|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Writing Your Family's History
|
|
-
Adding Detail to Your Narrative Article by Patricia Law Hatcher.
- American Ancestral Associates - Literary Services ~ Cranston, Rhode Island
A full-service genealogical company, with over twenty years experience, including research, consultation, education, and literary assistance.
- Association of Personal Historians - Helping You Record Your Life Stories and Memories
Tips for capturing family memories and interviewing elders. Lists of upcoming conferences and workshops to enhance interviewing and other skills. Membership roster lists oral and personal historians by state.
- Capturing Memories
Workshops & assistance in writing memoirs and family histories.
- David's Genealogy Discussion Lists Homepage - Email Writing Style
Mailing List Helps - Sites with information to help enhance your mailing list experience.
- The Family History Project ~ United Kingdom
The History Channel is searching for interesting family stories for publication.
- The Center for Life Stories Preservation
Family Stories - Military Memoirs - Reunions - Genealogy - Anniversaries.
- Cyndi's Genealogy Home Page Construction Kit
-
Genealogy.com: Internet Genealogy, Level 2 -- Lesson 5: The Mechanics of Writing your Family History Online tutorial.
- Genwriters - Writing for Future Generations
Your genealogy source for ideas and resources to bring your family history to life.
- How to Donate Published Genealogies to the Library of Congress
-
Illustrating the Life of a Camera-Shy Ancestor Article by Loretta Evans.
- Legacy Memoirs: Publisher of Life Stories and Oral Histories
Publishers of oral histories, personal memoirs, and custom biographies for families worldwide.
- Life Story Writing Network
The Life Story Writing Network site contains a collection of serious and witty family life stories, descriptions of unusual situations and links to affiliated sites and mailing lists.
- Life Story Writing Network - I Love Life Story Writing
It's one thing to know when and where they were born, who they married and when they died. It's another more wonderful thing to read a vignette of your Gramma and see a piece of yourself in that story. Your relatives come vividly alive on each page. The memories can't help but touch your life.
- Life Stories and Memoirs of Others
Discussion forum for those who write the life stories of others.
- Memoir Mentor
Classes, seminars, editing, and consultation for memoir and family history writers.
- MyLifeStory.org
Write your personal history using our exclusive method. Hundreds of fun and thought provoking questions to spark memories. Free newsletter to provide inspiration and a reminder to keep writing. Personal editing and epublishing services. Your life story, one story at a time.
- PersonalHistoryHelp.com: How To Write Great Personal Histories
Learn 10 easy steps to writing a great personal history, for you or an ancestor. Learn to organize and preserve memorabilia, take oral histories, and write and publish on a shoestring budget. Contribute and read tips, print copyright forms, and use the links to other personal history sites.
- Publish Your Own Family Keepsakes
- Roots Television
Roots Television is an online television network by and for avid genealogists. Videos include how-to demonstrations, conference lectures, and region-specific programming including Irish, Hispanic, British, Jewish, African-American research and more. Videos are available online, on-demand, and virtually all of them are absolutely free.
-
The Story of My Life Article by Valerie Holladay.
-
Ten Easy Steps to Writing Your Family History Article by Valerie Holladay.
- Turning Memories Into Memoirs
Free e-newsletters for life history writing. Workshops, Leader Training Institute, teleclasses, books, binders, and other resources for family history, personal history and memoir writing.
- Writing a Family History
Article on writing a family history story.
- Writing Your Autobiography
From the About.com genealogy section.
- WordsWorth2
Find encouragement for turning your genealogy research into articles or books. Includes lists of publishers, writing organizations, a glossary, contests, and a bookstore.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Genealogy Resources on the Internet - Mailing Lists Most of the mailing list links below point to this site, wonderfully maintained by John Fuller. John indexes links for all known genealogy mailing lists, including RootsWeb and others.
-
RootsWeb: Genealogy Mailing Lists The majority of genealogy mailing lists are hosted by RootsWeb.com. Messages on RootsWeb lists are archived. The links to RootsWeb below point you to the archives (browse or search).
-
FamHistorians Mailing List Devoted to recording and preserving family histories, that will be of interest to scrapbookers creating heritage albums and those writing family stories, past and present. Topics include preserving old photographs, journaling, memory book products, scrapbooking tips and techniques appropriate for heritage albums, preserving genealogy research, etc.
-
FamilyMemories Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the preservation of family memories through stories, pictures, genealogy charts, scrapbooking and journaling.
-
GENAUTHOR Mailing List For anyone writing or publishing or planning on preparing and publishing a biography, family genealogy book or similar work related to genealogy, history or culture, to discuss of all aspects of the effort, including organizing the data, choosing a format, selecting a mode of publication, publisher, etc.
-
GEN-EDITOR Mailing List For editors/publishers of genealogical, surname and family newsletters to have a place to discuss and share ideas and tips.
- Yahoo! Groups: Life Story Writing Discussion List
Life Story Writing discussion forum is for Writers, biographers, family and personal historians or anyone who is interested in writing, genealogy or family history. Everyone has a life story. Have you written yours? We exist to promote life story writing as a means to leave an accurate record of events in our lives, our values, family traditions and spiritual beliefs for the next generation.
- Yahoo! Groups - Preserving_Our_Heritage : Preserving Our Heritage
A mailing list to discuss all things about gathering and preserving our family history. Help to those new to genealogy as well as for those who have spent many years of research and now want to preserve it for future generations. Discussion for heritage scrapbooking, journaling, photography, and anything that will encourage others to preserve their heritage.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Alpha to Omega - The Genealogy Bookmaker
Software which creates books based on your GEDCOM file. It will create a book of descendants of the person you select from your GEDCOM file.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Writing Your Family's History
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Biography Writer
Biography writing service.
- Carole's Write Place
Fee based assistance in writing family histories.
- Celebrate A Life.com
Dedicated to capturing and preserving the stories of people's lives.
- FamilyHistoryProducts.com
Computer software for recording your life story.
- Family Trees 2003
Publisher who compiles your family's genealogy, supplied by you, recorded in a 100 - 225 page spiral-bound book
- GenIndex Main Page
Windows software for creating "every name" or "back of the book" indexes.
- Heritage Books: Writing Aids
- How To Write and Publish Your Family Book
Book for sale from Genealogy Publishing Service.
- Innovative Binding Inc.
Hardcover binding.
- IXM, Software for creating "Back of the Book Indexes"
- Kindred Keepsakes
Genealogy charts; tips & hints for publishing your own family keepsakes.
- KinWrite
Converts a PAF file into a book.
- LifeBio
Online template for writing a personal history, autobiography or biography.
- Lifes Relections
Memories kit.
- The LifeStory Institute
For family historians and others interested in education and research in narrative writing.
- Margaret L. Ingram, Life History Consultant
Products and services available for life history writers.
- My Life
Software by Life.com.
- My Memories
A kit for a memory jar and a book.
- Once Upon a Lifetime... Take the Time to Record the Stories of Your Life
A book for sale that includes 10,000 + questions that help guide a discovery of the stories of our lives, as told by the people that are part of our history.
- Publishing Your Family History on the Internet
- Publish Your Own PDF Genealogy Book Electronically on the Web
- SKY Software
End of book indexing software.
- TapisInc.com
Interview books and scrapbook pages that help you capture the memories of your family, friends and yourself. Great for personal, oral and family histories. 14+ books, 25+ scrapbook pages.
- Dogwood Printing, Inc
Custom printing for family histories, birth and death records, cemetery records, census records, church histories, marriage records, & town histories. Newsletters and quarterlies are also printed.
- Family History Books ~ United Kingdom
Online bookstore specialising in books about family history and related topics sponsored by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- Family Heritage Interactive
Family history to CD-ROM service.
- Family Heritage Publishers
Print, bind and publish your family history or biography.
- Family History Publishers
Boutiful, Utah publisher of family, city, and company histories.
- FamilyLearn
Memory book publishing, online journaling.
- Fast Books
Perfect Bound Paperback Books, Glebe NSW, Australia.
- Gateway Press
Helps people self-publish well-designed, quality books at a reasonable cost.
- Genealogy Publishing Service
- Gorham Printing
A Pacific Northwest book printer specializing in design and printing of self-published books in all subjects and genres, with the ability for short print runs...from 25 copies to 3,000.
- The Gregath Publishing Company ~ Wyandotte, Oklahoma
- The Habit of Rainy Nights Press
Family history book publishing, including editing, writing, layout, prepress and bookbinding.
- Heritage Books, Inc.
Author information - So You Want to Publish a Book?
- Heritage Makers
Preserve your precious memories in a custom, hard-bound storybook. The Roots book is for preserving the memories of your ancestors for posterity. Also greeting cards, calendars, postcards, and digital scrapbooking.
- Hollyhock Press
Publisher of genealogical books covering the region of Bath, Highland, Augusta and Pocahontas Counties, Virginia and West Virginia.
- JESH - Electronic Publishing for Genealogy
Easily publish stories, genealogy and photos in electronic format on CD.
- Memory Catchers
Personal historians.
- Nashville Editorial Service
Professional writers and graphic artists help you tell your own story in a unique and personal way; transcribes, scans, & restores photos, letters, & documents; presents your story in a handsome book, CD, or website.
- Newberry Street Press
The special publications division of the New England Historic Genealogical Society.
- PageSmith
Graphic design, copywriting, newsletters, family histories.
- Publish Your Personal Autobiography With Forever Yours
- S. Ingram & D. Robinson - The Family History Bookbinders
Our "You print it out, we'll bind it" service enables you to have your computer print outs bound into a gold tooled hard backed book. Single volumes welcome.
- Shortrunbooks.com
Bookbinders for family history self-publishers.
- Yahoo!...Genealogy...Family History Publishers
- Storytellers
Publishers of books & CDs to preserve your family stories.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|