|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - New Hampshire
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for New Hampshire:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - New Hampshire Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - New Hampshire
- Ancestor Search - New Hampshire Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - New Hampshire
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Study Project Article by Robert Charles Anderson.
-
Ancestry.com - New Hampshire Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Colonial Ancestors
Genealogy records and information about ancestors in the 13 original colonies.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - New Hampshire Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- New Hampshire
- Geneasearch: A Guide to New Hampshire Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for New Hampshire
- Kindred Trails - New Hampshire Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - New Hampshire Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - New Hampshire
- Naming children in early New England
Scholarly work on the naming patterns used by early Puritans.
- New England History
Companion Site for New-England-History-L Mailing List. This site contains information, submitted by members, pertaining to the history of the New England States of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Related submissions are welcome from anyone who wishes to contribute material to the site.
- New England Roots Web Ring
- New Hampshire Almanac - Guide to Research in the History of NH Towns
- New Hampshire Local History and Genealogy
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - New Hampshire
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - New Hampshire
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - NHGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - New Hampshire
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - New Hampshire State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - New Hampshire
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: New Hampshire: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - New Hampshire
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- New Hampshire City and town Clerks
- New Hampshire Courts, Justices, Judges, Marital Masters & Clerks
Includes contact information for municipal and district courts.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of New Hampshire
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - New Hampshire
- WEBSTER: The New Hampshire State Government Online Information Center
- Yahoo! Get Local...New Hampshire Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- American Newspaper Repository
Maintains a collection of about 7,000 bound volumes of original American newspapers. In addition to several exceedingly scarce runs of major dailies (e.g., the New York World, the New York Herald Tribune, and the Chicago Tribune), there are a large number of ethnic papers.
- Archives in New England on the Internet - New Hampshire
New England Archivists.
- Family History Centers in New Hampshire
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in New Hampshire
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- LIBCAT: US - New Hampshire
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - New Hampshire
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Newberry Library | New Hampshire Genealogy Bibliography
- New Hampshire Division of Archives and Records Management
- New Hampshire Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- New Hampshire State Library
- NH Historical Society - Library
The Tuck Library preserves the finest collection of printed, manuscript, and pictorial materials relating to New Hampshire history anywhere.
- NH Historical Society - Museum of New Hampshire History
- Princeton University Library
- PublicLibraries.com - New Hampshire
- Repositories of Primary Sources: New Hampshire
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of New Hampshire Library
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
BOSTON-STATES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the migration between the Eastern Provinces of Canada and New England/New York. Archives: browse or search.
-
CT-RIVER-VALLEY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical and/or historical interest in the Connecticut River Valley which is the area where the migrants from the Massachusetts Bay Colony and Plymouth Colony settled as early as 1635. The towns of interest are 30 miles on both sides within the boundry of the Connecticut River which include the states of New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut. Archives: browse or search.
-
Ma-Bay-Colony Mailing List For those with a genealogical/historical interest in the Massachusetts Bay Colony from 1630-1700. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEWENG Mailing List For anyone who with a genealogical or historical interest in the New England states.
-
NEW-ENG-GEN For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states. Archives: browse or search.
-
newengland-gene Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England states.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-SEAFARERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England area of the United States as it pertains to the seafaring community and their ships. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-ENG-NATAM Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Native Americans in the New England and New York areas. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-HAMPSHIRE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the State of New Hampshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
NewHampshireRoots Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in New Hampshire.
-
NH-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within New Hampshire.
-
NH-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing New Hampshire census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
NH-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of New Hampshire census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
NHDATA Mailing List For the sharing of original New Hampshire source documents (e.g., wills, deeds, bible records, tax lists, cemetery files, pension applications, obituaries, old letters, marriage lists). Archives: browse or search.
-
NH-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in New Hampshire from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
NH-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ghost towns of New Hampshire. Archives: browse or search.
-
NH-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from New Hampshire newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORTHEAST-ROOTS-L Mailing List Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Vermont.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - New Hampshire
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - New Hampshire
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - New Hampshire
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- Antique Town Maps for Genealogy and History
Reproductions of old town maps with family names.
- Boston Rare Maps
Dealer specializing in antique and rare maps (and books with maps) of New England and the Northeast.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - New Hampshire
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: New Hampshire
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of New Hampshire - Alphabetic Quad Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of New Hampshire - Alphabetic Town Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of New Hampshire - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of New Hampshire - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of New Hampshire - Town Index
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - New Hampshire
- Map of New Hampshire Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: New Hampshire
- Old Maps
Reproductions for sale of old maps of New Hampshire, Vermont & Massachusetts.
- Old Maps of New York, Pennsylvania and New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts)
Quality reproductions of towns in New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine with family names.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - New Hampshire Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - New Hampshire County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - New Hampshire
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - New Hampshire
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 5th Regiment New Hampshire Volunteers
- ALHN/AHGP New Hampshire Civil War History and Genealogy Project
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Search Military Records
-
Death Seem'd to Stare: The New Hampshire and Rhode Island Regiments at Valley Forge Original source: Boyle, Joseph Lee. "Death Seem'd to Stare": The New Hampshire and Rhode Island Regiments at Valley Forge. Baltimore, MD, USA: MyFamily.com, Inc., 2005.
-
New Hampshire Pensioners, 1835 Original source: United States Senate. Report from the Secretary of War, in Obedience to Resolutions of the Senate of the 5th and 30th of June, 1834, and the 3d of March, 1835, In Relation to the Pension Establishment of the United States. [New Hampshire Section]. Washington, D.C.: Duff Green, 1835.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - New Hampshire
- Civil War Rosters - New Hampshire
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Hampshire
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed by home state, then by place, and there under alphabetically by name.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Hampshire
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- Men of the Civil War - Rochester Soldiers and Sailors
- New Hampshire Heritage, 1861-1865
New Hampshire involvement in the Civil War. Includes genealogy, Units, stories, links, and more.
- New Hampshire Veterans Home
- Rochester Men of the American Revolution (1775 - 1783)
- Seventh New Hampshire Infantry
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Hampshire
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed Alphabetically home state, home city, and there under by name.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Hampshire
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - New Hampshire
- ABYZ News Links - New Hampshire - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Home Town News - New Hampshire
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- New Hampshire Newspaper Project
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: New Hampshire
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | New Hampshire
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - New Hampshire
- NewspaperLinks.com - New Hampshire
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old New Hampshire News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: New Hampshire
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - New Hampshire Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - New Hampshire Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - New Hampshire Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...New Hampshire
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - New Hampshire
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - New Hampshire
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - New Hampshire
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - New Hampshire
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- American Ancestral Associates ~ Cranston, Rhode Island
A full-service genealogical company, with over twenty years experience, including research, consultation, education, and literary assistance.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in New Hampshire or Specializing in New Hampshire
- Clifford L. Stott & Associates, Genealogical Research
A certified genealogist, accredited genealogist, and a fellow of the American Society of Genealogists, with more than 30 years of research experience in U.S. and British records. Specializing in Massachusetts, Maine, Connecticut, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island.
- Esperanto and Genealogical research (NH)
Offers vital record lookups in New Hampshire, Québec, and the Maritime provinces. It also offers to lookup burials in St Joseph Cemeteries in Manchester and Bedford, New Hampshire (USA).
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- New Hampshire Grave Finders
Grave locating and photography service.
- Professional Genealogist Hobson Woodward
Offering complete genealogical research services in the six-state New England region.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - New Hampshire
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - New Hampshire Census, 1790-1890 Searchable database available by subscription.
- 1790 Census of Population and Housing
From the US Census Bureau. Printed transcriptions in .pdf or .zip format showing Heads of Household.
- AccessGenealogy - New Hampshire Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : New Hampshire
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - New Hampshire
- Digitalarkivet - Norwegians in US
Searchable online database of 1850, 1860, 1870, and primarily 1880 US censuses for various states. Individuals listed are identified on the censuses as being from Norway.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for New Hampshire:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Great Migration Begins Index: Immigrants to New England, 1620-33 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - New Hampshire
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in New Hampshire. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Footnote.com - City Directories
 City Directories for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Olive Tree Genealogy: New Hampshire store ledger, 1813-1815
The ledger has customers listed from customers from the area of New Holderness, Bridgewater, Central Harbor, Plymouth, Meredith, Sandwich, Sanbornton, and New Hampton.
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Search Engines for Ships Passenger Lists to New England
Custom Search Engine allows you to search multiple Internet sites for Passenger Lists of ships going to New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont) United States.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: New Hampshire Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
|