|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
Norway / Norge
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Language & Names
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- Ancestors from Norway
Research guide for Norwegian-American genealogy.
- Arne Moen's Home Page from Norway
In Norwegian with many links to Scandinavian genealogy sites.
- Bamble Genealogiske Side / Bamble Genealogical Page
Including probate records from Bamble & Langesund.
- Genealogy / Slekt in Troms, Norway
Genealogical research center for the county of Troms, Norway. Includes detailed maps of the area, a query page, and list of over 100 other researchers of the same area.
- Genit Haakenstad
A genealogy page based on the book "Slektsgransking med dataveiledning", Orion Forlag 2001. It has good genealogy links, a store with genealogy books in Norwegian and English (from the Biri area, etc.), information about genealogy programs and can offer some help with finding your family. It is basically the Biri, Redalen and Snertingdal area. You have a good chance of finding your ancestors back to about 1650.
- Jerry Longstroms Genealogy Research Site
- Kragerø Genealogical Page. By Per Stian Bjørnø Kjendal
Many Norwegian resources, especially for the Kragerø area, including maps, records sources and an index of those who emigrated during 1843-1899.
- leegenealogy.com
Links and information for Norwegian genealogy.
- Norway Family - Norwegian Scandinavian Roots and Genealogy Online Info Resources
- Looking 4 Kin - Norway Genealogy Links and Chat
- Norway - Genealogy and Local History Index
- Norway Genealogy - World GenWeb
- Norway List
Newbie Notes, maps of counties in Norway, and more.
- Norway Roots - Norske Røtter og Slektsgransking
- Norwegian American Homepage -- Genealogy
Genealogy links of relevance to Norwegian Americans.
- Norwegian Emigration to USA 1825-2000
- Scandinavian/Swedish/Norwegian-American Genealogy
Links and resources.
- Searching the 1865, 1875 and 1900 Censuses for Norway
Online searchable database of the entire 1865 & 1900 census and partial 1875 census.
- A Select Bibliography of Works: Norwegian-American Immigration and Local History
Bibliography from the Library of Congress.
- Skien Genealogiske Side / Skien Genealogical Page
Including tax lists, probate records, cemeteries, etc for Gjerpen and Skien.
- Slektsforskerbasen
Genealogists in Norway and where they are doing research sorted by county and municipality.
- Slektshistoriske Kilder 1500 - 1900
Provides access by locations in Norway to census, church, land, and other records available through the Internet.
- Slektsnett.com
Connecting genealogists doing research in Norway who have their family trees online.
- Statens Kartverk - Norwegian Mapping Authority
Free search site for place names and addresses in Norway combined with maps in different scales.
- Stein Norem Wisteds Genealogy Pages on Sokndal
Includes pages on Sokndal parish in Rogaland, Norway.
- Surname Navigator Norway
 A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) Norway, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) Norway, Geneanet Norway, Google, genealogy Norway, Google News Genealogy Norway, Rootsweb message board Norway, Ancestry.com, Email Finder Norway, White Pages Norway.
- Vigerust Nett Tore H Vigerust, historie, genealogi, Oslos historie, Innvandrerarkivet, Adel
Adel (nobility, Norwegian and Danes), Bybefolkningen - citizens - Stadtbevölkerung 1680-1730 (citizens of Norway), Innvandrerarkivet (The Immigrant Archiv of Norway), Oslos historie (History of Oslo, mostly documents and namelists), Jord Norsk jordeiendomshistorie (cadasters from late medieval times up to ad 1700), Lexikon over norske slekter (Norw. family lex).
- Was one of your ancestors a Viking?
New Y-line test from Oxford Ancestors correlates paternal ancestry with Scandinavian/Viking heritage.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations.
- Gamle norske måleenheter
From Norsk Forlishistorisk Forening. Information on old Norwegian coinage from ancient to modern times.
- History of Europe in Medieval Times, Scandinavia
Historic and genealogical information about royal and nobility family lines.
- The History of Norway - from ODIN
- Norway Historical Background
From FamilySearch.org.
- Norwegian Online Information Service - Culture & History
- Research Guidance - Norway Events and Time Periods
From FamilySearch.org.
- Skaldaspillar Publications
Books on the culture, history, landscape, and crafts of Norway. Premiere book is "Norwegian National Recipes. An inspiring journey in the culinary history of Norway" by Arne Brimi and Ardis Kaspersen 2000. A cookbook, history book, and travel book all rolled into one -- 1100 recipes from each of the 19 "fylke" in Norway. Explore the culinary traditions of your ancestors.
- The S/S Atlantic of the White Star Line, Disaster in 1873
Includes a listing of the the Norwegian and Scandinavian passengers on the ship when it went down off Halifax in 1873.
- Suldal Sogelag
Local history union of Suldal, County Rogaland, Norway. Includes Juneau county Wis. bygdebok, listing details of Norwegian emigrants ti that county; from Suldal, Lærdal and Telemark.
- The Transatlantic Crossing, Norwegian emigrants on the Atlantic
Story of how the Norwegians going to America in the time between 1825 and 1925 would travel. Also gives some insight into the amazing development in how ships were constructed and the transportation arranged to meet the demands of the increasing number of people on the move. Even though this is about the experience of Norwegian emigrants, the experiences and conditions of travel will be much the same regardless of nationality.
- Yahoo!...Norway...History
- Arkivverket Riksarkivet og Statsarkivene / The National Archival Services of Norway
- Concordia College Archives ~ Moorhead, Minnesota
- Digitalarkivet - Arkivverket
Digitalarkivet (The Digital Archive) is a joint project between the National Archives of Norway, the regional Archive of Bergen and the Department of History, University of Bergen.
- The European Library
A portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals.... - both digital and non-digital) of the 45 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and delivers digital objects - some free, some for a fee.
- Family History Centers in Norway
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- Fylkesarkivet i Sogn og Fjordane
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Includes a research library with materials on immigration studies.
- IGI Batch Numbers for Norway
 FamilySearch IGI Batch Numbers for Norway, organized by County/Fylke.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Norway
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Museums in Norway
Links to museums in Norway.
- Museumsnett Norge
- Nasjonalbiblioteket / National Library of Norway
- Nordic Heritage Museum ~ Seattle, Washington
Honoring the legacy of immigrants from the five Nordic countries.
- Norway in America. The bibliographical Collections of Thor M. Andersen (TMA)
An on-line bibliography of documents printed between 1825 and 1930 in Norway and the US by and/or about Norwegian emigrants to the US and Canada.
- Norwegian American Genealogical Center and Naeseth Library ~ Madison, Wisconsin
- The Norwegian Emigration Center ~ Stavanger
- The Norwegian Emigrant Museum
- Registreringssentral for Historiske Data (RHD) / Norwegian Historical Data Centre (NHDC)
- Riksarkivaren / National Archives of Norway
- Repositories of Primary Sources - Europe - Norway
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Pacific Lutheran University - Robert A. L. Mortvedt Library ~ Tacoma, Washington
- Universitetsbiblioteket i Oslo - UBO / University of Oslo Library (UBO) ~ Norway
- University of Minnesota Libraries
- Aurland Newsletter Past and Present
Translations from Aurland's monthly newsletter, stories from Norway and upcoming events including reunion announcements and obituaries.
- FARSUND2000
Farsund, Lista, Herad and Spind areas in Norway.
- Gamle Gjerpen
Transcriptions of church and census records, local history, and family histories from Gjerpen, Telemark, Norway.
- Genealogy from Hemne: Hemneslekt
 A large data base with names from middle of Norway - Sør-Trøndelag and beyond.
- Genealogy in Faaberg and Lillehammer, Norway
- Genealogy/Slektsgransking from Telemark and Buskerud in Norway / Genealogy from Telemark, Buskerud and Vestfold in Norway
A database with more than 219,000 names, nearly 21 generations of people from Southern Norway dating back to the 16th and 17th centuries.
- Hjellum of Norway
- Juneau County bygdebok
Juneau County, Wisconsin Bygdebok, A Genealogy of Norwegian Settlers, 1850-1950.
- Lokalhistorisk arkiv ved Porsgrunn bibliotek
A digital library of books and articles on the history and genealogy of Porsgrunn, Telemark, Norway, and surrounding communities.
- mosjoen.com - Informasjonssider for Mosjøen by og Vefsn kommune
The city of Mosjoen and the county of Vefsn.
- Norwegian Heritage in Story County and Central Iowa
A resource to those researching the history and genealogies of people of Norwegian ancestry in Central Iowa.
- Online Regional Encyclopaedia for Sogn og Fjordane
Articles covering all 26 rural and urban counties under the regional county of Sogn og Fjordane.
- Skien Genealogiske Side
Genealogical research in Skien, Norway (Telemark).
- Slektsforum Karmøy
- Sokndal kommune
Homepage for Sokndal kommune in Rogaland, Norway.
- Solumslekt
Genealogy resource site for Solum, Telemark, Norway (in Norwegian only). Transcripts of original records 1664-1764, searchable database, discussion forum, articles.
- Stadsbygd and Its People / Stadsbygd og staværinger
Rural community in Sør-Trøndelag in central Norway at the southern end of the Fosen peninsula on the northern side of Trondheimsfjorden.
- Suldal Sogelag
- Vestfold Roots
Transcriptions of genealogical sources from Vestfold County, Norway.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
BK5forum Mailing List For the discussion of the Brother's Keeper genealogy program. The list is for the scandinavian countries so please note that the language for this list is Norwegian, Danish and Swedish. Archives: browse or search.
-
DANISH-SURNAMES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding Danish and other Scandinavian surnames and given names. Archives: browse or search.
-
FAMILIE_OG_SLEKT Mailing List For discussions of the "Familie og Slekt" Norwegian genealogy software program.
-
GEN-NORDIC Mailing List gatewayed with the soc.genealogy.nordic newsgroup For the discussion of genealogy in the Scandinavian countries, including: Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-AKERSHUS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Akershus, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-BUSKERUD Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Buskerud, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-OPPLAND Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county of Oppland, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-OSTFOLD Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the county (flyke) of Ostfold, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-TELEMARK Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Telemark County, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-VEST-AGDER Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Vest-Agder County, Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NOR-VESTFOLD Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Vestfold region of Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NORWAY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Norway. Archives: browse or search.
-
NorwegianGenealogy Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Norway.
-
NORWEGIAN-OBITUARIES Mailing List For the posting of obituaries of Norwegian immigrants that came to America. Archives: browse or search.
-
Ostfold-Bohuslan-Dalsland Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Östfold, Norway, and Bohuslän and Dalsland, Sweden. Archives: browse or search.
-
SCANDINAVIAN-NOBILITY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical, cultural or historical interest in the Scandinavian nobility (Denmark, Norway and Sweden). Archives: browse or search.
-
SCANDINAVIAN-SURNAMES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding Scandinavian surnames and given names. Archives: browse or search.
-
TRONDELAG Mailing List To promote the discussion and sharing of information and genealogy research about our ancestors and immigrant families from the Trøndelag region of Norway (Nord Trøndelag and Sør-Tøndelag). Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-NORWEGIANS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Norwegians who settled in Texas. Archives: browse or search.
-
VALDRES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the Valdres region of Norway and immigrants from that region. Archives: browse or search.
-
VIKING-UK Mailing List For anyone with ancestors in the United Kingdom and Ireland who descended from the Vikings. Archives: browse or search.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- About Scandanavian Genealogy Research
Professional research service for Norway, Sweden and Denmark.
- Ancestry Research Norway
Researcher in Norway, specializing in American-Norwegian genealogy.
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- European Focus
Photographic portfolios of ancestral towns in Europe created for Genealogy enthusiasts in Belgium, Denmark, Eastern Europe, England, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland and more.
- eXpertGenealogy - Genealogy Professional Genealogist - Sweden & Norway
Directory of professional genealogists specializing in Scandinavian Research.
- Four Generations Genealogy
 J. H. Fonkert, Saint Paul, Minnesota. A board-certified genealogist with experience in Midwest, Dutch, Scandinavian and English family history research.
- Genealogy Professional Scandinavian Genealogical Research Center: Kim Melchior Genealogist
Native Danish Researcher with 25+ years experience in Danish, Swedish, Norwegian and Finnish Research.
- Professional Scandanavian Genealogist - Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, and Germany
Research services.
- A Way With Words
 Language Services: Translation, Writing, Copy Editing. Swedish, English, Norwegian, and Danish
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Norway and Norwegian
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Astri My Astri Publishing Deb Nelson Gourley
Astri, My Astri: Norwegian Heritage Stories; and other publications for Scandinavian studies.
- Books We Own - Norway
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Brother's Keeper Software
Downloadable shareware program for Windows. The latest version contains English, French, Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, German, Dutch, Polish, Icelandic, Russian, Slovak, Afrikaans, Czech.
- Embla AS
Multi-language genealogy software program Embla Familie og Slekt/Embla Family Treasures.
-
FAMILIE_OG_SLEKT Mailing List For discussions of the "Familie og Slekt" Norwegian genealogy software program.
- Heritage Books: Scandinavian
- The Master Genealogist - TMG
Information in Norwegian about The Master Genealogist.
- Norwegian Research Guide
Book for sale about Norwegian genealogy.
- Skaldaspillar Publications
Books on the culture, history, landscape, and crafts of Norway. Premiere book is "Norwegian National Recipes. An inspiring journey in the culinary history of Norway" by Arne Brimi and Ardis Kaspersen 2000. A cookbook, history book, and travel book all rolled into one -- 1100 recipes from each of the 19 "fylke" in Norway. Explore the culinary traditions of your ancestors.
- WinFamily - Anvend Winfamily fra Jamodat til din slektsgransking
Genealogy software available in Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, French, German and English.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- Church Books for Rødøy
- Church Records from Vik in Sogn
Online searchable database.
- Church Registers in Norway
- Digitalarkivet
Online searchable databases from the National Archives of Norway and the University of Bergen.
- Emigration Site for Finnmark County, Norway
The emigration list contains names of people who emigrated from Alta and Vadsø, Finnmark, North-Norway area, via Trondheim between 1867 - 1925 to USA and Canada.
- Gamle Gjerpen
Transcriptions of church and census records, local history, and family histories from Gjerpen, Telemark, Norway.
- Gjenvick-Gjønvik Archives - Passenger Lists, Immigrants from Europe and Scandinavia
Passenger Lists available for most transatlantic steamship lines with major collections for American Line, Anchor Line, Atlantic Transport Line, Canadian Pacific Ocean Services (CPOS), CGT-French Line, Cunard Line, Hamburg-American Line, Holland America Line, North German Lloyd and White Star Line.
- Kulturnett Sogn og Fjordane - Databases
- Norway-Heritage - Passenger Lists and Emigrant Ships from Norway Heritage
Includes and index of ships, over 100 passenger lists, voyage account descriptions, pictures & articles. Information about what transatlantic company the emigration agents operating in Norway represented. Useful if you only know the name of the agent, as finding the company he represented will help you to narrow the search for the transatlantic ship. You will also find information about the way the agent was authorized to convey the emigrants. You might also search for the shipping companies, to find information about routes and fleets. Whether your search for agents or shipping lines, you will find the information linked to eachother in the search results.
- Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Searchable online database.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- Scandinavia Vital Records Index
CD-ROM for sale from the LDS Church. Scandinavian church records with approximately 3.6 million birth and christening records and 1 million marriage records.
- Vital Records Index
From FamilySearch.org. Online searchable database of vital records for Scandanavia. Contains approximately 3.6 million birth and christening records and 1 million marriage records from Denmark, Norway, Sweden & Finland
- Buskerud Genealogical Society
- Dis Nord-Trøndelag
Computer group in Steinkjer, Norway.
- DIS-Norge / The Genealogy Society of Norway - DIS
- DIS-Rogalands hjemmeside
Computer genealogy group for Rogaland, Norway.
- The Fjord Heritage Club
Disseminates the general history, the emigration history and the genealogy of the kommunes of Årdal and Lærdal (Sogn and Fjordane fylke, Norway).
- Gjøvik og Toten Slektshistorielag
Genealigical society covering the Gjøvik and Toten areas in Norway.
- Grenland Genealogy Society
Part of Telemark in Norway.
- Hadeland Lag of America
Organization of emigrants from the Hadeland district of Norway to the US and Canada.
- Illinois Norwegian Tri-County/Tri-Township Genealogy Guild
A genealogy Guild for Grundy, LaSalle and Kendall counties.
- Independent Order of Odd Fellows - Norway
Jurisdictions for the IOOF, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- Landings Laget i Amerika
A Norwegian-American bygdelag for Nordre Land and Søndre Land kommuner in Oppland fylke.
- Landslaget for lokalhistorie (LLH)
Umbrella organization for local historical societies in Norway.
- Nord-Hedmark og Hedmarken Lag
The Nord-Hedmark and Hedmark Norway bygdelag.
- Norsk Slektshistorisk Forening / The Norwegian Genealogical Society
- Norwegian-American Bygdelagenes Fellesraad
Parent organization for the Norwegian Bygdelags.
- Norwegian-American Genealogical Association ~ Minnesota
- Norwegian-American Historical Association
- Numedalslag
Numedalslag is a "lag" primarily made up of descendants of people who emigrated from the Numedal Valley and the Kongsberg-Sandsvær area of Norway.
- Roglandslag
A bygdelag of the descendents of Rogaland, Norway.
- Romerikslaget i Amerika
A Norwegian-American association for people with ancestors from the Akershus and Oslo areas in Norway.
- Skien Historielag / Skien Historical Society
Norway. Photos of the town and various old sources.
- Sognefjordlaget in America
- Sons of Norway Home Page
- Sons of Norway, NordTex Lodge 1-594, Dallas, Texas
- Telelaget of America - A Norwegian-American bygdelag ~ Bloomington, Minnesota
- Trønderlag of America
Tronderlag of America is a "lag" (organization) of descendants of emigrants from the Trondelag region of Norway (includes both Nord- and Sør-Trøndelag).
- Valdres Samband - The Oldest Bygdelag in America - 1899
An organization of emigrant descendants from the Valdres Valley of Norway and those interested in its history and culture.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|