-
Comprehensive database of UK family records online. Search for free and pay to view the results. Birth, Marriage & Death records from 1837-2004; People Census 1861; Address Census 1861; Electoral Roll records from 2002-2007.
-
BMD Index - Birth, Marriage & Death Index
Pay-per-view online searchable index to the birth, marriage & death registrations in England and Wales.
-
BMD Registers: The Official Non-Conformist and Non-Parochial BMDs Service $
Search-for-free, pay-for-results online searchable database of the English & Welsh non-parochial & nonconformist registers 1567-1840. Contains 5,000 registers of a huge variety of nonconformist congregations, including Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Protestant Dissenters & Independents. There are also registers from a small number of Roman Catholic communities. From the UK National Archives.
-
The site for genealogists to share their UK Birth, Marriage and Death Certificate Information. Visit this site before ordering a certificate from the GRO. If you have UK BMD certificates for your ancesters please visit this site and add their details to our growing database to help others. Unlimited free searches for everyone and access to full records for our members.
-
A site for genealogists to list their unwanted documents including birth, marriage, death, adoption certificates and military records.
-
GENUKI.
-
Civil Registration: Vital Change UK Government White Paper Proposals
News and editorials on the government's proposed changes.
-
Don't be fooled by unofficial certificate websites | Home Office
People ordering birth, death and marriage certificates were warned by the Registrar General not to be fooled by unofficial websites, after an advertising watchdog investigation.
-
If a UK citizen, please sign the e-petition. Also copy and paste this to your status updates on Facebook as 100,000 signatures are needed to get this read in parliament. Please don't create a new e-petition just sign this one, to get to the 100,000 signature goal: Research Copies for Birth, Marriage & Death Certificates for Genealogical Research Purposes. Under current legislation, the GRO can only "release this information by means of the issue of a paper certified copy Cert of the relevant entry, and payment of the relevant statutory fee for a certified copy." We request that this House enacts legislation to allow the General Register Office of England and Wales the ability to issue "uncertified" research copies of birth, marriage and death certs - with a notice on the copies that they are uncertified, and have no legal authority - and that these may be obtained at a much lower cost than the current £9.25 per cert (eg £2) when ordered on-line and the GRO Index Ref is Provided, and that these may be issued in a electronic (email) format or a plain paper in the same way as The Rep of Ireland; this would enable family historians to buy many certs for their research at a lower cost" In the Republic of Ireland you can ask for an uncertified copy from Roscommon (their version of GRO) for €4.
-
England and Wales: Online Birth, Marriage and Death Indexes
Web Sites for Genealogists - An Australian gateway site for tracing your family history by Cora Num.
-
Pay-for-use online searchable index of civil registration indexes for England & Wales from 1837 to the present. Includes scanned images of the index entries for births, marriages & deaths.
-
FamilySearch.org - Great Britain Births and Baptisms, 1571-1977 FREE
Index to selected Great Britain births and baptisms. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 26,670 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
FamilySearch.org - Great Britain Deaths and Burials, 1778-1988 FREE
Index to selected Great Britain deaths and burials. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 69,278 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
FamilySearch.org - Great Britain Marriages, 1797-1988 FREE
Index to selected Great Britain marriages. Only a few localities are included and the time period varies by locality. This collection contains 22,036 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
-
An ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.
-
FreeREG - Search UK Parish Register Indices
FreeREG is a free access site, in the process of making available transcriptions for parish registers throughout England, Scotland, and Wales.
-
General Register Office - Registration Services - Certificate Ordering Service
The official service from the General Register Office (the official centralized keeper of these records) allowing civil registration certificates (Births, Marriages & Deaths) from England & Wales to be ordered via the Internet.
-
Order online official birth, marriage, death certificates for the UK. All certificates a full and official (long version), government issued.
-
India Office Family History Search
Search: 300,000 births, baptisms, marriages, deaths and burials in the India Office Records; biographical notes from a variety of sources; for mainly British and European people in India c.1600-1949; for people in other countries connected with the history of the British in India.
United Kingdom & Ireland » U.K. General » Birth, Marriage, Death
37 Links










