Advertisements


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
1996-2009: Your genealogy starting point online for more than a decade!
Google
Web CyndisList.com

Browse
Cyndi's List:

  • Main Index
  • Topical Index
  • Alphabetical Index
  • "No Frills" Index
  • Text-Only Index

    Search:
  • Search or Browse

  • Browse New Links
    Submit a New Link
    Mailing List
  • Browse Archives
  • Search Archives
  • RSS Archives
  • Cyndi's List BlogCyndi's List Blog

    Cyndi's List

    Promote Your Page Too


    160+ Census Databases!

    120x240 Cencus

    Free 7-Day Trial WorldVitalRecords.com

    Advertisement


    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi's List
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Support Cyndi's List
    Historical Timeline
    FAQ
    Make it Your Homepage!
    Link to Cyndi's List
    Awards & Recognition
    Internet Stuff You Need To Know
    Home Page
    Construction Kit

    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi
    FAQ
    Cyndi's Speaking Schedule & Calendar
    Cyndi's Books:
    Order Planting Your Family Tree Online from Amazon.com
    Planting Your Family Tree Online
    Netting Your Ancestors - Internet How-To Book
    Netting Your Ancestors

    Advertisements

    Footnote.com

    125 by 125 for Dealtaker 40 percent off sale

    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore 

    Casefile Clues - genealogy how-tos

    Read More, Spend Less. New Lower Prices on Thousands of Books!

    FamilyTreeDNA

    Try a FREE issue of Family Tree Magazine

    Advertisements


    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ
    (Frequently Asked Questions):
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Before Sending E-mail to Cyndi...
    How to Submit a New Link to Cyndi's List
    How to Report a Broken Link Found on Cyndi's List
    How to Update an Existing Link on Cyndi's List
    New to genealogy and/or the Internet
    "Can you help me with my own research?"
    How You Can Support Cyndi's List
    More FAQs

    Advertisement

    Footnote.com

    Advertisement


    Advertisement

    120x600_newsarchive_dark_1.gif

    Advertisement


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisement

    Advertisement

    Scotland - Buteshire



    General Resource Sites


    Government & Cities


    History & Culture


    Libraries, Archives & Museums


    Locality Specific


    Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat

    Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.


    Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information


    Military


    Newspapers


    Occupations


    People & Families

    Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.


    Photographs & Memories

    Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life


    Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services

    Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers


    Publications, Software & Supplies


    Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists


    Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
    (Born, Married, Died & Buried)

    The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.

    LeafCemeteries

    LeafCensus

    • The National Archives (U.K.) 
      Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
    • ScotlandsPeople 
      The official government source of genealogical data for Scotland. A partnership between General Register Office for Scotland, the National Archives of Scotland and the Court of the Lord Lyon enabled by Scotland Online. A pay-per-view database that includes Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, Census Records, Wills & Testaments.
      • Census Records 
        The General Register Office for Scotland holds the census records for all Scotland. Online access to the indexes for 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891 and 1901 and images of the 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1891 and 1901 census returns is available here on ScotlandsPeople.

    LeafMiscellaneous

    • IGI Batch Numbers for Bute, Scotland 
    • The National Archives (U.K.) 
      Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
    • Parish Register Copies: Scotland - Buteshire 
      Parish register copies in the library of the Society of Genealogists as of December 1994.
    • ScotlandsPeople 
      The official government source of genealogical data for Scotland. A partnership between General Register Office for Scotland, the National Archives of Scotland and the Court of the Lord Lyon enabled by Scotland Online. A pay-per-view database that includes Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, Census Records, Wills & Testaments.
      • Wills & Testaments 
        Free index search of over 611,000 index entries to Scottish wills and testaments dating from 1513 to 1901.

      LeafObituaries

      • Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland 
        Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.

      LeafVital Records: Birth, Marriage, Death

      • Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland - Google Book Search 
        This list is based on the printed Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland which was first published in 1872. It provides a basic reference guide for identifying the dates for the births/baptisms, marriages/proclamations of marriage and deaths/burials in the Old Parish Registers (OPRs) held by the General Register Office for Scotland.
      • ScotlandsPeople 
        The official government source of genealogical data for Scotland. A partnership between General Register Office for Scotland, the National Archives of Scotland and the Court of the Lord Lyon enabled by Scotland Online. A pay-per-view database that includes Statutory Registers, Old Parish Registers, Census Records, Wills & Testaments.
        • Old Parish Registers 
          The Old Parish Registers (OPR's) comprise the records of births & baptisms, banns & marriages and deaths & burials kept by individual parishes of the Established Church (Church of Scotland) before the introduction of civil registration in 1855.
        • Statutory Registers 
          The official records of births, marriages and deaths in Scotland from 1 January 1855 when civil registration replaced the old system of registration by parishes of the Established Church (Church of Scotland).
          • SR Births 
            Entries from the paper indexes to the civil registers of births for all Scotland, from 1855 until 1905.
          • SR Marriages 
            Entries from the paper indexes to the civil registers of marriages for all Scotland, from 1855 until 1930.
          • SR Deaths 
            Entries from the paper indexes to the civil registers of deaths for all Scotland, from 1855 until 1955.


    Religion & Churches


    Societies & Groups



    LeafReport a Broken Link / Update a LinkLeaf




    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - Scotland - Buteshire
    Webmaster & Owner: Cyndi Howells, Cyndi@CyndisList.com
    Updated Thursday, 19 November 2009, 10:02:03 PM PST

    [Copyright © 1996-2009 Cyndi Howells. All rights reserved.]   [Disclaimers]   [Privacy]   [FAQ]   [Support Us]
    This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without the author's consent.
    Background and title banner graphics property of Cyndi Howells.

    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet


    Advertisements
    First Name:
    Last Name:

    Footnote.com

    Search Millions Of Original Documents

    First Name

    Last Name