|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Photographs & Memories
Preserving Your Family's Heirlooms, Treasures & Genealogical Research
|
|
- 19th Century Photography for Genealogists
by A.J. Morris.
- Ancestors: Family Records - Photographs
From the second television series.
-
Ancestry.com - Digital Photography for the Family Article by Maureen A. Taylor.
-
Ancestry.com - Identifying Family Photographs Article from "Along Those Lines..." by George Morgan.
-
Ancestry.com - Illustrating the Life of a Camera-Shy Ancestor Article by Loretta Evans.
- City Gallery
- Bookshop
- Genphoto Discussion Group
The Genphoto email discussion group answers questions the family historian has about family photographs. Questions about preservation, identifying people, interpretation of vernacular images are welcome as are questions relating to digital sharing and preserving family photographs and other visual media.
- Learning
Types, interpretation, research, photographers.
- Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Your Family Photographs But Didn't Know Who To Ask
From the About.com genealogy section.
- Family Foto Finder
Genealogical photo database.
- Family Old Photos.... antique images and vintage photographs ... faces and places in the past
More than 15,000 photographs, representing over 29,000 surnames. Fully indexed and searchable; updated frequently.
- Footnote.com - Historical Photographs
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
-
Genealogy.com - Photographs and the Holidays Article by Maureen Taylor.
-
Genealogy.com - Using Photos in Your Research Article by Lyman D. Platt, Ph.D.
- Grandma's Photo Links
Links to web sites featuring old photographs of people and places, particularly during Victorian and Edwardian times. Of interest to those looking for photographs of their ancestors, as well those interested in the history of photography and preservation of photographs.
- Military Images
Offers help in identifying photographs of British Military personnel.
- OrganizedPhotos.com
Photo Organizing the Easy Way: Simple tips to organize photographs, negatives and memories.
- Photo Detective with Maureen A. Taylor
- Photography as a Tool in Genealogy
An article w/definitions & descriptions of types of photographs.
- Photos & Memories
From the About.com genealogy section.
- Researching Old Photographs
Online tips on researching old photos.
- Roots Television
Roots Television is an online television network by and for avid genealogists. Videos include how-to demonstrations, conference lectures, and region-specific programming including Irish, Hispanic, British, Jewish, African-American research and more. Videos are available online, on-demand, and virtually all of them are absolutely free.
- Shades of the Departed
A blog by footnoteMaven to discuss her collection of photographs. "I will also share with you what I've learned or am learning about scanning, creating a database, analyzing and dating my collection, and anything else that strikes my fancy related to photography and my collection."
- The UnWritten: Saving Your Photo Stories For The Future
Working with one photo at a time, this quest will show you how to research, write, and save your photo-stories.
- 19th Century Photographers in Ayrshire ~ Scotland
- 19th Century Photographers on the Isle of Man ~ United Kingdom
- A to Z List of Photographers Working in the City of Bristol, U.K. (1852 - 1972) ~ England
Extracted from annual trade directories.
- Camera Workers: British Columbia, Alaska & Yukon 1858-1950
Documents photographers in British Columbia and the Alaska and Yukon territories. Useful in old photo identification.
- Daguerreian Registry
Online version of Craig's Daguerreian Registry, the acknowledged resource for collectors, dealers and historians interested in the pre-1860 period of American photographic history.
- Dementi Studios
Online searchable index of over 30,000 surnames of people who have been photographed by Dementi Studio in Richmond, Virginia since 1924.
- Early Swansea Photography ~ Wales
From the National Library of Wales.
- Fargo, North Dakota Photographers
- History of Photography in Edinburgh ~ Scotland
- Index of UK photographers up to 1950
- International Guide to Nineteenth Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers
A book by Gary Edwards.
- Isle of Wight Photographers ~ England
Database of photographers offering services on the Isle of Wight 1860 - 1940.
- A List of Photographic Studios for some parts of England and Wales in the Year 1868
Includes Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Monmouthshire, Shropshire,& Wales.
- Liverpool Photographers
A database of photographers' studios from Liverpool, England, to help you date photographs taken in this area.
- Ohio Photographers 1839-1900
A book by Diane Vanskiver Gagel.
- Other 19th Century Photographers of Sussex ~ England
- Photographic Biography: A Guide to Research
Bibliography for researching historic photographers.
- Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research
A book by Richard Rudisill.
-
UK-PHOTOGRAPHERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the dating of photographs produced by professional photographers in England and Wales between 1850 and 1950. Archives: browse or search.
- Victorian Photography Studios ~ England
Photographers' studios in and around Birmingham and Warwickshire.
- Adopt a Photo
- Adopt-A-Photo - Penny Duncan's Photos for Distribution
Many have residents of Mason and Logan Counties, Illinois.
- Ancestor Genealogy Photo Archive
Free Genealogy Database of Vintage Family Photos to Find Your Ancestors and Family History.
- Ancestors Lost and Found
Family memorabilia, photos and Bibles.
- Ancestorville
Ancestorville is a unique new genealogy site with thousands of searchable identified lost family photos, antique paper ephemera and digital downloads for sale.
- Ancestral Photos
Pictures found at auctions and in antique stores.
- AncesTree
"The Family Tree with Photographs".
-
Ancestry.com - Returning Lost Heirlooms Article by Megan Smolenyak Smolenyak.
- Ancient Faces - Share Your Family History
Preserving and sharing family legacies through old photographs, stories, and recipes.
- Ashland County Ohio Pictures - Rescued Ancestors by Vicki
Vicki's interest in genealogy lead her to collecting 'homeless' Ashland County, Ohio pictures, hoping to reunite them with family. Vicki attends auctions, visits antique shops, and so on, in hopes of finding more 'lost ancestors'. Also the little known Ashland County, Ohio photographer - A.L. Zimmerman's Collection is hosted by Vicki in hopes of identifying many individuals and places.
- Brylling
Swedish photo exchange
- Chris Dussault's Unknown Photos Home Page
The purpose is to identify some of the people in old (late 1800, early 1900) photographs. Some of the possible family names are DUNN, PARISIAN (PERSIAN), McELHONE, MARTEL and many others.
- Cornish Faces
Can you identify these Cornish people? A selection of photographs which have connections to my family tree. Many are from the St. Columb Minor and are unidentified but might be of interest.
- DeadFred Genealogy Photo Archive
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- Family Artifacts
Returning family artifacts, such as photographs, marriage certificates and Bibles, to the families that are looking for them.
- Family Fotos On-Line - Page 1 - Introduction and Instruction
Photographs, photo albums and yearbooks.
- Family History Collections From the Past
Old family photographs, letters, documents, etc... that have been found.
- Family Old Photos
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Ford and Nagle
Historians, Genealogists, and Collectors of Antique Family Photos, Family Bibles, and Family Documents.
- Antique Family Photos - Surnames A , B , C , D , E , F , G , H , I , J , K , L , M , N , O , P , Q , R , S , T , U , V , W , Y , Z
- Photos Returned to Families....by Ford and Nagle
Lists family photography returned to families or other interested people.
- Four King's Photo Family Reunion - Page 1 - Introduction and Instruction
Returning lost photos to their proper families. They include tintypes, daguerreotypes, cabinet cards, carte-de-visites, personal picture postcards, photo albums and yearbooks.
- GenealogyMagazine.com - Photographic Collection
A clearinghouse of “lost” family photographs rescued from antique stores, flea markets and estate sales. Each photograph includes a reference number, name of the person or place, the date and location (if known), and the caption as it appears on the original. In some instances, additional information has been added from census records and other sources.
- GeneaNet - Photos of Yesterday
Photo database.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Genepics_2000 A place to post pictures of people you want to identify.
- Heirloomslost
Free fully searchable site of traceable family items for research and exchange.
- Hoffman Photo Index
An index of old photographs mostly pre-1900 of identified people mostly Ontario. Linking portraits with interested researchers who would like the original or a copy.
- Honoring our Ancestors - Rescuing Orphan Photos and Memorabilia
Includes links to sites featuring "orphan photos" (photos that people have found and would like to reunite with their appropriate families), photo collections, photo-related advice, etc.
- I Dream of Genealogy's Lost Family Treasures
A listing of bibles, yearbooks, scrapbooks and other lost items we have acquired through flea markets, antique shops, etc.
- Kansas Orphan Photos
Stray photos that have been found in Reno County, Kansas.
- Lost and Found Old Photographs
Old photographs of unknown persons, identified photos which are lost and need to be reunited with their own families.
- Lost Faces - Family Photos Lost & Found
Search for ancestors in old photo albums I have rescued and put online. Research is done on each album to find more family information. Included is a detailed description of each photo plus photographer and location. Scans of photos and documents such as funeral cards, obits, etc. can also be viewed.
- Members Gen Photos
- Nebraska Ancestors Sharing Center
For Nebraska vintage photos, lost & found items, mystery photos & wandering ancestors.
- Old Photographs of African Americans
Unknown Old African American Photographs to be identified by researchers and family historians. You can post your unknown photographs here.
- Old Photos Found
Photos found at a Flea Market. May be photos of the MILLER family, possibly from Virginia.
- Old Photos Found
Old photos of identified person generally found at antique shops, in or near Lexington, KY.
- Old Photos Seeking New Homes - Linnie (Vanderford) Poyneer
Austin, Baker, Boyce/Bayce, Bunce, Butterfield, Carr, Ford, Hall, Hart, Hobbs, Holmsberg, Keadle, Keadle, Lillie, Loske, Ludwig, Martin, Milton, Payne, Port, Pierce, Sinclair, Skinner, Swartout, Starke, Weller, Wise.
- Photos Rescue!
A book to help date old photographs, and a project to reunite photos and families, mostly Australian, some British.
- Reminiscene Vintage Postcards and Photographs
Collection of Vintage Postcards, Victorian and Edwardian Cartes de Visite and Cabinet Portraits, and other nostalgic photographs, acquired in the United Kingdom.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Renee's Photo Orphanage Unidentified photos listed by possible family connections and geographic areas.
- West Georgia Unidentified Photos
20 unidentified photos believed to be those of relatives of James Morgan RICHARDSON and his wife, Nancy Catherine McBURNETT, probably taken in Haralson and Polk Counties or surrounding localities. James Morgan "Jim" RICHARDSON was born 1883, possibly in Floyd County, Georgia, and died in 1953. Nancy Catherine "Kate" McBURNETT was born 1883 in Carroll County, Georgia, and died in 1972 in Cedartown, Polk County, Georgia. She was the daughter of Stephen Joshua McBURNETT (1858-1927) and Millie Elizabeth WINKLES (1851-1941).
- World War One Photos and Postcards
Pay for copies service of named individuals in British service found on old photos and postcards.
- Your Past Connections - Family History Search and Genealogy - Documents, Certificates, Photos
Helps you find original items from your family's past. Items such as: letters, diplomas, marriage certificates, photographs, birth certificates, funeral cards, postcards, receipts, etc.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Genealogy Resources on the Internet - Mailing Lists Most of the mailing list links below point to this site, wonderfully maintained for years by John Fuller. This site indexes links for all known genealogy mailing lists, including RootsWeb and others.
-
RootsWeb: Genealogy Mailing Lists The majority of genealogy mailing lists are hosted by RootsWeb.com. Messages on RootsWeb lists are archived. The links to RootsWeb below point you to the archives (browse or search).
-
AR-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Arkansas genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
BACKTOTHEPAST Mailing List For people who want to discuss old stories and photos that help to place the lives of our ancestors in context. Archives: browse or search.
-
GENEALOGY-TREASURES Mailing List For anyone interested in discussing the preservation of documents, pictures, family heirlooms and other treasures left to us by our ancestors, as well as sources and methods for dating old photos. Archives: browse or search.
-
genphoto Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding genealogy and family photographs including identifying and preserving old photographs, and using digital photography and scanning to share and preserve family photographs.
-
IA-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in vintage photos dealing with people and places in Iowa. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Kansas genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
MO-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Missouri genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-ORPHANPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the search for elusive or missing photos of Oklahoma families and the posting of information regarding such photos that have come into your possession, with the ultimate goal of uniting families and photos. Archives: browse or search.
-
OK-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Oklahoma genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Texas genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
UK-PHOTOGRAPHERS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the dating of photographs produced by professional photographers in England and Wales between 1850 and 1950. Archives: browse or search.
-
UT-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Utah genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
VINTAGE-PHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding vintage photos including, but not restricted to, proper storage, preservation, restoration, ageing and dating, restoration software, photo types and materials used, restoration assistance, and scanning options. Archives: browse or search.
- MyPublisher
Turn your digital photos into keepsake photo albums for free. Share and preserve your magical moments by creating your own custom picture books beautifully printed with the highest-quality binding and acid free archival paper.
- 19th Century Actors Photographs
From the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections. The collection consists of 610 cartes-de-visite studio portraits of entertainers, actors, and actresses who performed on the American stage in the mid- to late 1800s.
- America's First Look into the Camera - Daugerreotype Portraits and Views 1839-1864
Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress.
- Arizona State Library and Archives Photos Collection
Archives' photographs focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863. The collection includes about 90,000 images, including photographs, slides, negatives, glass plate negatives, tintypes, transparencies, postcards and others. Of these 90,000 images, about 9,000 are currently digitized and available to be searched on this site.
- Australasia Church Albums
Aims to provide unique images of the churches of Australia and New Zealand, both past and present, with a description or history of each.
- Australian War Graves Photographic Archive
A project that will have photographs of headstones of all A.I.F. service personnel who died during World War One and World War Two.
- Baltimore City Life Museum Photograph Collection - Finding Aid
The collection begins in the late 1840s with particular strength in the first half of the twentieth century. Images date from 1849 to the 1980s. Included are daguerreotypes, paper prints, glass plate and film negatives, and slides (lantern and 35 mm). The collection is particularly strong in documentation of architecture and the Baltimore Harbor.
- Baltimore City Nineteenth-Century Photographs
Presents nineteenth-century photographs made by Baltimore photo studios or of Baltimore residents.
- Bentley Image Bank, Bentley Historical Library
The Bentley Image Bank includes images from the holdings of the Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan. The collection is open to the public.
- Brady-Hughes-Beasley Archives ~ Tennessee
Photos of school teams, groups and vintage portrates from McMinnville's longest operating photo studio.
- British Columbia Historical Photographs Online ~ Canada
Contains annotated links to online historical photograph databases and galleries mounted on archival web sites in British Columbia.
- Chester Image Bank
A searchable database of historical images of Chester City in the UK and surrounding disrict. Perfect for illustrating family history and local history research. The images date back to about 1750 in the form of sketchs and 1860 in the form of photographs. There are people in some of the pictures though these are not always named.
- Chicago Imagebase
Find a wealth of information at this site from before the Great Fire of 1871 to the present including the Fire Insurance Maps of Chicago, Robinson Atlases of Downtown Chicago (ca. 1886), Sanborn Atlas Maps, Rand McNally's Bird's-Eye Views and Guide to Chicago (ca. 1893), Historical View Books, and much more! Browse the imagebase collection by artist/architect, building and era. Find information on Using Historical Maps and Dating Buildings by Stylistic Analysis. View contemporary aerial views (ca. 1986) and photographs 1970-1990's of Chicago.
- Christchurch City Libraries Photograph Collection ~ New Zealand
This online collection contains a selection of historical images of Christchurch and Canterbury. The photographs depict local people, places and events and are dated from approximately 1860 to 1975. They have been reproduced from historical newspapers, archival sources, early books and reports.
- Civil War Family Photographs
- Clark Kinsey Photographs Collection
Clark Kinsey's work as a photographer documented the logging industry in the Pacific Northwest. From shortly before World War I, spent his career documenting the logging and milling camps and other forest related activities in Washington, Oregon, California, and British Columbia. This collection consists of photographs of loggers and logging life in Washington State.
- Columbus Metropolitan Library: Columbus In Historic Photographs ~ Ohio
- The Daguerreian Society
Dedicated to the history, science, and art of the daguerreotype.
- Daguerreotypes 1842-1862
From the Library of Congress, American Memory collection.
- Dalhousie University Libraries ~ Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
- DeadFred Genealogy Photo Archive
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- Denver Public Library: Western History Genealogy: Digital Images
Prints and negatives that document the history of Colorado and the American West. Over 120,000 of the images in the collection have been digitized and are available for viewing online.
- The Digital Mirror
The National Library of Wales is the home of some of the nation's most important treasures. The purpose of The Digital Mirror is to reflect some of these treasures, by displaying them through image, sound and text.
- Digital Schomburg Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
Artists, engravers and photographers managed to capture and preserve for posterity a variety of images of African Americans throughout the 19th century.
- Eric A. Hegg Photographs
Historic photographs after the 1900 gold rush.
- The European Library
A portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals.... - both digital and non-digital) of the 45 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and delivers digital objects - some free, some for a fee.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Finding Your Family - Cindy's Old Photos
Old photographs of the USA from the early 1900s. Includes historical and military photos taken by J.E. Connett.
- The Francis Frith Collection.
Access to 330,000 photographs depicting 7,000 British towns and villages. Taken between 1860 and 1970 by the photographers of F.Frith & Co. this archive is the foremost topographical photographic record of Britain.
- Fulton-Montgomery Photographic Archives ~ New York
Images from Fulton and Montgomery County repositories (Johnstown City Historian, Johnstown Historical Society, Johnstown Public Library, The Montgomery County Archives, Fulton County Museum) showing area landmarks, social gatherings, and newsworthy events.
- Guide to the Photographic Collections - Maryland State Archives
Camera symbol indicates collections where available prints have been scanned. NOTE: Only selected photographic collections are included in this index.
- Historic Photos - Museum of History and Industry ~ Seattle, Washington
A collection of historical photographs from the Pacific Northwest and Alaska.
- Introduction to Imaging: Issues in Constructing an Image Database
- Kentuckiana Digital Library
The Kentuckiana Digital Library is built to enhance scholarship, research and lifelong learning through the establishment of access to shared digital archival collections in the state of Kentucky. Collections and subsets of collections selected will have a strong Kentucky orientation as well as broad appeal on geographic, content and study levels. The materials will be unique or not widely available.
- Lost Memory - Libraries and Archives Destroyed in the Twentieth Century
- Louisiana Division Photo Collection
Includes over 40,000 individual photographic prints, negatives and slides.
- The Ludwig Collection
Photographs from the Ludwig Collection, produced by the Laramie, Wyoming based Ludwig Studio. These 200 scans are a selection of the 8x10 negatives produced during the 1930s.
- Maryland Historical Society Library, Photograph Finding Aids
Search or browse the photograph collections.
- Macleay Museum ~ Sydney, Australia
- Meriam Library - California State University ~ Chico, California
- Special Collections
- Historic Photographs
The rich visual heritage of northeastern California is documented in over 18,000 historical photographs, many dating from the nineteenth century and representing a wide variety of early photographic processes.
- Minneapolis Public Library ~ Minnesota
- Montana Historical Society Photograph Collections
The Society's photographic collection of 350,000 images contains photographs of prominent persons, events, cities, towns, geographical features, and agricultural and industrial developments in Montana and in adjoining states; and represents the work of many regional photographers.
- National Monuments Record, English Heritage
The National Monuments Record (NMR) is the public archive of English Heritage. It holds over 12 million photographs, plans, reports and drawings recording the historic environment of England. The NMR can supply packs of materials for any locality in England.
- The National Portrait Gallery
From the Smithsonian, includes an online exhibition of the Portraits of the Presidents.
- New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut: The Tri-State Region and more in Stereoscopic Views
12,000 photographs of those three states as they were captured in stereoscopic views from the 1850s to the 1910s.
- Old UK Photos
Old Photos of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and The British Isles.
- Oregon Historic Photograph Collections - Salem Public Library
Thousands of photographs of Oregon dating from the mid 1800s, all digitized and searchable online with special focus on the City of Salem and other Western Oregon communities.
- Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library
The Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library, is a grant-funded collaborative effort between the Scott Memorial Library of Thomas Jefferson University and The Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
- Photo Antiquities
Museum of Photographic History, Images and Equipment in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
- Photo Archives
The State Historical Society of North Dakota's Photographic Collections contain images dating from 1870 to the present.
- Photo-Ark.co.uk - An Online Archive of Old UK Photographs, Postcards and Images
Pre-1950 photos and postcards. Image submissions welcomed. Covers Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire and also has military and regimental images.
- PhotoGraphicLibraries.com
- PhotoLondon
Portal showcasing five important public photograph collections of London: Guildhall Library, London Metropolitan Archives, Museum of London, National Monuments Record and Westminster City Archives. Between them they hold over one million photographs dating from the 1840s to present day. Gallery of images and e-mail links to the curators.
- Photographs from the Chicago Daily News, 1902-1933
Collection comprises over 55,000 images of urban life captured on glass plate negatives between 1902 and 1933 by photographers employed by the Chicago Daily News, then one of Chicago's leading newspapers.
- Reflective Images
Photos of more than 300 Welsh towns and villages and over 1,000 separate listings.
- Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters
Digital collection integrates two collections from the holdings of the Nebraska State Historical Society, the Solomon D. Butcher photographs and the letters of the Uriah W. Oblinger family. Together they illustrate the story of settlement on the Great Plains.
- Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 3000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
- Robertson Register of Historical Photographs
Online searchable database of identified persons in vintage photographs found in repositories and private collections located in the United States.
- SEPIA (Safeguarding European Photographic Images for Access)
EU-funded project focusing on preservation of photographic materials.
- Touring Turn-of-the-Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880-1920
From American Memory, Library of Congress.
- Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
The Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection is a unique resource of 50,000 photographs and 2,000 slides that documents the history of the American period in Micronesia (1947-1988), and includes invaluable visual representations of island cultures. Much of this material was salvaged from the former Trust Territory Headquarters on Saipan, and owes its very existence to the persistence of former Trust Territory Archivist Sam McPhetres and his team, who were engaged in microfilming the files of the American administration.
- UPI News Pictures
Online archive of over 100,000 images.
- Wichita Photo Archives
A digital collection of images of Wichita, Kansas, from the 1860s to the present. Images include not only people and buildings, but also documents the rich aviation history of the city. Browse the image collection by decade or topic, or search the informative descriptions.
- World War I Military Portrait Index ~ Wisconsin
Index to 3,192 photographs of World War I military personnel from Milwaukee County.
- Wyoming State Archives - Historic Photograph Collection
More than 500,000 images covering Wyoming’s territorial days to the present.
- A-1 Digiflux Photo Restoration Photo Retouching & Image Manipulation
- Albumen - Albumen Photographs: History, Science and Preservation
- The American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artisitc Works
- Before & After Photo
Archival needs, custom printing, digital retouching and more.
- Biofix - Home Movie 1912 Style
- Care and Preservation of Photographs
From The General Commission on Archives and History - The United Methodist Church
- Caring for Your Family Archives
From the National Archives and Records Administration.
- Castle Photographic - Photo Restoration
- Classy Image
Restoration and alteration of old & new photographs; photography; web page design & graphics design.
- Conservation of Photographs
A book by George Eaton.
- Createc Multimedia
Multimedia company specializing in: photo restoration; 35 mm slide, photo and document scanning; film (8mm, Super 8, 16mm) and videotape conversions to VHS, CD, DVD and VCD.
- The Daguerreotype: Nineteenth-Century Technology and Modern Science
A book by M. Susan Barger.
- Eaglewings Eyrie
Home page for photo restoration, minor to severe, especially old family photos, slides or negatives. Glass plates can be scanned up to a 5"x7" area; 8"x10" will have to be cropped. We also compile such photos, add captions and place them on digital auto page turning album CDs.
- Family Archive Services
A photo preservation, restoration and archiving company. We do family histories on film and save your photos digitally. Located in Southern California.
-
Genealogy.com - Protecting Family Memories from Time
-
Genealogy.com - Restoring Damaged Photographs Article by David L. Mishkin.
-
genphoto Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding genealogy and family photographs including identifying and preserving old photographs, and using digital photography and scanning to share and preserve family photographs.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Guidelines For Preserving Your Photographic Heritage How long will your old family photographs survive? Here are some practical guidelines for preserving your photographic heritage.
- Horn Graphics ~ Tacoma, Washington
Photograph restoration and digital imaging.
- Human Touch Restorations
- Image Bright : Photo Enhancement Services
Repair, restore and colorize pictures, or create photo collages.
- Imagineer, LLC Digital Photo Restoration, Retouching & Custom Imaging and Custom Framing
- Just Black & White's Tips for Preserving Your Photographs and Documents
- Max Bamber Photo Restoration
Professional photographic restoration in the UK.
- Nilsson Imaging - Photo Restoration
Restore your photographs to their original splendor. Don't let the adverse effects of time rob you of your precious memories.
- Northern States Conservation Center: Care by Type - Photographs
- An Ounce of Preservation: A Guide to the Care of Papers and Photographs
A book by Craig A. Tuttle.
- Our Carolina Roots - Photo Restoration
Photo restoration for old and damaged images for a small fee. However, if you have any photos of ancestors related to my ancestors, I will do the restoration for free as time permits. This site provides samples of photos before restoration and after I restored them. Some of my surnames include: HUDSON, GREGORY, WATKINS, HARRIS, ROBBINS, SAFERIGHT, WALL, MORGAN, TOMLINSON, OSBORNE, FRAZIER, OWENS, etc.
- The Permanence and Care of Color Photographs: Traditional and Digital Color Prints, Color Negatives, Slides, and Motion Pictures
A book by Henry Wilhelm.
- Photofix - Photo Restoration & Manipulation ~ UK
Provides services to photographs such as repairs, manipulations, and even turns black and white photos into full colour.
- PhotoGraphics Copy & Restoration Service
Restoration of damaged and faded photos and documents. Photos and documents to CD and Powerpoint slides.
- Photography By Marilyn Hunt
Photo restoration and hand coloring.
- PhotoInovation.com
Photo montages, photo restorations & enhancements by Chouette Design Group.
- Photographs: General Care and Tips
From the University of Virginia Library's Preservation Department.
- Photo Restoration
Restoration service.
- Photo Restoration and Retouch by Pam
Personal attention given to restoring your photos to the best possible state using digital expertise. All work done by Pam. Respect of your treasured heirlooms and great care taken to bring out the features and essence of the subjects.
- Photo Restoration by The Photo Medic
Photo-Medic repairs and restores old and damaged photos. If an old photo has faded or darkened over the decades, Photo-Medic can enhance the image to better see the people long since gone.
- Photo Restore 247 Photo Restoration Services
- PhotoRevival
- Photos Restored by SCL - Shawnee Color Lab
"Photos Torn, Scratched, or Faded? We can restore them for you...SATISFACTION GUARANTEED!"
- Preserving Your Family Photographs: How to Organize, Present, and Restore Your Precious Family Images
A book by Maureen Taylor.
- Re-Image
Photographic restoration.
- Retouching by Lorie
Photo restorations, color tints, montages and more. Personalized service from Lorie Zirbes who has more than 30 years experience.
- Questioning Photo Manipulation
Tools to digitally change photographs are very powerful. Do we use this power for good or ill in genealogy? An online article by Mark Howells.
- RetouchPRO
Information on photo restoration, retouching, and manipulation.
- Salvaging a Faded Original
- ScreenGenes Restoration and Presentation
- Slide Scanning and Scanning Service and 35mm slides
Convert your slides to digital to add to your genealogy records. Great way to share the finished product with family.
- Torn Corner - professional photo restoration and enhancement ~ UK
-
VINTAGE-PHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding vintage photos including, but not restricted to, proper storage, preservation, restoration, ageing and dating, restoration software, photo types and materials used, restoration assistance, and scanning options. Archives: browse or search.
- The Virtual Vintage Image
A brief tutorial on using digital image editing to restore images of vintage photos.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Photographic Preservation
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Archival Products Newsletter
- Archives Advices - Preservation
From the National Archives of Australia.
- ASLAPR -- Archives Division - Preserving Personal Papers and Photographs: General Guidelines
From the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records.
- Clarke Historical Library Preservation - Preserving Memories: Caring for Your Heritage
Useful information about preserving family keepsakes including photographs, birth certificates, old newspaper articles etc.
- The "Care and Feeding" of Old Photographs
- Conserve O Grams
Detailed recommendations from the National Parks Service on a variety of artifact conservation issues. Require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view.
- Document and Photo Preservation FAQ
- Family Archive Services
A photo preservation, restoration and archiving company. We do family histories on film and save your photos digitally. Located in Southern California.
- Image Permanence Institute
- Lula BLILEY's Photo Album Production Overview
Comprehensive resource on the development of a multimedia CD-ROM of the 1931 family photo album of Lula DAWSON BLILEY. Contents include: background story, description of tools and techniques, legal issues, preparation for cross-platform, media selection, CD-ROM file structure and naming choices, extensive Read Me file from CD. Samples of navigation techniques for HTML and PDF versions. Link to HTML version on the Internet. CD includes: album materials in HTML, PDF, TIFF, JPEG, and Photoshop-native formats.
- [The original link is broken. This link points to an archived copy on the Wayback Machine]
Making a CD-ROM Family Photo Album "How to" article.
- Northern States Conservation Center: Collection Care
- Preserving your Photographs
- Your Family Legacy - Digital Preservation
Brief article on dangers of relying solely on digital means to preserve your photographs.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Photography
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Adobe Photoshop 7.0
Software by Adobe.
- America and the Daguerreotype
A book by John Wood.
- The American Tintype
A book by Floyd Rinhart.
- American Victorian Costume in Early Photographs
A book by Priscilla Harris Dalrymple.
- Caring for Your Family Treasures: Heritage Preservation
A book by Richard Jane Long .
- A Century in Focus: Photography and Photographers in the North of Ireland, 1839-1939
 A book by W. A. Maguire.
- Collector's Guide to Early Photographs
A book by O. Henry Mace.
- Complete Idiots Guide to Paint Shop Pro 7
A book by Nat Gertler.
- A Curious and Ingenious Art: Reflections on Daguerreotypes at Harvard
A book by Melissa Banta.
- Dating Old Photographs 1840-1929
A book by Halvor Moorshead.
- Dressed for the Photographer: Ordinary Americans and Fashion, 1840-1900
A book by Joan L. Severa.
- Family Frames: Photography, Narrative and Postmemory
A book by Marianne Hirsch.
- Family Photographs, 1860 - 1945 (Public Record Office Genealogists Guide)
A book by Robert Pols.
- From Scarlet to Khaki: Understanding the Twentieth Century British Army Uniforms in Your Family Album
A book by Jon Mills.
- How to Clean, Repair, Store and Display Your Heirloom Papers and Photographs
A book by Martha Ellen Webb .
- Index to American Photographic Collections
A book by Andrew H. Eskind.
- International Guide to Nineteenth Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers
A book by Gary Edwards.
- The Invention of Photography
A book by Quentin Bajac.
- Jasc Paint Shop Pro 8
Software by Jasc.
- The Keepers of Light: A History and Working Guide to Early Photographic Processes
A book by William Crawford.
- Ohio Photographers 1839-1900
A book by Diane Vanskiver Gagel.
- Ounce of Preservation: A Guide to the Care of Papers and Photographs
A book by Craig A. Tuttle.
- The Painted Photograph 1839-1914: Origins, Techniques, Aspirations
A book by Heinz K. Henisch.
- Paint Shop Pro 7 for Dummies
A book by David C. Kay.
- Paint Shop Pro 8 : The Guide to Creating Professional Images
A book by Robin Nichols.
- Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research
A book by Richard Rudisill.
- Photo Retouching & Restoration for Dummies
A book by Julie Adair King.
- The Photo Scribe: A Writing Guide: How to Write the Stories Behind Your Photographs
A book by Denis LeDoux.
- The Photoshop Book for Digital Photographers
A book by Scott Kelby.
- Photoshop Restoration & Retouching, Second Edition
A book by Katrin Eismann.
- A Preservation Guide: Saving the Past and Present for the Future
A book by Barbara Sagraves.
- Preserving Your Family Photographs: How to Organize, Present, and Restore Your Precious Family Images
A book by Maureen Taylor.
- The Silver Canvas: Daguerreotypes Masterpieces from the J. Paul Getty Museum
A book by Bates Lowry.
- Snapshot: America Discovers the Camera
A book by Kenneth P. Czech.
- Uncovering Your Ancestry Through Family Photographs
A book by Maureen A. Taylor.
- Unlocking the Secrets in Old Photographs
A book by Karen Frisch-Ripley.
- Victorian and Edwardian Fashion: A Photographic Survey
A book by Alison Gernsheim.
- Wedding Fashions, 1860-1980
A book by Avril Lansdell.
- Windows on the Past: Identifying & Preserving Photographs
A book by Diane Van Skiver Gagel.
- BlackMagic Image Enhancement - Black and White to Color
Colorize and restore old black and white photographs and images with this easy to use software.
- Family Chronicle's Dating Old Photographs
Book for sale from Family Chronicle Magazine.
- Family Photo Album for Windows
- FotoTagger
FotoTagger is a free Windows software tool that enables you to annotate family photos.
- Genealogical Storage Products
Archival storage products for documents, photographs, etc.
- HaikuNet.com's Photo Indexer
- Light Impressions Direct
Vendor of fine archival storage, display and presentation materials for your negatives, transparencies, CDs, photographs, slides, artwork and documents.
- Mended Memories Family History Journal
The Family History Journal CD is a fun and easy way to create display and share the pictures, stories and events of your Family History. The CD contains beautifully designed template pages for you to easily customize and print for the whole family.
- My Reflections Photobooks
Display your photos, certificates and stories in an elegantly bound photobook. Free software. Australian Made. Fast, easy and cost effective.
- Novelties
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- Passage Express -- Multimedia Presentation Software
Multimedia presentation software especially for genealogists. Create attractive auto-run presentations with genealogical data or slideshow movies. Lots of features.
- Picnam - Recording Information About Genealogy and Family History Photos
Ideal for making notes about scanned documents and photos; text files are fully searchable.
- Printfile archival supplies for storage of prints, negatives and slides
Photography supplies including archival photo albums, scrapbook supplies, leather portfolios, ring binders, loupes and lightboxes.
- SmartDraw Photo Software
SmartDraw Photo is the easiest and quickest way to organize, enhance, print, and share your photos. It's also a powerful graphic editor for creating beautiful images and web graphics.
- Supplies, Charts, Forms, Etc.
See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
- Suppliers - Sources of Conservation Supplies
- un-du
Adhesive removal product for freeing photographs from old photo albums or other adhesives without harm.
|