Advertisements


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
1996-2009: Your genealogy starting point online for more than a decade!
Google
Web CyndisList.com

Browse
Cyndi's List:

  • Main Index
  • Topical Index
  • Alphabetical Index
  • "No Frills" Index
  • Text-Only Index

    Search:
  • Search or Browse

  • Browse New Links
    Submit a New Link
    Mailing List
  • Browse Archives
  • Search Archives
  • RSS Archives
  • Cyndi's List BlogCyndi's List Blog

    Cyndi's List on Facebook


    Brand NEW Book!

    Social Networking for Genealogists

    Advertisement


    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi's List
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Support Cyndi's List
    Historical Timeline
    FAQ
    Make it Your Homepage!
    Link to Cyndi's List
    Awards & Recognition
    Internet Stuff You Need To Know
    Home Page
    Construction Kit

    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi
    FAQ
    Cyndi's Speaking Schedule & Calendar
    Cyndi's Books:
    Order Planting Your Family Tree Online from Amazon.com
    Planting Your Family Tree Online
    Netting Your Ancestors - Internet How-To Book
    Netting Your Ancestors

    Advertisements

    Footnote.com

    NewspaperArchive.com 7 Day Trial

    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore 

    125x125_3.gif - find your ancestors international

    FamilyTreeDNA

    Try a FREE issue of Family Tree Magazine

    Advertisements


    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ
    (Frequently Asked Questions):
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Before Sending E-mail to Cyndi...
    How to Submit a New Link to Cyndi's List
    How to Report a Broken Link Found on Cyndi's List
    How to Update an Existing Link on Cyndi's List
    New to genealogy and/or the Internet
    "Can you help me with my own research?"
    How You Can Support Cyndi's List
    More FAQs

    Advertisement

    Footnote.com

    Advertisement


    Advertisement

    NewspaperArchive.com 7 Day Trial

    Advertisement


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements

    Canada - Saskatchewan



    Canada GenWeb Project


    General Resource Sites


    Government & Cities


    History & Culture


    How To

    • FamilySearch Research Guidance - Research Outline - Saskatchewan 
      This outstanding outline introduces records and strategies that can help you learn more about your ancestors. It explains terms associated with this state's particular genealogy research and describes the content, use, and availability of major genealogical records.


    Libraries, Archives & Museums


    Locality Specific

    • Lajordson, Saskatchewan 
      Lajord Saskatchewan and they were Norwegian. The families who settled Lajord included HESLA's, HANSON's, STENERSON, BERG, KNUDTSON, the children of ELLEFSON, the children of STORLA'a, etc. Submitted bySilvia Vilches.
    • Otthon, Saskatchewan 
      Submitted by Judy BARSY(aka BARSI) and this is a church aprox 2 miles from Otthon that has about 50 graves some of which are my relatives the BARSI family. Pictures of the Plaque in Otthan and of the Hungarian cemetery. This site; Saskatchewan Atlas; shows the original settlements of Otthon in 1894.
    • St. Joseph's Colony 
      The settlement of St. Joseph's Colony (Josephstal) near Balgone, Saskatchewan, had been established some years previously (1886).Including Cemetery Records.


    Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat

    Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.


    Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information


    Military

    • Ancestry.com 
      Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
    • Canada - Military 
      See this category on Cyndi's List for related links.
    • Saskatchewan's War Memorials 
      A project to preserve information about War Memorials throughout Canada on the World Wide Web. The descriptions of these individual cenotaphs often includes names and other information on the dead which can be of interest to the genealogist.
    • The Unofficial Saskatoon Light Infantry (M.G.) Site 
      Resume of the Saskatoon Light Infantry (M.G.) 1939-1945. Regimental information, photo's, and battle information.


    Newspapers


    People & Families

    Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.


    Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services

    Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers


    Publications, Software & Supplies


    Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists


    Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
    (Born, Married, Died & Buried)

    The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.

    LeafCemeteries

    LeafCensus

    • 1881 Canadian Census 
      CD-ROM for sale from the LDS. Four-disc resource file includes a viewer disc that allows users to quickly search the database of approximately 4.3 million individuals. The discs contain a transcription of the original 1881 Canadian census, enumerated on 4 April 1881. Information from the following fields was extracted: name, age, gender, location at the time of the census, birthplace, ethnic origin, occupation, religious affiliation, marital status, and notations.
    • 1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors 
      A book by Jonathan Kalmakoff. 1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors provides family historians and genealogists with a guide to Independent Doukhobors living in Western Canada. The book contains over 6,600 names taken from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.
    • Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry 
      A central registry, which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
    • Ancestry.com 
      Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
    • Big Stick Lake 1901 Census 
      Big Stick lake Census Transcription 1901 The location is south of Fox Valley at 26-17-26-W3 and north of Maple Creek at 15-11-26-W3 1901 census covers the area of Tsp 13-Rge 26, Tsp 14-Rge 26, Tsp 13-Rge 26, Tsp 13-Rge 25, Tsp 17-Rge 25, Tsp 16-Rge 24. P.O named Big Stick Lake opened in 1911 at 22-14-26-W3. Big Stick Lake does not exist anymore.
    • Census of Canada, 1911 - ArchiviaNet - Library and Archives of Canada 
      This online database of 1911 census data from Library and Archives Canada allows researchers to search by geographic location only. As this is not a name index database, it is not searchable by family name. The information on these images can be used to prepare family or town/village histories, research immigration trends and a great deal more. The Fifth General Census of Canada began on June 1, 1911 and collected information related to each inhabitant of the country, including place of habitation, marital status, age, place of birth, religion, occupation, education, etc. The Census of Canada 1911 covered the nine provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) and two territories (the Yukon and the Northwest Territories) that were then part of Confederation. The creation of the microfilms from the original returns was authorized in 1955 with the paper records destroyed afterwards. The microfilming of these records was not of consistent quality and therefore not all images are decipherable. Unfortunately, the destruction of the paper records means that there is no recourse when a record is unreadable.
    • Census of the Northwest Provinces, 1906 
      Online searchable database of the 1906 special census of the prairie provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan & Manitoba). Includes digitized images of original census returns, which recorded the names of family members, their sex, marital status, year of immigration to Canada & post office address. Searchable by location only.
    • Doukhobor Census Records 
      This index describes various Doukhobor census records in Canada - their historical background, dates, content, usefulness and reliability, availability and published indexes.
    • Index to the 1906 Census of the Northwest Provinces 
    • Kamsack Gen Web Project 1901 Census Barrier River, Northwest Territories (Saskatchewan) 
      Transcription 1901 Census Barrier River, Northwest Territories (Saskatchewan) District 13 Sub 59.
    • Saskatchewan Gen Web Project - NWT Census Strays 1901 Victoria BC and area 
      1901 Victoria Census, Saskatchewan Strays indicate those persons with birthplace in Saskatchewan.
    • SGW- 1906 Census of Canada Saskatchewan Humboldt 13 Sub 15 
      1906 Census for Star City, Quill Lake areas.
    • SGW - 1906 Census of Canada Saskatchwean Humboldt District 13 Sub District No 2 
      1906 Census Foam Lake, Franz Lake, Quill Lake, Sheho, Stockholm, Wadena, Whitewood areas.
    • SGW 1906 Census of Canada, Saskatchewan North District 17 
      Census of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, 1906 Northern area District 17, Subdistricts 1 and 2 transcribed All that portion of the Census district of Saskatchewan North lying south of a line commencing at the intersection of Clearwater river with the west boundary of the province of Saskatchewan, thence northeasterly following the northern watershed of the Clearwater river to the portage from the headwaters of Gwillin river to the headwaters of Cree river, thence following the height of land between the waters that fall into Hudson Bay from those that fall in to the Arctic ocean to a point due north of Foster lakes, thence in a right line to the outlet of Reindeer lake, and thence due east to the eastern boundary of the province of Saskatchewan Buffalo River, Bull's House, Canoe Lake, Clear Lake, Fort Ile a La Crosse, Little Jackfish Lake, Pachewenahbe on the Churchill, Pelican Narrows, Pine River on the Churchill, Portage La Loche area, Primeau Lake on the Churchill River, Serpent lake, Serpent Lake on the Churchill, Souris River on the Churchill, South End of Reindeer Lake, Stanley on the Churchill, Swan Lake, Whitefish Lake, Whitefish River.

    LeafLand

    LeafMiscellaneous

    LeafObituaries

    LeafVital Records: Birth, Marriage, Death


    Religion & Churches


    Societies & Groups



    LeafReport a Broken Link / Update a LinkLeaf




    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - Canada - Saskatchewan
    Webmaster & Owner: Cyndi Howells, Cyndi@CyndisList.com
    Updated Thursday, 02 July 2009, 10:00:31 PM PDT

    [Copyright © 1996-2009 Cyndi Howells. All rights reserved.]   [Disclaimers]   [Privacy]   [FAQ]   [Support Us]
    This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without the author's consent.
    Background and title banner graphics property of Cyndi Howells.

    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet


    Advertisements
    First Name:
    Last Name:
    Footnote.com