|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
England - Durham
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Darlington Libraries
- Durham County Arts, Libraries and Museums
- Durham Mining Museum
Includes information on colleries, companies, accidents & more.
- Durham Record Office
- Durham University Library - Archives & Special Collections
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Gateshead Libraries
- Hartlepool Borough Libraries
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- Sources for Local History at Lambeth Palace Library - Durham
- Stockton-on-Tees Libraries
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DURHAM-1891 Mailing List For the volunteers who are transcribing the 1891 census for the county of Durham.
-
DUR-NBL Mailing List For anyone with a pure genealogical interest in the counties of Durham and Northumberland in the Northeast part of England. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-DUR-AUCKLAND Mailing List for anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Bishop Auckland, Durham, England. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-DURHAM Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-Durham Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Durham.
-
ENG-DURHAM-YORKS Mailing List For those whose ancestors moved between the counties of Durham and Yorkshire, England, including discussion of the history and migration patterns of the region. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-DUR-SHILDON Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Shildon, Durham, England. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-DUR-SUNDERLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Sunderland, Durham, England. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-GEORDIES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Tyneside region (Geordies). Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-NTH-SURNAMES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding surnames found in Durham, Northumberland, Yorkshire and Lancashire. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-TEESDALE-DISTRICT Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area of the Tees River or Tees Dale (valley) in Northern England. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORTHUMBRIA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the counties of Northumberland and Durham. Archives: browse or search.
-
UK-NORTHEAST Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the northeast part of England, which includes Durham, Northumberland, and the Yorkshire Counties. Archives: browse or search.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Church of England Parishes in County Durham
For each parish there is a map showing the location of the parish, a list of adjacent parishes, the date of creation of the parish and details of any parish(es) created from that parish, and details of surviving parish registers, microfilm copies and indexes.
- County Durham Maps
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
From the Association of British Counties.
- Genmaps - Durham Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Durham Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Places in County Durham
Shows which parish a place was in at any given date. There are links straight from the index to the parish pages.
- Your Old Maps Online - Durham
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
-
Ancestry.com - Durham, England: Parish and Probate Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- Archive CD Books USA
 Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- British Census - 1881
CD-ROM available for sale from the LDS Church. Data transcribed from the 1881 census.
- British Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition
 CD-ROM for sale from the LDS Church. Contains more than 12.3 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland from 1530 to 1906.
- eBay.co.uk Listings: Search for Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- English Parish Records: Yorkshire (North Riding) & Durham
A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- The Genealogist's Internet
A book by Peter Christian.
- The National Archives (U.K.) - Bookshop
- The North-Easterner Magazine's Web Site
Magazine for those with an interest in local & family history in the North-East of England, i.e. Northumberland, Durham, Cleveland, Tyne & Wear, and N.Yorkshire.
- Northfiche
Northfiche aims to produce a variety of microfiche likely to interest family historians with links in County Durham and Northumberland.
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop Online
- Victoria County History of Durham
- The Victoria County History of Durham
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - United Kingdom and Ireland
- CuriousFox UK Genealogy Message Boards - Villages, Towns, Local History, UK Maps
Pinpoints every village and town in the UK and Ireland (over 50,000) with the exact location on modern maps and old maps. This is the village by village contact site for anybody researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Every UK county, town and village has a page for family history, local history, surname and genealogy enquiries.
- GENUKI - UK & Ireland Genealogy
- RootsChat.com - Genealogy, Family History, Local History, Messaging Forum and more
Free messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The emphasis of the site is on the United Kingdom (Britain) and Ireland.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- Beaumont Baptist Church - Church Records
Transcribed church records of births, marriages, deaths, membership, and monumental inscriptions from the 1790s to the 1890s.
- County Durham Workhouses
- Durham Records Online
Online searchable indexes.
- England Wills Exchange Database
Collection of will submissions for England aranged by county.
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- Genealogy - Hartlepool Parish Church Registers
- Historical Directories
Digital library of eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth century local and trade directories from England and Wales. Includes text search and images.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Durham, England
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Quaker Family History Society - Durham Records Locations
- Search one of the register indexes for Gainford St. Mary, County Durham
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- Stockton St James Church Records 1868-1910
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Darlington Online Certificate Searching
Online searchable index for birth, death & marriage registrations for the Darlington District.
- Durham Records Online
Free search of almost a million County Durham census and Easington district parish records; small fee to view the record transcriptions.
- The Joiner Marriage Index
A Marriage Database for County Durham, and the North Riding of Yorkshire in England.
- Marriages from the Sherburn Hospital Registers (1695-1837)
Northumberland and Durham, England.
- Registration Services in Durham
- Tees Valley Indexes Register of Births, Deaths & Marriages in Cleveland and the Tees Valley
Online searchable indexes to the registers of births deaths and marriages held at Middlesbrough Register Office, and also at neighbouring offices at Stockton-on-Tees, Redcar & Cleveland, and Hartlepool.
- West Durham Database
Contains baptisms, marriages, burials of all parish registers for Lanchester, Tanfield, Medomsley, Hunstanworth, Muggleswick, Edmundbyers, Satley, Collierley, Ebchester, Benfieldside, Esh, St. Johns Chapel, Stanhope, Heathery Cleugh, Thornley, Wolsingham, Middleton-in-Teesdale, Eggleston, Forest & Frith, Ryton, Whickham, Chester-le-Street, Witton Gilbert, Winlaton, Stella, Birtley, Pelton -- plus non-conformists.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|