|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - Occupations
- Belgium-Roots Project - Genealogy : Occupations
- Between a Rock and a Hard Place - A History of American Sweatshops 1820-Present
A virtual exhibition from the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of American History.
- Credit Rating Guides As A Genealogical Resource
Describes the availability and use of credit rating books as a genealogical resource.
- A Collection of Workers' Memorials
Listing of Workers' memorials by state from the AFL-CIO.
- Colonial Occupations
- Colonial Occupations
- Colonial Occupations
- Colonial Occupations
- Colonial Occupations and Their Current Title
- Deciphering Old Handwriting
- Family Tree Connection - Employment Records
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Five Thousand Ways to Earn a Living
A list of trades and professions taken from British census records and parish records.
- A Guide to Business Records in the Virginia State Library and Archives
A book by Conley L. Edwards.
- Hunter's Diseases of Occupations
A book by Peter J. Baxter.
- Index of Imperial Russian Occupational Terms
In order to find and use specific types of Russian records, resarchers need to be able to identify and understand some key terms in the Russian language. This glossary contains terms relating to occupations, trades and professions in Imperial Russia, transliterated from Russian, along with their English translations. Theterms included here are those that you are likely to find in Russian genealogical sources.
- Kentuckiana Genealogy - Occupation Chart
- Occupational Diseases: A Syllabus of Signs and Symptoms
A book by E.R. Plunkett.
- Occupations From Yesteryear
- Occupations of Yesteryear
- Occupations of Yesteryear
List of occupations found in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin Census of 1860.
- Old German Professions, Occupations and Illnesses
- Old Occupations by Dan Burrows
- Old Occupations Index
- Old Time Job Descriptions
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: Obsolete Occupations
Some medieval and obsolete English trade and professional terms used from 1086-1400.
- The National Archives | The Catalogue | Research Guides: A to Z ~ U.K.
- Ranks, Professions, Occupations, and Trades
From GenDocs in the United Kingdom.
- Researching Ancestors' Occupations
Article on researching ancestor's occupations.
- Scottish Occupations List in Scotland of Old
Glossary of old occupations in Scotland from 17th-19th century records and censuses.
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop - British Research : Occupations
- American Textile History Museum ~ Lowell, Massachussetts
Tells America’s story through the art, history, and science of its textiles.
- Osborne Library
The collections include books, pamphlets, government documents, trade catalogs, advertising material, prints, photographs & business records that record the history of textile production in the United States. Access to the library is by appointment only for researchers aged 18 years and over.
- A. Philip Randolph/Pullman Porter Museum Gallery
Celebrating this leader in the African American labor movement and the African American Railroad Attendant.
- The Archives of the Worshipful Company of Upholders
Includes some scanned images of original records and contact information regarding Company members.
- Artists' Papers Register
Online searchable index of papers and primary sources relating to artists, designers and craftspeople located in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom.
- The Australian National University: Noel Butlin Archives Centre
Collection of primary source material relating to business and labour. The NBAC holds archives of industrial organisations, businesses, professional associations, industry bodies and the labour movement.
- The BP Archive Unit ~ United Kingdom
- BT Archives
From British Telecomunications.
- Business Archives Council
The BAC's aims are to encourage the preservation of British business records, to advise on the administration and management of archives and current records, and to promote the use of business records. Hosted by the University of Glasgow, the Business Archives Council may be of assistance to the genealogist searching for business and employment records for their ancestors.
- Centre des archives du monde du travail ~ France
- Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
From the Society of American Archivists Business Archives Section. Alphabetical listing of known corporate archives including contact information and terms of use. An excellent resource for finding employment records for large companies.
- Forest History Society ~ North Carolina
- The Greater Manchester County Record Office
- Business Records as a Resource
The Greater Manchester County Record Office holds the Manchester Ship Canal Co., the Manchester and Salford Savings Bank, and the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Works at Horwich.
- Guildhall Library Manuscripts Collection ~ London, England
- Harvard Theatre Collection
- HM Customs & Excise National Museum
The museum at Merseyside, England has an associated library which includes resources of interest to the family historian researching their excise officer or customs official ancestors.
- The Library of the Goldsmiths' Company
The collection of archives dates from the 14th century.
- Mander and Mitchenson Theatre Collection ~ London
- Maritime History Archive at Memorial University of Newfoundland
- The Mercer's Company Archives
Hold the historic records of the Mercers' Company from 1348 to the present.
- Mills Archive ~ United Kingdom
Archive and resource library specializing in traditional mills and milling.
- Minnesota Historical Society Library & Collections
- Modern Records Centre
The Centre's holdings focus on UK trade union records. It also holds the records of some interest groups and political organisations (including West Midlands), of individuals and business (particularly the motor industry). Hosted by the University of Warwick Library, the MRC holds records of interest to the genealogist regarding trades union membership amongst other topics.
- The Museum of English Rural Life ~ Reading, Berkshire, England
- National Gas Archive
Company archive of the Lattice Group which holds the historical records of the UK gas industry dating from the early 19th Century.
- New Bedford Whaling Museum ~ New Bedford, Massachusetts
- Northampton Central Museum - Boot & Shoe Collection
Maintains an index of shoemakers and shoemaking firms .
- Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
Description of the microfilmed holdings of the Chicago Historical Society and the Newberry Library.
- Records of Trades & Crafts
From the National Archives of Scotland.
- The Rothschild Archive ~ London, England
- Royal Bank of Scotland - Our Heritage ~ U.K.
- Scottish Theatre Archive
- Trades Union Congress Library Collection
From the London Metropolitan University.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office
- USPTO Web Patent Databases
The Full-Text Database contains all the 6.5 million US patents issued since 1790. In the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.
- Walsall Leather Museum ~ England
- Working Class Movement Library ~ Salford, England
- The World Famous Library & Museum
The Clockmakers' Library was founded in 1813. It holds the ancient manuscript records of the Company and clockmaker's work books and related documents.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
AMERICAN-INDIAN-MISSIONS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in American Indian Missions, those who maintained them, and the connections between the missions and indians and pioneers in the area. Archives: browse or search.
-
AR-SAWMILLS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Arkansas sawmills and their workers. Archives: browse or search.
-
BLACKSMITHING Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the role that the trade of blacksmithing played in our family histories. Archives: browse or search.
-
BUFFALO-HUNTERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of the American frontiersmen who were under contract to the army and the railroads after the Civil War to slaughter buffalo in order to provide meat for the new army posts on the Plains and the railroad construction crews. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-PUBS-INNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in English pubs and inns which have served as the focus of community life in England from the Dark Ages to the present day. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-STS-THE-POTTERIES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, England, and surrounding/incorporated towns which are the center of the British ceramics industry and comprise an area known as the Potteries District. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-THAMESWATERMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Watermen and Lightermen of the River Thames and their families. Archives: browse or search.
-
FURTRAPPERS-MOUNTAINMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in fur trappers and mountain men. Archives: browse or search.
-
GOLDSEEKERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in various gold rushes including the routes of travel to get to them and the people involved. While the list will focus on North America from 1830 to 1910, discussions of gold rushes in other regions (e.g., Australia, Africa, South America, Central America) are welcome. Archives: browse or search.
-
KBHF Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of current and past members of the Kansas Business Hall of Fame, Inc. Archives: browse or search.
-
KEEWETIN Mailing List For anyone researching Cree fur trade family histories in Canada. Archives: browse or search.
-
LONDON-COMPANYS Mailing List For anyone with an interest in the family networks within the Companies of London (e.g., Virginia Company, Massachusetts Bay Company, Somers Islands Company, East India Company). Archives: browse or search.
-
LONGHUNTERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the longhunters, indian traders, and the "overhill" men within and west of the Appalachian Mountains. The time frame is 1700-1775. Archives: browse or search.
-
Mariners Mailing List For anyone who is researching their seafaring ancestors. Archives: browse or search.
-
METISGEN Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the Metis and their descendants. The Metis are North America's Fur Trading Children ... the new nation of individuals born within North America from the first unions of natives and whites. Archives: browse or search.
-
MILUMBERDAYS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the lumber industry in Michigan and those individuals who participated in it. Archives: browse or search.
-
NA-INDIAN-TRADERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the descendants of those who worked as traders with the indian tribes of North America. Archives: browse or search.
-
OCCUPATIONS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding occupations from a genealogical standpoint. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-CSCPA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the Oklahoma Cherokee Strip Cow Punchers Association (CSCPA) and the people associated with it. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-OILMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Oklahoma oil industry and the folks involved in it. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-POLITICAL-HISTORY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Oklahoma politicians including those in pre-statehood Territorial governments, post-statehood State government, and local governments during both of these periods. Archives: browse or search.
-
OLDWEST-COWBOYS-INDIANSCOUTS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Old West, cowboys, indian scouts and anything pertaining to them. Discussion of migration patterns, immigration, historical sketches, settlements, web sites, etc. is encouraged. Archives: browse or search.
-
PAPER-MILLS-MAKERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in paper mills and paper makers. Archives: browse or search.
-
RiverRats Mailing List For discussions of the Mississippi River "people" living on, working on, and involved in life on the "river." Any family living in any county bordering the Mississippi River, or living "on" the river, is welcome. Archives: browse or search.
-
SCOTLAND-TINKS-HAWKERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Scottish Hawkers, Travellers, and Tinkers whose skills ranged from tinsmiths to basket makers. Archives: browse or search.
-
TOWNCRIERS-UK Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in towncriers and/or beadles throughout the United Kingdom including their livery, customs, and responsibilities. Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-COTTON Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in cotton farming in Texas and their ancestors who participated in it. Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-OILGEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the people who participated in the Texas Oil Boom (1901-1930s). Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-SHARECROP Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Texas sharecroppers and the problems in tracing them. Archives: browse or search.
-
UK-PHOTOGRAPHERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the dating of photographs produced by professional photographers in England and Wales between 1850 and 1950. Archives: browse or search.
-
UK-WATCHMAKERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in watch and clock makers in the United Kingdom. Archives: browse or search.
-
WATERPOWER Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical, technical, or historical interest in the waterpower industry and the people, places, and technology associated with it. Archives: browse or search.
-
WOODWORKERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in people who were woodworkers by trade. Archives: browse or search.
- All At Sea! Mariners, Masters, Channel Pilots And Lifeboatmen
-
Ancestry.com - 1930 U.S. Federal Census of Merchant Seamen Census images and every name-searchable index available by subscription. For the first time in 1930, the U.S. Census Bureau enumerated merchant seamen serving on US-flaged merchant vessels on a special Merchant Seamen schedule. Seamen who were to be enumerated on this special schedule were all persons aboard ship, except officers who had regular or fixed places of abode ashore. Returns includes name, age at last birthday, marital status, birth place, citizenship, literacy, occupation & more.
-
CANAL-PEOPLE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in canal workers and barge owners.
- Canals, Rivers & Waterways
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- The Divers Index
An Index of Historical Divers and Their Work.
- Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic ~ Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Commemorates the fishing heritage of the Atlantic Coast of Canada.
- Fishing? - It was "A WAY OF LIFE"
Devoted to and dedicated to the fishermen, mariners, their families and survivors in Nova Scotia. Has memorials, lists of lost fisherman, photographs, newspaper and book extracts, and much more.
- GENUKI: Boatpeople of the Wolverhampton Canal System
A list of baptism and marriages of people known to have been on the canal system in Wolverhampton.
- Great Lakes Ship Masters Database
Online searchable database.
- The Historical Diving Society ~ U.K.
- History of Lascars
History about Asain seamen working on British ships.
- Lighthouse Records
Selected scanned examples of Scottish lighthouse records from the Scottish Archives Network.
- Mariners and Ships in Australian Waters
Online searchable database of vessels, mariners & passengers.
-
Mariners Mailing List For anyone who is researching their seafaring ancestors.
- Mariners Research Links
- My Ancestor was a Merchant Seaman
Book for sale from the UK's Society of Genealogists.
-
NEW-ENGLAND-SEAFARERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the New England area of the United States as it pertains to the seafaring community and their ships. Archives: browse or search.
- North Shore Commercial Fishing Museum ~ Tofte, Minnesota
-
NOVA-SCOTIA-SEAFARERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Province of Nova Scotia in Canada as it pertains to the seafaring community and their ships. Archives: browse or search.
- One Site, Two Subjects...
British mercantile records of the 19th and 20th centuries. A realistic guide to what is available to those looking into merchant mariners’ careers.
- Overview of American Whaling
- Ramsgate Lifeboat ~ Kent, England
- Family History Research
Contact information for family historians requesting information on ex crew members, persons rescued or lost during rescues and other persons connected with the Ramsgate Lifeboat. Includes an index of historic crew members with selected photos and life saving medals information.
- Research Guides from The National Maritime Museum ~ United Kingdom
A listing of the National Maritime Museum's online research guides to their library and collections and to other related maritime sources.
- Pilots Returns for Aberdeen 1854-1910
A list of all licensed pilots and their assistants in the port of Aberdeen, Scotland for the years 1854 - 1910.
-
RiverRats Mailing List For discussions of the Mississippi River "people" living on, working on, and involved in life on the "river." Any family living in any county bordering the Mississippi River, or living "on" the river, is welcome.
- Scotland's East Coast Fisheries
- Seamen's Protection Certificate Register Database
The data (sailor names, ages, birth and residences places) included on these pages is taken from the original "Registers of Seamen's Protection Certificates" issued at the Custom Houses of Fall River, Gloucester, Salem, New Haven, Newport, and Marblehead. There are entries for 23,436 certificates issued from 1796-1871.
- Tracing British Seaman & Their Ships
- Trueflare Limited
Apprenticeship (Binding) Indexes for the Company of Watermen and Lightermen of the River Thames 1692-1949; pdf format on CDs.
|