|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Kansas
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Kansas:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Kansas Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Kansas
- Ancestor Search - Kansas Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Kansas
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Kansas Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Dick Taylor's GHOSTCHASER
Links to Kansas resources.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Kansas Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Kansas
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Kansas Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Kansas
- Irene's Kansas Genealogy
Index to some Kansas county births, marriages, deaths and obituaries taken from area newspapers and local records. Also free look-ups.
- The Kansas Collection
- Kansas Genealogy and History Sites
- Kansas Heritage Center for Family and Local History
- Kansas Heritage's Interactive Genealogy
- Kansas Migrations Home Page
- KCGenealogy.com
Genealogical research in the Missouri and Kansas area.
- Kindred Trails - Kansas Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Kansas Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Kansas
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Kansas
- Railroads in Kansas
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Kansas
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - KSGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Kansas
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Kansas State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Kansas
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Kansas: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Kansas
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Kansas
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Kansas
- USA CityLink Project - Kansas
- Yahoo! Get Local...Kansas Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Index of States/Camp Listing
- House History Checklist
From the Kansas Historical Society.
- Kansas Historic Markers
The first of these historical markers was erected in 1938, and this program to mark historical sites continues into the 21st century.
- The Kansas History Gateway
- Kansas History Timeline
- Kansas One Room School House Project
- National & State Registers ~ Kansas
The National Register of Historic Places and Register of Historic Kansas Places honors the state's historic properties.
- Old West Kansas
- Standard History of Kansas and Kansans 1918
A Standard History of Kansas and Kansans, written and compiled by William E. Connelley, published in 1918. Biography index prepared by Carolyn Ward, instructor from USD 508, Baxter Springs Middle School, Baxter Springs, Kansas. Volumes 1 and 2 contain the history of Kansas. Volumes 3, 4, and 5 contain biographies of the people of Kansas.
- Territorial Kansas Online 1854-1861
Hundreds of personal letters, diaries, photos, and maps bring to life the settling of Kansas during the fierce debate over slavery.
- William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas
- Yahoo!...History...Kansas
- Directory of Kansas City Area Repositories
- The Dwight D. Eisenhower Library
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Kansas
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Kansas Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Kansas State Historical Society - Local Government Records
- Kansas State Library
- LIBCAT: US - Kansas
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Kansas
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Mennonite Heritage Museum ~ Goessel
- Mennonite Library and Archives
Bethel College North Newton, Kansas.
- Midwest Historical and Genealogical Library
Over 15,000 volumes and issues of books, magazines, manuscripts and collections in Wichita.
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Kansas
- PublicLibraries.com - Kansas
- The Quaker Room/Archives in the Edmund Stanley Library ~ Wichita, Kansas
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Kansas
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Southeast Kansas Library System
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
KANSAS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Kansas. Archives: browse or search.
-
KansasCity Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the greater Kansas City area (Kansas/Missouri). Archives: browse or search.
-
KansasNA Mailing List For Kansas Native Americans to begin their travels back in time to locate their roots and research their family history. Most if not all Plains Indians traveled through, or lived in, Kansas.
-
KANSASROOTS Mailing List
-
KBHF Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of current and past members of the Kansas Business Hall of Fame, Inc. Archives: browse or search.
-
KCGS-BOARD Mailing List For the Kansas Council of Genealogical Societies Board to discuss the activities and future plans of the KCGS.
-
KCGS-MEMBERS Mailing List For the members of the Kansas Council of Genealogical Societies to discuss the activities and future plans of the KCGS. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-AfriGeneas Mailing List A mailing list to coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Kansas.
-
KSARCHIVE Mailing List For the submission of items for the KSGenWeb Archives by KSGenWeb volunteers. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating and preserving historical information about Kansas cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-CEMETERY-PRESERVATION Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the preservation of historic Kansas cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Kansas census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Kansas census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-FAMILY-GROUP-SHEETS Mailing List For the posting of Kansas family group information, announcements of new uploaded family group sheets on the - Kansas Family Groups website. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-FOOTSTEPS Mailing List For the sharing of original Kansas source material such as wills, deeds, bible records, tax lists, cemetery files, pension applications, obituaries, old letters, marriage lists, etc. with other Kansas researchers. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Kansas from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Kansas. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-KIN-L Mailing List
-
KS-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Kansas newspapers published prior to 1931.
-
KS-OLD-NEWSPAPERS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-RAILROADS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old Kansas railroads and their workers. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-ROLLCALL Mailing List For any and all researchers of Kansas kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-VETERANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in those who signed up for military service in Kansas and/or participated in military operations in Kansas during the Indian Wars, Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Civil War, Spanish American War, and World War I. Archives: browse or search.
-
KS-VINTAGEPHOTOS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the use of vintage photos in Kansas genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
OREGON-TRAIL Mailing List For those who want to research their family history concerning anything to do with the Oregon Trail. The history of the trail is an appropriate topic for discussion as well as postings of wagon train lists, and anything else genealogical including stories of life as a pioneer, diaries, queries, books, etc.Western states involved would mostly be Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; maybe even California, Utah and others. Time periods include around 1840-1900. Archives: browse or search.
- 10th Kansas Volunteer Infantry
- 12th Kansas Volunteer Infantry, Company K
- The 14th Kansas Volunteer Cavalry Regiment
- 15th Kansas Volunteer Cavalry
- 1920 Residents of the Kansas State Soldiers' Home from the 1920 U.S. Census for Ford County, Kansas
- 2nd Kansas Volunteer Cavalry
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Kansas
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Kansas
- Civil War Rosters - Kansas
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Enlistment Papers of the 19th Kansas Cavalry, 1868-1869
From the Kansas State Historical Society.
- John Jay HUMBERT
My grandfather, John Jay Humbert, was an enlisted member of the 20th Kansas Volunteer Infantry Regiment, commanded by Col. Frederick Funston. The regiment was sent to the Philippines to quell the Insurrection of 1898-1899. They returned to great acclaim, known to all America as "The Fighting Twentieth."
- Kansas Adjutant General's Report, 1861-1865
Lists the names of all troops who served in the Kansas volunteer regiments during the Civil War.
- Kansas Enlistments (1861-1865)
Searchable database index from Lineages, Inc.
- Kansas in the Civil War
- Kansas Military Timeline
- Kansas Prisoners of War at Camp Ford, Texas 1863-1865
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Kansas
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Military Records and Sources - Kansas State Historical Society State Archives
- Military Records: Civil War (1861–1865)
From the Kansas State Historical Society.
- Muster Rolls of the Kansas State Militia, 1861-1865
- Report of the Adjutant General of the State of Kansas, Vol. 1. - 1861-1865
Reports the name, residentce, date of enlistment and muster, and date and cause of discharge, or death, of every officer, soldier and marine, enlisted from the State of Kansas, in the military or naval service of the United States, during the war, with such information, regimental and company histories relating to the State, or United States service.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Kansas
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Kansas
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Kansas
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Kansas
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Kansas
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Kansas
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Kansas or Specializing in Kansas
- Extended Families
A pair of professional genealogists in the Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma area.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Grave Finder's Genealogy Researchers
Genealogy Researchers with over 30 years experience. We have access to records for Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. We also have access to some of the records for Iowa, Illinois, Ohio and West Virginia. We are available to take pictures of headstones.
- Historical Matters
Historical & genealogical research services in Kansas by Mary Clement Douglass, CGRS. Great Plains genealogy and local history, social history and cultural geography for genealogists, preservation of historical collections, interpretation of tombstone art, courthouse research, land records.
- Irene's Free Kansas Look-up
- Midwest Genealogy
Professional genealogists serving Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee & Washington, D.C.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Kansas
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Relative-ly Speaking Kansas Genealogical Surname Index
Kansas pioneer genealogical surname index. Specializing in genealogical information on Kansas ancestors.
- South Central Kansas Researcher
Specializing in Sedgwick and Cowley Counties.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- African American Cemeteries Online - Kansas
- Brett's Cemetery Photos
Selected photos from Indiana, Kansas, Idaho & Missouri.
- Cemeteries of the United States - Kansas Cemeteries - County Index
- Cemetery Junction: Kansas Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cemetery Listings
Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, and Oklahoma. List includes tombstone pictures / photos for: Arkansas (Benton & Carroll County); Colorado (Pueblo County); Kansas (Reno & Wilson County); Missouri (Barry, Jasper, McDonald, & Phelps County); Oklahoma (Alfalfa, Dewey, & Major County).
- Cemetery Photos & Obituaries
Photos of headstones in Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska & Wyoming, as well as obituaries.
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Kansas
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Kansas
- Funeral Services Providers - Kansas
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Kansas Cemeteries
- Interment.net: Kansas Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- Kansas Cemetery Mailing List Home Page
Links to individual counties listing cemeteries.
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Kansas
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Kansas
- Saving Graves - Kansas
- Topeka State Hospital Cemetery Records
Searchable online index to the 1157 individuals buried in the hospital cemetery.
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Kansas
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Kansas
- AccessGenealogy - Kansas Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Kansas Census, 1850-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Kansas State Census Collection, 1855-1915 Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Source: 1865 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 – K-8; 1875 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 – K-20; 1885 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 – K-146; 1895 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 – K-169; 1905 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 - K-181; 1915 Kansas State Census. Microfilm reels K-1 – K-271. Kansas State Historical Society.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : Kansas
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Kansas
- Decennial Census & Agricultural Schedule 2 Forms, KSGenWeb Digital Library
Kansas Decennial Census [1855-1925] Forms in Adobe Acrobat format. Forms for the Agricultural (Farm) Schedule 2's.
- Digitalarkivet - Norwegians in US
Searchable online database of 1850, 1860, 1870, and primarily 1880 US censuses for various states. Individuals listed are identified on the censuses as being from Norway.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940
Indian census rolls at the Kansas State Historical Society. These are the annual censuses taken by agents or superintendents in charge of Indian reservations. Information gathered varies by year and jurisdiction, but usually includes English and/or Indian name, tribal roll number, age or date of birth, sex, and relationship to head of household. Beginning in 1930, the censuses also show degree of Indian blood, marital status, place of residence, and other information. The original censuses are in the National Archives, and the Kansas State Historical Society has only selected rolls, primarily those pertaining to tribes with a Kansas connection. These are available for interlibrary loan.
- Kansas Census Guide 1855-1930
A guide to the records on microfilm from the Kansas State Historical Society. Includes a listing of census questions asked, describes indexes available, and provides links to online census transcriptions
- Midwest Historical and Genealogical Society Wichita, Kansas U.S. Federal Census
1860, 1870 and 1880 US Federal Census for Butler and Sedgwick Counties in Kansas.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
- 1855 Kansas Census - Index of Voters
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Kansas
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Kansas. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Introduction to Phone Books
A web site devoted to sharing scanned images of Kansas phone books from the early 1900s.
- Kansas Land Records
From Odesssa - A German-Russian Genealogical Library.
- Kansas Legislators Past and Present
Short biographical information and biographical/genealogical sources on over 9,000 men and women who have served in the Kansas Legislature from 1861 to the present.
- Kansas Telephone and City Directories
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Kansas
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Kansas Counties, United States
- SAMPUBCO
Will Testators Indexes, Naturalization Records Indexes and Census Indexes online. You can order copies of the original source documents for a small fee.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
-
|