|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - New Jersey
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for New Jersey:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - New Jersey Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - New Jersey
- Ancestor Search - New Jersey Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - New Jersey
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - New Jersey Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
-
Ancestry.com - Research in the Mid-Atlantic States Article by Kory L. Meyerink.
- The Big GEDCOM Related Areas - New Jersey Online Resources
From the Descendants of Edward BALL of New Jersey - GEDCOM Repository Site.
- Colonial Ancestors
Genealogy records and information about ancestors in the 13 original colonies.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - New Jersey Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogical Resources in the New York Metropolitan Area
Links and contact information for archives, libraries, government & private agencies referenced in the book of the same name.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- New Jersey
- Geneasearch: A Guide to New Jersey Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for New Jersey
- Kindred Trails - New Jersey Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - New Jersey Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - New Jersey
- Mid-Atlantic Roots Network
Dedicated to the genealogy, history and culture of the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States: Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina and the District of Columbia.
- New Jersey Migrations
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - New Jersey
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - New Jersey
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - NJGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - New Jersey
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - New Jersey State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- COANJ - Constitutional Officers Association of New Jersey
Provides contact information for Clerks, Registers, Sheriffs, and Surrogates.
- County Clerks of New Jersey
- Court Web Sites - New Jersey
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: New Jersey: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - New Jersey
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of New Jersey
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of New Jersey
- USA CityLink Project - New Jersey
- Yahoo! Get Local...New Jersey Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Index of States/Camp Listing
- New Jersey Historical Commission
- New Jersey History Timeline
- New Jersey History's Mysteries
Dedicated to all the little known and mostly forgotten people, places and events that make New Jersey the interesting state that it is. Pirates, politicians, murderers and heroes have all made their way through New Jersey's history, and the stories and photographs posted here document their journeys.
- New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut: The Tri-State Region and more in Stereoscopic Views
12,000 photographs of those three states as they were captured in stereoscopic views from the 1850s to the 1910s.
- NJPineBarrens.com - The Pine Barrens
History, legends, exploring the ghost towns of southern New Jersey.
- West Jersey History Project
Includes historical information on Burlington, Camden & Gloucester.
- Yahoo!...History...New Jersey
- Division of Archives and Records Management
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in New Jersey
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- LIBCAT: US - New Jersey
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - New Jersey
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- MARAC Regional Archives Institutions - New Jersey
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - New Jersey
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - New Jersey
- New Jersey Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- New Jersey Naval Museum
Operated by the Submarine Memorial Association, The New Jersey Naval Museum (NJNM) introduces state residents and visitors to New Jersey's Navy heritage and naval history in general.
- New Jersey State Archives
- New Jersey State Library
- New Jersey State Museum
Established in 1895, this is one of the nation's first state museums founded with an educational mission. Today that mission encompasses four areas: archaeology/ethnology, cultural history, fine art, and natural history.
- Princeton University Library
- PublicLibraries.com - New Jersey
- Repositories of Primary Sources: New Jersey
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Rutgers Library - General Genealogical Information ~ New Brunswick
- Rutgers University Libraries ~ New Brunswick
- Seton Hall University Libraries
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DUTCH-COLONIES Mailing List For the discussion of the New York and New Jersey Colonies, known as New Amsterdam. Archives: browse or search.
-
FITZ-RANDOLPH-NJ Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Fitz Randolph Historical and Genealogical Society (FRHGS) of New Jersey and genealogical resources available in the New Jersey area. See also FRHGS website . Archives: browse or search.
-
MID-ATLANTIC-ROOTS-L Mailing List New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, and the District of Columbia.
-
MinisinkValley Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area known as the Minisink Valley which generally follows the Delaware River from Minisink Ford, New York, to the Delaware Water Gap in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NA-TRISTATE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Native Americans in the tri-state area of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
NEW-NETHERLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in New Netherland Colony. The first European settlements in the States of Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania were built by the Dutch beginning in 1624 and formed the Dutch colony of New Netherland, or Nieuw Nederlandt. See also the New York & New Netherland Mailing Lists web page . Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the state of New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-AFAM Mailing List For anyone who is researching their African-American ancestry in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-AfriGeneas To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within New Jersey.
-
NJ-AFAM Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American ancestry in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in the discovery, location, research, and preservation of cemeteries in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing New Jersey census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
NJ-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of New Jersey census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in New Jersey from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-MEMORIES Mailing List For anyone who wants to reminisce about living and growing up in New Jersey or share the reminiscences of their ancestors who lived there. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from New Jersey newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-OLD-NEWSPAPERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old New Jersey newspapers and the persons who worked for them. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-ORPHANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in orphans and orphanages in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of New Jersey kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - New Jersey
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - New Jersey
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - New Jersey
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Shores - Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850
Maps on this site cover the early modern period ending in 1850, just as so-called internal improvements (canals, highways, and railroads) began to cross the young nation and change the landscape.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - New Jersey
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: New Jersey
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Genealogy Quest - New Jersey (and Pennsylvania) Place Names
A table showing the changes to place names in the present state of New Jersey.
- Gleason's Old Maps, Etc.
Photocopies of Old Maps, Prints and Articles of Historical and Genealogical Interest from New Jersey.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of New Jersey - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of New Jersey - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of New Jersey - Town Index
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - New Jersey
- Map of New Jersey Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: New Jersey
- New Jersey County Census Maps
Shows county boundaries in effect at the time of each decennial census.
- New Jersey County Facts & Information
- New Jersey County Formation Maps
Animated map of county boundries which change over time from original county formations to the present. Also shows static maps for each year a county boundary was changed.
- New Jersey Local Names Search
New Jersey local place names with municipality and county.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - New Jersey Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- Rutgers Cartography - Historical Maps of New Jersey
A large collection of historical New Jersey maps, with a special focus on the central part of the state.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - New Jersey County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - New Jersey
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - New Jersey
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 1st New Jersey Volunteer Cavalry
Rosters of the men who served in the Regiment during the Civil War. Includes references to additional information and an ancestor registry.
- 15th New Jersey Volunteer Infantry
- 39th New Jersey Volunteer Infantry History
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Search Military Records
-
New Jersey Pensioners, 1835 Original source: United States Senate. Report from the Secretary of War, in Obedience to Resolutions of the Senate of the 5th and 30th of June, 1834, and the 3d of March, 1835, In Relation to the Pension Establishment of the United States. [New Jersey Section]. Washington, D.C.: Duff Green, 1835.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - New Jersey
- Civil War Rosters - New Jersey
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- The First New Jersey Cavalry
Roster, photo gallery, biographies of the officers and enlisted men who served during the Civil War.
- Index to Militia Rolls - Olive Tree Genealogy
Rolls for New Jersey and New York.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Jersey
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- New Jersey Civil War Discussion Forum
- New Jersey Vietnam Veterans' Memorial Foundation Web Site
The NJVVMF maintains the names & biographies of those from New Jersey who died in Southeast Asia during the Vietnam War.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: American Revolution NJ Muster Rolls - 6th Batallion NJ Volunteers
Search for a military ancestor on this muster roll of Lt. Allen's Co. 6th Battalion, New Jersey during the American Revolution.
- Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865
Searchable online database. Originally work was published by New Jersey's Adjutant General's Office in 1876.
- The Third New Jersey Cavalry
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - New Jersey
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - New Jersey
- ABYZ News Links - New Jersey - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Home Town News - New Jersey
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Inventory of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm
From the Newark Public Library.
- New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm Available for Sale from the New Jersey State Archives
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: New Jersey
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | New Jersey
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - New Jersey
- NewspaperLinks.com - New Jersey
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old New Jersey News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: New Jersey
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - New Jersey Newspapers
- The Record Online ~ Hackensack
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - New Jersey Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - New Jersey Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...New Jersey
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - New Jersey
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in New Jersey or Specializing in New Jersey
- eXpertGenealogy - Genealogy Professional Genealogist - New York & New Jersey
Directory of professional genealogists specializing in New York & New Jersey research.
- Genealogy Helplist - New Jersey
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Heritage Preservation Associates
Robert Caruso, Verona, New Jersey.
- James F. Justin Family Tree Research Services
Genealogy Research Service for New Jersey marriage records, birth records, death certificates, census returns, wills, court records and deeds also Philadelphia National Archives.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- LeRoy Place Services
Professional family history and New Jersey house history research with links to FERMI and VAN DE VELDE families.
- Lindberg Historical and Genealogical Research Services
Research services in southeastern Pennsylvania and northern Delaware specializing in onsite research in the National Archives in Philadelphia.
- Maehrlein's Heirlines Genealogical Research
20+ years of genealogical experience for northern New Jersey, New York City & Washington County, Rhode Island.
- New Jersey & New York City Historical Research
Historical research in the NY/NJ metropolitan area in town halls, libraries, county court houses, state archives, state library, census, city directories, etc.
- New Jersey Genealogy Solutions
Research service.
- NJ Kith & Kin
New Jersey research assistance, document retrieval & cemetery photos.
- Professional Genealogist for New Jersey, Washington and Virginia - Charles S. "Chuck" Mason, Jr.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - New Jersey
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - New Jersey
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for New Jersey
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - New Jersey
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - New Jersey
- Bergen Historic Books, Inc.
Books that focus on northern New Jersey and southern New York history and genealogy, especially Bergen, Hudson, and Passaic Counties, New Jersey and New Netherland families; new and reprints of histories, cemetery and vital records, and surname genealogies.
- Books We Own - New Jersey
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - New Jersey
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Devastation on the Delaware
A book for sale. The first comprehensive documentary of the 1955 flood on the Delaware River, caused by Hurricane Diane. Covers both sides of the river from Port Jervis, NY to Trenton, NJ. Affected areas of NY, NJ and PA. Includes in-depth treatment of the washing away of Camp Davis in Monroe County, PA, where almost 80 people were killed, including some entire families. 456 pp. narrative non-fiction, illustrated with 12 maps & diagrams, 105 historic photos. Fully indexed, appendices.
- eBay Listings: Search for New Jersey Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - New Jersey
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: New Jersey
- Higginson Book Company - New Jersey
- Hope Farm Books - New Jersey
- Joseph J. Felcone Inc., Princeton, New Jersey. Antiquarian Booksellers
Out-of-print and rare books pertaining to New Jersey.
- Picton Press - New Jersey
- Quintin Publications | New Jersey
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - New Jersey
- Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe - New York and New Jersey
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - New Jersey Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - New Jersey Census, 1772-1890 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Fragment ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : New Jersey
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - New Jersey
- Digitalarkivet - Norwegians in US
Searchable online database of 1850, 1860, 1870, and primarily 1880 US censuses for various states. Individuals listed are identified on the censuses as being from Norway.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for New Jersey:
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 (partial) ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - New Jersey
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in New Jersey. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: New Jersey Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
|