|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
England - Somerset
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Alford
- Aller
- Ansford
- Ashill
- Bishops Lydeard and Cothelstone
- The Blackdown Hills
- Bradford On Avon
- Bridgwater Town
- Bristol Family History Research Guide
Help in researching your family history in the Bristol, North Somerset & South Gloucestershire, England area.
- Cannington
- Castle Cary
- Chard
- Chew Magna
- Clevedon
- Clutton
- Congresbury
- Creech St Michael
- Family and Local History in Frome, Somerset
- Freshford
- Hambridge (Somerset) in the 19th Century
 Contains births, marriages & deaths, tombstone inscriptions and census data (1851 - 1901) for this small somerset (England) village.
- Hinton Charterhouse
- Kewstoke
- Leigh-on-Mendip
- Limpley Stoke
- Loxton Local History
- Merriott Families Genealogy
Genealogy and history of the village of Merriott in Somerset, England.
- Monkton Combe
- Nailsea Town Council
- Portishead Somerset Genealogy
- Priston
- Ruishton
- Shepton Mallet
- Somerset & Dorset Surnames and Queries Index
- Trudoxhill Congregational Chapel
Includes trancribed Church Book from 1855 and Church Rolls from 1855 & 1887.
- The Village of Evercreech, Somerset England
History, parish registers, census and other records relating to Evercreech.
- The Villages of Stoke St Mary, Thurlbear and Orchard Portman
- Wiveliscombe
- Woolavington
- Wrington
- Your Somerset Family
A Guide to tracing your family history in the Somerset Record Office.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Bristol_and_Somerset Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOM-CITYOFWELLS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area of Wells which is a municipal borough, market town, and ancient cathedral city in Somerset. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOMERSET Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-Somerset Mailing List For anyone with interests in family history, geography, history, and related topics in the English county of Somerset.
-
ENG-SOMERSET-FROME Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the city of Frome, county of Somerset, England. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOMERSET-MARTOCK Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the village of Martock, Somerset, England; it's hamlets of Ash, Bower Hinton, Coat, Milton and Witcombe; and surrounding villages. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOMERSET-STREET Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the town of Street, Somerset. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOM-KILMERSDON Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the village of Kilmersdon, Somerset. Archives: browse or search.
-
ENG-SOM-NORTHCURRY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the village of North Curry, Somerset, England, and surrounding villiages. Archives: browse or search.
-
Frome Mailing List For the sharing of information relating to family and social history in the Hundred of Frome, Somerset, England, namely the parishes of Beckington, Berkley, Cloford, Elm, Frome Selwood, Laverton, Lullington, Marston Bigot, Nunney, Orchardleigh, Road/Rode, Rodden, Standerwick, Wanstrow, Whatley and Woolverton. It also includes the adjacent Liberties of East Cranmore, Leigh upon Mendip, Mells and Witham Friary and the Peculiar of Buckland Dinham.
-
WESSEX-PLUS Mailing List For anyone who has an interest in genealogy or general and local history related to and incorporating the counties of Berkshire, Bristol, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isle of Wight, Hampshire, Oxfordshire, Somerset, and Wiltshire, England. Archives: browse or search.
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale for each county in England.
- Civil Parish Map of Somerset
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps - Somerset Old Maps
- A Key to English Place-Names
Guide to the interpretation of the names of England's cities, towns and villages, drawing on the work of the English Place-Name Society.
- Old-Maps - The Online Repository of Historic Maps
- Gazetteer County List - Choose a County
Organized by the counties of England, Scotland, and Wales, this site contains scanned images of historic Ordnance Survey maps dating from 1846 to 1899. Over 40,000 places are indexed alphabetically first by county and then by locality name.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for England
- Old Towns of England - Somerset Towns
Contemporary descriptions of British towns written in 1836. Also old maps for sale.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- Somerset Maps
- Somerset Parishes
Detailed map of selected Somerset parish boundaries.
- Your Old Maps Online - Somerset
Scans of original maps & etchings.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Merriott Families Genealogy
Genealogy and history of the village of Merriott in Somerset, England. BUTCHER, EASON, HALLETT, MOUCHER, RAINDELL, TEMPLEMAN, CHANT, ENGLAND, HIGGINS, MURLEY, ROUSELL, TRASK, CRIDGE, FARR, HOOPER, NORTON, SHUTLER, WARRY, DAWE, FRENCH, LACEY, OSBORNE, STUCKEY, WEBB, DENMEAD, GIBBS, LAWRENCE, PATTEMORE, SWEET, WILLS, DOUTCH, GREENHAM, MITCHELL, PAULL.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Bernard D. Welchman - Family Historian
Family history research throughout England. Specialist for research in the counties of Somerset, Devon and Dorset.
- Family History by Geoffrey Roberts
Family history research service in UK counties of Bristol, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire.
- Genealogy Professional Bristol and Somerset Family History : Tony Poole Genealogist
- Genealogy Professional Wiltshire, Dorset, Somerset & Hampshire Research: Jenny Potter Genealogist
- Somerset Look-up Exchange
- UK Family History Research
United Kingdom Family History Research, throughout England but London and Somerset and West Wales specialised.
- Wessex Family Research
Conducting specific local archive searches for you at most Record Offices in London and across southern England, with discount rates for work in Devon, Dorset, Hampshire, Somerset and Wiltshire.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Ambra Books & Lesley Aitchison
Buying and selling antiquarian and secondhand books, manuscripts, documents, maps, plans, photographs, albums, and ephemera relating to Cornwall and the West Country - Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset & Wiltshire.
-
Ancestry.com - Somerset, England: Parish and Probate Records Searchable database available by subscription.
- Archive CD Books USA
Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- Bristol & Avon Family History Society Publications
- eBay.co.uk Listings: Search for Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- English Parish Records: Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, & Somerset
A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- The Genealogist's Internet
A book by Peter Christian.
- MyCensus.com
Transcribed censuses on CD-ROM for sale for Wiltshire, Warwickshire, Gloucestershire, and Somerset.
- The National Archives (U.K.) - Bookshop
- Society of Genealogists Bookshop Online
- Somerset & Dorset Family History Society Books & Publications
- Somerset Record Society List of Publications
- Victoria County History of Somerset
- Weston super Mare Family History Society Publications
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- England Wills Exchange Database
Collection of will submissions for England aranged by county.
- Excerpts from the Parish Records of Crewkerne, Somerset
- Family History Online
Online searchable pay-per-view databases with over 20 million records. Compiled by Family History Societies of England & Wales and hosted by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- GenoGold - UK Genealogy Database Source
Hard to find genealogy data for Devon, Cornwall, Derbyshire, Somerset and other parts of the UK, Plymouth 1891 Census and others Eveleigh, Crapp, Turner, Jenkin, Tansley, Slater, Barlow, Phillips, Database driven.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England
- Index Of Parish Transcripts
Transcripts for select Somerset parishes.
- Medical Licences | Lambeth Palace Library
Medical licences issued by the Archbishop of Canterbury 1535-1775.
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Origins.net - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- Poor Law Union Records
From the Somerset Archive and Record Service.
- Quaker Family History Society - Somerset Records Locations
- Roy Parkhouse's Transcription Page
Parish register transcripts for Somerset.
- Society of Genealogists - County Resources Introduction
- Somerset Parish Registers
- Somerset Parish Transcriptions
An ongoing index of Somerset parish registers.
- Somerset Workhouses
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- 1837Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Births, Marriages and Death indexes transcribed - Ancestry.com This page has a great description of the BMD collection and its origins.
-
Search Birth, Marriage & Death Records Including baptism, christening, and burial records.
-
England & Wales, Birth Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1837-1983 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Death Index: 1984-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Birth Index, 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Death Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, FreeBMD Marriage Index: 1837-1915 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales, Marriage Index: 1916-2005 Original source: General Register Office. England and Wales Civil Registration Indexes. London, England: General Register Office.
-
England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 Original source: Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Pallot's Baptism Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Pallot's Marriage Index for England: 1780 - 1837 Original source: The original paper slip index, from which this database was created, is owned by The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies, Canterbury, England.
-
Somerset England: Evercreech Parish 1538 - 1890 Original source: Somerset County Record Office. Original Parish Registers. County Record Office, Somerset County England, 1538 - 1890.
-
UK Parish Baptism, Marriage and Burial Records A collection of parish records in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland from the 1500s to the 1900s. Original source: Electronic databases created from various publications of parish and probate records.
-
Wells, England Bishop's Transcripts Original source: E. Dwelly, ed. Dwelly's Parish Records. Vol. I. Herne Bay, England: E. Dwelly, 1913.
- Bath and North East Somerset Council - Community and Living
Registration information for births, deaths, and marriages.
- BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
- Sarah Hawkins Genealogy Site
Parish register and census transcriptions for a number of parishes in South Somerset and other associated information.
- UKBMD - Births, Marriages, Deaths Indexes & Census transcriptions for the UK, On-Line
Links to web sites that offer on-line transcriptions of UK births, marriages, deaths and censuses.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|