Brand NEW Book!
 Advertisement |
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Vermont
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Vermont:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Vermont Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Vermont
- ALHN - Vermont Local American History Network
- Ancestor Search - Vermont Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Vermont
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Study Project Article by Robert Charles Anderson.
-
Ancestry.com - Vermont Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Vermont Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Vermont
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Vermont
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Vermont Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Vermont
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Vermont Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Vermont Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Vermont
- Kindred Trails - Vermont Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Vermont Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Vermont
- Looking 4 Kin - Vermont
- Middlebury College - Genealogy
- Migrations Across Vermont
- Naming Children in early New England
Scholarly work on the naming patterns used by early Puritans.
- New England History
Companion Site for New-England-History-L Mailing List. This site contains information, submitted by members, pertaining to the history of the New England States of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Related submissions are welcome from anyone who wishes to contribute material to the site.
- New England Roots Web Ring
- Northeast Kingdom Genealogy - Vermont
Records for the Northeast Kingdom counties of Caledonia, Essex, Orleans. And miscellaneous records for additional counties of Addison, Bennington, Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham, Windsor. Types of records include: cemeteries; census; marriage and death notices in old newspapers; marriage and death listings from town reports; membership lists for churches; obituaries; student and faculty lists for schools; town directories; and other miscellaneous.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Vermont
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Vermont
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - VTGenWeb Project
- Vermont Adoption Registry
Register if you were adopted in Vermont and are seeking non-identifying or identifying information regarding your adoption or your birth child's, siblings adoption. Also information about Vermont's adoption laws.
- Vermont Gateway
- Vermont Genealogy Resources
Contact information for Vermont clerks, courts & other state & private agencies. Geography, population, history & how to tips also included.
- Vermont Genealogy Site
Information on the FARR family, the Town of Cavendish.
- Vermont History and Genealogy
Genealogies of Vermonters of note as well as non-celebrated Vermonters. Source documents such as obituaries and census records for Vermont. General history and highlights of the state.
- Vermont History and Genealogy - American Local History
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Vermont in Databases or Vermont in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 2004 Vermont Town Clerks, Treasurers and County Clerks
A complete list of Vermont Town and City Clerks found on the Vermont Secretary of State Page.
- 50states.com - Vermont State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Vermont
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Vermont: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Vermont
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Vermont
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Vermont Home Page
- Stockbridge, Windsor County, Vermont Local History and Genealogy
- USA CityLink Project - Vermont
- Virtual Vermont Internet Magazine - Cities, Towns and Villages
- Yahoo! Get Local...Vermont Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- Ethan Allen Homestead
Historic site and museum. Information on Ethan Allen and the Allen family, founders of Vermont.
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Vermont
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- New England Flood of 1927
November 1927 floods which killed 85 people, mostly in Vermont.
- Some Vermont History
- Vermont State Historic Sites
The Vermont Division for Historic Preservation, part of the State of Vermont's Agency of Commerce and Community Development, identifies, protects and promotes Vermont's public and private historic and archeological resources; including the maintenance, operation, and interpretation of state-owned historic sites.
- Vermont History Timeline
- Virtual Vermont Internet Magazine - Vermont History
"Native Vermonters and Those Less Fortunate," "A Vermonter Was First" and "It Happened Here."
- Yahoo!...History...Vermont
- Archives in New England on the Internet - Vermont
New England Archivists.
- Family History Centers in Vermont
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Vermont
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Lake Champlain Maritime Museum ~ Vergennes, Vermont
The museum has documentation on boatmen, sailors, and boat builders and their families that they are willing to share.
- LIBCAT: US - Vermont
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Vermont
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Newberry Library | Vermont Genealogy Bibliography
- PublicLibraries.com - Vermont
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Vermont
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of Vermont Libraries
- Vermont Department of Libraries
- Vermont Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Vermont Genealogy - from Middlebury College Library
- Vermont State Archives
- Vermontiana Collections
A guide to Vermontiana collections at academic, special and selected public libraries.
- Virtual Vermont Internet Magazine - Vermont Library Directory, 1997
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
BOSTON-STATES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the migration between the Eastern Provinces of Canada and New England/New York.
-
CT-RIVER-VALLEY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical and/or historical interest in the Connecticut River Valley which is the area where the migrants from the Massachusetts Bay Colony and Plymouth Colony settled as early as 1635. The towns of interest are 30 miles on both sides within the boundry of the Connecticut River which include the states of New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
-
NEW-ENG-NATAM Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Native Americans in the New England and New York areas.
-
NORTHEAST-ROOTS-L Mailing List Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Vermont.
-
Vermont Mailing List
-
VERMONT Mailing List and the Vermont-L Home Page
-
VT-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in ancestors from Vermont who participated in the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
VTDATA Mailing List For the sharing of original Vermont source documents (e.g., wills, deeds, bible records, tax lists, cemetery files, pension applications, obituaries, old letters, marriage lists).
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Vermont
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Vermont
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Vermont
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- Antique Town Maps for Genealogy and History
Reproductions of old town maps with family names.
- Boston Rare Maps
Dealer specializing in antique and rare maps (and books with maps) of New England and the Northeast.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Vermont
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Vermont
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Historic USGS Maps of Vermont - Alphabetic Quad Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Vermont - Alphabetic Town Listing
- Historic USGS Maps of Vermont - Image Map
- Historic USGS Maps of Vermont - Quad Index
- Historic USGS Maps of Vermont - Town Index
- Map of Vermont Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Vermont
- Old Maps
Reproductions for sale of old maps of New Hampshire, Vermont & Massachusetts.
- Old Maps of New York, Pennsylvania and New England (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts)
Quality reproductions of towns in New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine with family names.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Vermont Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- University of Vermont Libraries - Maps
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Vermont County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Vermont
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Vermont Cities and Towns
Historic descriptions of Vermont counties, towns, mountains, rivers, and landmarks, from Hayward's New England Gazetteer of 1839.
- Vermont Map Collection
A selection of state, county, townships and historical maps, as well as links to Vermont maps at other sites.
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Vermont
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Search Military Records
-
Vermont Men in the Revolutionary War Original source: Goodrich, John E., ed.. The State of Vermont. Rolls of the Soldiers in the Revolutionary War 1775 to 1783. Rutland, VT, USA: Tuttle, 1904.
-
Vermont Pensioners, 1835 Original source: United States Senate. Report from the Secretary of War, in Obedience to Resolutions of the Senate of the 5th and 30th of June, 1834, and the 3d of March, 1835, In Relation to the Pension Establishment of the United States. [Vermont Section]. Washington, D.C.: Duff Green, 1835.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Vermont
- Civil War Rosters - Vermont
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Vermont
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed by home state, then by place, and there under alphabetically by name.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Vermont
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- Vermont in the Civil War
Vermont Civil War rosters, history, casualty listings, and cemetery listings.
- Vermont Veterans' Home
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Vermont
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically home state, home city, and there under by name.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Vermont
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records. Listed alphabetically by name.
- ABYZ News Links - Vermont - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Vermont
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Vermont
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Vermont
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Vermont
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Vermont
- NewspaperLinks.com - Vermont
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Vermont News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Vermont
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Vermont Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Vermont Newspapers
- The Vermont Chroncile
Online searchable index to names appearing in the Vermont Chroncile from 1826 to 1898 for births, marriages & obituaries. Details may subsequently be ordered.
- Vermont Newpaper Project
- Vermont Newpaper Publishing History
- World-newspapers.com - Vermont Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Vermont
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Vermont
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Vermont
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Landscape Change Program
A virtual collection of over 13,000 images many of which include names and places.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Vermont
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Vermont
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- American Ancestral Associates ~ Cranston, Rhode Island
A full-service genealogical company, with over twenty years experience, including research, consultation, education, and literary assistance.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Vermont or Specializing in Vermont
- Clifford L. Stott & Associates, Genealogical Research
A certified genealogist, accredited genealogist, and a fellow of the American Society of Genealogists, with more than 30 years of research experience in U.S. and British records. Specializing in Massachusetts, Maine, Connecticut, Vermont, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island.
- Eastern Townships and Quebec Genealogy
Marlene Simmons has indexed 490,000 church, census, newspaper, cemetery, some Vermont vital records, and other miscellaneous records.
- Genealogy Helplist - Vermont
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for North Eastern United States
Including the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Vermont
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Vermont and New England
The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Vermont
- Ancestry.com - The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1633
A CD-ROM for sale.
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Vermont
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Vermont
- Books We Own - Vermont
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Vermont
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Broad View Books
Used Genealogy Books, Local History of Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont and New England.
- eBay Listings: Search for Vermont Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Vermont
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Genealogy Titles from the Vermont Historical Society Book List
- Heritage Books: Vermont
- Higginson Book Company - Vermont
- Hope Farm Books - Vermont
- NEHGS Online Store
From the New England Historic Genealogical Society.
- Picton Press - Vermont
- Pine Cone and Tassel Newsletter
Bi-monthly genealogy newsletter covering Maine and New England.
- Quintin Publications | Vermont
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Vermont
- Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe - Vermont
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- Ancestry.com - Irish Famine Immigrants in the State of Vermont Gravestone Inscriptions
Original source: Murphy, Ronald Chase. Irish Famine Immigrants in the State of Vermont Gravestone Inscriptions. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000.
- Cemetery Junction: Vermont Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cyndy's Photos - Cyndy's Home - Written in Stone
The Connecticut River Valley area of New England was the "Cross roads of migration" to Vermont, New York and westward. Photographs of gravestones in the Connecticut River Valley area of Massachusetts and Connecticut, the earlier the date, the better. The cemeteries are located within 30 miles on BOTH sides of the Connecticut River which covers a good deal of area.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Vermont
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Vermont
- Funeral Services Providers - Vermont
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Vermont Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Vermont Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Vermont Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Vermont Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- Northeast Kingdom Genealogy - Vermont
Records for the Northeast Kingdom counties of Caledonia, Essex, Orleans. And miscellaneous records for additional counties of Addison, Bennington, Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham, Windsor. Types of records include: cemeteries; census; marriage and death notices in old newspapers; marriage and death listings from town reports; membership lists for churches; obituaries; student and faculty lists for schools; town directories; and other miscellaneous.
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Vermont
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Vermont
- Saving Graves - Vermont
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Vermont
- US Funerals Online - Vermont
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Vermont
- 1790 Census of Population and Housing
From the US Census Bureau. Printed transcriptions in .pdf or .zip format showing Heads of Household.
- AccessGenealogy - Vermont Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses
Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- Ancestry.com
Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Vermont
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Vermont:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Northern Vermont Census Records
This page covers the Vermont Counties of Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orleans, Washington.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- The Accident Insurance Company of North America List of Shareholders 1890
Search for names of shareholders in 1890. Includes residences and details of shares. Shareholders residences are Quebec, Ontario, Nova Scotia, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Scotland, New York and Vermont.
- Ancestry.com - Great Migration Begins Index: Immigrants to New England, 1620-33
Searchable database available by subscription.
- Ancestry.com
Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Vermont
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Vermont. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- Brighton, Vermont, Town Records, 1832-1865
Vital records, lists of scholars, and earmarks found in Brighton, Vermont, town records.
- County Courthouse Addresses
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- NEKG - Vital Records of Miscellaneous Sources
.
- NEKG - Vital Records of Town Reports
Vital records from Vermont town reports and town directories. Documents list occupations, marriage and death notices, various years that range from 1790's to 1980's.
- NEKG - Vital Records of Vermont Schools
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Search Engines for Ships Passenger Lists to New England
Custom Search Engine allows you to search multiple Internet sites for Passenger Lists of ships going to New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont) United States.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Vermont Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
- Vermont State Archives and Records Administration: Nye Index
The NYE INDEX was created by Mary Greene Nye, the Editor of State Papers, 1927-1950, as a name and subject index to Manuscript Vermont State Papers (Record Series SE-118) and the Stevens Papers. The Vermont State Archives automated more than 53,000 cards from the NYE INDEX, covering all 18th century records indexed by Mary Greene Nye. The NYE INDEX database is searchable by name, record description, and date. The index for 19th century records will be added as time and resources allow.
- Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection
Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- ObitsArchive.com - Vermont
The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Vermont Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Vermont
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
- Ancestry.com
Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Brighton, Vermont, Town Records, 1832-1865
Vital records, lists of scholars, and earmarks found in Brighton, Vermont, town records.
- MyVitalRec.com - Vermont Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- Northeast Kingdom Genealogy - Vermont
Records for the Northeast Kingdom counties of Caledonia, Essex, Orleans. And miscellaneous records for additional counties of Addison, Bennington, Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Rutland, Washington, Windham, Windsor. Types of records include: cemeteries; census; marriage and death notices in old newspapers; marriage and death listings from town reports; membership lists for churches; obituaries; student and faculty lists for schools; town directories; and other miscellaneous.
- State of Vermont Records Management Services
Includes contact information and printable forms used to request vital records certificates.
- VitalChek Network - Vermont
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Vermont
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Vermont Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Vital Records - Vermont Department of Health
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Vermont
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
|