|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
Wales / Cymru - Glamorgan
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- The Blue Books of 1847 ~ Wales
The 1847 Government Report on Education is important for social historians of mid nineteenth century Wales because of the wealth of information contained in it on not only the appalling state of the education system in the country, but also on everyday life and work in both the industrialised & rural areas. Genealogists can use these reports to learn the conditions of the schools, literacy rates, prevailing wages & social structure of parishes of interest. It also contains direct comment on the religious and moral standing of the people of Wales. But the blue-covered report is infamously remembered for the furore and agitation it caused in Wales because of the remarks of the three non-Welsh speaking Anglican commissioners regarding the Welsh language, Nonconformity and the morals of the Welsh people in general. Complete scanned images of the printed report from the National Library of Wales.
- A Brief History of the Port of Cardiff
- Butetown History & Arts Centre
- The Merthyr Rising 1831
- Swansea History Web
- Victorian Pontypridd
A look at the history of the Pontypridd South Wales during Victorian times.
- Bridgend Library and Information Service
- Caerphilly Library Service
- Cardiff Library Services
- Cyngor Archifau Cymru / Archives Council Wales
- Familia
Directory of family history resources held in public libraries in the UK and Ireland. Provides information about the libraries and their holdings.
- Family History Centers in Mid Glamorgan
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Centers in South Glamorgan
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Centers in West Glamorgan
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Glamorgan Record Office / Archifdy Morgannwg ~ Cardiff
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- Rhondda Cynon Taff Libraries
- Swansea Library Service
- University of Wales Swansea
- Vale of Glamorgan Libraries
- West Glamorgan Archive Service
- University of Swansea Archives
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
GLAMORGAN Mailing List
- The Glamorgan Mailing List's Website
Guidance to all those interested in family & local research in Glamorgan and surrounding counties. Contains area photos & how to translate Welsh gravestone inscriptions into English. Has Welsh recipes and many genealogical useful links.
-
WLS-GLAM-BRITONFERRY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Briton Ferry, Glamorgan, Wales; a sea-port on the Neath (Nedd) River on Swansea Bay. Discussion includes surrounding towns sharing similar industry; Neath, Baclan and others.
-
WLS-SWANSEA Mailing List
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Ancestral Roots
Genealogical Research in SE Wales: Glamorgan and Monmouthshire/Gwent. For details please send e-mail to: Anne Scales MSc BA, AncestralRoots@annescales.freeserve.co.uk.
- Free Census Searches for Wales
Breconshire 1841-1871, Carmarthenshire 1841-1851, Glamorganshire 1841-1861, Monmouthshire 1861-1871.
- Glamorgan Lookup Exchange
Lists volunteers who will look-up parish registers, census records, book indexes, etc, pertinent to Glamorgan.
- Jennie's Family History Services
A research service for the 1891 census of Cardiff, a burial research service, a Polaroid photograph service.
- LJ Research
Glamorgan research specialists. 1837-1900 Parish & Non Conformist Marriages indexed - for sale on discs. Glamorgan 1871 & 1901 Census indexed for sale on discs. Barry School Admission Registers.
- South & West Wales Genealogical Index
Research in Carmarthenshire, West Glamorgan, National Library of Wales, Public Record Office and the Society of Genealogists undertaken.
- Your Roots .net
Genealogical research and publishing service.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Births, Marriages and Death indexes transcribed - Ancestry.com This page has a great description of the BMD collection and its origins.
-
Search Birth, Marriage & Death Records Including baptism, christening, and burial records.
-
England & Wales, Birth Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1837-1983 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1984-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Birth Index, 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Death Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Marriage Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Pallot's Baptism Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Pallot's Marriage Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
UK Parish Baptism, Marriage and Burial Records A collection of parish records in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland from the 1500s to the 1900s. Original source: Electronic databases created from various publications of parish and probate records.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Neath Port Talbot Registration Services
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|