|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Birth, Marriage, and Death Records (Vital Records)
Professional genealogists specializing in U.S. birth, marriage, and death records.
-
Ancestry.com - Obtaining Vital Records Article from "Along Those Lines..." by George Morgan.
- Clarifying Clara
Beyond the Index - Michael John Neill. This article analyses a 1920s era death certificate and discusses additional sources and records that should be accessed based upon what information is contained in the death record.
- Death Records
Visitors contribute death record information to this site.
- eBay Listings: Births, Marriages, Deaths
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- FamilySearch.org - Where to Write for Vital Records
- Family Tree Connection - Death Records
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Parish and Vital Records List
A list of indexed church and vital records available from the LDS Family History Library.
-
RootsWeb's Guide to Tracing Family Trees - Lesson 4: Vital Records: Death, Tombstones and Cemeteries
- Online Searchable Death Indexes, Records & Obituaries - A Genealogy Guide
a directory of online death indexes listed by state and county. Included are death records, death certificate indexes, death notices & registers, obituaries, probate indexes, and cemetery & burial records. Also included is information about searching the Social Security Death Index online.
- Shaking Your Family Tree: Finding Vital Records The Easy Way
By Myra Vanderpool Gormley, C.G.
- VitalChek
Certified copies of birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates and other vital records.
- Vital Records for U.S. Research -- The Records Room
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Where to Write for Vital Records
From the National Center for Health Statistics, United States
- World Genealogy Records
A place to search for wedding, birth, death and cemetery records and also to post your own family records.
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Vital Records
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- Writing Cause-of-Death Statements
From the National Center for Health Statistics. Aimed primarily at medical examiners who write the statements, the tutorials on this site also gives the genealogist some idea of typical problems faced with interpreting a cause of death statement on a death certificate.
Australia & New Zealand
See also: Cyndi's List - Australia & New Zealand
- 1880-1920 Otago Daily Times Births Deaths Marriages, Anniversaries Index, Dunedin, New Zealand
See the details near the end of this page.
- Australasia Births, Deaths and Marriages Exchange
The aim of the Australasia Births, Deaths and Marriages Exchange is to provide genealogists with a free resource to share information about details contained on civil and parish records registered in Australia and civil records registered in New Zealand.
- Australian Death Notices, Funeral Notice and Obituaries
Australian death notices, funeral notices, memorials and obituaries from all states and territories contained in a centralised, comprehensive site.
- Australian Vital Records Index
An indexed collection of references to 4.8 million birth, christening, marriage, and death records. This index covers only New South Wales (1788--1888), Tasmania (1803--1899), Victoria (1837--1888), and Western Australia (1841--1905).
- Births, Deaths and Marriages Before Civil Registration
- Births, Deaths, and Marriages Registration Office of South Australia
Civil registration information for the state of South Australia.
- Colonial Tasmanian Family Links Database
A database made up of records of births, deaths, and marriages, as well as other events, that is designed to connect families with ancestors who lived in Tasmania in the 19th century.
- Deaths at the Alfred Hospital and the Melbourne Benevolent Asylum
Part 1 of a two part listing, which includes names, ages, nativity, cause and date of death of residents of Melbourne in the 1860's and 1870's.
- Deaths In the Melbourne Hospital, 1867-1880
An index of foreign born residents of Melbourne who passed away at the Melbourne Hospital between 1867 and 1880.
- Deaths and Memoriams Extracted from the `New Zealand Herald' 1993
From New Zealand. Find a surname of interest then e-mail the owner of the page for details.
- New South Wales Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages
- New Zealand Birth and Death Entries
Shows the format of these civil registration records and what information they record.
- New Zealand Births, Deaths & Marriages Office
- The Ryerson Index to Contemporary Death Notices and Obituaries in Australian Newspapers
Indexes to death and obituary notices appearing in the two local daily newspapers in Sydney, AUS ("Sydney Morning Herald" and the "Daily Telegraph"). Updated monthly in respect of current entries, with back-indexing also in progress.
- Tasmania Birth, Death and Marriage Records
Tasmania birth, death, marriage records, convict records, pioneer database, census, wills, land grants. All genealogy records for Tasmania available.
- What You Can Expect to See on a AUS BDM Certificate
Canada
See also: Cyndi's List - Canada Index
- Alberta Family Histories Society (AFHS) Genealogical Projects Registry ~ Canada
A central registry which provides a bibliography of genealogical projects, both online and offline, in Canada. The registry is categorized by province/territory, then by record type: births, marriage, census, deaths, and other.
- Archives : Clifford & Area
Birth, marriages, and deaths covering a portion of Carrick Township (Bruce County), Howick Township (Huron County), Minto Township (Wellington County) and Normanby Township (Grey County) in southwest Ontario.
- Bill Martin's Genealogy Page
Has several articles for Ontario genealogical research, including lists of microfilm numbers for ordering from the archives or an FHC
- Births, Deaths, and Marriages - Ontario Ministry of Consumer and Business Services
- Births, Deaths and Marriages Reported in Calgary, Alberta Newspapers, 1883-1899 ~ Canada
- Brantford Public Library - Births, Marriages, Deaths Index ~ Ontario
From notices appearing in the Brantford Expositor: 1852-1916, 1917-1938, 1960-1982, 1988-2002.
- Burials at Niagara 1792 to 1829 ~ Ontario, Canada
- Death Notices Index, 1901-1939 ~ Victoria, British Columbia
From the City of Victoria Archives.
- Death Records for Ontario on Ancestors At Rest
Death records for Ontario. Cemetery records, vital statistics, coffin plates, funeral cards, obituaries, family bibles and much more.
- Deaths and Obituaries ~ Ontario, Canada
- Free Death Records Index for Bruce County Ontario on Ancestors at Rest
- Northwest Territories, Canada, Birth, Death, and Marriage Records, 1925 to the Present
How to access and utilize these records from FamilySearch.org.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: Canada Births Deaths & Marriages Exchange
- Olive Tree Genealogy: Ontario Vital Statistics & Church Records - Deaths, Burials, Wills, Obits ~ Canada
Search hundreds of free online Ontario death records found in churches, newspapers and vital statistics. How to find death records before 1869, when vital stats began.
- Ottawa Valley Guide - Death Notices ~ Canada
Death notices for the Ottawa Valley (Ontario, Canada) and Pontiac regions (Quebec, Canada).
- Province of Manitoba | Consumer & Corporate Affairs - Vital Statistics
Information on how to obtain birth, marriage and death certificates from Manitoba, Canada.
- Vital Events Indexes - BC Archives ~ Canada
Miscellaneous
- Amsterdam.nl - Dienst Persoonsgegevens
Obtain birth, marriage, divorce, death and address records online for Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands from 1893-present.
-
Ancestry.com - Mexican Parish Records, 1751-1880 Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Database of marriage, baptism, and death records from nine Mexican parishes: Matamoros, Agualequas, Mier, Sabinas Hidalgo, Vallecillo, Cadereyta, Camargo, Cerralvo, & Guerrero with over 100,000 records including 400,000 names.
- Hong Kong Deaths Registration
From the Hong Kong Immigration Department. Includes contact information and hours of operation.
- Singapore Death Extract Application
From Singapore Immigration & Registration. Online application available.
United Kingdom & Ireland
See also: Cyndi's List - United Kingdom & Ireland Index
- Angmering Village History - Baptisms, Marriages & Burials in the 1870s ~ Sussex, England
- Ayrshire Births Marriages and Deaths Database ~ Scotland
- Births, Marriages and Deaths
From the United Kingdom's familyrecords.gov consortium.
- British Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition
CD-ROM for sale from the LDS Church. Contains more than 12.3 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland from 1530 to 1906.
- Cheshire BMD - Cheshire Births, Marriages and Deaths on the Internet
Searchable online index to over 276,000 birth and 125,000 marriages registrations from the county of Cheshire.
- Death Notices in Yorkshire Newspapers ~ England
Index to death notices in a selection of Yorkshire newspapers.
- FreeBMD Project
"FreeBMD stands for Free Births, Marriages, and Deaths. The FreeBMD Project's objective is to provide free Internet access to the Civil Registration index information for England and Wales."
- General Register Office - Registration of Births, Adoptions, Marriages and Deaths ~ England and Wales
- Holy Trinity Church Baptism, Marriage and Burial Register Index 1840-1899 ~ Tansley, Derbyshire, England
- Irish Ancestors - The Records
- Kent Registration Services - Birth, Marriage and Death Certificates ~ England
Online searchable index for registration districts in Kent.
- Lancashire Births Marriages & Deaths - Lancashire BMD
Online searchable index for birth, marriage, and death registrations in Lancashire.
- The National Archives | The Catalogue | Research Guides: A to Z ~ U.K.
- Ordering Birth Registration Certificates from England & Wales
Using the LDS Family History Center Resources.
- Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages, Dundee ~ Scotland
- Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths in East Sussex ~ England
- Scotland Births Deaths Marriages Exchange ~ A Free Scotland Genealogy Resource
Free resource for sharing information about details contained on civil and parish registrations in Scotland.
- Scotland Borders ~ Scotland
Includes transcriptions of birth, marriage and death records as well as links to other useful sites.
- Scots Origins
Scots Origins is an online "pay-per-view" database of indexes from the genealogical records of the General Register Office for Scotland - the GRO(S). The Scots Origins database contains fully searchable indexes of the Old Parish Registers of births/baptisms and banns/marriages dating from 1553 to 1854, indexes to the Statutory Registers of births, deaths and marriages from 1855 to 1898, and the index to census records for 1891. Extracts of the original entries in the GRO(S) records can be ordered directly from the database. Extract orders are processed by GRO(S) and sent via ordinary mail as paper documents.
- Shetland Births, Deaths and Marriages
Database for the Shetland Isles covering recent years.
- Tees Valley Indexes Register of Births, Deaths & Marriages in Cleveland and the Tees Valley
Online searchable indexes to the registers of births deaths and marriages held at Middlesbrough Register Office, and also at neighbouring offices at Stockton-on-Tees, Redcar & Cleveland, and Hartlepool.
- The UK BDM Exchange
Pay-for-use site with details of nearly 90,000 Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates since 1837 along with details of Church records of Baptisms, Burials and Church Marriages from before 1837.
- UKBMD - Births, Marriages, Deaths Indexes & Census transcriptions for the UK, On-Line
Links to web sites that offer on-line transcriptions of UK births, marriages, deaths and censuses.
- Yorkshire Births Marriages Deaths - Yorkshire BMD
Online searchable database of births, marriages and deaths from select years and select areas.
Alabama
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Alabama
Alaska
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Alaska
Arizona
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Arizona
Arkansas
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Arkansas
California
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - California
Colorado
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Colorado
- Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment - Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Certificates
Available years for birth, death, marriage, and divorce records: Births, 1910-present; Deaths, 1900-present; Marriages, 1900-1939, 1975-present; Divorces, 1900-1939, 1968-present.
- Kit Carson County Death Register 1893-1907
- Records Room: Colorado Counties, United States
- VitalChek Network - Colorado
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Colorado
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Colorado
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Connecticut
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Connecticut
Delaware
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Delaware
District of Columbia
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - District of Columbia
Florida
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Florida
Georgia
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Georgia
Hawaii
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Hawaii
Idaho
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Idaho
Illinois
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Illinois
- Chicago Police Department Homicide Record Index
Compiled by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository System, Northeastern Illinois University.
- CensusLinks : Illinois
- Cook County Coroner's Inquest Record Index 1872-1911
Compiled by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository System, Northeastern Illinois University.
- Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 19161950
From the Illinois State Archives.
- Illinois Department of Public Health - Vital Records
Provides contact information, fees, and printable forms for obtaining vital records certificates from Illinois.
- Illinois State Death Certificates
Copies of Illinois State Death Certificates (1916-1947) by mail.
- PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1890-1929
Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.
- PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1930-1971
Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.
- Records Room: Illinois Counties, United States
- VitalChek Network - Illinois
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Illinois
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Wheaton Public Library WebCat - Vital Records Index
Index to the birth, marriage and death items printed in the Wheaton, Illinois newspapers. Indexed January 1885 through July 1887 as of 7/11/01.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Illinois
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Indiana
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Indiana
Iowa
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Iowa
Kansas
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Kansas
Kentucky
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Kentucky
Louisiana
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Louisiana
Maine
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Maine
Maryland
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Maryland
Massachusetts
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Massachusetts
-
Ancestry.com - Massachusetts Town Death Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- City of Boston - Registry Division
Vital records, certified copies of birth, marriage and death certificates.
- Deaths in Tisbury 1850 - 1875
- Index of Death Notices in the Vineyard Gazette 1850 - 1875
- Index to Death & Marriage Notices in the Vineyard Gazette 1884-1939 A - K and L - Z
- Massachusetts Registry of Vital Records and Statistics
- Tisbury Deaths to the Year 1850: Adams to Linton and Part Two: Look - Yale
Transcribed from pp. 195 - 219 of "Vital Records of Tisbury Massachusetts to the Year 1850" published by the New England Historic Genealogy Society at the charge of the Eddy Town Record Fund. Boston, Mass., 1910. Part two, Look through Yale (pp. 219 - 244) is also available at http://www.vineyard.net/vineyard/history/tvrd2.htm.
- Town of Natick, Middlesex Co., Massachusetts 1874 - 1913 Vital Records
- VitalChek Network - Massachusetts
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Massachusetts
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records of Braintree, Massachusetts 1640-1793
Vital records in alphabetical order for birth, death, and marriage by surname of groom or bride.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Massachusetts
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Michigan
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Michigan
Minnesota
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Minnesota
Mississippi
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Mississippi
Missouri
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Missouri
- Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910
Online searchable databases from the State Archives.
- Missouri Death Certificates, 1910 1955
Online searchable database from the State Archives. Searchable by first & last name, county, & by year & month. Some scanned images of the certificates are available for viewing.
- Missouri Department of Health - Certified Copies of Birth or Death Certificates
Provides ordering information, costs, and availability for copies of birth and death certificates.
- MO Death Index
Deaths and burials in Missouri.
- STL Health Dept: Vital Records - St. Louis Birth and Death Records
Provides ordering information, availability, and costs.
- VitalChek Network - Missouri
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Missouri
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Missouri
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Montana
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Montana
Nebraska
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Nebraska
Nevada
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Nevada
New Hampshire
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - New Hampshire
New Jersey
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - New Jersey
New Mexico
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - New Mexico
New York
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - New York
North Carolina
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - North Carolina
North Dakota
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - North Dakota
Ohio
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Ohio
- Donald Davis Young's Homepage
Complete burial listings of three cemeteries in the Granville, Ohio area; an index to all of the death notices and obituaries in "The Granville Times" from 1880 to 1941; a complete listing of birth registrations and corrections filed by individuals themselves in Licking County, Ohio; transcription of "Licking County Death Records, 1874-1908."
- Ohio Department of Health - Vital Statistics
Provides contact information, fees, and availability information for birth, death and other records in Ohio.
- Ohio Online Death Certificate Index, 1913-1944
Searchable database from the Ohio Historical Society, Archives/Library.
- Union County Health Department - Vital Statistics
Marysville, Union County, Ohio birth & death records from 1909 to the present.
- VitalChek Network - Ohio
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Ohio
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Ohio
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Oklahoma
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Oklahoma
Oregon
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Oregon
Pennsylvania
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Rhode Island
South Carolina
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - South Carolina
South Dakota
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - South Dakota
Tennessee
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Tennessee
Texas
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Texas
- Death Certificates ~ Gregg County, Texas
Online searchable index with scanned images.
- Deaths in Central Texas, 1925-1934
A book by Monyene Stearns.
- Deaths in Central Texas, 1935-1944
A book by Monyene Stearns.
- Deaths in Central Texas, 1945-1954
A book by Monyene Stearns.
- EPC - County Clerk Death Records Search ~ El Paso County, Texas
Online searchable database.
- Hood County Texas Genealogical Society Index of Records
Including Birth, Marriage, Tax and many other online records.
- Marriage and Divorce Verification
From the Texas Department of Health Bureau of Vital Statistics.
- Obtaining Birth and Death Certificates
From the Texas Department of Health Bureau of Vital Statistics. Explains availability, fees, and how to order certificates.
- RootsWeb: Texas Databases - Texas Records
Indexes for births, marriages, divorces and deaths.
- Texas Death Records
3,963,456 records from 1964 thru 1998.
- VitalChek Network - Texas
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Texas
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Texas
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Utah
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Utah
|