa - genealogy @ maori.org.nz
Guidelines for whakapapa / genealogy, how to research and where to go to find your whanau - family.
- maori.org.nz Papa Panui - Notices | Forums
Forums for listing Whanau (Family) Events as well as Finding Whanau (Family). Fully searchable.
- Links @ maori.org.nz
Links to sites containing Whakapapa information, including a collection of Whanau (family) sites.
February 24, 2005
- Family History UK
A group for all people researching family history in the UK.
- From Ireland
a site that has descriptions of Irish civil parishes c.1837 - census records - civil registration (vital records) - Irish history, culture, poetry and more - coming out of Ireland.
February 23, 2005
- L' Albero Genealogico - Studio di Ricerche Araldiche e Genealogiche
Researching the genealogy of your family in Avellino, Benevento, Caserta, Napoli, Salerno (Campania Region - Italy).
- Chesham Museum - The Stables
A small volunteer-run museum featuring local industry and social reform - 'Boots, Beer, Brushes and Baptists'.
February 22, 2005
- Leontine COOPER (née BUISSON)
Brief biographical history of the life and work of Leontine COOPER (née Leontine Mary Jane BUISSON) (1837-1903) - the English-born teacher, writer and leading Queensland suffragette.
- rossels
all surnames A_Z over the world.
February 21, 2005
- Old Family Letters by vtcollectables
Sales of actual family & business letters from 1800-1850, listed by the name of sender & receiver.
February 20, 2005
- Planning The Reunion
Planning The Reunion: is a one-stop informational resource center for planning and organizing family reunions or other major gatherings.
- Jefferson County Convict Camp List 1930
Search for Blacksheep Ancestors in 1930 from the Jefferson County Convict Camp, Alabama.
- Trenton Utah Cemetery
Transcription of headstones along with photos of the Trenton, Utah, cemetery.
February 18, 2005
- Family History Research
This website is owned and operated by the Family History Research Group, founded on PalTalk(R) in 2001. The group was established to assist people from across the globe with their genealogy research free of charge. We do independent look ups as time allows and are able to provide websites, mailing addresses, references, and many tools to assist in all areas. Our voice and text enabled room on PalTalk allows us to meet people and give them personalized assistance one-on-one. The group is more than always happy to help!.
- People Search Tracing Services
People Search is a UK based company that offers professional people finding services to solicitors and the public. Searches are carried out with sensitivity to find missing family and old friends. Research can locate beneficiaries to wills and can locate family in adoption cases.
- The Parish of Staplehurst in County Kent - Genealogy and Local History
Staplehurst, Kent - Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, Census and more.
- Genealogy book: Find Your Noble Ancestors!
Genealogy book about family search for noble ancestors.
February 17, 2005
- FRB Military Records and Genealogy
If you do not know if your ancestor served in the military, the year of birth may be an indicator that they possibility did. Most people who were in the military were between 18 and 45 years of age. Use our Family Roots and Branches war chronology on our website to see if there was a military conflict during the time that your ancestor lived.Our chronology is a complete and up-to-date listing of known military campaigns, conflicts, expeditions and wars that colonial Americans, U.S. military and state militia forces have been involved in.
February 16, 2005
- Taking Photos of Cemeteries, Monuments, and Tombstones
Tips and suggestions, and examples for taking photos of tombstones.
- www.hispanicroots.net
HispanicRoots is committed to providing research services for most Hispanic countries. A combination of helpful articles, research tips and links to helpful websites will assist in identfying their Hispanic ancestry.
- World War I Archives
The WWI Collection provides a sampling of UW-Madison's World War I Special Collection. Materials digitized for this specific Brittingham grant-funded project include a broad range of materials such as maps, periodicals, bound and unbound pamphlets, broadsides, publications for the troops, cartoons, and illustrated magazines. The complete collection is available in the Special Collections Department of Memorial Library. Most of these materials were acquired by the University during or in the immediate aftermath of the war, and they represent a direct and often very passionate or partisan viewpoint of that conflict. These are primary sources, the raw materials of history, and they bring the first great worldwide conflict of the twentieth century to us in an immediate way, without the viewpoint provided by intervening years.
- University of Wisconsin Archives Images
The University Archives is digitizing photographs and other images of university history. Currently there are collections dealing with the Chancellors and Presidents, Memorial Union, Student Activities, Student Protest, and Athletics.
- Germany Under Reconstruction
Germany Under Reconstruction provides a varied selection of publications in both English and German from the period immediately following World War II. Many are publications of the U.S. occupying forces, including reports and descriptions of efforts to introduce U.S.-style democracy to Germany. Some of the other books and documents describe conditions in a country devastated by years of war, efforts at political, economic and cultural development, and the differing perspectives coming from the U.S. and British zones and the Russian zone of occupation. At the same time, the Germans themselves and the occupying forces look back at the National Socialist period and try to come to terms with what had happened.
- Blood-Ties Tracing Service
Blood-Ties is a people finding service based in London in the United Kingdom. All research is carried out with sensitivity and discretion to trace missing family and friends.
- Wisconsin Pioneer Experience
The Wisconsin Pioneer Experience is a digital collection of diaries, letters, reminiscences, speeches and other writings of people who settled and built Wisconsin during the 19th century. The project has been made available through the partnership of the Council of University of Wisconsin Libraries (CUWL) and the Wisconsin Historical Society (WHS).
- Ingeborg Holdahl Alvstad, Reminiscences
Ingeborg Holdahl Alvstad, Reminiscences, undated (RIVER FALLS) - Recollections by Alvstad of her family's emigration from Norway, the sinking of their ship, their settlement in Gilman Township, Pierce County, Wisconsin, in 1889, and her early years there as her family established a farm home. 9 typed, transcribed pages.
- John Archiquette, Diary 1868-1874
John Archiquette, Diary 1868-1874 (GREEN BAY) - Typed translation of a diary kept by Archiquette, an Oneida Indian, containing information on tribal council decisions and discipline and on farming, road building, religious services, and other aspects of life on the Oneida Reservation near Green Bay, Wisconsin. Translated from the Oneida language by Oscar H. Archiquette. 34 pages of typed transcriptions from the original Oneida.
- Gunleik Asmundson Bondal, Letter, 1854.
Gunleik Asmundson Bondal, Letter, 1854. (WHS) - Translation of a letter written by Gunleik Asmundson Bondal, a Norwegian immigrant, on January 17, 1854, describing his journey from Krago, Norway, to Dane County, Wisconsin and his family's new life in America. He recounts the price of cattle, farm implements, food, clothing, and other necessities, and writes of farming, including descriptions of the machines used, wages, the time taken by various tasks, geography, and climate. He draws many comparisons between the New World and the Old. Also mentioned is the California gold rush and cholera epidemic. 7 typed translations from the original Norwegian. Uncorrected OCRd transcriptions of some letters available.
- Brainerd, Molly Pease. Letters.
Four letters written by Mary ("Molly") Brainerd from rural Danville, Dodge County, Wis. to relatives in Michigan. The two earlier letters are addressed to her niece, Lavinia, a student in Kalamazoo, Mich. and are filled with family news and detailed information about crop conditions. The 1881 letter tells of a very hard winter with deep snow and its attendant difficulties, and of a lot of sickness and death. The 1882 letter describes the provisioning of family members who left for the minefields of Montana. Uncorrected OCRd transcription available.
- Brandt, Gerard - Letters 1850-1860
Selections from Gerard Brandt, Letters 1850-1860 (MILWAUKEE) - Selection from the letters from Gerard and Catherine Brandt of Holland township in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, to relatives and friends, chiefly in Milwaukee and the Netherlands, about personal and religious matters and life in Wisconsin. 35 pages of typed translations from the original Dutch.
- Chase, Enoch. (1840s Wisconsin)
Reminiscences of a pioneer settler in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, who left his home in Vermont in 1831, traveled by schooner and stage to Coldwater, Michigan, where he practiced medicine and taught school. In April, 1835, he drove a team to Milwaukee. In his narrative he describes and characterizes many of the pioneer men and women of Milwaukee, and speaks of Indian troubles, the organization of government, the development of industries, and local rivalries. A portion of the sketch is published in James S. Buck's Pioneer History of Milwaukee, 1:49-52 (Milwaukee, 1890).
- Currey, J. Seymour. Vilas County (Notes, 1906)
J. Seymour Currey, Vilas County Notes, 1906 (WHS) - Notes by Currey on the lakes of Vilas County, Wisconsin, including information on Charles A. Bent and his family, owners of a resort on Lake Mamie. 11 handwritten pages.
- Dinsdale, Rev. Matthew (Letters, 1844)
Selection of letters by Rev. Dinsdale written from Linden and other Wisconsin settlements to his relatives in Askrigg, Yorkshire, England, describing his trip to the United States in 1844 and giving minute advice to prospective immigrants; his pastoral services as a Methodist minister at Potosi, Wisconsin, and in the Lake Winnebago circuit; economic conditions as seen through his work as a clerk in stores at Linden and elsewhere. Some letters from the original collection have been omitted due to illegibility.
- Douglas, James and Margaret. (Letters, 1840-1843)
James and Margaret Douglas Letters, 1840-1843 (MILWAUKEE) - Selections of typed transcripts of letters describing conditions in America to family members in Scotland from immigrants James and Margaret Douglas, who lived first in Mt. Morris, New York, then settled near Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1844.
- Drew, James. (Reminiscences, 1845-1846)
James Drew, Reminiscences, 1845-1846 (WHS) - Reminiscences of a Glasgow couple's visit, July 1845-April 1846, to Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, including information on farming, land prices, impressions of the people, local government, schools, and religion. Originals are in the New York Historical Society, New York, N.Y. 16 typed pages.
- Goodnow, Lyman. (Recollection, 1880?)
Lyman Goodnow, Recollection, 1880? (MILWAUKEE) - Typed manuscript of Goodnow's account of how he helped the first slave escape to Canada from Wisconsin the Territory in 1843. 11 pages of typed transcriptions.
- Hartwig, Theodore E.F. (Letters, 1846 and 1851)
Theodore E.F. Hartwig, Letters, 1846 and 1851 (WHS) - Two typewritten translations of letters, written by Dr. Theodore E. F. Hartwig, Cedarburg, Wisconsin, September 25, 1846 and November 21, 1851, to his family in Germany describing his trip to the United States by sailing vessel, railroad, and lake steamer to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and describing Cedarburg and Milwaukee. 30 pages of typed translations from the original German.
- Hastings, Lucy A. (Letters 1850s-1860s)
Family correspondence to and from Lucy A. Hastings and her husband David; including letters from relatives in Dexter, Michigan, and an 1855 description of moving from Massachusetts to Oxford, Wisconsin, and information on Indians around Oxford, moving to Eau Claire in 1857, and an Indian panic there in 1862.
- Hodges, William. (Letter, 1856)
One letter dated June 11, 1856, written by Hodges describing pioneer conditions in Pierce County, Wisconsin. Uncorrected OCRd transcription available.
- Hollister, Uriah. (Letter, 1912)
Typewritten transcription of reminiscences, ca. 1912, by Hollister, Delavan, Wisconsin, concerning the settlement and growth of the area and youthful experiences; and one letter, 1839, written by his mother describing the family's trip from New York to Wisconsin and their new surroundings. Uncorrected OCRd text available.
- Huey, Mrs. Thomas (Letter, 1924)
Mrs. Thomas Huey, Address, 1924 (STOUT) - Address given in 1924 by Mrs. Thomas Huey in which she reminisces about her life in Dunn County, Wisconsin, between 1863 and 1883; and a postcard from Henry E. Knapp in which he comments on the address. 7 pages of typed transcriptions.
- Hagen Family Papers, 1879-1899 (Eau Claire, WI)
Hagen Family Papers, 1879-1899 (EAU CLAIRE) - Family histories and typed translations of letters from several Norwegian immigrants to the Eau Claire, Wisconsin area: Anders (Andrew) P. Solem, maternal grandfather of the collection's donor, Harold Hagen; Elling (Erling) Andersen Sende, Hagen's paternal great-grandfather; and Anders Lian (also known as Andrew Lee), Hagen's maternal grandmother's cousin. Letters by Anders P. Solem are directed to his grandfather in Norway. In them he describes his experiences working in sawmills and lumber camps, comments on labor conditions, including a strike for the ten-hour day, and offers various observances regarding life in America. Letters by Elling Anderson Sende and his wife Guruanna relate family matters and further detail life in Eau Claire. Letters written to Anders Lian and his family concern arrangements for bringing him to America. The largest group of letters in the collection are written by Anders Lian to his family in Norway. They also document work in the lumber industry and discuss current events, and the economic and political climate in 1890s America. Also of interest are Lian's experiences enlisting in a military training camps as a volunteer soldier at the time of the Spanish-American war. The family histories in the collection were written by Genevieve Hagen and include biographical details as well as genealogical information for each of the correspondents. 89 pages of typed translations from the original Norwegian and original family histories.
- Miller, Ellen Spaulding (Papers, 1863-1887)
Selections from Ellen Spaulding Miller, Papers, 1863, 1870-1887 (EAU CLAIRE) - Selections from the papers of a woman who lived in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, in the 1870s. The collection consists largely of letters written principally by Ellen Spaulding Miller to family members who probably lived in New York. The letters reflect domestic life, family relationships, economic conditions, lumbering, religious revivals, and health conditions in the lumbering capital of northwestern Wisconsin. 115 pages.
- Moulton, Emeline M. (Letters)
Letters from Emeline M. Moulton and other settlers of Rochester, Racine County, Wisconsin, to relatives in Cabot, Vermont, discussing prices of commodities and family matters and briefly referring to unhappy experiences of men who had joined the California gold rush.
- Myrick, Nathan (Letter, 1892)
Typewritten copy of a letter from Nathan Myrick, an early settler of La Crosse, Wisconsin, to F. A. Copeland, Mayor of La Crosse, dated St. Paul, Minnesota, January 28th, 1892, in which he provides a brief account of his life and reminiscences of his arrival at Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, in 1841 and subsequent life as a trader in the settlement of La Crosse, until his departure for Minnesota, ca. 1850. Uncorrected OCRd text available.
- Plumbe, John (Diary of, Sinipee, Wisconsin)
Diary kept by Plumbe, the owner and promoter of the boom town of Sinipee, Wis., on the Mississippi River. Detailed entries describe the platting and settlement of Sinipee, the writing and publication of his promotional book "Sketches of Iowa and Wisconsin," and his efforts to secure wagon roads and railroad connections to Milwaukee, Racine, and Chicago. Some entries touch an lumber rafting, lead shipments, and steamboat traffic, and there are references to Byron Kilbourn, James D. Doty, William R. Smith, and others interested in the development of southwestern Wisconsin and Dubuque, Iowa.
- Ranney, Oprah (Letters)
Photocopies of letters from Ranney, Dunn County, Wis., to her sister Adah Holcomb in New Hartford, Conn., including details of her trip from New York to Wisconsin and describing illnesses, children, deaths, domestic chores, farming, weather, Christmas, and other details of daily life. Uncorrected OCRd transcriptions of some letters available.
- Salter, George. (Letters, transcripts)
Photocopied material relating to the life of "Daddy" Salter of Juneau County, Wis. who is said to have killed many Native Americans in retaliation for his wife's murder at their Town of Clearfield tavern. Included is a 34-page typewritten description by Salter of his departure from England; travels (1843-1864) in Wisconsin to Portage, Reedsburg, and Kilbourn City, and down the Mississippi River to New Orleans; life in Wisconsin; and an account of his brutal slaying of two Native Americans suspected of murdering his wife. Also included is a 4-page typewritten obituary (ca. 1906) of Salter in which he is said to have admitted to murdering eighteen Native Americans. Uncorrected OCRd text available.
- Shepard, Charles. (Papers, 1848-)
Papers of Charles Shepard and other residents of the black settlement of Pleasant Ridge (now Beetown), Wisconsin, including letters, tax receipts, and community history. Shepard (Sheppard) was the head of the first African-American family to settle in what became a pioneer black community about five miles west of Lancaster, Wisconsin. In 1848, the family of William Horner, a Haymarket, Virginia planter, moved to Wisconsin, bringing with them their freed slaves: Charles and Caroline Shepard (nee Brent), their three children, Harriet, John and Mary, and Charles' brother Isaac. A woman named Sarah Brown, who was left behind in slavery, later joined this family after Isaac returned to Virginia and paid for the woman's freedom. The two then married. Charles and Isaac left a mother and several brothers and sisters in Virginia who planned on heading west at a later date. Eventually, these individuals migrated to Washington D.C. The letters are chiefly communications between the Shepards in Wisconsin and their relatives in the East. Other letters are those of Thomas and John Greene, other settlers of Pleasant Ridge.
- Tillman, Friedrich (Diary, 1856-1899)
Selections from Tillman Brothers (La Crosse, Wisconsin), Records, 1856-1899 (LA CROSSE) -Translations of a diary kept by Friedrich Tillman, partner in a furniture and undertaking establishment founded in 1859 in La Crosse, when he sailed to America from Germany in 1856. 23 pages of hand written translations from the original German.
- Wells, Rev. Milton. (Letter 1844)
Milton Wells, Letter 1844 (WHS) - Typewritten copy of a letter written by Reverend Wells of Burlington, Racine County, Wisconsin Territory, to Charles Hall, Secretary of the American Board of Home Missions, concerning the plight of Norwegian immigrants in the Town of Rochester and his need for aid to help them. 3 pages of typed transcriptions.
- Wisconsin Territorial Letters (1837-1852)
Selections from Wisconsin Territorial Letters, 1837-1852 (WHS) - Selections from letters from various places in Wisconsin, addressed for the most part to residents of Eastern states, reflecting living conditions in rural Wisconsin during territorial and early statehood days. They contain frequent references to the prevalence of fever and ague among the settlers, and notations of wages and the prices of commodities and real estate. Among the letters are small groups from leaders of two religious denominations--the Congregational minister E. D. Seward of Lake Mills and the Presbyterian minister Jeremiah Porter at Green Bay-- and 10 letters from ministers of the Baptist Home Missionary Society to the Reverend Benjamin M. Hill, corresponding secretary of the Society. A calendar of the collection is included. 222 photostated pages of handwritten text.
- Prussian Immigrants Into The Ottawa Area
Lists early German settlers to Ottawa, Canada in the mid-1800s, including their birthplace, with the township, government district, and when they took land. The period of this emigration was before the time of German unification and therefore you will see names and places from parts of what is now Germany as well as parts of other European countries.
February 15, 2005
- Big Pedigree Charts
Large 3' x 5' pedigree charts printed from your own genealogy data. Unique two-way chart shows 9 generations. Suitable for display or research work.
- Indiana in the Civil War Message Board
A message board for topics about Indiana in the Civil War.
- West Virginia Pioneers
Originally connecting pioneers of Jackson Co, WV, and now spreading out to encompass surrounding counties in WV and OH and moving eastward.
February 14, 2005
- Historical Map Sets for England, Scotland and Wales
Compass Consulting offer Historical Map Searches for sites throughout England, Scotland and Wales. We can also cover the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands. Using our Historical Map Sets our clients can clearly see the previous historical land-use that has occurred on the site over the last 150 years. Our Historical Map Sets may also show features that might otherwise be hidden by development or vegetation.
- Unlocking Your Past 2005
In March 2003, the first "Unlocking Your Past" free family history community event opened to the public, and more than 300 visitors came to view the exhibits, hear the speakers, attend classes and get individual help with their genealogical research.After the success of the first "Unlocking Your Past", the decision was made to try and make it a semi-annual affair. Accordingly, we proudly announce "Unlocking Your Past 2005" our second semi-annual event, which as before, will be open to the public, and completely free! This year, the event is being extended from three to four days. The scheduled dates are: Wednesday through Saturday, March 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th. We believe many lessons learned from hosting the first event will help us make "Unlocking Your Past 2005" even better and more rewarding.
- New Zealand Genealogy Links
a directory of over 550 online surname resources including censuses, cemeteries, passenger lists, directories for New Zealand including Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Hawkes' Bay& Wairarapa, Manawatu, North & Mid Canterbury, Nelson & Bays, Northland, Otago, South Canterbury, Southland, Taranaki, Waikato, Wanganui, Wellington & West Coast.
- CGS Enterprises
CGS Enterprises offers searches for Illinois death records (1916-1947) and genealogy and census index publications.
February 13, 2005
- Peachtree Convict Camp, Lines 51 - 79, 1900 Prisoner Index
List of prisoners from Peachtree Convict Camp, Georgia from the year 1900.
- Tracing Your Family History Birth, Deaths & Marriage Exchange
The up and coming Tracing Your Family History Website is proud to annouce the arrival of a new free to use Births, Deaths & Marriage Certificate Exchange as part of its dedication to helping with you with your genealogical research.
- Sand Flat Cemetery, Smith County, Texas
This web site has been created with information about everyone buried in Sand Flat Cemetery including photos of the cemetery markers. Cemetery burials date back to the 1850’s.
- Microfilm & Microfiche Reader - Printers - Scanners
Document Imaging Supply Co. is a discount supplier of Microfiche and Microfilm Reader, Printers, Scanners, Storage Solutions and Consumable Supplies for Microfilm Equipment.
February 12, 2005
- Wetumpka State Prison 1930 Index of Prisoners (A - L)
List of prisoners in Wetumpka State Prison, Alabama for the year 1930.
- Wetumpka State Prison 1930 Index of Prisoners (M - Z)
List of prisoners in Wetumpka State Prison, Alabama for the year 1930.
- Rootsweb Pontotoc County Oklahoma
Military, Locality Specific- Pontotoc County Oklahoma article and picture of 11 Milner Brothers, all 11 serving in uniform this recent past century; mostly of WW11 era.
February 11, 2005
- Alabama State Prison Camp 1930 Index of Prisoners
List of prisoners from Alabama State Prison in 1930.
- Stephenson County, Illinois Genealogy Resources
Obituaries, biographies, photos.
- BIRTHS MARRIAGES DEATHS CERTIFICATE EXCHANGE SITE
This new site is for people to list any Birth, Marriage or Death Certificates that they may have acquired in error, I myself have done this on a couple of occasions, thought that I had found one of my ancestors, only to discover that after purchasing the certificate he/she was indeed not the person that I was looking for, so these certificates usually end up in the back of my files.It is Totally Free to enter details of any certificate you may have spare, and there are no charges whatsoever to view the listings on this site, if you do see a certificate that is of interest to you, all you have to do is click on the 'email' in the Contact column, you will then be able to contact the person who has entered the listing.
- PROBATE CASE FILES
Index of Probate Case Files available for Contra Costa County, California. 1850-1920 Copying and research services available.
- Wiltshire Genealogy
A site for those researching their Wiltshire ancestry, some BMDs, newspapers and snippets.
February 10, 2005
- Socratic Productions, Inc.
Family Oral History and Personal Biography Documentary Service.
- WWII Military Genealogy Mailing List
The WorldWar II mailinglist has been set up to discuss any aspects of World War II research. It is used by historians, writers, researchers and genealogists.
- Grave Markers in the Cemetery at Utila, The Bay Islands, Honduras, sorted by Family Name
A sorted listing (Family Name, Date of Birth, Date of Death) of grave markers & headstones from the Utila Cemetery together with their inscriptions (if any). Note, there are many more grave markers in the Utila Cemetery, but they are too badly weathered (especially the wooden ones) to transcribe.
- Historical Newspapers in Washington
Searchable Washington State historic newspapers. Currently, the only newspaper available is the Columiban 9/11/1852 - 11/26/1853 but other papers will be digitized and indexed by this spring.
- 1898 Directory of Utila, The Bay Islands, Honduras
Extract from the 1898 Honduras Directory of the Cities (Directorio de Las Cuidades) listing names and occupations of people living in Utila, The Bay Islands, Honduras.
- Recommended Historical Books about Utila, The Bay Islands, Honduras
Recommened for Tourists planning to visit Utila, The Bay Islands, Honduras, or for people who have an interest in the history and/or genealogy of Utila.
- St Peter's Catholic Cemetery Rome, Oneida County, NY 1837-1882
Approximately 600 burials from 1837-1882.
February 9, 2005
- wvpics.com is a collection of pictures and historic information about West Virginia
site of old West Virginia photos, cemeteries, maps and historical data about the state.
- Jefferson County Convict Camp # 7, 1930 Prisoner Index
List of prisoners in Jefferson County Convict Camp #7 Alabama from 1930.
- Genealogical Journal
A journal that will be issued out to any genealogists, family & local historians who want to take part, regardless of where you live. Initially the journal will be sent out from me, and once received it can be filled with whatever, you want, the only condition is that it must be genealogical. Photos (not originals), scans can of course be included as well as any contact addresses. We will only be limited by our imaginations with what can be included.
- William Still's "Underground Rail Road" back in print
William Still's "The Underground Rail Road" originally published in 1872, then again in 1878, 1883, and 1970, is back in print.
February 8, 2005
- Michigan Blacksheep Ancestors
Free Prison and Convict Records, Court Records, Executions, Famous Outlaws, Criminals & Bandits in Michigan.
- Posey Co, IN Military WWI
1114 and 5 years work - WWI men most with 3 generations.
- UK Search engine
Offering UK specific web search.
February 7, 2005
- Guide to free genealogy sites - England and Wales
For anybody with English or Welsh ancestors in their family tree, a guide to the free genealogy sites for those places, with tips and shortcuts on how to speed up your research.
- Libraries in New Zealand
A listing of library web sites in New Zealand.
- Genealogical & Historical Records of Preble County, Ohio
A collection of scanned, indexed images of courthouse and local records.
- Pennsylvania Election Statistics
This site lists the names of everyone who has served in the Pennsylvania Legislature from 1682 until the present.
February 6, 2005
- Wiltshire Genealogy
A site comprising of material that pertains to the County of Wiltshire England.
- Memory Books, Genealogy Charts and Forms from Kindred Keepsakes
Products that help families preserve their heritage and traditions: Memory Book Questions, Custom Memory Books, Genealogy Charts and Forms.
February 5, 2005
- Welcome to Free Tartans.com
Free Scottish Tartans. Download Images Scanned From Actual Cloth.
- Genealogical Record Exchange and Description Language (GREnDL 1.1)
GREnDL describes a data model used to represent genealogical information, and specifies the element structures, attributes and data types of the description language used to exchange that information between various representing applications. GREnDL is itself represented in XML as defined by [XML 1.0 (Second Edition)].
- HuntItOut Best Web Search Engine
Internet Search Engine with image, directory and news search.
- Surnames connected with Russia
List of surnames cjnnected with Russia, some with contact information of the researchers. Messageboard.
- Best Family Photography Tips
Explains EVERYTHING required to achieve the best photographic results for family events & reunions. Describes what to do before, during, & after taking digital photos. Examples on indoor & outdoor posing, composition, and lighting tips the pros use. Create baby, child, group, and pet portraits. "Must have" info for genealogy and family related sites.
- Web sites about Genealogy
Directory with thumbnails. Links and information.
- Cemetery Photography Services of Southeast Tennessee
Research and photograph cemeteries and graves in the Southeast Tennessee counties of Blount, Loudon, McMinn, Monroe, and Polk. Also providing website design, photo restoration, photo memorials, and photo-to-video services.
- historyjohnson The Genealogy Service
Family history research in the UK and Republic of Ireland. Friendly and efficient, services range from a complete research package to research requests by the hour at archives all over the country. Also ONS searches and certificate ordering.
February 4, 2005
- Maps of the Past
Research and Mapping are a positive tool for all amateur and professional genealogists.
- Cades Cove Preservation Association
History, genealogy, old & new photos, and information about the Cades Cove people who forced from the community to make way for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Tenn.
February 3, 2005
- THE CAPTURE OF PLYMOUTH
Excerpt from Personal Reminiscences of the War of 1861-5, by William H. Morgan, J.P. Bell Company, Inc., Lynchburg, Virginia, 1911, pages 180-191.
- Cumberland Ancestor Trackers
Site offering genealogical research in Cumberland UK.
February 2, 2005
- Serenitas
Research is undertaken by Serenitas in all the London repositories, libraries and museums. If we cannot cover a particular aspect we will either sub-contract the task or put you in touch with an expert in the topic. Serenitas specialises in:Merchant Seamen's Records from the 18th through to the late 20the century.Military Records covering personnel and operational documents, we also have particular expertise in the South Africa War a.k.a. Boer War.Registered Designs from the early 19th century to the middle 20th century.Family History and Genealogy- Births, Marriage, and Death certificates plus Census and Social HistoryLocal History - your own research locality and because of our location we also cover London, Bucks, Herts and Berks.Academic research, we are able to take on long term research projects.
- Heirloom Preservation
Tips for preserving your family keepsakes.
- Jessica's Genealogy Research Service
I do genealogy research for the low cost of only $10/hr. I have access to many online resources and a genealogy dept. in my local library. I have knowledge in tracing Native American roots also. I offer my research in family tree notebooks if so desired.
- Virginia Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of Links for Prison and Convict Records, Court Records, Executions, Famous Outlaws, Criminals & Bandits in Virginia.
- African-American Research
Myths, Tips and Techniques for researching African-Americans and their families. Educational. Several helpful links, too.
- Pointe Coupée at the Millennium
The "Pointe Coupée at the Millennium" documentary photography project is similar to the Farm Security Administration photography projects, 1937-1942. Historical photographers Allen Smith and Diane Janowski recorded daily life in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana along the Mississippi River at the turn of the 21st Century.
- Hometown Elmira
Photographic history of Elmira, New York and Chemung County, New York.
- van-den-hout.nl
van den Hout, de Jong, van Leliveld, Mol, Schep, Sonneveld en Wijnmaalen.
- British Family History Research Services
Nathan W. Murphy, AG® provides quick and affordable access to original sources in the British Isles.
February 1, 2005
- East Gwent Genealogy Research Agency
We hold the largest archive of material pertainig to the Eastern Valley of Gwent with over 900,000 individuals, which exclude any cenus records. Our area of expertise begins at Blaenavon in the North to Llantarnam, Cwmbran in the South and includes Anglican and Non Conformist records.There are no hourly rates or fixed charges for our work. All we ask is that you make a donation towards our expenses and include an amount that will be divided equally amongst the charities, Cancer Research UK and Friends of Varteg Graveyard.
- Czech genealogy mailing list
Czech genealogy mailing list hosted by yahoo.
- Indiana Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of Links for Prison and Convict Records, Court Records, Executions, Famous Outlaws, Criminals & Bandits in Indiana.
- Iowa Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of Links for Prison and Convict Records, Court Records, Executions, Famous Outlaws, Criminals & Bandits in Iowa.
- Kansas Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of Links for Prison and Convict Records, Court Records, Executions, Famous Outlaws, Criminals & Bandits in Kansas.
- Släktportalen -www.gener.se
Links to Swedish genealogy.
- Wisconsin Public Documents
Public Documents of the State of Wisconsin, commonly known as Wisconsin Public Documents (WPD), consists of the annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914. It was issued annually for 1852 to 1881/82 and biennially for 1882/84 through 1912/14. In addition to the annual and biennial reports of various state officers, departments and institutions, WPD is a source for Wisconsin statistical tables, financial charts, vintage photographs, supplementary documents, maps, other graphics and research monographs on specific topics.
- Wisconsin Alumni Magazine
The Wisconsin Alumni Association has published a magazine continuously since October 1899. The publication was called the Wisconsin Alumni Magazine from 1899 to 1935 (volumes 1-37), the Wisconsin Alumnus from 1936 to 1988 (volumes 38-89), and the Wisconsin Alumni from 1988-90 (volumes 90-91). In 1990 the publication became On Wisconsin.
- UW Badger Yearbooks
Annual yearbook for UW-Madison, from 1885-1977. Keyword search this journal. Includes individual and group pictures, articles, and other yearbook content. The first yearbook of the University of Wisconsin was published in April 1884 and called the Trochos, which is a Greek word for badger. The second yearbook, also called Trochos, was not published until 1887. The first Badger was published in February 1888, and the Badger was published until 2003, with one hiatus in 1973-74. The Alumni Association helped publish volumes for those two years which basically only contain student photographs.
- University of Wisconsin Alumni Directory
The alumni directory published in 1921, which covers 1849-1919, is considered to be the most complete of the early directories. It lists graduates alphabetically by name (including degree granted, date, and where he/she was living in 1920/21), by year of graduation, and by state or country of origin. It also includes a directory of faculty members and officers up to 1919.
- NARA - Sawtelle Disabled Veterans Home, Los Angeles Case Files, 1888-1933
The Los Angeles Disabled Veterans Home, commonly known as Sawtelle, was established in 1888 at the corner of Wilshire and Sawtelle. The men on this list served in the Civil War, Spanish-American War, various Indian conflicts, Pershing's incursion into Mexico, or the First World War. Some served in several of these conflicts. These surviving case files represent only a portion of the men who lived at Sawtelle.
- Cost of Passage, UK to the British Colonies, 1849
- WorldCat for genealogy
Describes how to find and use the OCLC FirstSearch WorldCat database. WorldCat is a cooperatively-created catalog of materials held in more than 7,600 libraries in the United States and the rest of the world, including public, academic, state and national libraries; archives; and historical societies. These libraries have cataloged their regular collections as well as many special collections—including digitized materials—devoted to local history. Because WorldCat is a "super" catalog of more than 900 million library holdings representing 54 million items held in libraries, you can reduce the number of places you search to locate useful material.
- J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc. Order Books J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc. Order Books
The order books of J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc., of Richmond, Virginia, manufacturers of tombstones, contain sketches of cemetery monuments and headstones, cornerstones, and date stones, with their dimensions, specifications and inscriptions (Accession 24142).
- Library of Virginia - County and City Records
Includes several detailed collection guides.
- L. T. Christian Funeral Home Records Database
This database displays names and death dates of the clientele of the L. T. Christian Funeral Home in Richmond, Virginia, owned by L. T. Christian (1853-1935) and later his son L. T. Christian, Jr. (1893-1975).
- Marriage Index: Richmond Enquirer 1804-1860, Richmond Visitor 1809-1810
- Library of Virginia - Military Records and Resources
Military records include official documentation of military service including muster and pay rolls and pension records. Most records of military service contain only the name of the individual and the unit in which he served; rarely do they contain either genealogical or biographical information. Includes several databases including Virginia Military Dead Database - ongoing project indexing more than 225 sources and listing more than 17,430 Virginians who have died in service; Confederate Navy, Electronic Card Index; Confederate Rosters - unofficial roster of soldiers from Virginia who served in the army of the Confederate States of America during the Civil War compiled between 1904 and 1918; Confederate Veteran Magazine, 1893-1932 Index, Electronic Card File; many, many others.
- Library of Virginia - Private Papers and Biographical Resources
Consisting of non-governmental archival and manuscript collections, Private Papers document the history of individuals, families, churches, businesses, and organizations of Virginia. They contain a broad range of materials, including architectural plans and drawings, correspondence, diaries, financial records, manuscript notes, minutes, registers, rough drafts of publications, tombstone inscriptions, and assorted collections of family materials.
- Library of Virginia - Tax Records
These records document county or city of residence and ownership of personal and real property. Collected at the local level, tax lists are a state record.
- NARA | Order Online!
Request reproductions of Federal Military Pension Application Files from the National Archives.
- NARA | ARC | WWII Army and Army Air Force Casualties
World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from the U.S. National Archives. Organized by state and then by county.
- NARA | ARC | World War II Casualties: Table of Contents
State Summary of War Casualties from World War II forNavy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel. ORganized by state, then divided into Dead (Combat), Missing, Wounded, Dead (Prison Camp) and Released prisoners, and sorted alphabetically therein.
- Nonpopulation Census Records
National Archives guide to agriculture, mortality, social statistics, manufacturing, business schedules. Includes guides to availability, by state.
- NARA | Research Room | American Slavery & International Slave Trade Records
The following is information found in the records of the National Archives and Records Administration. For further insight, see Walter B. Hill Jr.'s Prologue article on the topic.
- NARA | Prologue | Prologue: Selected Articles
Prologue Magazine: Winter 2000, Vol. 32, No. 4, "Living with the Hydra - The Documentation of Slavery and the Slave Trade in Federal Records" By Walter B. Hill, Jr.
- NARA | Genealogy | Black Family Research: Using the Records at the National Archives
"Black Family Research: Using the Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives" by Reginald Washington, Reference Information Paper 108, National Archives and Records AdministrationWashington, DC 2001.
- NARA | Prologue | Prologue: Genealogy Notes
Fall 1973, Vol. 5, No. 3, "Marriage Registers of Freedmen" by Elaine C. Everly.
- NARA | Research Room | Pictures of African Americans During World War II
The images described in this leaflet illustrate African-American participation in World War II. The pictures were selected from the holdings of the Still Picture Branch (NNSP) of the National Archives and Records Administration. The majority of the pictures were chosen from the records of the Army Signal Corps in Record Group (RG) 111, the Department of the Navy in RG 80, the Coast Guard in RG 26, the Marine Corps in RG 127, and the Office of War Information in RG 208.
- NARA | Genealogy | Deaths of U.S. Citizens in Foreign Countries
From the earliest days of the republic one of the duties of U.S. consular officers was to report to the Department of State the names of U.S. citizens who died within their consular districts. These death reports commonly provide acceptable documentation in the English language for cases in which satisfactory proof of an American death might be very difficult to obtain in any other form.
- NARA | Publications | Diplomatic Records
Diplomatic Records: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications.
- Using the Semantic Web for Genealogy
Several tools to add genealogy data to the Semantic Web.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|