|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Catholic
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Catholic Calendar Page
- The Catholic Encyclopedia
- Catholic Encyclopedia: Ecclesiastical Abbreviations
Short intro followed by lists of abbreviations for Latin terms found in church records.
- Catholic Files
Resources are available that are about Catholicism or which might be of interest to Catholics.
- Catholic-Hierarchy
Information on dioceses, bishops, countries & events.
-
Catholic Marriage Records: Discovering an Immigrant's Place of Origin Article by George Ryskamp.
- Catholic Parishes Online Directory and Mass Times
Includes a search engine parish locator by parish name, area code, city, state, zip code or diocese.
- Catholic Priests in South Australia 1841 - 1906
Years of service (first to last) of Catholic Priests in the Adelaide and Port Augusta/Pirie regions for the first 65 years of an established Church.
- Dioceses Around the World
A directory of Catholic dioceses with homepages on the Internet.
- History of the Papacy
- Local Catholic Church History and Genealogy Research Guide and Worldwide Directory
Research Guide to Local Catholic Church Archdiocese, Diocese and Parishes, History, Biographies and Genealogy information and links Worldwide for both Roman and Eastern Rite.
- Mass Times
Provides addresses for Catholic churches in the United States organized by state and then alphabetically by city name.
- Religious Movements
From the University of Virginia. Includes profiles on over 200 religious movements. Each profile offers basic demographic and background information, a summary of beliefs, discussion of controversial issues (when appropriate), links to important web sites about each group, and select print bibliographies
- US Catholic Diocese Addresses
- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - Calendar of Saints
When records reference Saint's Days rather than dates.
- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - Traditional Catholic Calendar
- Archdiocese of Atlanta - Archives and History
The Archives of the Archdiocese of Atlanta is the repository for official records of the archdiocese which are to be retained permanently for historical or legal purposes or because they are vital records. Included are records of administration and of curial, parochial, institutional, and confraternity groups in existence currently as well as those which have ceased to exist or which may be created in the future.
- The Archdiocese of Baltimore, Maryland
- The Archdiocese of Chicago's Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Archives & Records Center
The Archdiocese of Chicago's Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Archives & Records Center, with more than 8,000 cubic feet of archival materials, constitutes one of the world's largest repositories of Archdiocesan Archives.
- Archdiocese of Santa Fe - Historic/Artistic Patrimony, Archives and Museum ~ New Mexico
- Archidiecezja Pozna–ska
The Catholic Archdiocese of Poznan Poland has significant information for genealogists. Although most of it is in Polish, it is easy to make out some parts of it. Under "Archiwum Archidiecezjalno" find the address, phone and email for the Archdiocesan Archives which lists all the Catholic churches for which it has baptism, marriage and death records with years included. At bottom of the Archives Homepage find a British map for an English version. Under "Dekanatow i parafii A.P." find a map of the Archdiocese divided into deaconates with the names of all the present Catholic churches listed by the towns where they are located.
- Archives - Archdiocese of Boston ~ Massachusetts
Includes parish registers, sacremental records, and cemetery records.
- The Archives of the Diocese of Shreveport ~ Louisiana
Holds the baptisms, marriages, and death records of its constituent parishes.
- Sacramental Records
Centralized copy of sacramental records for the Diocese of Shreveport. The earliest sacramental records of the Shreveport diocese date from the mid to late 1800s. Sacramental records dated before 1925 are considered to be open for research purposes.
- Archives of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Toronto ~ Canada
- Archives of the University of Notre Dame ~ Indiana
- Archivo Histórico de la Arquidiocesis de Monterrey
Records (baptisms, marriages, and deaths between the years 1668-1900) from the northern part of the Mexican state of Nuevo León (area immediately around Monterrey and north to the Texas border).
- Catholic Archdiocese of Kingston Ontario - Genealogical Research ~ Canada
- Catholic Archives of Texas
- Catholic Central Library ~ London, England
- Catholic Diocese of Alexandria Archives ~ Louisiana
- The Catholic Diocese of Fargo, North Dakota - Archives & Records
- Catholic Diocese of St. Augustine - Archives
The archives offers protection for the permanent records of diocesan offices and ministries, parishes, organizations, schools and other institutions. Collected in a central information repository they are available (with restrictions) for reference and research. Here also are maintained the episcopal archives of the diocese (1857-1967) and original Cathedral-Basilica Parish registers of St.Augustine (1594-1881). The archives also handles requests for genealogical research and history of Catholicism in Florida.
- The Catholic Diocese of Syracuse, New York - Diocesan Archives
Maintains archival collections of information and materials of historical value for the diocese and parishes.
- Catholic Diocese of Wilmington (Dioecesis Vilmingtoniensis)
- Diocese of Charleston Archives ~ Charleston, South Carolina
Holdings date from 1789 and continue to the present. The Archives include the papers of bishops, the administrative records of diocesan offices, chancery correspondence, and records of various agencies, religious orders, programs, and individuals reflecting the work and goals of the Church. In addition, we have the annual reports of parishes, parish histories, property records, deed and construction files, some architectural drawings, cemetery records, newspapers and photographs. Because individual parishes are required by Canon 535 to maintain their own archives, original registers containing sacramental records are not held in the Diocesan Archives. However, the archives often have microfilm copies of parish registers and these are available to search for sacramental records prior to 1930.
- Diocese of Galveston-Houston Archives ~ Texas
- Diocese of Houma Thibodaux - Archives & Historical Research Center ~ Louisiana
- The Diocese of La Crosse - Chancery Office/Archives ~ Wisconsin
- Diocese of Lafayette - Archives/Research and Information ~ Louisiana
- Diocese of Owensboro Archives ~ Kentucky
- Diocese of Pittsburgh Archives and Records Center ~ Pennsylvania
The Archives collects and preserves those records of historical significance that document the history of the diocese and of Catholicism in Western Pennsylvania.
- Diocese of Reno Archives ~ Nevada
- DMs from the Archives of the Archdiocese of Durango
A microfilm project of the Rio Grande Historical Collections, New Mexico State University Library.
- Episcopal Diocese of Maryland Archives
- Genealogical Information Guide
From the Archdiocese of Chicago's Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Archives & Records Center.
- Guide to Catholic Church Records at the Archives From the Maryland State Archives.
- Leeds Diocesan Archives
The archives holds the papers of the Roman Catholic Church in Yorkshire, (1688-; some papers for other parts of the North of England before 1840. Hogarth MSS: 19th-century transcripts of the papers of the secular clergy in Yorkshire, 1660-).
- New Orleans Archdiocesan Archives ~ Louisiana
- Genealogy
Sacramental, cemetery & orphanage records.
- Parliamentary Archives: House of Lords Record Office
The archive service for both Houses of Parliament and facilitates public access to several million records which are preserved in the Victoria Tower repository. The records include original Acts of Parliament from 1497, Journals from 1510, papers laid before Parliament from 1531, Peerage papers from 1597, Judicial papers from 1621, and plans of canals, roads, railways and other public works deposited in connection with private bills from 1794. Amongst the comparatively few records of genealogical interest are the Protestation returns of 1642 and certain Papist returns.
- Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center (PAHRC)
The PAHRC contains marriage and baptismal registers before the year 1900 for parishes presently within the Archdiocese of Philadelphia (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia Counties).
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Cincinnati - Archives
The Historical Archives of the Chancery maintains a master set of Catholic sacramental records, on microfiche, for the nineteen (19) county area of Southwestern Ohio over which the Archdiocese of Cincinnati currently presides. However, these records are not opened to the general public, and may only be handled by authorized personnel.
- Roman Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge
Information about the archives, hours of operation, etc.
- Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester -- Archives ~ New York
- Roman Catholic Diocese of San Jose in California - Archives and Records
Contact information only.
- Salford Diocesan Archives ~ England
Roman Catholic Diocese of Salford.
- Scottish Catholic Archives
- Searching for your Catholic Ancestors
From the Diocese of Pittsburgh's Archives and Records Center.
- Seattle Archdiocesan Archives ~ Washington
The archives collect, organize, preserve and make available for research records of enduring value which reflect the life and work of the Catholic Church in the Pacific Northwest.
- U.S. Catholic Documentary Heritage Project
From the U.S. Catholic Historical Society, an online guide to repositories and collections of primary sources documenting the history of Catholicism in the United States.
- Vatican Library/Secret Archives
- Archdiocese of Ottawa/archidiocèse d'Ottawa ~ Canada
- Associated Catholic Cemeteries - Archdiocese of Seattle
An official on-line database of all four Catholic cemeteries in Seattle. You search the database by surname. All names are listed by date of burial; from aprox. late 1880s-today.
- Catholic Church in England & Wales
- Catholic Churches of Maine
- Catholic Church in Butler County
 Historical and Genealogical Research: The Roman Catholic Church in Butler County, Ohio.
- Catholic Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle - Map
Map of the Catholic provinces and dioceses of England and Wales.
- Catholic Diocese of Limerick
- catholic-heritage.net - Scottish Catholic Heritage at home and abroad
- Catholic History
Links of interest for the history of Roman Catholicism in the United Kingdom.
- Catholic Indians in the Mission of Grand River ~ Michigan
- Catholics of Nova Scotia in World War 1
- Catholic Parish Histories
Jubilee histories in the St. Louis County Library.
- Catholic Research in the St. Louis, Missouri Area
Provides map of the Archdiocese of St. Louis showing the 10 Missouri counties within the Archdiocese. Links lead to other maps and lists to facilitate Catholic research in the St. Louis area.
- Detroit Area Polonia and the city of Hamtramck Genealogical Website
Catholic church microfilm index list, cemeteries,and more.
- Detroit Catholic Churches-Souvenir Album Published in 1910 ~ Michigan
- Diocèse de Montréal ~ Canada
- Diocesan Sites and Webmasters - U. S. Catholic Dioceses on the Web
- DioceseNet - Catholic Information Services
Searchable directory of US Catholic dioceses.
- Erzbistum Berlin ~ Germany
- Finding Sacramental Records - Archdioces of Los Angeles
Information on how to find an existing baptismal certificate and contact information.
- Guide to Quebec Catholic Parishes and Published Parish Marriage Records
A book by Jeanne Sauve White.
- Hearts Of Oak - A study of the Recusancy in the Moorlands of NorthEast Yorkshire 1569 to 1840
Includes transcriptions of Recusant registers.
- Heritage Trail Press | Genealogy and Historical Family Research Records
Pay-for-use databases for Oregon and Utah. Including: Old Historic Oregon and Utah Newspaper; Oregon Catholic Church Records; Cumulative Indexes to Munnicks Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest; Portland City Directories; Oregon BLM Maps; Oregon Metsker Atlases; Oregon Cemetery Survey (free); Oregon Death Index (free).
- A History of the Parishes of the Diocese of Lake Charles ~ Louisiana
- Holy Trinity Church, Boston, Massachusetts
This site by Marge Reid has a multitude of resources for the church including the 1895 HTC Parish Directory and an HTC researchers directory, as well as many others.
- Local Catholic Church History and Genealogy Research Guide and Worldwide Directory
Research Guide to Local Catholic Church Archdiocese, Diocese and Parishes, History, Biographies and Genealogy information and links Worldwide for both Roman and Eastern Rite.
- Locating Catholic Church Records in New Mexico
Catholic churches by name of church, town, and diocese. List of known numbers of microfilm with vital records for that church, and the location(s) where those films may be searched. Includes the 13 Colorado counties along the New Mexico border.
- Maryland Catholics on the Frontier
Maryland Catholics who migrated westward.
-
MCF-ROOTS Mailing List A mailing list (Maryland Catholics on the Frontier) for the discussion of descendants of Maryland Catholics who migrated first to Kentucky and then to other parts of the frontier. Archives: browse or search.
- Men of the Cloth
Preachers, pastors, priests and other clergy in Western Pennsylvania.
- The National Archives | The Catalogue | Research Guides: A to Z ~ U.K.
- National Conference of Catholic Bishops/United States Catholic Conference
- The New Jersey Catholic Historical Records Commission
- PGSA - Marriage Index for Polish Parishes in Chicago through 1915
Index from the LDS has microfilmed registers of parishes in the Archdiocese of Chicago.
- PGSA - PRCUA Insurance Claim Index
From the Polish Roman Catholic Union of America. Early death claims (before about 1912) are mostly in the form of names entered into ledger books. Death claims thereafter will have a death certificate as part of the claim. The records index goes up to about 1940.
- PHIND - Personal History Index
Computerised index detailing the location of records held in Australia for former child migrants to Catholic Homes between 1938 and 1965.
- POLHOME - Polish Catholic Parishes in USA
- Polish Parishes in Western New York
- The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Philadelphia
- The Recusant Historian's Handbook ~ United Kingdom
- The Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence - Cemeteries ~ Rhode Island
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop - Catholic
A source for books of interest to the family historian researching UK ancestors who were Catholic.
- St. Anthony of Padua Catholic Cemetery, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 1851-1995
A book by Mary Hawker Bakeman.
- US Catholic Dioceses Addresses
Addresses and some websites for Catholic dioceses located in US.
- U.S. Dioceses - Diocese Web Sites
A directory from the Catholic Online web site.
-
VATICAN-CITY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the City/State of Vatican City located in Rome, Italy. Archives: browse or search.
- Wilmington Diocese Catholic Parish Registers ~ Delaware
A list of microfilm numbers for parish registers available through the LDS Family History Library and Family History Centers. Records included on the microfilm begin in 1790 for baptisms through 1920, marriage and other registers through 1960 (35 Rolls).
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Catholic
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: St. Paul, Oregon 1839-1989 Vol I, II and III
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Oregon City, Salem, and Jacksonville
A book by Harriet Duncan Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Roseburg and Portland
A book by Harriet Duncan Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Grand Rounde
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: St Ann, Walla Walla and Frenchtown
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Vancouver and Stellamaris Mission Vol I and II
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Germans from Russia (Krasna, Bessarabia, Russia) in South-Central North Dakota, 1890-1990, statistical compendium
A book by Ted J. Becker.
- Chronicle of the Popes: The Reign-by-Reign Record of the Papacy over 2000 Years
A book by P. G. Maxwell-Stuart.
- Communion of Immigrants: A History of Catholics in America
A book by James Terence Fisher.
- Marvels of Charity: History of American Sisters and Nuns
A book by George C. Stewart.
- Papal Genealogy : The Families and Descendents of the Popes
A book by George L. Williams.
- Polish Parish Records of the Roman Catholic Church, Their Use and Understanding in Genealogical Research
A book by the Polish Genealogical Society.
- Protestant Non-Conformity & Roman Catholicism - PRO Readers' Guide No. 13
A book by David Shorney.
- Records of the Irish Catholic Church
A book by Patrick J. Corish.
- Understanding and Using Baptismal Records
A book by John Humphrey.
- U.S. Catholic Sources : A Diocesan Research Guide
A book by Virginia Humling.
- Western Maryland Catholics, 1819-1851
A book by Richard T. Koch.
- Canal Heritage Enterprises
Books on early Northeastern Illinois Catholic Church history with lists of baptisms and marriages from 1833 to 1851.
- Genealogical.com - Religions/Catholic
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Catholic
- PRO Pocket Guide Tracing Your Catholic Ancestors
Book for sale from the United Kingdom's National Archives bookshop.
-
Ancestry.com - Catholic Records Article by Joy Reisinger.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Catholic Sources Finding aid available by subscription. Lists all resources available to find ancestors of Catholic background including the addresses of all the dioceses in the United States.
- Archdiocese of Milwaukee Catholic Cemeteries
Search engine of Catholic cemeteries in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin Archdiocese.
- Catholic Cemeteries for the Archdiocese of Los Angeles ~ California
- Catholic Cemeteries of the Archdiocese of St. Louis ~ Missouri
- Catholic Cemeteries - Catholic Diocese of Wilmington
Covers Delaware & parts of Maryland.
- The Catholic Diocese of Fargo, North Dakota - Diocesan Cemeteries
- Olive Tree Genealogy - Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum Manhattan New York 1900
Names of orphaned children in Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum, Manhattan New York from the 1900 census. Includes year and place of birth.
- Parish History Collection
A Directory of Works at the University of Notre Dame.
- The Records of St. Peter’s, New York City’s Oldest Catholic Parish
Article by Harry Macy, Jr., F.A.S.G., F.G.B.S. Originally published in The NYG&B Newsletter, Winter 2002.
- St. Albertus Polish Catholic Church ~ Detroit, Michigan
- St. Peter's Catholic Cemetery ~ Jefferson City, Missouri
- Sweetest Heart of Mary Polish Catholic Church ~ Detroit, Michigan
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|