|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - South Carolina
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for South Carolina:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - South Carolina Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - South Carolina
- Ancestor Search - South Carolina Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - South Carolina
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - South Carolina Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Carolina Cuzins History and Genealogy
A central gateway to individual independent websites related to the history and genealogy of the Carolinas.
- Carolina Histories
Resources for the Piedmont region of North and South Carolina, east and west of the Catawba River.
- Colonial Ancestors
Genealogy records and information about ancestors in the 13 original colonies.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - South Carolina Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- South Carolina
- Geneasearch: A Guide to South Carolina Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for South Carolina
- Kindred Trails - South Carolina Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - South Carolina Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - South Carolina
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - South Carolina
- South Carolina Genealogy
- Southeast USA Genealogy
For people interested in genealogy research anywhere in the United States, especially in the Southeast (including the states of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Missouri, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Maryland, South Carolina, and North Carolina.) A mailing list with corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - South Carolina
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - SCGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- Upcountry South Carolina Heritage
information about the heritage of the Upcountry of South Carolina, especially northern Spartanburg and Greenville Counties.
- A Visit to South Carolina - South Carolina AHGP/UHGN
The American History & Genealogy Project, and the United History & Genealogy Network.
- WorldVitalRecords.com - South Carolina
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - South Carolina State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - South Carolina
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: South Carolina: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - South Carolina
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of South Carolina
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- South Carolina Federal Officers, 1871-1884
Federal Officers for the Judicial District of South Carolina 1871-1884.
- South Carolina State Government World Wide Web (WWW) server
- USA CityLink Project - South Carolina
- Yahoo! Get Local...South Carolina Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Diocese of Charleston Archives ~ Charleston, South Carolina
Holdings date from 1789 and continue to the present. The Archives include the papers of bishops, the administrative records of diocesan offices, chancery correspondence, and records of various agencies, religious orders, programs, and individuals reflecting the work and goals of the Church. In addition, we have the annual reports of parishes, parish histories, property records, deed and construction files, some architectural drawings, cemetery records, newspapers and photographs. Because individual parishes are required by Canon 535 to maintain their own archives, original registers containing sacramental records are not held in the Diocesan Archives. However, the archives often have microfilm copies of parish registers and these are available to search for sacramental records prior to 1930.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in South Carolina
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Furman University Libraries - Special Collections
The Special Collections Department serves as the official archives for both the South Carolina Baptist Convention and for Furman University. It also relates to the South Carolina Baptist Historical Society.
- LIBCAT: US - South Carolina
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - South Carolina
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - South Carolina
- Presbyterian College Library ~ South Carolina
- PublicLibraries.com - South Carolina
- Repositories of Primary Sources: South Carolina
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History
- South Carolina Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- South Carolina State Library
- South Carolina State Museum
- South Caroliniana Library
University of South Carolina in Columbia.
- University of South Carolina Libraries
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
Appalachianfamily Mailing List Appalachian Mountain Families including families from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, and West Virginia.
-
EFSS Mailing List For serious researchers of Early Families in Southern States during the colonial period to share and exchange records, documentation, and other research regarding families who settled in southern states.
-
LONGCANE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the Long Cane Creek area of upstate South Carolina.
-
Melungeon Mailing List For people conducting Melungeon and/or Appalachian research including Native American, Portuguese, Turkish, Black Dutch, and other unverifiable mixed statements of ancestry or unexplained rumors, with ancestors in TN, KY, VA, NC, SC, GA, AL, WV, and possibly other places.
-
SC-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within South Carolina.
-
NC-SC-ROOTS-L Mailing List North Carolina and South Carolina.
-
SC-OLD-PENDLETON-DIST Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in South Carolina's Old Pendleton District that was formed from Washington District in 1798.
-
OPD-CD Mailing List For those who have ordered the CD version of the Old Pendleton District (South Carolina) Database to discuss the specifics of obtaining and using these CDs.
-
SCBATTLES Mailing List For anyone having an interest in South Carolina military history including battles, skirmishes, soldiers, units, fortifications, armament, re-enactments or preservation efforts. Archives: browse or search.
-
SC-CEMETERY Mailing List To discuss the formation of a cemetery preservation society for South Carolina.
-
SC-DISSENTERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the religious dissenters of colonial South Carolina from 1680-1781.
-
SC-DUTCHFORK Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Dutch Fork area of South Carolina.
-
SC-Genealogy Mailing List
-
SC-RIDGEVILLE Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the families from the town of Ridgeville, Dorchester County, South Carolina.
-
SCRoots Mailing List
-
SOUTHEAST-PIONEERS Mailing List For genealogical interests in the pioneers in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia & Alabama.
-
THE-ROAD Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Scottish/Palatine (German) ethnic mix along the traditional "Philadelphia Road" in Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.
-
WEBERITES Mailing List For genealogical interests in the Weberites, a religious group of Saxe Gotha, South Carolina (a German - Swiss settlement), and elsewhere.
- The 16th South Carolina, C.S.A.
Rosters, Letters, Photos, Battles, Stories, Query Service, and other relevant information on the service of the Sixteenth South Carolina both during and after the War Between the States.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Battle of Camden South Carolina in the Revolutionary War
- The Battle of Honey Hill
The November 30, 1864 battle of Honey Hill, S.C. is virtually unnamed in most histories of the war.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - South Carolina
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - South Carolina
- Civil War Rosters - South Carolina
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Company B of the 22nd Regiment of South Carolina Volunteers
- The Confederate Cemetery
A photographic and written description of the Confederate Cemetery in the old village of Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina. The BSA Eagle Scout project of Barry Floore of BSA Troop 20.
- Confederate Military Records at the Archives
- Confederate Soldiers Home Cemetery, Columbia, South Carolina
- Documentary History of the Battle of Camden, 16 August 1780. Also called Battle Near Camden and Battle of Gum Swamp
- Friends of the Florence Stockade
- General Outline of the 22nd (South Carolina) Regiment
Brief unit history.
- Historical Statements Concerning the Battle of Kings Mountain and the Battle of the Cowpens South Carolina
Historical statements from the Government Printing Office.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - South Carolina
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Sherman's March Through South Carolina
Detailed chronicle of Sherman's destructive march through the Palmetto State in February 1865.
- South Carolina in the Civil War
- South Carolina in the War Between the States
- Thirteenth Regiment of South Carolina Volunteers of the Confederate States of America
- Twenty-Second South Carolina Infantry Regiment
- Upcountry South Carolina Heritage
This site has the history of the 13th Regiment of South Carolina Volunteers and a biographical sketch of the leaders of the 13th.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - South Carolina
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- War Between the States in South Carolina
Designed to help the genealogist learn more about the history of the Civil War & their ancestors who served in the War Between the States.
- War of 1812 South Carolina
Rosters of the men who served from South Carolina.
- York County, South Carolina in the Civil War
Rosters & regimental histories of units from York County.
- ABYZ News Links - South Carolina - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Augusta Chronicle Online
"The South's Oldest Newspaper" serving Georgia and South Carolina.
- ESCN Database Reports
Quick Reference Indexes to the Early South Carolina Newspapers.
- Home Town News - South Carolina
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: South Carolina
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | South Carolina
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - South Carolina
- NewspaperLinks.com - South Carolina
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old South Carolina News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: South Carolina
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - South Carolina Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - South Carolina Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - South Carolina Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...South Carolina
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - South Carolina
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - South Carolina
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - South Carolina
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in South Carolina or Specializing in South Carolina
- Buckley Laboratory of Unusual Research Projects ... but mostly ordinary Genealogy and History
Research in North and South Carolina.
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- Genealogy Professional Alabama Georgia Kentucky Carolinas Virginia: Ted Lane Genealogist
More than 40 years experience. Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia, and others.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- North Carolina Genealogy and History
Genealogical research in all North Carolina, South Caroilna, and Virginia counties.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - South Carolina
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- South Carolina Adoptions
Search services for adoptees & birthparents. Free reunion registry.
- SouthEastern Genealogical Research
Genealogical document search and retrieval service. Specializing in genealogy in the states of: Virginia, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Arkansas.
- Strictly by Name
Pay-for-use service providing copies of public domain records from Kentucky, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- ABP Abstracts
Books for sale on the land records in North Carolina, South Carolina, & Tennessee.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - South Carolina
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Carolina Scots: An Historical and Genealogical Study of Over 100 Years of Emigration
A book by Douglas F. Kelly.
- City Directories for 1816-1829 (Directories for the City of Charleston, South Carolina)
A book by James W. Hagy.
- City Directories for 1849, 1852 & 1855 (Directories for the City of Charleston, South Carolina)
A book by James W. Hagy.
- A Collection of Upper South Carolina Genealogical and Family Records
A book by James E. Woodley.
- Colonial South Carolina: A History
A book by Robert M. Weir.
- Correct Mispronunciations of Some South Carolina Names
A book by Claude Neuffer.
- Directories for the City of Charleston South Carolina: For the Years 1830-31, 1835-36, 1836, 1837-38, and 1840-41
A book by James W. Hagy.
- Directory of Scots in The Carolinas, 1680-1830
A book by David Dobson.
- The Great Wagon Road: From Philadelphia to the South
A book by Parke Rouse.
- Guide to Civil War Records in the South Carolina Department of Archives & History
A book by Patrick McCawley.
- A Guide to South Carolina Genealogical Research and Records
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: South Carolina
A book by the United States Bureau of the Census.
- The Huguenot Connection : The Edict of Nantes, Its Revocation, and Early French Migration to South Carolina
A book by Richard M. Golden.
- The Huguenots of Colonial South Carolina
A book by Arthur Henry Hirsch.
- A Legacy of Caring: The Charleston Orphan House, 1790-1990
A book by Alan Keith-Lucas.
- Research in South Carolina (NGS Special Publication, No 66)
A book by Ge Lee Corley Hendrix.
- Savannah's Bonaventure Cemetery
A book by Amie Marie Wilson.
- South Carolina: A History
A book by Walter B. Edgar.
- South Carolina Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
A book by John H. Long.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for South Carolina
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - South Carolina
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - South Carolina
- Books We Own - South Carolina
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - South Carolina
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Carolina Scots
 A Historical and Genealogical Study of Over 100 Years of Emigration: Scotland and the Carolinas are separated by an ocean but united by a common story. The history of the Highland diaspora comes alive in this brand new book.
- The Civil War in South Carolina
CD-ROM publications for sale.
- Early Marriage Records in South Carolina
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for South Carolina Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - South Carolina
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Cemeteries of Upper Colleton County, South Carolina
A book by Evelyn McDaniel Frazier Bryan.
- Death Notices in the South-Carolina Gazette 1732-1775
A book by A. S. Salley, Jr.
- Early South Carolina Settlers
A CD-ROM from Genealogical.com.
- Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: South Carolina
A book by the United States Bureau of the Census.
- The Huguenots of Colonial South Carolina
A book by Arthur Henry Hirsch.
- Index to the 1800 Census of South Carolina
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- Indexes to the County Wills of South Carolina
A book by Martha L. Houston.
- Marriage Notices in Charleston Courier, 1803-1808
A book by Alexander S. Salley.
- On the Eve of the Civil War: the Charleston, SC Directories for the Years 1859 and 1860
A book by James W. Hagy.
- Passenger Arrivals at the Port of Charleston, 1820-1829
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- People and Professions of Charleston, South Carolina, 1782-1802
A book by James W. Hagy.
- Scotch-Irish Migration to South Carolina, 1772
A book by Jean Stephenson.
- South Carolina Marriages, 1688-1799
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- South Carolina Marriages, 1800-1820
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- South Carolina Naturalizations 1783-1850
A book by Brent H. Holcomb.
- South Carolina Provincial Troops
A book by Alexander S. Salley.
- Warrants for Land in South Carolina, 1672-1711
A book by A. S. Salley, Jr.
- Heritage Books: South Carolina
- Higginson Book Company - South Carolina
- J & W Enterprises
One stop book source on the Internet, specializing in southern states source material.
- Margaret M. Hofmann's Web Site
Genealogical and historical books for North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.
- Mountain Press - South Carolina
Free Surname Search for many South Carolina genealogy books. Information available for many counties on wills, 1790 Census, Presidential Pardons for Confederate Soldiers, as well as many maps.
- Quintin Publications | South Carolina
- Research in South Carolina
A book by GeLee Corley Hendrix from Research In the States, a series of the National Genealogical Society.
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - South Carolina
- South Carolina Census Books - Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications
Barnwell, Beaufort, Charleston, Colleton, Orangeburg and Edgefield Districts.
- South Carolina Historical Society Publications
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - South Carolina
- Carolina Histories
Genealogy research specific to the Piedmont region of North and South Carolina.
-
RootsWeb Surname List - RSL South Carolina
The RSL and this form concept & design are courtesy of Karen Isaacson
- SE USA Genealogy Forum on About.com
This forum is primarily for genealogy discussion/research involving the Southeast USA states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia). Post your southern surnames, air your views on issues, ask questions, share research tips or photos, tell us about your personal genealogy site and join in our fun games and contests.
- South Carolina in the Civil War Message Board
- Surnames By Town - South Carolina
Surnames, classified by town, appear as e-mail links to the submitter researching them under that town.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1790 Census of Population and Housing
From the US Census Bureau. Printed transcriptions in .pdf or .zip format showing Heads of Household.
- 1880 Catawba Indian Census York County SC
- AccessGenealogy - South Carolina Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | South Carolina
-
Ancestry.com - South Carolina Census, 1790-1890 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Links : South Carolina
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - South Carolina
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for South Carolina:
1790 ,
1800 ,
1810 ,
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans & Widows Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
- 1768 Ship Arrivals, Charleston, SC
-
Ancestry.com - WWI Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 - South Carolina Scanned images available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
|