Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Washington
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Washington:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Washington Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Washington
- Ancestor Search - Washington Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Washington
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Washington Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Washington
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Washington
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Washington Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Washington
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Washington Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Washington Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Washington
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- Kindred Trails - Washington Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Washington Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Washington
- Looking 4 Kin - Washington
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Washington
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Washington
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - WAGenWeb Project
- UW Genealogy and Family History Certificate Program
From the University of Washington in Seattle.
- Washington State Genealogical Society - Genealogical Events Calendar
- Washington State Genealogical Society - Washington State Genealogical Resource Guide
Addresses of repositories, bibiliography for further research & other information arranged by county.
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Washington in Databases or Washington in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Washington State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Access Washington
State of Washington home page.
- Court Web Sites - Washington
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Washington: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Washington
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Washington
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Washington
- Yahoo! Get Local...Washington Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Boom Towns & Relic Hunters of Northeastern Washington
A history of ghost towns & pioneers of Northeastern Washington State.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- The Clallam Disaster
On the 8th of January 1904 the ferry Clallam foundered and sunk with the lost of 54 people.
- From Shingle Mills To Suburbia - East Side Journal - 20th Century Kirkland
A newspaper history of an American town. Contains a searchable, 60,000-entry database of headlines from 1918-1975 in the East Side Journal, the weekly newspaper for Kirkland, Washington.
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Washington
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Ghost Towns of Washington
- Historic Places In Washington - OAHP
Over 1,600 places in Washington are listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the Washington Heritage Register.
- HistoryLink
Historical data, stories, and images detailing the people and events, that have formed Seattle, King County, and Washington state.
- Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park Seattle Unit
- Monticello Convention Petition Signers
Lists the signers of the petition, along with known descendants in 1952.
- Northwest of the West: the Frontier Experience on the Northwest Coast
- Photo Adventures - Museum of History and Industry ~ Seattle, Washington
A collection of historical photographs from the Pacific Northwest and Alaska.
- San Juan Island National Historic Park
- VAN OLINDA Photograph Collection
A collection of 420 photographs depicting life on Vashon Island, Whidbey Island, Seattle and other communities of Washington State's Puget Sound from the 1880s to the 1930s, most taken by Oliver Scott VAN OLINDA (1868-1954) a career newspaperman and resident of Vashon Island.
- WashingtonHistoryOnline.org
- Washington History Timeline
- Washington Secretary of State - Washington History
Information provided by the State Library & State Archives.
- Whitman Massacre Trial: A Clash of Cultures
From the Oregon State Archives.
- Yahoo!...History...Washington
- Center for Columbia River History
- Collins Memorial Library - University of Puget Sound
- Family History Centers in Washington
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Washington
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Fiske Genealogical Library ~ Seattle
- Heritage Quest Research Library ~ Sumner
- Historical Museums - Washington Online Highways
List of historical museums in Washington state, along with addresses, photographs, related links and other details.
- The Hudson's Bay Company Archives
From the Provincial Archives of Manitoba, Canada.
- LIBCAT: US - Washington
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Washington
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Longview Public Library
- Museum of History and Industry ~ Seattle
- Pacific Lutheran University - Robert A. L. Mortvedt Library ~ Tacoma, Washington
- PublicLibraries.com - Washington
- Puget Sound Archives are a Journey Backwards
Online article from the Seattle Times. Information on the Puget Sound Regional Archives at Bellevue Community College.
- Puget Sound Genealogy Resources
A list of research libraries and institutions in the greater Puget Sound area.
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Washington
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Seattle Archdiocesan Archives
The archives collect, organize, preserve and make available for research records of enduring value which reflect the life and work of the Catholic Church in the Pacific Northwest.
- Seattle Pacific University Library
- Seattle Public Library
- Seattle Public Schools Archives and Records Management Center
- Seattle University A. A. Lemieux Library
- Secretary of State - Archives & Records Management
- Archival Records Search
Search for State and Local Archival Records by submitting the form below.
- Archival Research
- Central Regional Branch
Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, and Yakima counties.
- Eastern Regional Branch
Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, and Whitman counties.
- Northwest Regional Branch
Clallam, Island, Jefferson, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom counties.
- Puget Sound Regional Branch
King, Pierce, and Kitsap counties.
- Southwest Regional Branch
Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Skamania, Thurston, and Wahkiakum counties.
- Washington History
- Cities, Counties & Corporations
Read the histories of towns, cities, counties, and corporations throughout Washington State that were founded during Washington's territorial period (1853-1889).
- Historical Maps
Browse our collection of historical maps of Washington State from its early days to the creation of the territory and finally statehood.
- Historical Records Search
Online searchable database of selected census records, naturalizations organized by date and county.
- Washington Territorial Timeline
To recognize the 150th anniversary of the birth of Washington, the State Archives has created a historical timeline of the Pacific Northwest and Washington Territory.
- Washington State Records Center
- Spokane Public Library
- Tacoma Public Library
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of Washington Libraries Information Gateway
- Washington Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Washington Public Libraries Online
- Washington State Archives - Central Regional Branch
Serves public agencies in the following nine Central Washington counties: Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, and Yakima.
- Washington State Historical Society
- Washington State Library
- Woodinville Library - King County Library System
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
EWANIDA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. Archives: browse or search.
-
OREGON-TRAIL Mailing List For those who want to research their family history concerning anything to do with the Oregon Trail. The history of the trail is an appropriate topic for discussion as well as postings of wagon train lists, and anything else genealogical including stories of life as a pioneer, diaries, queries, books, etc.Western states involved would mostly be Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; maybe even California, Utah and others. Time periods include around 1840-1900. Archives: browse or search.
-
PSROOTS Mailing List Sponsored by the Tacoma-Pierce County Genealogical Society for all genealogical and historical societies and their membership in the greater Puget Sound region of Washington, as well as anyone else who is doing genealogical research in this area. Topics include announcements for genealogical and historical society classes, seminars, meetings and other events; questions, queries, and requests for assistance regarding genealogical research in the Puget Sound area; and hints, tips, and articles posted to aid and inform fellow researchers. Archives: browse or search.
-
WA-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Washington.
-
WA-CEMETERIES Mailing List Sponsored by the Washington State Cemetery Association (WSCA), for questions, concerns, problems, etc. related to all Washington State cemeteries.
-
WA-CEMETERIES Mailing List Archives
-
WA-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Washington from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian).
-
WA-FREEDMEN Mailing List Archives
-
WAGEN-CEM Mailing List For the Washington Cemetery Project and USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project volunteers.
-
WAGEN-CENSUS Mailing List For the Washington Census Project and the USGenWeb Archives Census Project volunteers.
-
WAGEN-L Mailing List For discussing the creation of a single source for all Washington genealogy databases.
-
WA-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Washington newspapers published prior to 1931. Newspapers contain much of the information that may not be found elsewhere such as births, marriages, deaths, court notices, etc. They also provide community news and many fascinating details about the lives of our ancestors.
-
WA-OLD-NEWS Mailing List Archives
-
WASHINGTON Mailing List
-
WASHINGTON Mailing List Archives
-
WA-SKGS Mailing List For the members of the South King County Genealogical Society and others with an interest in the Society.
-
WA-SKGS Mailing List Archives
-
WA-TriCities-GenClass Mailing List For genealogy students in the Tri-Cities, Washington, area (Kennewick, Pasco, Richland and surrounding communities).
-
WA-TriCities-GenClass Mailing List Archives
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing List Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
-
WSGS Mailing List For the Washington State Genealogical Society. This list is open to all those who have an interest in the Society, including announcements, conference and meeting schedules, membership questions, etc.
- 1883 Pensioners on the Roll - Pierce County, Washington
This list is taken from the official Pension Roll of 1883, the major genealogical source for Civil War and War of 1812 pensioners. Pensioners are listed by post office address, and in no apparent order after that.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Washington
- Faces From The Wall - Washington State
Placing faces to the 1150+ Washington State men whose names are on the Vietnam Wall. Includes yearbook pictures, snapshots, obituaries, brief biographies & remembrances.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Washington
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Soldier's Home & Colony
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains information on the 9,170 veterans who lived at the Washington Soldiers Home & Colony between 1890 - 1970.
- Snohomish County, WA - Civil War
- Veterans Home
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains an index to the veterans housed at the Veterans Home in Restil from 1910 to 1977. There are 6,672 people listed in this database.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Washington
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- ABYZ News Links - Washington - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Periodicals & Newspapers Available by subscription.
- The Daily News Online ~ Longview-Kelso
- Footnote.com - Washington Newspapers
Ag Review, Arlington Times, Cheney Free Press, Coulee City News, Deer Park Tribune, Deer Park Union, Dispatch, Goldendale Sentinel, Herald Reporter, Issaquah Press, Marysville Globe, Mt. Adams Sun, Mukilteo Beacon, News and Standard, Othello Outlook, Palouse Republic, Quad City Herald, Quincy Valley Post-Register, Ritzville Adams County Journal, Ritzville Journal-Times, Royal Banner, Royal Review, South County Sun, Star, Tri-County Tribune, Wahkiakum County Eagle, West Seattle Herald, Woodinville Weekly. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- From Shingle Mills To Suburbia - East Side Journal - 20th Century Kirkland
A newspaper history of an American town. Contains a searchable, 60,000-entry database of headlines from 1918-1975 in the East Side Journal, the weekly newspaper for Kirkland, Washington.
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Washington
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Washington
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- The Issaquah Press
Includes historic articles.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Washington
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Washington
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Washington
- NewspaperLinks.com - Washington
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Washington News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Washington
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Washington Newspapers
- The Seattle Times
- The News Tribune ~ Tacoma
- Tri-City Herald Online
Kennewick, Pasco and Richland, Washington.
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Washington Newspapers
- UW Library Microform and Newspaper Collections
- Washington Newspaper Publishers Association
- Washington Secretary of State - Historical Newspapers in Washington
- The Wenatchee World
- World-newspapers.com - Washington Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Washington
- Oaths of Office
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains the names of nearly 16,000 elected officials who took an oath of office between 1854 and 1978.
- Physicians
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains the names of more than 9,000 licensed physicians who practiced in Washington between 1872 through 1938.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
 For Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Washington
- The Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis
- Eastern Washington Biographical Sketches
Name indexes and biographical sketches from the books "History of North Washington, an illustrated history of Stevens, Ferry, Okanogan and Chelan counties", 1904; and "History of The Big Bend Country, an Illustrated History of the Big Bend Country, Embracing Lincoln, Douglas, Adams and Franklin Counties, State of Washington", 1904.
- GEDCOM Index .com - Washington
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Issaquah Historic Families
- MercerGirls.com
They Called Them the "Mercer Girls." Washington Territory's Cargo of Brides.
- Suquamish Tribe
- Tribes and Villages of Washington
- WA Bios Project
Dedicated to transcribing bios of WA state residents. Part of the US Bios Project.
- Washington Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Washington Indian Reservation Orders
- Washington Indian Treaties
- Washington Tribes
List of federally recognized tribes of Washington with links to their web sites.
- WPA Life Histories from Washington
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Clark Kinsey Photographs Collection
Clark Kinsey's work as a photographer documented the logging industry in the Pacific Northwest. From shortly before World War I, spent his career documenting the logging and milling camps and other forest related activities in Washington, Oregon, California, and British Columbia. This collection consists of photographs of loggers and logging life in Washington State.
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Washington
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Washington
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Washington
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Washington
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Washington or Specializing in Washington
- Connie LENZEN - Certified Genealogist
Research in Oregon and southwest Washington.
- Desert Genealogy
Specializing in Pacific Northwest and Southwest United States research.
- Family Traces Genealogical Research
Patricia Hackett Nicola, CGRS. Research for the Seattle and the state of Washington and missing heirs research.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Peggy M. Winston, Certified Genealogical Records Specialist
Specializing in Washington and Oregon Research.
- Professional Genealogist for Oregon - Leslie Brinkley-Lawson
Research services specializing in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. Services include courthouse research, heir and probate research, historical and cemetery research, Internet research, census extraction, planning reunions, and helping build your family tree. Onsite research available. Genealogy lecturer.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Washington
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Tacoma-Pierce County Genealogical Society - Family Line Research
For help in the Tacoma-Pierce County, Washington area.
- Washington Research Services ~ Olympia, Washington
Genealogy research service.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- African American Cemeteries Online - Washington
- Associated Catholic Cemeteries - Archdiocese of Seattle
An official on-line database of all four Catholic cemeteries in Seattle. You search the database by surname. All names are listed by date of burial; from approx. late 1880's-today.
- Cemetery Junction: Washington Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Washington
Graves of noteworthy people.
- Fort Lawton Cemetery Index
Complete index of this federal cemetery in Seattle, Washington.
- Fort Lewis Cemetery
- Fort Worden Cemetery ~ Port Townsend, Washington
An index for this federal cemetery for the military post that is now Fort Worden State Park.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Washington
- Funeral Services Providers - Washington
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- Historical Notes - Calvary Cemetery ~ Seattle
- I Dream of Genealogy - Washington Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Washington Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Washington Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Washington Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- Pioneer Cemeteries located on the Fort Lewis Reservation
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Washington
- Portland,OR - Vancouver,WA Cemeteries
Portland, Oregon & Vancouver, Washington cemetery, funeral home, & gene contact information.
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Washington
- Saving Graves - Washington
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Washington
- US Funerals Online - Washington
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Washington
- Vancouver Barracks Cemetery Index
A federal cemetery near Vancouver, Washington.
- Washington Cemetery Project
From the US GenWeb Archives
- Eden Valley Cemetery
Also known as Buskala Family Cemetery.
- Elma Catholic Cemetery
Also known as St. Joseph's Cemetery.
- Fern Hill Cemetery, Wahkiakum County
- Grays River Grange Cemetery, Wahkiakum County
- Greenwood Cemetery, Cathlamet, Wahkiakum County
- Johns River Cemetery, Markham, Washington
- Mt. Adams Cemetery, Glenwood, Klickitat County, Washington
- Old Schafer Homestead Cemetery
Also known as Schafer Valley Cemetery and Satsop Valley Cemetery. Some of the graves here were moved to Shafer Cemetery and to Fern Hill Cemetery.
- Pioneer Cemetery in Cathlamet, Wahkiakum County
- Rosburg Cemetery, Wahkiakum County
- Seal River Cemetery, Wahkiakum County
- Washington State Cemeteries in Danger
- 1910 Federal Census
Online searchable index from the Washington Secretary of State for selected counties.
- AccessGenealogy - Washington Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Oregon Territory Census, 1850 Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Census, 1850-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Census, 1850-90 Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Washington
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Washington Census Project
From the US GenWeb Archives
- 1850 Federal Census for Lewis County, Oregon Territory
Included what is now Lewis, Thurston, and Pierce counties.
- 1858 Chehalis County Territorial Census
Now Gray's Harbor County.
- 1860 Thurston County Territorial Census
- 1910 Federal Census - Fox Island Precinct, Pierce County, Washington
- Buckley, Pierce County, Washington 1890 Census
- Douglas Co., Washington Territory, 1885 Territorial Census
- Index of 1910 Federal Census, Pierce County, Wilkeson, Washington
- School Census of Students, Arline, Washington, 1911
- Territorial and State Census Schedules in Washington
- Washington State 1910 Census Index
Soundex-based index for selected counties from the Washington State Genealogical Society.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Washington Secretary of State - Washington History - Historic Records Search
Census and naturalization records are available in a searchable database.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Directories & Membership Lists Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Periodicals & Newspapers Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Washington
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Washington. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- National Archives Microfilm Collection in Seattle
A list of 549 microfilm publications available at the Pacific Alaska Region branch of NARA.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Washington
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Northern Pacific Beneficial Association Records Overview - NPBA Hospital Records Database
The Washington State Historical Society's Research Center has posted 11,000 hospital records from the Northern Pacific Beneficial Association Northern Pacific Hospital Records, Tacoma, Washington, 1905-1930.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Washington Counties, United States
- Seatco Prison at Bucoda
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains the prison register of more than 500 inmates housed in the Seatco Prison. The Prison operated from 1877 until 1888 when the new Territorial Penitentiary was built in Walla Walla.
- Supreme Court Register Naturalization Records
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains 56 people who began the process of naturalization at the Supreme Court from 1855-1896.
- titleX.com
Online deed records for select Texas and Washington state counties.
- Walla Walla Penitentiary
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. contains extracts from the Record of Penitentiary Convicts of more than 3,000 inmates housed in the Walla Walla State Penitentiary from 1887-1904.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Washington Secretary of State - Washington History - Historic Records Search
Census and naturalization records are available in a searchable database.
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Washington
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington Marriages, 1802-1902 Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Washington State Birth Index 1907-19 Available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Certificate Ordering
From the Washington State Dept. of Health's Center for Health Statistics. Includes ordering instructions for vital records certificates.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- MyVitalRec.com - Washington Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- Social Security Death Index
Searchable online database from the Washington Secretary of State. Contains the Social Security Death Index (SSDI) for those individuals who either had a Social Security card issued in Washington State, had their last residence in Washington state, or had their last benefit payment mailed to an address in Washington State just prior to their death. The database contains approximately 1,399,756 records.
- VitalChek Network - Washington
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Washington
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Washington Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Washington (USA): Washington State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Western States Marriage Search Form
Index for marriages in western states, including mostly pre-1900 marriages in Arizona, Idaho and Nevada. Also some counties in California, western Colorado, Montana, Oregon, Utah, eastern Washington, and Wyoming.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Washington
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Big Bend Chapter
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Blue Mountain Chapter
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Central Washington Chapter
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Columbia Basin Chapter
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Greater Seattle Chapter
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Olympic Peninsula Chapter
- Blue Mountain PAF Users Group
Eastern Oregon & Southeast Washington.
- Eastern Washington Genealogical Society ~ Spokane
- Genealogical Societies in Washington State
- Independent Order of Odd Fellows - Washington
Jurisdictions for the IOOF, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Washington State ~ Mercer Island, Washington
- Northwest Archivists
- Pacific Northwest Cornish Society
Cornish association for the Northwest and Canada. Surnames, resources, meetings, events of interest for researchers of families from Cornwall, U.K.
- Puget Sound Maritime Historical Society ~ Seattle, Washington
The Puget Sound Maritime Historical Society's purpose is to collect, preserve and display maritime historical objects, relics and data with particular emphasis on the Pacific Northwest. Their Puget Sound Maritime Research Library is an outstanding resource for maritime research and holds the extensive Williamson Collection of ship photographs.
- Seattle, Portland & Spokane (SP&S) Railway Historical Society ~ Vancouver, Washington
- Society Hill: Washington Genealogy
A list of addresses for genealogical and historical societies in the state.
- The Swedish Finn Historical Society ~ Seattle, Washington
The archives contains material pertaining to Swedish-speaking Finns, their emigration history, and the history and culture of Finland. The SFHS Quarterly is available to members. The website includes a database, TALKO, of over 1.7 million names shared by Swedish Finn family researchers; and a discussion forum, Finlander, of 1,800 researchers around the world. Membership in Finlander is free.
- WARM--Washington Adoption Reunion Movement
Our mission is to provide support, search, reunion, education and training in the life long issues surrounding adoption.
- Washington Freemasonry - State of Washington, USA
- Washington State Cemetery Association
Dedicated to the preservation of old/abandoned cemeteries in Washington state.
- Washington State Funeral Directors Association
- Washington State Genealogical Society
- Washington State Historical Society
- Washington State Railroads Historical Society & Museum ~ Pasco
- Washington State Society, Children of the American Revolution
- Washington State Society Daughters of the American Colonists
- Washington State Society Daughters of the American Revolution - Washington State Society NSDAR
- WSSAR - Washington Society of the Sons of the American Revolution
First organized in Spokane on February 1, 1894.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|