-
Dacus Library Online: Winthrop University Archives and Special Collections
The Winthrop University Archives collects and preserves records relating to South Carolina history. Including records of families, individuals, organizations, and businesses that have contributed to the history of the Catawba region and personal papers of women and records of women’s organizations significant in documenting the contributions of women to the state’s history.
-
Diocese of Charleston Archives
Charleston, South Carolina. Holdings date from 1789 and continue to the present. The Archives include the papers of bishops, the administrative records of diocesan offices, chancery correspondence, and records of various agencies, religious orders, programs, and individuals reflecting the work and goals of the Church. In addition, we have the annual reports of parishes, parish histories, property records, deed and construction files, some architectural drawings, cemetery records, newspapers and photographs. Because individual parishes are required by Canon 535 to maintain their own archives, original registers containing sacramental records are not held in the Diocesan Archives. However, the archives often have microfilm copies of parish registers and these are available to search for sacramental records prior to 1930.
-
Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
-
FamilySearch - FamilySearch Centers in South Carolina
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
-
Furman University Libraries - Special Collections
The Special Collections Department serves as the official archives for both the South Carolina Baptist Convention and for Furman University. It also relates to the South Carolina Baptist Historical Society.
-
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
-
LibDex - The Library Index - South Carolina
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
-
South Carolina. Digitizes and makes accessible unique local resources. Their mission is to consolidate the Lowcountry Digital Library to include a variety of materials from public and private archives, including but not limited to libraries, archives, and museums. The Lowcountry is defined in Wikipedia as (always) Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties; (usually) Charleston-North Charleston-Summerville metropolitan area, consisting of Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester counties; and (sometimes) Allendale, Georgetown, and Williamsburg counties.
-
-
NARA | Locations | Southeast Region (Atlanta)
Records for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
-
-
South Carolina.
-
-
Repositories of Primary Sources: South Carolina
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
-
-
-
South Carolina Digital Library
A collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
-
-
University of South Carolina in Columbia.
-
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
-
-
WorldCat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, music CDs, videos, and many new kinds of digital content such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Special features include the ability for you to create lists of library items and build biblilographies.
Advertisements
Advertisements
United States » South Carolina » Libraries, Archives & Museums
46 Links










