|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
- Articles on Child Migration
- Barnardo's
In 1870, Dr. Barnardo opened his first home for children in London’s impoverished East End.
- British Home Children
A site for listing the names of the individual British Home Children.
-
British Home Children Mailing List A mailing list for those interested in researching the 100,000 British Home Children who were emigrated to Canada by 50 child care organizations to work as indentured farm labourers (1870-1940). Archives: browse or search.
- The Canadian Centre for Home Children
Dedicated to the Home Children that were sent to Canada between 1869 and 1948. The Canadian Centre was founded to assist the Home Children and their families in locating their real identities, confirming documents (i.e., birth certificate) and to help them reunite with living family members where possible.
- Child Migrants from the United Kingdom
- Child Migrants Information
From the UK Department of Health.
- The Child Migrants Trust
Over 130,000 children had been deported from Britain and shipped off to a "new life" in distant parts of the Empire. This long history of compulsory migration ended in 1967 when post-war child migration drew to a close. The Trust provides a highly professional, specialised service, reuniting Britain’s former Child Migrants with their mothers, fathers, brothers and sisters.
- The Children's Society
- Empty Cradles
A book by Margaret Humphreys.
- Golden Bridge: Young Immigrants to Canada, 1833-1939
 A book by Marjorie Kohli.
- Home Children Canada (Pacific)
Organization to help Home Children and their descendants to discover their past.
- Labouring Children: British Immigrant Apprentices to Canada, 1869-1924
A book by Joy Parr.
- The Little Immigrants: The Orphans Who Came to Canada
 A book by Kenneth Bagnell.
- List of Girls in Miss Rye's Peckham Homes 1881
Search for ancestors in a list of orphaned and impoverished Home Children.
- National Archives of Canada - Home Children (1869-1930)
Between 1869 and the early 1930s, over 100,000 children were sent to Canada from Great Britain during the child emigration movement. Members of the British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa are locating and indexing the names of these Home Children found in passenger lists in the custody of the National Archives of Canada.
- Nation Builders: Barnardo Children in Canada
 A book by Gail H. Corbett.
- Neither Waif Nor Stray: The Search For A Stolen Identity
A book by Perry Snow.
- Organisations Helping Former Child Migrants To Find Family Members
- PHIND - Personal History Index
Computerised index detailing the location of records held in Australia for former child migrants to Catholic Homes between 1938 and 1965.
- Quarriers Charity
Originally Orphan Homes of Scotland located at Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire.
- Genealogy
For assistance in tracking relatives cared for by Quarriers in the past, including those who went to Canada.
- History
- Ragged School Museum
The museum resides in three canal-side warehouses in Copperfield Road, East London. These buildings were previously used by Dr Barnardo to house the largest ragged school in London.
- Records Relating to Child Migrants
From the Archives Office of Tasmania.
- Social Welfare Archives at the University of Liverpool
They hold some of the Dr. Barnardo's Homes records amongst others.
- William Quarrier Home Children Association
An association of Scottish "home children" and their families.
- Young Immigrants to Canada
When the topic of child immigrants to Canada is raised many people first think of Barnardo's. Some may know about Annie Macpherson, Maria Rye, Fegan Homes, Dr. Stephenson and the National Children's Home or even some of the Roman Catholic organizations. This web site represents research into all of the organizations which brought children and young women to Canada between 1833 and 1935.
- 1880 Census House of the Guardian Angel St. Louis MO
1880 Census information for the orphanage, House of the Guardian Angel in St. Louis, Missouri.
- 1880 U.S. Federal Census New York Juvenile Asylum, New York, NY
Many children from the institution were sent to Illinois and other states on Orphan Trains between about 1853 and 1929.
- Aberlour Orphanage ~ Scotland
- Barnardo's
In 1870, Dr. Barnardo opened his first home for children in London’s impoverished East End.
- Children from Howard County at the Soldiers' and Sailors' Orphans' Home ~ Indiana
- Children's Home Index 1879-1939 ~ Miami County, Ohio
- childrenshomes-uk-commonwealth
Message board for anyone who was in children's homes in the United Kingdom and Commonwealth.
- The Corum Family ~ United Kingdom
Formerly the Thomas Coram Foundation for Children.
- A Directory of Orphanages for Allegheny County, Pennsylvania And Some Adjacent Counties
- Famine Orphans from County Cork to Australia
From the Mallow Archaeological & Historical Society.
- The FairView Home For Friendless Children Of Watervliet, New York
This Presbyterian Home was open from 1888 till 1956.
- Immigrants to Canada - Widows and Orphans of 1847
- Indiana Soldier's and Sailor's Children's Home ~ Indiana
Online searchable database from the Indiana State Archives.
- Jewish Orphanages in the United States
- Junior Home Alumni Association
Childrens homes in Tiffin, Ohio & Lexington, North Carolina.
- List of Institutions/Homes - Australia
- Loyal True Blue Orphanage, Hallowell Ontario 1901 ~ Prince Edward County, Ontario
Search for ancestors in list of orphans in Loyal True Blue Orphanage near Picton, in Hallowell Township.
- Methodist Home for Children ~ North Carolina
- New York Foundling Hospital
- Orphan and Foundling Burials (1880-1920)
Genealogical information for orphans and foundlings interred in free burial in New York area cemeteries.
- Orphans in the Sisters of Charity Orphan Asylum, New York City, New York in the 1860 Census
- Presbyterian Home for Children ~ Black Mountain, North Carolina
- Research Guide - Good British Stock - Child & Youth Migration to Australia
From the National Archives of Australia.
- Rossbret UK Institutions
Information on asylums, almshouses, prisons, hospitals, orphanages, workhouses & the Poor Law.
- Western Pennsylvania Orphans
Information, illustrations and orphan lists.
- West Texas Children's Aid and Welfare Assoc. ~ Abilene, Texas
Information on this Abilene agency (1920-1949), and on its administrator, Rev. W.A. Nicholas.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Genealogy Resources on the Internet - Mailing Lists Most of the mailing list links below point to this site, wonderfully maintained by John Fuller. John indexes links for all known genealogy mailing lists, including RootsWeb and others.
-
RootsWeb: Genealogy Mailing Lists The majority of genealogy mailing lists are hosted by RootsWeb.com. Messages on RootsWeb lists are archived. The links to RootsWeb below point you to the archives (browse or search).
-
AL-ORPHANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in orphans and orphanages in Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
British Home Children Mailing List A mailing list for those interested in researching the 100,000 British Home Children who were emigrated to Canada by 50 child care organizations to work as indentured farm labourers (1870-1940). Archives: browse or search.
-
GOOD-SHEPHERD-HOMES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the thousands of girls and young women who passed through the Houses of the Good Shepherd over the last several hundred years. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-ORPHANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in orphans and orphanages in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
NY-ORPHANAGES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in orphans and orphanages in New York. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-ORPHANAGES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Oklahoma orphanages and/or childrens homes and their residents. Archives: browse or search.
-
ORPHAN-TRAINS Mailing List For the discussion of the orphan trains that carried thousands of children to new homes in any and all states, and anything pertaining to them from the 1850s to 1930. Discussions pertaining to anything related to these children, circumstances, finding their families, history of these trains, etc. are encouraged. Archives: browse or search.
- 1880 U.S. Federal Census New York Juvenile Asylum, New York, NY
Many children from the institution were sent to Illinois and other states on Orphan Trains between about 1853 and 1929.
-
Ancestry.com - Orphan Train Genealogy Article by Marilyn Irvin Holt.
- The Children's Aid Society of New York: an index to the federal, state, and local census records of its lodging houses, 1855-1925
A book by Carolee R. Inskeep.
- Indiana Orphan Trains Project
A contact point for those interested in the Orphan Trains riders who were given out in Indiana.
- Iowa Orphan Train Project
- Louisiana Orphan Train
- The New York Foundling Hospital: An Index to the Federal, State, and Local Census Records [1870-1925]
A book by Carolee R. Inskeep.
- Orphans to Iowa
- The Orphan Train Collection
- The Orphan Train in Michigan
Video for sale.
- Orphan Train Page
An American Local History Project.
- Orphan Train Resources
- Orphan Train Riders History
- Orphan Trains
- The Orphan Trains
A PBS American Experience television show regarding this unusual immigrant experience.
-
ORPHAN-TRAINS Mailing List For the discussion of the orphan trains that carried thousands of children to new homes in any and all states, and anything pertaining to them from the 1850s to 1930. Discussions pertaining to anything related to these children, circumstances, finding their families, history of these trains, etc. are encouraged.
- Orphan Trains of Kansas
- Orphan Trains of Nebraska
- The Orphan Trains: Placing Out in America
A book by Marilyn Irvin Holt, for sale from Ancestry.
- The Orphan Trains: Placing Out in America
A book by Marilyn Irvin Holt.
- Orphan Trains: The Story of Charles Loring Brace and the Children He Saved and Failed
A book by Stephen O'Connor.
- Orphan Trains to Missouri
Information about a book from the University of Missouri Press.
- Other Orphan Train Links
- They Rode the Orphan Trains
- Yahoo!...U.S. History...19th Century...Orphan Trains
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Olive Tree Genealogy - District 143 Albany City, New York, Tenth Ward.; Albany Orphan Asylum
Names of orphaned children in Albany Orphan Asylum Albany City, New York, from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Hebrew Orphan Asylum, Manhattan New York 1900
Names of orphaned children in Hebrew Orphan Asylum, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census.
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Hebrew Sheltering Guardian Society of New York
Names of orphaned children in Hebrew Sheltering Guardian Society of New York, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Orphan Asylum Society Manhattan New York
Names of orphaned children in Orphan Asylum Society, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum Manhattan New York 1900
Names of orphaned children in Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Society for Relief of Half-Orphans & Destitute Children 1900, Manhattan New York
Names of orphaned children in Society for Relief of Half-Orphans & Destitute Children, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|