|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
Isle of Man
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Archives in Focus
Introductory guide to archives in the UK.
- ARCHON - Repositories in Isle Of Man
- Archival Research Techniques and Skills Scheme
Online tutorial aimed at those who wish to start research work in archives in the UK.
- The British Library
- The British Postal Museum & Archive
Holds the records of the British Post Office from the seventeenth century to the present day.
- Culture24 / History
Information about UK musuems, libraries, galleries, and heritage sites.
- CURL - The Consortium of University Research Libraries
- Familia
Directory of family history resources held in public libraries in the UK and Ireland. Provides information about the libraries and their holdings.
- Family History Centers in the Isle of Man
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Family History Centers in the Isle of Man
- Isle of Man - The General Registry / Oik Reccortyssee
- Isle of Man Public Record Office
- Manx National Heritage Library and Archives
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Gas Archive
Company archive of the Lattice Group which holds the historical records of the UK gas industry dating from the early 19th Century.
- Parliamentary Archives: House of Lords Record Office
The archive service for both Houses of Parliament and facilitates public access to several million records which are preserved in the Victoria Tower repository. The records include original Acts of Parliament from 1497, Journals from 1510, papers laid before Parliament from 1531, Peerage papers from 1597, Judicial papers from 1621, and plans of canals, roads, railways and other public works deposited in connection with private bills from 1794. Amongst the comparatively few records of genealogical interest are the Protestation returns of 1642 and certain Papist returns.
- Project EARL - Connecting Public Libraries to the Network
- Repositories of Primary Sources - Europe - United Kingdom
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- The UK Public Libraries Page
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
- Administrative Regions of the British Isles
From GENUKI
- AntiqueMapsUK.com
Range of antique maps specialising in good value items from c1900.
- The British Cartographic Society - A Directory of UK Map Collections
Detailed information of map holdings in libraries and archives throughout the United Kingdom.
- British History Online - Historical Geography
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Historic Ordnance Survey maps in 1:10,560 scale.
- Counties and Countries in Britain and Ireland
Many foreigners, and not a few British and Irish people, seem to get confused by the names of the countries and counties which make up these offshore islands.
- Gardiner's Atlas of English History
Maps from the 1892 book "A School Atlas of English History".
- Gazetteer of British Place Names
Contains the ancient or geographical County of over 50,000 place names in Britain along with modern administrative areas information.
- Genmaps
Online old maps of Great Britain for genealogists and historians.
- Get Mapping
UK aerial photography.
- Isle of Man Cartobibliography
- Isle of Man Parishes
- Isle of Man Maps
- Look for places in the 1891 census
A searchable database From GENUKI. For place names in England, Wales, and the Isle of Man, this returns their 1891 Census information of County, District, Sub-District, Place, PRO piece number, and LDS Film number.
- MultiMap.com
UK based interactive mapping service on the web, offering street-level maps of Europe and detailed maps of the world.
- Old Ordnance Survey Maps for the Isle of Man
These maps are invaluable for historians and genealogists. More than a thousand titles have been issued in this major series of reprints of Old Ordnance Survey Maps of towns throughout Britain and Ireland. The Maps are highly detailed, taken from the 1/2500 plans and reprinted at about 14 inches to the mile. They cover towns in great detail, showing individual houses, railway tracks, factories, churches, mills, canals, tramways and even minutiae such as dockside cranes, fountains, signal posts, pathways, sheds, wells, etc. Each map includes historical notes on the area concerned. Many also include extracts from contemporary directories. The maps are neatly folded, often with an early photograph on the cover. The maps are ideal for local historians, transport historians, and family historians, or simply those with an interest in the town they live in or have visited.
- Parish Search
Online searchable database of the geographic location of churches, registration districts etc in the UK, with details of their founding and closing dates. From GENUKI.
- RootsMap Surname Distribution Maps
Surname distribution maps for the UK and Ireland to help in the search for a particular surname. Maps produced and published by RootsMap can either be downloaded and printed by you immediately after payment, or we can dispatch your map to you by 1st class post. Maps of surnames may be produced based on the 1881 Census or the IGI and can show surname distribution across the entire nation or within a chosen county.
- Royal Mail
- The Village Atlas
Reproductions for sale of the composite Ordnance Survey maps from the Village Atlas series published in the UK between 1987 and 1991. A range of reproduction town and county maps is also available.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Achievements Ltd of Canterbury
Professional genealogical and heraldry research.
- Adoption Research Specialist-Janet Reakes
Research service for adoption cases in Australia and the British Isles.
- Big Family Research Services
Provides secure online ordering for BDM certificates from England/Wales, Ireland and Scotland. Direct access to a network of experienced researchers throughout the British Isles for local research. Comprehensive family/local history bookshop.
- British Ancestors
Professional research service.
- Conservation By Design Limited
United Kingdom-based vendor which provides materials and equipment for conservation and preservation.
- Dating Historical Photographs
Professional photograph and picture dating.
- Debrett Ancestry Research Ltd
Professional ancestry research company for families with UK, American or Australasian roots.
- Derbyshire Ancestry Roots
Professional British genealogy service that will undertake ancestral research into you British family history.
- Family History Trace - Jacqui Orton
Family history research projects undertaken for England, Wales and the Isle of Man, specialising in Manx Genealogy. BMD certificate search and ordering service, also general research, including Parish records and census records for the Isle of Man.
- Family Tree Services
Professional genealogical research.
- Historical Research Agency ~ England
Offering family and building history research services to individuals, architects, solicitors and academics. Based in the south-west of England but covers all of the United Kingdom.
- Hoopers International Probate Genealogists
Established in the UK in 1923. Specializing in locating missing beneficiaries.
- How do I find my family? Adoption and Birth Family Research
Researchers specialising in adoption and family research for adults who were adopted in the U.K.
- Isle of Man Look-up Exchange
- Isle of Man - Manx Family History Search
Donna Douglass can help you with your research.
- LookupUK.com - Lookup United Kingdom
Resource centre for finding a lost friend
or relative in the UK.
- I am a UK Adoptee
Comprehensive guide for UK and Ireland adoptee searches. Beginner information.
- Manx Ancestral Tours
Service offering to trace ancestors and giving a guided tour around the related venues on the Isle of Man.
- The National Archives (U.K.) | Independent Researchers
Listings of specialists in various record categories held by the National Archives.
- officialrecords
Commercial fee-based legal service supplying birth, marriage & death certificates plus divorce records.
- Preservation Equipment, Ltd.
United Kingdom-based vendor which provides materials and equipment for conservation and preservation.
- People Search Tracing Services
Professional people finding service in the UK.
- The Salvation Army UK Territory - Family Tracing Service
- Tim Hughes & Associates
Professional genealogical research in UK and Ireland. Specialists in military service records and merchant shipping records.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Isle of Man
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Ancestral Indexes eShop
UK-based supplier of microfiche, book, and CD-ROM finding aids for the local and family historian.
- Archer Software Home Page
Creator of LDS Companion, a file conversion utility for LDS databases and GenMap UK, a Windows mapping program designed mainly for UK genealogical and historical mapping.
- Archive CD Books USA
Reproductions of old books for sale on CD-ROM.
- Balogh International
American supplier of HMSO publications.
- British Isles CD-ROMs
For sale from Quintin Publications.
- Cambridge University Press
- Chapman Record Cameos
A series of books by Colin R. Chapman, noted British genealogist.
- eBay.co.uk Listings: Search for Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Family History Books
Online bookstore specialising in books about family history and related topics sponsored by the Federation of Family History Societies.
- Family History Bookshop - The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies
- Family History Library Catalog Description
- Family History Library Catalog Topics
Listed & cross-referenced for use in England, that allow for differences in American and English usage.
- Family Tree Magazine
The outstanding postal-delivery periodical for UK genealogical research. Each monthly issue includes in-depth articles by internationally-recognized genealogists on the unique aspects of researching ancestors from the United Kingdom. Regular features include "Questions & Answers", "Pitfalls & Possibilities", "News from the SoG" and "View from the Public Record Office". Hundreds of reader's surname interests are included in each issue along with a computer interest section. Family Tree Magazine's postal book service is outstanding for getting useful reference books on UK genealogy.
- Genealogical.com - Great Britain/British
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- GENfair - the Online Family History Fair
GENfair offers a comprehensive range of genealogy publications in printed, microfiche and disk formats, published by UK Family History Societies and other suppliers. Search services, software and BMD Certificate services can also be purchased online as can memberships of the participating societies. GENfair has a secure credit card payment system.
- Gibson Guides - Location Guides for Family and Local Historians
A set of guides to the whereabouts of records, available from the Federation of Family History Societies.
- Index of Place Names
A CD-ROM from the Office for National Statistics in the UK. It is a gazetteer produced annually on CD-ROM that allows a comprehensive listing of some 70,000 places in England and Wales to be pinpointed within a range of adminsitrative areas.
- Index: Old Ordnance Survey Maps - The Godfrey Edition
List of UK and Belgium maps available at large scale in the period of about 1890 to 1915.
- Interlink Bookshop Genealogical Services ~ Victoria, B.C., Canada
- Isle of Man Family History Society - Publications
- LDS Online Catalog - Software & Databases
Inexpensive, high quality CD-ROM databases available from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Local History Magazine
- Manx Organisations, Publishers and Bookshops
- The National Archives (U.K.) - Bookshop
- The Naval & Military Press Web Page
A large selection of military books, many with of interest to the genealogist.
- Phillimore & Co. Ltd.
Online book catalog. Phillimore has been the leading specialist publisher of British local and family history for over a century.
- S&N Genealogy Supplies
UK Genealogy Supplies and Family History site offering products including: Data CDs (Census, Parish Records and directories), software, books and charts.
- Stuart Raymond - The Internet Genealogical Bookshop
Numerous British genealogical books are listed & described, including publications from FFHS, Society of Genealogists, Phillimore, Colin Chapman, etc., but especially Stuart Raymonds British Genealogical Bibliographies series, and his Original Pollbooks.
- Surname distribution maps in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales
Presentation packages for sale of maps showing the distribution and concentration of surnames in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
- TWR Computing
Computers and software for family historians and genealogists.
- UK Genealogy Books On Line
Genealogy specialists. Suppliers of any UK published genealogy book in print.
- Your Old Books & Maps
A project to digitally archive old historical books, trade directories, county & local interests, atlases & maps to CD-Rom. All of the UK covered and more titles added every month.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1851-1871 Enumerator Instructions
Transcription of the detailed instructions given to the enumerators of the 1851, 1861 & 1871 UK census.
- 1881 British Census Index
Online searchable transcribed index for the British census of 1881 including England, Wales, Channel Islands & Isle of Man. Select "1881 British Census" in the drop down box at the top of the search form.
- 1901 Census of England and Wales Online
Pay-for-use online searchable index with online images available.
-
Ancestry.com - UK Census Collection Searchable index; census images available with fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - 1841 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1841. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1841. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.
-
Ancestry.com - 1851 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1851. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1851. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.
-
Ancestry.com - 1861 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1861. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1861. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.
-
Ancestry.com - 1871 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1871. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1871. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.
-
Ancestry.com - 1881 Isle of Man Census < Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1881. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1881.
-
Ancestry.com - 1891 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1891. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1891. Data imaged from The National Archives, London, England.
-
Ancestry.com - 1901 Isle of Man Census Original source: Census Returns of England and Wales, 1901. Kew, Surrey, England: The National Archives of the UK (TNA): Public Record Office (PRO), 1901. Data imaged from the National Archives, London, England.
- British Census Worksheet
- British Data Archive
British census records on CD and DVD.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- UK Census Dates
- UK Census Dates
- UK Census Dates
- UK - Census Dates
-
Ancestry.com - United Kingdom & Ireland Searchable database available by subscription.
- BT PhoneNetUK - UK Online Phone Directory
-
Cambridge University Alumni, 1261-1900 Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. List of all known students, graduates, and officers at the University of Cambridge offers information from the university's earliest records which date from around 1261 through 1921. Original source: Venn, J. A., comp.. Alumni Cantabrigienses. London, England: Cambridge University Press, 1922-1954.
- An Explanation of the REASON the 1873 Return of Land Owners was called for, WHAT the difficulties were and, WHY
- IGI Batch Numbers for Isle Of Man, England
- IGI Batch Numbers - Isle of Man Batch Numbers
- Jane's Police Review
An index to Police Review magazine (UK) 1893-1919 providing references to articles about 25,000 policemen including biographies and photos.
- The National Archives (U.K.)
Kew, Richmond, Surrey, United Kingdom.
- The Catalogue
Descriptions of more than 10 million records held by The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The visitor may either search or browse through the descriptions. Images of the documents are not available. Visitors can request copies online and can also place advance orders for the day of their visit.
- Help
- Research Guides: A to Z
This is an alphabetical list of the topical Research Guides. The guides help you find what you need in the catalogue, so this should be the first thing you consult.
- Family History
- House History
- Local History
- Military History
- Search Our Collections
- National Archivist
Online pay-for-use databases containing digital images of original registers, entry books and indexes, reproduced under license from The National Archives and other organisations.
- Office-Holders In Modern Britain
Lists of officials who served in the departments of central government since the Restoration. Online lists include Clerks of the Privy Council, Clerks of the Privy Seal, Clerks of the Signet, The Household of Queen Victoria, and Officers of the Green Cloth.
- The Origins Network - Unique Genealogy Data for Family History Research in England and Scotland
Online searchable pay-for-use databases. Includes over 1 million records from the Society of Genealogists.
- The Parish Clerk Index Page
Index of historical references to Parish Clerks, Sextons and Churchwardens from UK sources.
- Quaker Family History Society - Isle of Man Records Locations
- 192.com - People Finder
Search over 200 million names and addresses from the 2002 to 2007 official UK Electoral Registers. Powerful search options and integration with Directory Enquiries.
- Using Written Archives To Find Out About The History Of Your House
From the companion web site to the BBC television series on public records in the United Kingdom "Breaking the Seal".
- You and Your Record Office: A Code of Practice for Family Historians Using County Record Offices
From the Federation of Family History Societies. Online brochure gives advice on what to expect when visiting a Record Office.
- Parish Register Copies: Isle of Man
Parish register copies in the library of the Society of Genealogists as of December 1994.
- Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
Service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) to be ordered via the Internet.
- The UK BDM Exchange
Pay-for-use site with details of nearly 90,000 Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates since 1837 along with details of Church records of Baptisms, Burials and Church Marriages from before 1837.
- The Vicar-General Marriage Licence Index
The Vicar-General Marriage Licence Index is a genealogical finding aid comprising a surname index which lists the 300,000+ people who were issued with marriage licences by the Vicar-General of the Archbishop of Canterbury between 1694 and 1850. The original records which underlie this index are stored at the Lambeth Palace Library although they have also been filmed by the LDS church.
- BIGWILL - British Interest Group of Wisconsin and Illinois
An organization of individuals (mostly from Wisconsin and Illinois) who are interested in British Isles ancestry and genealogical research in the British Isles.
- British Agricultural History Society
- British Association for Local History
- British Isles Family History Society - U.S.A. ~ Los Angeles, California
Promotes an interest in family history particularly relating to British Isles ancestry including those from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, the Channel Islands, & the Isle of Man.
- Catholic Family History Society
- Cleveland Manx Society ~ Richmond Heights, Ohio
- The Federation of Family History Societies
- Guild of One-Name Studies
A one-name study is a project researching all occurrences of a surname, as opposed to a particular pedigree (ancestors of one person) or descendancy (descendants of one person or couple). Some "one-namers" may restrict their research geographically, perhaps to one country, but true one-namers collect all occurrences world-wide. The Guild only accepts true one-name studies for registration, although anyone with an interest in one-name studies is welcome to become a member.
- The Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies
A school for the study of the history and structure of the family and of subjects generally auxiliary to historical applications.
- Isle of Man Family History Society
- Isle of Man Family History Society Journal
Volume i 1979 to Volume xii 1990, articles scanned and online.
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Great Britain
- Manx Methodist Historical Society Newsletter
Index to Newsletters 1-24.
- North American Manx Association
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|