-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Mt Cotton Cemeteries Monumental Inscriptions $
Mt Cotton, originally settled by German pioneering families, is in the Logan City area, Queensland, south of Brisbane. Mt Cotton (Cornubia) Cemetery is located at the corner of Mt Cotton and Wuduru Roads, Cornubia. The earliest known burial is that of Detlef Holtorf who had been born at Rostorf in 1846 and died at Mt Cotton in 1881. More recently, a columbarium has been erected at Mt Cotton Lutheran (St Paul's). A plaque on the church commemorates the settlers who arrived in the early 1870s and the erection of the first St Paul's Lutheran Church in 1875. The earliest plaque records the death of Edward Albert Benfer who died in 1932 aged 1 day. These transcripts were made in December 1995.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Mundubbera Cemetery Index $
Mundubbera is a town in the Wide Bay - Burnett region of Queensland, 405 kilometres from Brisbane. The headstones in the cemetery cover burials from 1911 with the latest in this index being in 2008 when the transcription was done.
-
Names in Stone: 75,000 Cemetery Inscriptions From Frederick County, Maryland. Holdcraft, Jacob Mehrling. (1966)
-
Ohio Cemetery Records. (1984). This work consists of all of the cemetery record articles published in The "Old Northwest" Genealogical Quarterly between 1898 and 1912. It consists primarily of tombstone inscriptions from cemeteries in the following counties: Trumbull, Geauga, Portage, Lorain, Guernsey, Knox, Licking, Delaware, Franklin (including the city of Columbus), Madison, Fairfield, Pickaway, Athens, Vinton, Ross, and Jackson. There also are some burial records and inscriptions from cemeteries in East Haddam, Conn., and Rutland, Mass., which were important departure points for migrations into the "Old Northwest." Many of the recorded inscriptions identify not only the age and death date of the deceased, but the names of his parents, spouse, or children. Provided for this work is a full-name index of nearly 20,000 persons identified in the records.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Pimpama Island Cemetery Monumental Inscriptions $
Located in Behm's Road, Norwell west of Jacob's Well in the north Gold Coast area of Queensland. The earliest death recorded on a headstone is that of Elizabeth Dorothea Kleinschmidt in 1881. This transcript was made in December 1995.
-
Bunya Cemetery (established 1873) - Bunya Road, Bunya; Dayboro Cemetery - McKenzie Street, Dayboro; Lawnton Cemetery - Norfolk Avenue, Lawnton; Samford Cemetery - School Road, Samford Village and Samsonvale Cemetery - Golds Scrub Lane, Samsonvale. The earliest inscription relates to the death in 1866 of John Charles Richards, infant son of Thomas and Elizabeth Richards - in Samford Cemetery. Bunya Cemetery is no longer in use but Dayboro, Lawnton, Samford and Samsonvale Cemeteries all have recent burials. Transcription completed June 2002.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Ravenswood Cemetery Headstones Index $
Ravenswood, located about 120 kilometres south-west of Townsville, was founded in 1868 following the discovery of gold and was an extremely prosperous gold mining centre with a population of up to 5000. The Hotels and Publicans Index published by QFHS shows more than 50 hotels in the 1870s. Today it is almost a ghost-town though it still has many reminders of the past - mullock heaps, tall chimneys, discarded machinery and the cemetery. Headstones remaining in the cemetery in November 2003 record details of former residents from 1872 to recent times, with 2001 the date of the most recent burial recorded on the monumental inscriptions.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Redland Bay Cemeteries Monumental Inscriptions $
There are two cemeteries at Redland Bay - the older, which was designated as a cemetery in 1890, is at Serpentine Road and was transcribed December 1996. Few headstones remain - the earliest death recorded is in 1896 for J. S. The main cemetery, gazetted in 1909, is located at Gordon Road, Redland Bay. The transcription of headstones in January 1997 indicates that there are some inscriptions pre-dating the gazettal of the cemetery.
-
Register of the Confederate Dead, Interred in Hollywood Cemetery, Richmond, Va. (1869)
-
Roll of Honor: Names of Soldiers Who Died in Defense of the American Union, Interred in the National Cemeteries, Numbers 1 - 6.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Rookwood Cemetery $
Where no plot number is shown, refer to the record for the first listed associated person where these details will be found. Rookwood Cemetery is vast, and it is essential that researchers have denomination, section, row and plot numbers on hand before visiting the cemetery. The Society of Australian Genealogists has a number of useful section maps available on its website which will help to determine the location of a gravesite. Rookwood Cemetery History: Originally known as Haslem's Creek Cemetery and officially called the Necropolis, Rookwood Cemetery now stands in the centre of suburban Sydney on more than 777 acres. Over one million burials are believed to have taken place since it was opened in 1867, making it widely regarded as the largest cemetery in the southern hemisphere.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Sandwich, New Hampshire Cemeteries $
Sandwich, New Hampshire Cemeteries. Mrs. Harriet Vittum Lighton (1930)
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Scottish-American Gravestones, 1700 - 1900 $
Scottish-American Gravestones, 1700-1900. David Dobson. (1998). Prior to 1855, gravestone inscriptions represent almost the sole source of death information in Scotland. After that date, Scottish law mandated the systematic recording of births, marriages, and deaths throughout the nation, while prior to 1855 Scottish parish registers tended to focus on baptismal and marriage entries, to the virtual exclusion of death records. The only other major sources of death information lie in the obituary pages of the Scottish press, or in the various Registers of Testaments. In recent years the precariousness of Scottish tombstones has been underscored by their deteriorating condition, prompting various genealogical societies to transcribe the information found on them. When one considers that a number of these gravestone inscriptions contain references to family members who died abroad, as well as those who died in Scotland, Scottish gravestones take on even more importance for North Americans. These facts have not been lost on the indefatigable Scottish researcher, David Dobson, who, drawing upon both published and unpublished sources, has compiled this new volume of death records, Scottish-American Gravestones, 1700-1900. In all there are more than 1,500 death records in the volume, and they are arranged alphabetically according to the surname of the decedent. While the transcriptions vary, all of them also give the decedent's date and place of death and the source of the information, as well as, in many instances, the names of the individual's parents, name of spouse, and even a word or two about occupation. While this diminutive volume can scarcely purport to be the final word on its subject, it nonetheless affords a substantial number of links to researchers hoping to bridge the gap between Scotland and North America.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Some Cemetery Records of Abbeville County, South Carolina $
Some Cemetery Records of Abbeville County, South Carolina. South Carolina WPA. (1982). The records presented here were copied by the WPA from tombstones in three cemeteries in Abbeville County, South Carolina: Melrose Cemetery, Episcopal Churchyard, and Long Canes Cemetery. While the majority of transcriptions give only the name of the decedent and his dates of birth and death, a number of them also refer to kinsmen or provide additional biographical information. Refers to nearly 3,000 persons buried in Abbeville County cemeteries between 1795 and 1936.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - South Brisbane Cemetery Monumental Inscriptions $
South Brisbane Cemetery Monumental Inscriptions indexes all monumental inscriptions in South Brisbane Cemetery, Dutton Park, as transcribed during the 1980s by members of the Queensland Family History Society, with some more recent inscriptions added while the current index was in preparation. South Brisbane Cemetery is located at Dutton Park, Brisbane and is under the authority of the Brisbane City Council. It was established as a general cemetery in 1866 but it was not until 1 August 1870 that the first burial took place - that of Mrs Jane Hocking. Memorials range from those of prominent early residents to those of prisoners from nearby Boggo Road Gaol, including that of bushranger Patrick Kenniff who was hanged in 1903. The cemetery was closed to new burials in 1961-2 though burials continued in family plots and a small number of new plots were released in 1998-9. In general the Portion of the monument is recorded, however, in some instances Portions have been grouped together as it is not clearly defined where the boundaries lie: Portions 2C and 2D; Portions 2A and 2F; Portions 4B and 4C; Portions 7A and 7C, Portions 7B and 7D; Portions 8A, 8B and 8C; Portions 10C and 10D. Foreign inscriptions have been managed as follows. German - the index contains the name, dates and some of the information. French - the index contains the name and dates. Greek - the index contains the name and dates. Cyrillic inscriptions (includes Russian, Serbian, Croatian, Yugoslavian) - the index contains the name and dates
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Taroom Cemetery Monumental Inscriptions $
Taroom is a town on the Dawson River in Queensland - approximately 485 kilometres north-west of Brisbane. It is a major centre for the beef industry. The earliest burial in the cemetery is that of John Currie who was accidentally killed on 27 August 1891. Transcription was completed in October 2000.
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - The Old Jewish Cemeteries at Charleston, South Carolina, 1762 - 1903 $
The Old Jewish Cemeteries at Charleston, South Carolina. A Transcript of the Inscriptions on Their Tombstones. 1762 - 1903. With an Introduction and Full Index by Dr. Barnett A. Elzas. Rabbi of K. K. Beth Elohim. (1903)
-
WorldVitalRecords.com - Tombstone Inscriptions From Hunterdon County Cemeteries $
Tombstone Inscriptions From Hunterdon County Cemeteries. Deats, Hiram Edmund. Unknown. (1918)
Cemeteries & Funeral Homes » Locality Specific: A-Z » Cemeteries & Funeral Homes - W
155 Links










