Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
What's New on Cyndi's List?
New Links Submitted in November 2004
- As new links are submitted to me via the Submit a New Link form, they will temporarily be added to a page of uncategorized links for that month.
- The links are added automatically by a computerized script that runs each night. They appear *exactly* as they were submitted by the visitor. The links are also forwarded to the CyndisList Mailing List through the automated script.
- Once I place these links in their permanent home on various category pages on Cyndi's List, I will remove them from these uncategorized pages.
- New links are added to the individual category pages on Cyndi's List as we have time to visit, verify and examine each web site.
- You can identify new links and updated links on Cyndi's List by looking for either of these graphics:
or
|
|
|
|
|
DISCLAIMERS:
- Addresses for the following links have not been verified, so they may not work.
- The following list is shown exactly as the links were submitted by visitors to this site.
- The links are listed in the order that they were submitted to this site.
- Because I have not visited any of the sites and have not reviewed any of the links, I do not endorse or guarantee the appropriateness or accuracy of any of the sites listed below.
- Links to inappropriate or non-genealogical sites will be removed permanently.
- The owner is not responsible for the content found on other web sites which are found linked on Cyndi's List.
- Find more disclaimers here
November 30, 2004
- Free Translation
Free translation for many language pairs.
- Human Translation
Professional language translation for most languages.
- Volunteers for Freedom: Black Civil War Soldiers in Alexandria National Cemetery
Arranged alphabetically by last name, the database includes information about the soldier's birth date, birthplace, condition/occupation at enlistment, date/place of enlistment, regiment/company, rank, date/place of discharge, post-military activities, and date of death/cause of death as reported by local historian Edward A. Miller, Jr. Wedding dates, names of wives, and names/birth dates of children are included when available. For many soldiers, details beyond the "Notes" column are available at the library.
November 29, 2004
- Stannington Roll Of Honour - 1914-20
In Memory of the men from Stannington, Sheffield, England, in the Parish of Bradfield who gave their lives in World War One.
- Clan book kaimen / Labiau
information on the church of kaimen near labiau in east prussia.
- Hannowka - a german settlement in Bessarabia
A german settlement between 1896-1940 in Bessarabia.
- USGenWeb Hanson, MA
A collection of genealogical and historical information for Hanson, Plymouth County, MA.
- German Genealogy Translations
German/English-English/German translation services focusing only on documents pertaining to German Genealogy.
- DMK Heritage CD
Old County Histories for Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Kentucky indexed and searchable on CDs.
November 28, 2004
- Jan Paul van der Spek
Genealogy of the Dutch families: Van der Spek (Pijnacker, Netherlands) Paul (Zevenhuizen, Netherlands) de Waal (Bruinisse, Netherlands) Meijer (Vriezenveen, Netherlands).
- Bolton Historical Cemetery Page
Cemetery headstone transcriptions of Bolton, Warren County, New York, from The Historical Society of the Town of Bolton.
- Archives in Belgium and The Nedetlands
Database with all Durch and Flemisch archives. (websites en email. Database with all sportsarchives Netherlands and Belgium. Database with all history newspapers in Holland. On-line course archivesresearch in the Netherlands. The Archivesforum: forum for research and archivists. This sit is in Dutch, but their is an English help for genealogical research in the Netheralnds and Belgium.
November 27, 2004
- Finding in Florida Reunion Registry
Finding in Florida is a free mutual consent registry for those searching in the state of Florida.
- HALE's Genealogical Research Service
A genealogical research service for searching internet sites for census records, birth, marriage and death registrations, parish records, etc., based in the United Kingdom.
- Repair Damaged Pictures and Restore Old Photographs
We offer the best quality and the best rates ANYWHERE to restore old damaged photographs and can repair them to almost perfect condition. We repair damaged pictures that have been ripped, torn or have suffered water damage and can even restore missing sections of your precious family photographs. IN FACT, IN SOME CASES, WE CAN RESTORE JUST ABOUT ANY PHOTOGRAPH THAT IS DAMAGED OR NEEDS IMPROVING TO APPEAR BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL PHOTOS.
- Harris Chapel Cemetery
Located in Cross County Arkansas town of Wynne.
November 26, 2004
- Bollinger County Archives Office and Genealogical Center Website
The Official Website for the Bollinger County Archives Office and Genealogical Center.
November 23, 2004
- German Old Script Specialists
Translations of all types of handwritten letters and documents in the Old German Scripts.Our 35th year of genealogy service.
- Bristol Family History Research Guide
Help in researching your family history in the Bristol, England area.
- Index to WW1 Honor Roll Shawnee County, Kansas
Index of names, rank, service, birthplace and dates for all soldiers drafted from Shawnee County, Kansas, including details and dates for casualties.
November 21, 2004
- Ancestor Tracks: Using Maps to Track Your Ancestors
Track your early ancestors who moved to and through Pennsylvania through their land tracts. "Early Landowners of Pennsylvania" is a series of atlases of Township Warrantee Maps showing land tracts and their first purchasers under colonial and then state jurisdiction.
- domtom-genea
Genealogical website for french territories overseas as Carribean, St-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Reunion Island and neighbouring countries as Mauritius, Pondichery /Site généalogique pour la France d'Outre-Mer : Dom-Tom.
- Muskegon County, Michigan Research and Researcher
Genealogy researcher for Muskegon County, Michigan, USA provides affordable services.
November 20, 2004
- Family Link Network
Home of genealogy training, events and entertainment.
- heroines.ca, A Guide to Women in Canadian History
An educational site about women in Canadian history, including biographies, historical images, news, This Month in Herstory, info about historical sites and statues, etc. The site was developed by Canadian historian Merna Forster.
November 19, 2004
- English Roots: genealogy
A Family History Cooperative, designed to allow inexpensive access to online genealogical databases and advice using volunteer researchers. Goal is to make access to databases affordable for all.
- USA Funeral Home Finder
Easy to use Free funeral home finder with helpful information on hot to save on funerals.
- My Old Mate
Free UK based people finder site.
- NameZake
A site where you can meet your namesakes. Includes forum and links to genealogy, ancestry, names and surname sites.
- 15th Canadian Machine Gun Company, CEF
Page devoted to a Canadian machine gun company during the First World War.
November 18, 2004
- Hambridge (Somerset) in the 19th Century
Contains births, marriages & deaths, tombstone inscriptions and census data (1851 - 1901) for this small somerset (England) village.
- Genealogical Death Indexing System, Michigan Department of Community Health
Archived death records from 1867-1884.
- Buchanan County, Missouri - AHGP and ALHP Site
Genealogy is more than just knowing where great-grandma lived and died! It is the study of our heritage, who we are, where we came from and perhaps where we are going… Genealogy can show us our strengths and weaknesses of our family traits both physical and spiritual. Help me help others searching for their family history in Buchanan county, Missouri.
- Looking 4 Kin Brickwalls Genealogy Forum
Post your brickwalls in this forum. Be sure to visit the genealogy chat room when done posting your names.
- Welcome to the Casamassima, Italy Website
Learn all about Casamassima, a small town located outside of Bari, Italy. Visit out Forum, sign our guestbook!.
November 17, 2004
- Border Art
Superb genealogy maps of Ireland, Scotland and England.
- Marriage Records
City of Rochester, NY marriage licenses from 1876 to 1934 which can be copied from web site. After 1907 transcript copies can be ordered from city with short turn around time frame.
- PhotoRenaissance
Professional Photographic Restoration in the UK.Separate gallery of vintage prints of certain areas for sale.
November 16, 2004
- Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
"Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842" contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
- Harrogate People and Places
Massive collection of family personal notices extracted from the Harrogate newspapers from 1847 onwards. Also thousands of Wills from the Harrogate area. Property Deeds concerning Harrogate will be added at a later date. This is an on-going project which currently has over 5,700 pages uploaded and is increasing on a daily basis.
November 15, 2004
- Beresan District Odessa
Beresan District - Odessa [BDO]German villages near the city of Odessa on the Black Sea.
- Odessa Village Census
German Villages of the Odessa area on the Black Sea.
- Bessarabian Village Census
Bessarabian Census for German villages, on the Black Sea.
- Church Records
Church Records for Odessa and Bessarabia on the Black Sea.
- Other Records
Odessa and Bessarabia on the Black Sea.
- Historical property ownership in Scotland
At Housepricescotland.com we research the Register of Sasines - the records of land and property ownership across Scotland. With just a surname, we can provide copies of the Register entries detailing the properties owned, when purchased, price paid, when sold, professions held, extent of the properties and copies of the deeds. We can also provide copies of the supporting archived contracts often containing signatures and other information essential to genealogists and researchers.This is essential information to anyone researching their Scottish origins and will provide an invaluable insight to what your ancestors owned and where.
- Viggesidan
Viggesidan is a homepage about a small village i Stode parish, Vasternorrland Sweden. The village is called Viggw and here you can find old images and stories about the the people that have lived in the village during the last 450 years. The site also have old maps and a lot of other information about the village.
November 10, 2004
- AlsaceGenea
This is a website to start your genealogy research in Alsace (France). Includes guides to help you find ancestors, and links to genealogical societies and free databases.
- 1902 edition Muret-Sanders German to English Dictionary on CD-ROM (2,400 pages)
2,400 German to English pages and 300,000 searchable words on disc (the Grosse Ausgabe). Zoom out to full page view, or zoom in to a single entry - ideal for viewing a complete listing of a term and its derivatives. Install to the hard drive or run it from the disc on WindowsXP/2000/NT/ME/98/95.
- WVGenWeb Military Research Site
Links to military sections of county WVGenWeb sites and other sites realted to West Virginia in the Military.
- Fifth West Virginia Cavalry
Complete regimental history book and more of the 5th WV Cavalry, formerly the 2nd WV Infanrty. Includes roster, Adjutant General Roster, etc.
- Lewis Research Services
We do initial consultations/research plans, limited and extended research projects, document searches and database searches.
November 9, 2004
- MERSEYSIDE GENEALOGY FORUM
An online community for research in Merseyside England. Merseyside is situated in the north of England, on the River Mersey, composed of the metropolitan boroughs of Liverpool, Knowsley, Sefton, St Helens and Wirral.
- Digital Shoebox
Site contains Digital Images from ten Southeast Ohio Libraries and includes more than 2600 images. There are also 160 digitized books with more being added in the future. To locate digitized books, select "Browse", scroll down on the "Select a collection", search for "Steubenville Books" and click.
- Alabama Genealogy Group
Moderated genealogy group for those researching ancestors in the State of Alabama.
- Neal-Scales Father-Son Reunion story
Neal-Scales family of Roanoke, VA and Los Angeles, CA.
November 7, 2004
- Funeral Search
Site contains information about Funeral Flowers, Sympathy Flowers, Caskets, Grave Markers, Wills and a directory of all US funeral homes.
- Canadian Funerals Online
directory of all funeral homes and funeral directors in Canada. Also has section for sending sympathy flowers and funeral flowers.
- Australian Funerals Online
lists all funeral homes and funeral directors in Australia together with an online ordering section for sympathy flowers and funeral flowers.
- The Home Front War
The author wants to tell ", the story of typical Missouri southern women. Until hostilities started her life was that of the typical woman. She took care of her family, tending to home and hearth. When the men folk (fathers, husbands, brothers, and sons) left to join the numerous Missouri State Guard (sometimes called 'bushwhackers'), this woman was forced to tend not only to the home and remaining children, but also the fields and livestock. Plus she had to protect this with her very life against the dreaded Federals.".
November 4, 2004
- Montana Cemeteries
Broadwater County, Jefferson County, Lewis and Clark County.
- Genealogia Espanhola
Genealogia Espanhola is a forum dedicated to Spanish Genealogy discussion in Portuguese.
- 19th Canadian Machine Gun Company, CEF
Page devoted to the 19th CMGC, which served with the Canadian Expeditionary Force in 1918. An attempt to identify all members of the unit is being undertaken.
November 3, 2004
- Discover Your Polish Ancestors
A family-run service which sets out to help people find out more about their roots in Poland.
- Elizabeth Montgomery
In tracing the family tree of actress Elizabeth MONTGOMERY, genealogist James Pylant found sources with conflicting information about her age, her marital status, the identity of her mother, and the maiden name of her grandmother.
- Alabama Supreme Court Cases (1820-1826)
First installment of genealogical gleanings from reports of cases determined in the Supreme Court of Alabama (1820-1826).
- Wisconsin Electronic Reader
The Wisconsin Electronic Reader is a cooperative project of the University of Wisconsin General Library System and the State Historical Society of Wisconsin in celebration of the sesquicentennial of Wisconsin statehood which includes stories, essays, letters, poems, biographies, journals, postcards and tidbits from Wisconsin history. This excellent site does include relationships to other states and has a SEARCH capability.
November 2, 2004
- Wisconsin Public Documents
Public Documents of the State of Wisconsin, commonly known as Wisconsin Public Documents (WPD), consists of the annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914. It was issued annually for 1852 to 1881/82 and biennially for 1882/84 through 1912/14. In addition to the annual and biennial reports of various state officers, departments and institutions, WPD is a source for Wisconsin statistical tables, financial charts, vintage photographs, supplementary documents, maps, other graphics and research monographs on specific topics.
- Wisconsin Alumni Magazine
The Wisconsin Alumni Association has published a magazine continuously since October 1899. The publication was called the Wisconsin Alumni Magazine from 1899 to 1935 (volumes 1-37), the Wisconsin Alumnus from 1936 to 1988 (volumes 38-89), and the Wisconsin Alumni from 1988-90 (volumes 90-91). In 1990 the publication became On Wisconsin.
- UW Badger Yearbooks
Annual yearbook for UW-Madison, from 1885-1977. Keyword search this journal. Includes individual and group pictures, articles, and other yearbook content. The first yearbook of the University of Wisconsin was published in April 1884 and called the Trochos, which is a Greek word for badger. The second yearbook, also called Trochos, was not published until 1887. The first Badger was published in February 1888, and the Badger was published until 2003, with one hiatus in 1973-74. The Alumni Association helped publish volumes for those two years which basically only contain student photographs.
- University of Wisconsin Alumni Directory
The alumni directory published in 1921, which covers 1849-1919, is considered to be the most complete of the early directories. It lists graduates alphabetically by name (including degree granted, date, and where he/she was living in 1920/21), by year of graduation, and by state or country of origin. It also includes a directory of faculty members and officers up to 1919.
- PERSI -- What it is and how to use it
Learn how to use PERSI to find additional information on your ancestors.
- Once Upon a Family Traditions
PRESERVE YOUR FAMILY TRADITIONS: family tree album, family tree poster, memory albums, family tree booklets.
- GenOm : Genealogie et Origine des Populations Migrantes
Aide dans la recherche sur les personnes qui se sont deplacees en Europe, Afrique (Algerie, Maroc, Tunisie), Amerique, Indochine (Annam, Laos, Tonkin, Vietnam), Madagascar.
- US Funerals Online
Lists all funeral homes in the US split into City/State. Site also contains general guidance on what to do when facing a death in the family.
- Raging Reunions School Reunions Event Specialists
Raging Reunions is a School reunion planning organisation Australia wide that can help you plan and organise your school reunion or event with ease.
- NARA - Sawtelle Disabled Veterans Home, Los Angeles Case Files, 1888-1933
The Los Angeles Disabled Veterans Home, commonly known as Sawtelle, was established in 1888 at the corner of Wilshire and Sawtelle. The men on this list served in the Civil War, Spanish-American War, various Indian conflicts, Pershing's incursion into Mexico, or the First World War. Some served in several of these conflicts. These surviving case files represent only a portion of the men who lived at Sawtelle.
- Cost of Passage, UK to the British Colonies, 1849
- WorldCat for genealogy
Describes how to find and use the OCLC FirstSearch WorldCat database. WorldCat is a cooperatively-created catalog of materials held in more than 7,600 libraries in the United States and the rest of the world, including public, academic, state and national libraries; archives; and historical societies. These libraries have cataloged their regular collections as well as many special collections—including digitized materials—devoted to local history. Because WorldCat is a "super" catalog of more than 900 million library holdings representing 54 million items held in libraries, you can reduce the number of places you search to locate useful material.
- J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc. Order Books J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc. Order Books
The order books of J. Henry Brown Monuments, Inc., of Richmond, Virginia, manufacturers of tombstones, contain sketches of cemetery monuments and headstones, cornerstones, and date stones, with their dimensions, specifications and inscriptions (Accession 24142).
- Library of Virginia - County and City Records
Includes several detailed collection guides.
- L. T. Christian Funeral Home Records Database
This database displays names and death dates of the clientele of the L. T. Christian Funeral Home in Richmond, Virginia, owned by L. T. Christian (1853-1935) and later his son L. T. Christian, Jr. (1893-1975).
- Marriage Index: Richmond Enquirer 1804-1860, Richmond Visitor 1809-1810
- Library of Virginia - Military Records and Resources
Military records include official documentation of military service including muster and pay rolls and pension records. Most records of military service contain only the name of the individual and the unit in which he served; rarely do they contain either genealogical or biographical information. Includes several databases including Virginia Military Dead Database - ongoing project indexing more than 225 sources and listing more than 17,430 Virginians who have died in service; Confederate Navy, Electronic Card Index; Confederate Rosters - unofficial roster of soldiers from Virginia who served in the army of the Confederate States of America during the Civil War compiled between 1904 and 1918; Confederate Veteran Magazine, 1893-1932 Index, Electronic Card File; many, many others.
- Library of Virginia - Private Papers and Biographical Resources
Consisting of non-governmental archival and manuscript collections, Private Papers document the history of individuals, families, churches, businesses, and organizations of Virginia. They contain a broad range of materials, including architectural plans and drawings, correspondence, diaries, financial records, manuscript notes, minutes, registers, rough drafts of publications, tombstone inscriptions, and assorted collections of family materials.
- Library of Virginia - Tax Records
These records document county or city of residence and ownership of personal and real property. Collected at the local level, tax lists are a state record.
- NARA | Order Online!
Request reproductions of Federal Military Pension Application Files from the National Archives.
- NARA | ARC | WWII Army and Army Air Force Casualties
World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from the U.S. National Archives. Organized by state and then by county.
- NARA | ARC | World War II Casualties: Table of Contents
State Summary of War Casualties from World War II forNavy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel. ORganized by state, then divided into Dead (Combat), Missing, Wounded, Dead (Prison Camp) and Released prisoners, and sorted alphabetically therein.
- Nonpopulation Census Records
National Archives guide to agriculture, mortality, social statistics, manufacturing, business schedules. Includes guides to availability, by state.
- NARA | Research Room | American Slavery & International Slave Trade Records
The following is information found in the records of the National Archives and Records Administration. For further insight, see Walter B. Hill Jr.'s Prologue article on the topic.
- NARA | Prologue | Prologue: Selected Articles
Prologue Magazine: Winter 2000, Vol. 32, No. 4, "Living with the Hydra - The Documentation of Slavery and the Slave Trade in Federal Records" By Walter B. Hill, Jr.
- NARA | Genealogy | Black Family Research: Using the Records at the National Archives
"Black Family Research: Using the Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives" by Reginald Washington, Reference Information Paper 108, National Archives and Records AdministrationWashington, DC 2001.
- NARA | Prologue | Prologue: Genealogy Notes
Fall 1973, Vol. 5, No. 3, "Marriage Registers of Freedmen" by Elaine C. Everly.
- NARA | Research Room | Pictures of African Americans During World War II
The images described in this leaflet illustrate African-American participation in World War II. The pictures were selected from the holdings of the Still Picture Branch (NNSP) of the National Archives and Records Administration. The majority of the pictures were chosen from the records of the Army Signal Corps in Record Group (RG) 111, the Department of the Navy in RG 80, the Coast Guard in RG 26, the Marine Corps in RG 127, and the Office of War Information in RG 208.
- NARA | Genealogy | Deaths of U.S. Citizens in Foreign Countries
From the earliest days of the republic one of the duties of U.S. consular officers was to report to the Department of State the names of U.S. citizens who died within their consular districts. These death reports commonly provide acceptable documentation in the English language for cases in which satisfactory proof of an American death might be very difficult to obtain in any other form.
- NARA | Publications | Diplomatic Records
Diplomatic Records: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications.
- Using the Semantic Web for Genealogy
Several tools to add genealogy data to the Semantic Web.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|